tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : MARGARET GLASPY - Emotions and Mat

MARGARET GLASPY

Emotions and Mat

MusicCD
Indie Rock

[80/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

Joni Mitchell's Blue sets the bar in my head that I'm always striving for, Margaret Glaspy says when asked about her influences, but there are many more: Bill Withers and Elliot Smith, Weezer and Rage Against the Machine. The result is a highly diverse repertoire of sensitive singer-songwriter ballads and rock-related songs, often driven by a raw guitar sound. Margaret comes from Red Bluff (California), but since 2010, she lives on the Upper West Side in New York City. Her debut album Emotions and Mat contains 12 tracks. It was recorded at the legendary Sear Sound studio and mixed by Shawn Everett (Alabama Shakes).

While listening to the album for the first time, the songs Emotions and Mat, Situation and You and I sound pretty hard because of the very prominent electric guitar and the more or less aggressive vocals. Once the tracks reveals their secret, you will discover the singer-songwriter who is hiding behind the material, and you will be aware of the sensitive side of the compositions. In Somebody to Anybody, the guitar sound is more melodic and less dangerous, and space is created for the musical beauty of the song. Margaret Glaspy sounds less aggressive and that is also the case in No Matter Who, in which the guitar comes to the fore again, and a nice sound is developed with what sounds like an organ.

An emphatic and dark guitar shuffles quietly and peacefully through Memory Street, supported by reverberating percussion, and followed by the similar, but slightly more aggressive Pins and Needles, in which Margaret Glaspy's voice sounds a little sharper again, with beautiful male vocals in the chorus and guitar noise in-between. In Anthony, all the pieces fall into place: beautifully sung, a perfect instrumental support and emotive lyrics. Our favorite. Parental Guidance is a wonderful singer-songwriter ballad with a wavering and melodic guitar intro and again very beautiful and delicate vocals.

In You Don’t Want Me, the pace slightly goes up again, but Margaret Glapsy sounds barely more aggressive, because guitar and percussion provide a certain geniality, with a second voice that creates a kind of Beatlesque atmosphere. In Love Like This, the electric guitar sounds beautiful, and very melodic afterwards: a sensitive ballad in which the fanfare-like percussion creates a special atmosphere. Very nice. The final track Black is Blue closes the album in beauty: an attractive singer-songwriter ballad against a background of subtle guitar sounds and precise percussion.

Solid song material, a beautiful voice and a refined instrumental accompaniment. An artist between singer-songwriter and rock. One to keep an eye on.

Tracklist:
1. Emotions And Math
2. Situation
3. You And I
4. Somebody To Anybody
5. No Matter Who
6. Memory Street
7. Pins And Needles
8. Anthony
9. Parental Guidance
10. You Don’t Want Me
11. Love Like This
12. Black Is Blue

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


NL

Joni Mitchell’s Blue set the bar in my mind that I’m always striving for, zegt Margaret Glaspy als haar gevraagd wordt naar de invloeden op haar composities; maar er zijn er meer: Bill Withers en Elliot Smith, Weezer en Rage Against the Machine. Het resultaat is een zeer divers repertoire van gevoelige singer-songwritersballades tot ruigere rock gerelateerde songs, die voortgestuwd worden door soms ruw gitaargeluid. Margaret is afkomstig uit Red Bluff (California), maar sinds 2010 woont ze in de Upper West Side in New York City. Haar debuutalbum Emotions and Mat bevat 12 tracks. Het is opgenomen in de legendarische Sear Sound-studio en gemixt door Shawn Everett (o.a. Alabama Shakes).

Tijdens een eerste beluistering klinken Emotions and Mat, Situation en You and I vrij hard, maar dat is het gevolg van de zeer aanwezige elektrische gitaar en de min of meer agressieve vocalen. Eens de tracks hun geheim beginnen prijs te geven, hoor je de singer-songwriter die zich achter het materiaal verschuilt en vallen je de gevoelige kanten van de composities op. In Somebody to Anybody klinkt de gitaar een stuk melodischer en minder gevaarlijk en komt er ruimte vrij voor de muzikale schoonheid van de song. Margaret Glaspy klinkt minder agressief en dat blijft ook zo in No Matter Who, waarin de gitaar opnieuw op de voorgrond treedt, maar een mooie geluid ontwikkelt in samenspraak met wat klinkt als een orgel.

Een nadrukkelijke en donkere gitaar schuifelt rustig en gemoedelijk door Memory Street, gesteund door galmende percussie, gevolgd door het gelijksoortige, maar iets agressievere Pins and Needles, waarin Margaret Glaspy’s stem opnieuw iets scherper klinkt met mooie mannelijke vocalen in het refrein en gitaarnoise tusssendoor. In Anthony vallen alle puzzelstukjes op hun plaats: prachtig gezongen, een perfecte instrumentale ondersteuning en een aandoenlijke tekst. Onze favoriet. Parental Guidance is een prachtige singer-songwritersballade met een aarzelende en melodische gitaarintro en opnieuw heel erg mooie en gevoelige vocalen.

In You Don’t Want Me gaat het tempo weer iets omhoog, maar Margaret Glapsy klinkt nauwelijks agressiever. Daar zorgen de gitaar en de percussie voor, met een tweede stem die een beetje Beatlesesque aandoet. In Love Like This legt de elektrische gitaar nadrukkelijke accenten, terwijl ze nadien heel melodisch klinkt: een gevoelige ballade waarin de tamtamachtige percussie een bijzonder sfeer creëert. Heel erg mooi. Eindtrack Black is Blue sluit het album in schoonheid af: een aantrekkelijke singer-songwritersballade tegen een achtergrond van fijnzinnig gitaargeluid en zeer precieze percussie.

Stevig songmateriaal, een prachtige stem en een geraffineerde instrumentale begeleiding. Een artiest tussen singer-songwriter en rock. Eentje om in het oog te houden.

Tracklist:
1. Emotions And Math
2. Situation
3. You And I
4. Somebody To Anybody
5. No Matter Who
6. Memory Street
7. Pins And Needles
8. Anthony
9. Parental Guidance
10. You Don’t Want Me
11. Love Like This
12. Black Is Blue

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : MARGARET GLASPY - Emotions and Mat 10/12/2016 : MARGARET GLASPY - Emotions and Mat

Music reviews

04
12
MERZBOW
Screaming Dove
03
12
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Shadow Of Fear
02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Russian Dark Community in search of new blood
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
12
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven