tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

10/12/2016 : MARGARET GLASPY - Emotions and Mat

MARGARET GLASPY

Emotions and Mat

MusicCD
Indie Rock

[80/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

Joni Mitchell's Blue sets the bar in my head that I'm always striving for, Margaret Glaspy says when asked about her influences, but there are many more: Bill Withers and Elliot Smith, Weezer and Rage Against the Machine. The result is a highly diverse repertoire of sensitive singer-songwriter ballads and rock-related songs, often driven by a raw guitar sound. Margaret comes from Red Bluff (California), but since 2010, she lives on the Upper West Side in New York City. Her debut album Emotions and Mat contains 12 tracks. It was recorded at the legendary Sear Sound studio and mixed by Shawn Everett (Alabama Shakes).

While listening to the album for the first time, the songs Emotions and Mat, Situation and You and I sound pretty hard because of the very prominent electric guitar and the more or less aggressive vocals. Once the tracks reveals their secret, you will discover the singer-songwriter who is hiding behind the material, and you will be aware of the sensitive side of the compositions. In Somebody to Anybody, the guitar sound is more melodic and less dangerous, and space is created for the musical beauty of the song. Margaret Glaspy sounds less aggressive and that is also the case in No Matter Who, in which the guitar comes to the fore again, and a nice sound is developed with what sounds like an organ.

An emphatic and dark guitar shuffles quietly and peacefully through Memory Street, supported by reverberating percussion, and followed by the similar, but slightly more aggressive Pins and Needles, in which Margaret Glaspy's voice sounds a little sharper again, with beautiful male vocals in the chorus and guitar noise in-between. In Anthony, all the pieces fall into place: beautifully sung, a perfect instrumental support and emotive lyrics. Our favorite. Parental Guidance is a wonderful singer-songwriter ballad with a wavering and melodic guitar intro and again very beautiful and delicate vocals.

In You Don’t Want Me, the pace slightly goes up again, but Margaret Glapsy sounds barely more aggressive, because guitar and percussion provide a certain geniality, with a second voice that creates a kind of Beatlesque atmosphere. In Love Like This, the electric guitar sounds beautiful, and very melodic afterwards: a sensitive ballad in which the fanfare-like percussion creates a special atmosphere. Very nice. The final track Black is Blue closes the album in beauty: an attractive singer-songwriter ballad against a background of subtle guitar sounds and precise percussion.

Solid song material, a beautiful voice and a refined instrumental accompaniment. An artist between singer-songwriter and rock. One to keep an eye on.

Tracklist:
1. Emotions And Math
2. Situation
3. You And I
4. Somebody To Anybody
5. No Matter Who
6. Memory Street
7. Pins And Needles
8. Anthony
9. Parental Guidance
10. You Don’t Want Me
11. Love Like This
12. Black Is Blue

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


NL

Joni Mitchell’s Blue set the bar in my mind that I’m always striving for, zegt Margaret Glaspy als haar gevraagd wordt naar de invloeden op haar composities; maar er zijn er meer: Bill Withers en Elliot Smith, Weezer en Rage Against the Machine. Het resultaat is een zeer divers repertoire van gevoelige singer-songwritersballades tot ruigere rock gerelateerde songs, die voortgestuwd worden door soms ruw gitaargeluid. Margaret is afkomstig uit Red Bluff (California), maar sinds 2010 woont ze in de Upper West Side in New York City. Haar debuutalbum Emotions and Mat bevat 12 tracks. Het is opgenomen in de legendarische Sear Sound-studio en gemixt door Shawn Everett (o.a. Alabama Shakes).

Tijdens een eerste beluistering klinken Emotions and Mat, Situation en You and I vrij hard, maar dat is het gevolg van de zeer aanwezige elektrische gitaar en de min of meer agressieve vocalen. Eens de tracks hun geheim beginnen prijs te geven, hoor je de singer-songwriter die zich achter het materiaal verschuilt en vallen je de gevoelige kanten van de composities op. In Somebody to Anybody klinkt de gitaar een stuk melodischer en minder gevaarlijk en komt er ruimte vrij voor de muzikale schoonheid van de song. Margaret Glaspy klinkt minder agressief en dat blijft ook zo in No Matter Who, waarin de gitaar opnieuw op de voorgrond treedt, maar een mooie geluid ontwikkelt in samenspraak met wat klinkt als een orgel.

Een nadrukkelijke en donkere gitaar schuifelt rustig en gemoedelijk door Memory Street, gesteund door galmende percussie, gevolgd door het gelijksoortige, maar iets agressievere Pins and Needles, waarin Margaret Glaspy’s stem opnieuw iets scherper klinkt met mooie mannelijke vocalen in het refrein en gitaarnoise tusssendoor. In Anthony vallen alle puzzelstukjes op hun plaats: prachtig gezongen, een perfecte instrumentale ondersteuning en een aandoenlijke tekst. Onze favoriet. Parental Guidance is een prachtige singer-songwritersballade met een aarzelende en melodische gitaarintro en opnieuw heel erg mooie en gevoelige vocalen.

In You Don’t Want Me gaat het tempo weer iets omhoog, maar Margaret Glapsy klinkt nauwelijks agressiever. Daar zorgen de gitaar en de percussie voor, met een tweede stem die een beetje Beatlesesque aandoet. In Love Like This legt de elektrische gitaar nadrukkelijke accenten, terwijl ze nadien heel melodisch klinkt: een gevoelige ballade waarin de tamtamachtige percussie een bijzonder sfeer creëert. Heel erg mooi. Eindtrack Black is Blue sluit het album in schoonheid af: een aantrekkelijke singer-songwritersballade tegen een achtergrond van fijnzinnig gitaargeluid en zeer precieze percussie.

Stevig songmateriaal, een prachtige stem en een geraffineerde instrumentale begeleiding. Een artiest tussen singer-songwriter en rock. Eentje om in het oog te houden.

Tracklist:
1. Emotions And Math
2. Situation
3. You And I
4. Somebody To Anybody
5. No Matter Who
6. Memory Street
7. Pins And Needles
8. Anthony
9. Parental Guidance
10. You Don’t Want Me
11. Love Like This
12. Black Is Blue

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : MARGARET GLASPY - Emotions and Mat

Music reviews

28
04
DURUTTI COLUMN
Domo Arigato
26
04
PIANO MAGIC
Closure
25
04
VENN
Runes
23
04
BING AND RUTH
No Home of the Mind
21
04
CONRAD SCHNITZLER AND POLE
Con-Struct
19
04
BRIAN ENO
Reflection

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
04
INFEST 2017: Sidewalks & Skeletons confirmed!
27
04
The Residents are heading to Europe
26
04
New Roger Waters Album : Is This The Life We Really Want ?
26
04
Gary Numan announces a new album, a new tour and explains his new SAVAGE image!
25
04
New Names for Brussels Summer Festival 2017
22
04
New album by Illuminine

Concert reviews

15
04
DURBUY ROCK
New Model Army loves a hopeless cause... | Durbuy, Belgium | 08.04.2017
10
04
HAUSCHKA
Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
06
04
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Some postpunk, indie, coldwave bands to discover at WGT 2017 (Leipzig, D)
04
04
HOCICO, SHAARGHOT
Magasin 4 - 29 maart 2017
26
03
26 TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - JUNE 2TH - 5 TH 2017
Some minimal bands to check out !
21
03
ELM, MONO ELECTRONIC DENSITY, LUMYIA
Les Vierges Morbides, Café Bobble, Lomme/Rijsel - 11 maart 2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
04
DIVE
'Music is a virus!'
20
04
SOVIETWAVE
Cosmonauts' day special
18
04
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
'The universe of dark industrial music takes me somewhere I want to be'
16
04
ATARAXIA
'Music is the miracle of coming into being and vanishing'
14
04
SPHERICAL DISRUPTED
‘Every single sound is very important and has to be effective!'

PHOTOS

25
04
DIVE
Darkest Night 2017, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
24
04
AKALOTZ
Darkest Night 2017, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
24
04
STIN SCATZOR
Darkest Night 2017, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
24
04
KNK
Darkest Night 2017, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
17
04
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
17
04
WILLIAM CONTROL
Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
17
04
EMPATHY TEST
Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

29
04
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
async
28
04
HELENA HAUFF
Sworn To Secrecy Part II
27
04
THIS MORN' OMINA
Garuda Vimana CCF
26
04
AMBASSADOR21
AMBASSADOR21 official video 'Revelation'
25
04
HAUSCHKA
Constant Growth Fails
24
04
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
24
04
DIVE
Far Away