tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : MARGARET GLASPY - Emotions and Mat

MARGARET GLASPY

Emotions and Mat

MusicCD
Indie Rock

[80/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

Joni Mitchell's Blue sets the bar in my head that I'm always striving for, Margaret Glaspy says when asked about her influences, but there are many more: Bill Withers and Elliot Smith, Weezer and Rage Against the Machine. The result is a highly diverse repertoire of sensitive singer-songwriter ballads and rock-related songs, often driven by a raw guitar sound. Margaret comes from Red Bluff (California), but since 2010, she lives on the Upper West Side in New York City. Her debut album Emotions and Mat contains 12 tracks. It was recorded at the legendary Sear Sound studio and mixed by Shawn Everett (Alabama Shakes).

While listening to the album for the first time, the songs Emotions and Mat, Situation and You and I sound pretty hard because of the very prominent electric guitar and the more or less aggressive vocals. Once the tracks reveals their secret, you will discover the singer-songwriter who is hiding behind the material, and you will be aware of the sensitive side of the compositions. In Somebody to Anybody, the guitar sound is more melodic and less dangerous, and space is created for the musical beauty of the song. Margaret Glaspy sounds less aggressive and that is also the case in No Matter Who, in which the guitar comes to the fore again, and a nice sound is developed with what sounds like an organ.

An emphatic and dark guitar shuffles quietly and peacefully through Memory Street, supported by reverberating percussion, and followed by the similar, but slightly more aggressive Pins and Needles, in which Margaret Glaspy's voice sounds a little sharper again, with beautiful male vocals in the chorus and guitar noise in-between. In Anthony, all the pieces fall into place: beautifully sung, a perfect instrumental support and emotive lyrics. Our favorite. Parental Guidance is a wonderful singer-songwriter ballad with a wavering and melodic guitar intro and again very beautiful and delicate vocals.

In You Don’t Want Me, the pace slightly goes up again, but Margaret Glapsy sounds barely more aggressive, because guitar and percussion provide a certain geniality, with a second voice that creates a kind of Beatlesque atmosphere. In Love Like This, the electric guitar sounds beautiful, and very melodic afterwards: a sensitive ballad in which the fanfare-like percussion creates a special atmosphere. Very nice. The final track Black is Blue closes the album in beauty: an attractive singer-songwriter ballad against a background of subtle guitar sounds and precise percussion.

Solid song material, a beautiful voice and a refined instrumental accompaniment. An artist between singer-songwriter and rock. One to keep an eye on.

Tracklist:
1. Emotions And Math
2. Situation
3. You And I
4. Somebody To Anybody
5. No Matter Who
6. Memory Street
7. Pins And Needles
8. Anthony
9. Parental Guidance
10. You Don’t Want Me
11. Love Like This
12. Black Is Blue

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


NL

Joni Mitchell’s Blue set the bar in my mind that I’m always striving for, zegt Margaret Glaspy als haar gevraagd wordt naar de invloeden op haar composities; maar er zijn er meer: Bill Withers en Elliot Smith, Weezer en Rage Against the Machine. Het resultaat is een zeer divers repertoire van gevoelige singer-songwritersballades tot ruigere rock gerelateerde songs, die voortgestuwd worden door soms ruw gitaargeluid. Margaret is afkomstig uit Red Bluff (California), maar sinds 2010 woont ze in de Upper West Side in New York City. Haar debuutalbum Emotions and Mat bevat 12 tracks. Het is opgenomen in de legendarische Sear Sound-studio en gemixt door Shawn Everett (o.a. Alabama Shakes).

Tijdens een eerste beluistering klinken Emotions and Mat, Situation en You and I vrij hard, maar dat is het gevolg van de zeer aanwezige elektrische gitaar en de min of meer agressieve vocalen. Eens de tracks hun geheim beginnen prijs te geven, hoor je de singer-songwriter die zich achter het materiaal verschuilt en vallen je de gevoelige kanten van de composities op. In Somebody to Anybody klinkt de gitaar een stuk melodischer en minder gevaarlijk en komt er ruimte vrij voor de muzikale schoonheid van de song. Margaret Glaspy klinkt minder agressief en dat blijft ook zo in No Matter Who, waarin de gitaar opnieuw op de voorgrond treedt, maar een mooie geluid ontwikkelt in samenspraak met wat klinkt als een orgel.

Een nadrukkelijke en donkere gitaar schuifelt rustig en gemoedelijk door Memory Street, gesteund door galmende percussie, gevolgd door het gelijksoortige, maar iets agressievere Pins and Needles, waarin Margaret Glaspy’s stem opnieuw iets scherper klinkt met mooie mannelijke vocalen in het refrein en gitaarnoise tusssendoor. In Anthony vallen alle puzzelstukjes op hun plaats: prachtig gezongen, een perfecte instrumentale ondersteuning en een aandoenlijke tekst. Onze favoriet. Parental Guidance is een prachtige singer-songwritersballade met een aarzelende en melodische gitaarintro en opnieuw heel erg mooie en gevoelige vocalen.

In You Don’t Want Me gaat het tempo weer iets omhoog, maar Margaret Glapsy klinkt nauwelijks agressiever. Daar zorgen de gitaar en de percussie voor, met een tweede stem die een beetje Beatlesesque aandoet. In Love Like This legt de elektrische gitaar nadrukkelijke accenten, terwijl ze nadien heel melodisch klinkt: een gevoelige ballade waarin de tamtamachtige percussie een bijzonder sfeer creëert. Heel erg mooi. Eindtrack Black is Blue sluit het album in schoonheid af: een aantrekkelijke singer-songwritersballade tegen een achtergrond van fijnzinnig gitaargeluid en zeer precieze percussie.

Stevig songmateriaal, een prachtige stem en een geraffineerde instrumentale begeleiding. Een artiest tussen singer-songwriter en rock. Eentje om in het oog te houden.

Tracklist:
1. Emotions And Math
2. Situation
3. You And I
4. Somebody To Anybody
5. No Matter Who
6. Memory Street
7. Pins And Needles
8. Anthony
9. Parental Guidance
10. You Don’t Want Me
11. Love Like This
12. Black Is Blue

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : MARGARET GLASPY - Emotions and Mat 10/12/2016 : MARGARET GLASPY - Emotions and Mat

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real