tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal

MARIAN DORA

Cannibal

MovieCult movies
Horror

[60/100]   

Shock DVD
15/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

If you needed a bag to puke in when seeing La Grande Bouffe by Marco Ferreri then we really have no idea what you will be doing when you have the courage to start watching Cannibal. By now the movie has gained some popularity among horror fans, but in fact this was a project from video artist Marian Dora. Anyone who is familiar with his sort movies (there are four of them included on here) knows that the German is keen on the dark and pervert sides of humankind.

This 90 minutes long video production is based on true facts. It was the wish from Bernd Jurgen Brande (Carsten Frank) to be eaten by another person. After some search on the net he came across Armin Meiwes (Victor Brandl) who always have dreamt of eating human flesh. A sick event that shocked Germany and inspired some artists. Rammstein wrote a song about it: Mein Teil.

Marian Dora also was interested in filming the unusual event. Just don’t expect an ordinary horror movie! It lasts almost 50 minutes before Meiwes sets his teeth in the meal. In those moments you see some explicit sexual scenes with the two men who are preparing themselves to become “one”. Once the dinner starts, most viewers will end the trip. It’s disgusting, perverse and dirty. It’s not “haute cuisine” as with Hannibal Lecter, this is just dirty meat!

For the real fans. And saying that it all began with Hansel & Gretel!

Didier BECU
15/08/2014


NL

Wie begon te kokhalzen bij het zien van La Grande Bouffe van Marco Ferreri zal (ten minste indien hij de moed vindt) bij Cannibal een hele resem kotszakjes nodig hebben. Deze film is ondertussen een eigen leven beginnen leiden bij de horrorliefhebbers, maar in feite gaat het om een eigenzinnig project van videokunstenaar Marian Dora. Wie eeder al zijn kortfilms (er staan er vier als extra op deze dvd) weet beslist dat deze Duitser verkikkerd is op de duistere en perverse kant van de mens.

Deze 90 minuten durende videoproductie is gebaseerd op waargebeurde feiten. Het was de wens van Bernd Jurgen Brande (Carsten Frank) om door een ander mens te worden opgepeuzeld. Na lang zoeken vond hij uiteindelijk Armin Meiwes (Victor Brandl) die er steeds van droomde om eens mensenvlees op zijn tafel te hebben staan. Een ziekelijk gebeuren dat heel Duitsland op stelten zette en heel wat kunstenaars inspireerde, bijv. Rammstein die er een nummer over schreef (Mein Teil).

Ook Marian Dora zag graten in het relaas van de kanibaal van Rotenburg. Verwacht je evenwel aan geen gewone horrorfilm. Zo duurt het bijna vijftig minuten vooraleer Meiwes zijn tanden in zijn avondmaal zet. Eerst krijg je wat intense liefkozingen tussen de mannen te zien, maar eens Meiwes aan zijn maaltijd begint zullen de meeste kijkers wel de ogen dichtslaan. Cannibal is nooit schrikwekkend, wel ontzettend vies, pervers en weerzinwekkend. Het gaat om een zeer goedkope productie met een matig beeldkwaliteit, maar de details zijn goed te zien. Is dit nu een goede film? Je kent het antwoord, maar je hem blijven herinneren doe je wel!

Voor de liefhebbers. En zeggen dat het allemaal met Hans & Grietje begon!

Didier BECU
15/08/2014


15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal 15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal 15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal 15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal 15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal 15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal 15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal 15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal 15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal 15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal 15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal 15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal 15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal 15/08/2014 : MARIAN DORA - Cannibal

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)