tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
29/07/2015, Didier BECU

With their debut Light Stays Close, The Spectors made one of the most refreshing Belgian indie pop albums. Shoegazepop with a touch of the 60s, or in one word: gorgeous! We asked front woman Marieke Hutsebaut to come up with her favorite albums that changed her life.

THE BEACH BOYS - PET SOUNDS
This album contains some of the best pop songs ever written with 'God Only Knows' being my favorite.

AMY WINEHOUSE – BACK TO BLACK, FRANK
I love every single song she recorded, she was one of the few female singers in our generation who could interest me. She wrote her own songs out of her own experiences and that's very rare for female artists these days. I could make a list of my favorite songs of hers, but I would just be typing the entire tracklist of both albums.

SLOWDIVE - SOUVLAKI
I was listening to this album a lot when I first started writing songs for The Spectors, I think this album is the reason I put all these shoegaze and dreampop influences in my music. My favorite songs on this album are Machine Gun, Alison and When The Sun Hits.

THE BEATLES - EVERYTHING
The Beatles are definitely the best and most influential pop group of all time. Eleanor Rigby is my favorite song.

LED ZEPPELIN - EVERYTHING
I love Led Zeppelin, and not for its bluesrock songs but for songs like Babe I'm Gonna Leave You, Thank You, Tangerine, That's The Way, Stairway To Heaven, No Quarter…

JANIS JOPLIN - EVERYTHING
She is just awesome.

SONIC YOUTH – DAYDREAM NATION
This is the first Sonic Youth album I ever heard and I really love their sound and the atmosphere in the music. I love Kim Gordon’s voice.

THE SHANGRI-LAS – LEADER OF THE PACK
They were part of the sixties girl group 'movement', but they took it to a whole new level. They have a very dark vibe in all of their songs, which really attracts me.

THE MAMAS & THE PAPAS – THEIR SONGS (AS THEY DON’T HAVE ANY OFFICIAL ALBUM)
I love their songs simply because they are the perfect example of good sixties pop songs. California Dreamin’ is one of my favorite songs of all time.

TAME IMPALA - INNERSPEAKER
This is also one of the albums that got me into dreamy and shoegazy stuff!

Didier BECU
29/07/2015


29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
48 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
05
CONFLICT
Dont Panik Esssen
21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
LOVELESSLUST
Fashion - David Bowie tribute
25
05
CORPO-MENTE
Arsalein
24
05
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT
Adrenaline
23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day