tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
29/07/2015, Didier BECU

With their debut Light Stays Close, The Spectors made one of the most refreshing Belgian indie pop albums. Shoegazepop with a touch of the 60s, or in one word: gorgeous! We asked front woman Marieke Hutsebaut to come up with her favorite albums that changed her life.

THE BEACH BOYS - PET SOUNDS
This album contains some of the best pop songs ever written with 'God Only Knows' being my favorite.

AMY WINEHOUSE – BACK TO BLACK, FRANK
I love every single song she recorded, she was one of the few female singers in our generation who could interest me. She wrote her own songs out of her own experiences and that's very rare for female artists these days. I could make a list of my favorite songs of hers, but I would just be typing the entire tracklist of both albums.

SLOWDIVE - SOUVLAKI
I was listening to this album a lot when I first started writing songs for The Spectors, I think this album is the reason I put all these shoegaze and dreampop influences in my music. My favorite songs on this album are Machine Gun, Alison and When The Sun Hits.

THE BEATLES - EVERYTHING
The Beatles are definitely the best and most influential pop group of all time. Eleanor Rigby is my favorite song.

LED ZEPPELIN - EVERYTHING
I love Led Zeppelin, and not for its bluesrock songs but for songs like Babe I'm Gonna Leave You, Thank You, Tangerine, That's The Way, Stairway To Heaven, No Quarter…

JANIS JOPLIN - EVERYTHING
She is just awesome.

SONIC YOUTH – DAYDREAM NATION
This is the first Sonic Youth album I ever heard and I really love their sound and the atmosphere in the music. I love Kim Gordon’s voice.

THE SHANGRI-LAS – LEADER OF THE PACK
They were part of the sixties girl group 'movement', but they took it to a whole new level. They have a very dark vibe in all of their songs, which really attracts me.

THE MAMAS & THE PAPAS – THEIR SONGS (AS THEY DON’T HAVE ANY OFFICIAL ALBUM)
I love their songs simply because they are the perfect example of good sixties pop songs. California Dreamin’ is one of my favorite songs of all time.

TAME IMPALA - INNERSPEAKER
This is also one of the albums that got me into dreamy and shoegazy stuff!

Didier BECU
29/07/2015


29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition
13
03
STEREOSEAT
Heavenly Creatures

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 32 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s exactly 30 years ago that Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...
03
03
DAVID SARDY
Producer David Sardy on his work with The Who, Oasis, Marilyn Manson and scoring work.
17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes
25
03
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins
24
03
KRANKLAND
In the Realms of the Unreal
23
03
A;GRUMH
Danger Zone