tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
29/07/2015, Didier BECU

With their debut Light Stays Close, The Spectors made one of the most refreshing Belgian indie pop albums. Shoegazepop with a touch of the 60s, or in one word: gorgeous! We asked front woman Marieke Hutsebaut to come up with her favorite albums that changed her life.

THE BEACH BOYS - PET SOUNDS
This album contains some of the best pop songs ever written with 'God Only Knows' being my favorite.

AMY WINEHOUSE – BACK TO BLACK, FRANK
I love every single song she recorded, she was one of the few female singers in our generation who could interest me. She wrote her own songs out of her own experiences and that's very rare for female artists these days. I could make a list of my favorite songs of hers, but I would just be typing the entire tracklist of both albums.

SLOWDIVE - SOUVLAKI
I was listening to this album a lot when I first started writing songs for The Spectors, I think this album is the reason I put all these shoegaze and dreampop influences in my music. My favorite songs on this album are Machine Gun, Alison and When The Sun Hits.

THE BEATLES - EVERYTHING
The Beatles are definitely the best and most influential pop group of all time. Eleanor Rigby is my favorite song.

LED ZEPPELIN - EVERYTHING
I love Led Zeppelin, and not for its bluesrock songs but for songs like Babe I'm Gonna Leave You, Thank You, Tangerine, That's The Way, Stairway To Heaven, No Quarter…

JANIS JOPLIN - EVERYTHING
She is just awesome.

SONIC YOUTH – DAYDREAM NATION
This is the first Sonic Youth album I ever heard and I really love their sound and the atmosphere in the music. I love Kim Gordon’s voice.

THE SHANGRI-LAS – LEADER OF THE PACK
They were part of the sixties girl group 'movement', but they took it to a whole new level. They have a very dark vibe in all of their songs, which really attracts me.

THE MAMAS & THE PAPAS – THEIR SONGS (AS THEY DON’T HAVE ANY OFFICIAL ALBUM)
I love their songs simply because they are the perfect example of good sixties pop songs. California Dreamin’ is one of my favorite songs of all time.

TAME IMPALA - INNERSPEAKER
This is also one of the albums that got me into dreamy and shoegazy stuff!

Didier BECU
29/07/2015


29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite