tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
29/07/2015, Didier BECU

With their debut Light Stays Close, The Spectors made one of the most refreshing Belgian indie pop albums. Shoegazepop with a touch of the 60s, or in one word: gorgeous! We asked front woman Marieke Hutsebaut to come up with her favorite albums that changed her life.

THE BEACH BOYS - PET SOUNDS
This album contains some of the best pop songs ever written with 'God Only Knows' being my favorite.

AMY WINEHOUSE – BACK TO BLACK, FRANK
I love every single song she recorded, she was one of the few female singers in our generation who could interest me. She wrote her own songs out of her own experiences and that's very rare for female artists these days. I could make a list of my favorite songs of hers, but I would just be typing the entire tracklist of both albums.

SLOWDIVE - SOUVLAKI
I was listening to this album a lot when I first started writing songs for The Spectors, I think this album is the reason I put all these shoegaze and dreampop influences in my music. My favorite songs on this album are Machine Gun, Alison and When The Sun Hits.

THE BEATLES - EVERYTHING
The Beatles are definitely the best and most influential pop group of all time. Eleanor Rigby is my favorite song.

LED ZEPPELIN - EVERYTHING
I love Led Zeppelin, and not for its bluesrock songs but for songs like Babe I'm Gonna Leave You, Thank You, Tangerine, That's The Way, Stairway To Heaven, No Quarter…

JANIS JOPLIN - EVERYTHING
She is just awesome.

SONIC YOUTH – DAYDREAM NATION
This is the first Sonic Youth album I ever heard and I really love their sound and the atmosphere in the music. I love Kim Gordon’s voice.

THE SHANGRI-LAS – LEADER OF THE PACK
They were part of the sixties girl group 'movement', but they took it to a whole new level. They have a very dark vibe in all of their songs, which really attracts me.

THE MAMAS & THE PAPAS – THEIR SONGS (AS THEY DON’T HAVE ANY OFFICIAL ALBUM)
I love their songs simply because they are the perfect example of good sixties pop songs. California Dreamin’ is one of my favorite songs of all time.

TAME IMPALA - INNERSPEAKER
This is also one of the albums that got me into dreamy and shoegazy stuff!

Didier BECU
29/07/2015


29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 29/07/2015 : MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
09
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM
Command Control
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Mag 7
26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back