tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices

MARJANE SATRAPI

The Voices

Movie
ComedyThriller

[72/100]   

Remain In Light
07/07/2015, Didier BECU

EN

These days, there are not many horror comedies like in the 80’s. The Voices is one of them, and a good one too; but it is strange that Marjane Satrapi is responsible for it. Her previous works (the animation film Persepolis and Poulet Aux Prunes ), which were loved and hailed by the film critics and the public, are indeed miles away from her Hollywood debut.

In The Voices we meet Jerry. Thanks to his toothpaste smile, you would think that Ryan Reynolds is the ideal son, but because of a childhood trauma, the guy is completely nuts. His boss praises his exemplary attitude, but his colleagues think he’s an odd chap. Of course, as always the women won’t listen, and the first one who literally loses her head is Fiona (Gemma Arterton). Her head is put in Jerry’s refrigerator so he can chat every night with her. Jerry can not only communicate with sawn-off heads, he also imagines that he can talk with animals. It is precisely these voices that define his plans. Will he listen to his dog Bosco, who counsels him to care about his new love and colleague Lisa (Anna Kendrick) or will he obey his sly cat Mr. Whiskers, who thinks it is wiser to kill the poor woman?

A serial killer who talks to animals. It is a strange thing for a movie. It works or you go flat on your face. Fortunately for Satrapi it has become the first option, because of the funny scenario and the first-rate performances. I've always had my doubts about Ryan Reynolds, but as a crazed killer he delivers a great job. Anna Kendrick is for me one of the most delicious actresses (in all senses) of this moment, so no problem with that either. Admittedly, compared to Satrapis previous films, The Voices is a lightweight, and far from being a bold choice. But it does not always have to be like that, The Voices is a wonderful homage to the horror comedy of the 80s without being grotesque. This release is available from on both DVD and Blu-ray through Remain In Light.

Didier BECU
07/07/2015


NL

Er worden tegenwoordig veel te weinig horrorkomedies gemaakt, een genre dat in de jaren 80 bij producers en filmhuizen bovenop de stapel lag. The Voices is eentje en zelfs een geslaagde, alleen is het vreemd dat Marjane Satrapi daar verantwoordelijk voor is. Haar vorige werken (de tekenfilm Persepolis en Poulet Aux Prunes), waarmee ze de filmcritici en het publiek wist te paaien, liggen immers mijlenver van haar Hollywooddebuut af.

In The Voices maken we kennis met Jerry. Dankzij de tandpastaglimlach van Ryan Reynolds zou je denken dat hij de ideale schoonzoon is, maar door een jeugdtrauma heeft de kerel ze niet alle vijf op een rij. Zijn baas is wel te spreken over zijn voorbeeldige houding, toch vinden zijn collega’s hem maar een vreemde snoeshaan. Natuurlijk zijn het zoals altijd de vrouwen die niet willen luisteren, en de eerste die letterlijk en figuurlijk haar hoofd verliest is Fiona (Gemma Arterton). Haar afgezaagde hoofd wordt netjes in Jerrys koelkast gestopt zodat hij er nog iedere avond leuk mee kan kletsen. Jerry kan niet alleen met afgezaagde hoofden communiceren, ook beeldt hij zich in dat hij met dieren kan praten. Het zijn net die stemmen die zijn plannen bepalen. Zal hij naar zijn hond Bosco luisteren die hem de wijze raad heeft om zich gewoon knusjes in de schoot van zijn nieuwe vlam en collega Lisa (Anna Kendrick) te nestelen, of gehoorzaamt hij zijn sluwe kat Mr. Whiskers die het toch verstandiger vindt om het arme wicht meteen te doden?

Een seriemoordenaar die met dieren praat. Het is een vreemd uitgangspunt waar je ofwel mee weg kunt of volledig plat op je bek mee gaat. Gelukkig voor Satrapi is het de eerste optie geworden en dat ligt zowel aan het grappige scenario als aan de zeer puike vertolkingen. Ik heb altijd een beetje mijn twijfels gehad over Ryan Reynolds, maar als krankzinnige moordenaar doet hij het zeer goed. Anna Kendrick is voor ondergetekende op alle vlakken een heerlijke actrice, dus daar is ook geen probleem mee. Toegegeven, in vergelijking met Satrapis vorige films is The Voices echt wel een lichtgewicht, en verre van een gedurfde keuze. Maar dat hoeft niet altijd zo te zijn, The Voices is een heerlijke hommage aan de horrorkomedie van de jaren 80 zonder dat het potsierlijk wordt. Een film die je terecht als prettig gestoord mag bestempelen. Deze fijne release is vanaf nu zowel op dvd als Blu-ray via Remain In Light verkrijgbaar.

Didier BECU
07/07/2015


07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus