tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices

MARJANE SATRAPI

The Voices

Movie
ComedyThriller

[72/100]   

Remain In Light
07/07/2015, Didier BECU

EN

These days, there are not many horror comedies like in the 80’s. The Voices is one of them, and a good one too; but it is strange that Marjane Satrapi is responsible for it. Her previous works (the animation film Persepolis and Poulet Aux Prunes ), which were loved and hailed by the film critics and the public, are indeed miles away from her Hollywood debut.

In The Voices we meet Jerry. Thanks to his toothpaste smile, you would think that Ryan Reynolds is the ideal son, but because of a childhood trauma, the guy is completely nuts. His boss praises his exemplary attitude, but his colleagues think he’s an odd chap. Of course, as always the women won’t listen, and the first one who literally loses her head is Fiona (Gemma Arterton). Her head is put in Jerry’s refrigerator so he can chat every night with her. Jerry can not only communicate with sawn-off heads, he also imagines that he can talk with animals. It is precisely these voices that define his plans. Will he listen to his dog Bosco, who counsels him to care about his new love and colleague Lisa (Anna Kendrick) or will he obey his sly cat Mr. Whiskers, who thinks it is wiser to kill the poor woman?

A serial killer who talks to animals. It is a strange thing for a movie. It works or you go flat on your face. Fortunately for Satrapi it has become the first option, because of the funny scenario and the first-rate performances. I've always had my doubts about Ryan Reynolds, but as a crazed killer he delivers a great job. Anna Kendrick is for me one of the most delicious actresses (in all senses) of this moment, so no problem with that either. Admittedly, compared to Satrapis previous films, The Voices is a lightweight, and far from being a bold choice. But it does not always have to be like that, The Voices is a wonderful homage to the horror comedy of the 80s without being grotesque. This release is available from on both DVD and Blu-ray through Remain In Light.

Didier BECU
07/07/2015


NL

Er worden tegenwoordig veel te weinig horrorkomedies gemaakt, een genre dat in de jaren 80 bij producers en filmhuizen bovenop de stapel lag. The Voices is eentje en zelfs een geslaagde, alleen is het vreemd dat Marjane Satrapi daar verantwoordelijk voor is. Haar vorige werken (de tekenfilm Persepolis en Poulet Aux Prunes), waarmee ze de filmcritici en het publiek wist te paaien, liggen immers mijlenver van haar Hollywooddebuut af.

In The Voices maken we kennis met Jerry. Dankzij de tandpastaglimlach van Ryan Reynolds zou je denken dat hij de ideale schoonzoon is, maar door een jeugdtrauma heeft de kerel ze niet alle vijf op een rij. Zijn baas is wel te spreken over zijn voorbeeldige houding, toch vinden zijn collega’s hem maar een vreemde snoeshaan. Natuurlijk zijn het zoals altijd de vrouwen die niet willen luisteren, en de eerste die letterlijk en figuurlijk haar hoofd verliest is Fiona (Gemma Arterton). Haar afgezaagde hoofd wordt netjes in Jerrys koelkast gestopt zodat hij er nog iedere avond leuk mee kan kletsen. Jerry kan niet alleen met afgezaagde hoofden communiceren, ook beeldt hij zich in dat hij met dieren kan praten. Het zijn net die stemmen die zijn plannen bepalen. Zal hij naar zijn hond Bosco luisteren die hem de wijze raad heeft om zich gewoon knusjes in de schoot van zijn nieuwe vlam en collega Lisa (Anna Kendrick) te nestelen, of gehoorzaamt hij zijn sluwe kat Mr. Whiskers die het toch verstandiger vindt om het arme wicht meteen te doden?

Een seriemoordenaar die met dieren praat. Het is een vreemd uitgangspunt waar je ofwel mee weg kunt of volledig plat op je bek mee gaat. Gelukkig voor Satrapi is het de eerste optie geworden en dat ligt zowel aan het grappige scenario als aan de zeer puike vertolkingen. Ik heb altijd een beetje mijn twijfels gehad over Ryan Reynolds, maar als krankzinnige moordenaar doet hij het zeer goed. Anna Kendrick is voor ondergetekende op alle vlakken een heerlijke actrice, dus daar is ook geen probleem mee. Toegegeven, in vergelijking met Satrapis vorige films is The Voices echt wel een lichtgewicht, en verre van een gedurfde keuze. Maar dat hoeft niet altijd zo te zijn, The Voices is een heerlijke hommage aan de horrorkomedie van de jaren 80 zonder dat het potsierlijk wordt. Een film die je terecht als prettig gestoord mag bestempelen. Deze fijne release is vanaf nu zowel op dvd als Blu-ray via Remain In Light verkrijgbaar.

Didier BECU
07/07/2015


07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices 07/07/2015 : MARJANE SATRAPI - The Voices

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra
25
09
WULF 7
Porta Nigra
21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom