tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy

MARK WATERS

Vampire Academy

Movie
Comedy

[25/100]   

Dutch FilmWorks
30/06/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We better be honest about it, but since Twilight made its entrance, vampires are no longer the monopoly for goths or other dark persons, as teenage girls also love the followers from Dracula. These days Kristen Stewart is interested in better cinema, and so Hollywood is in need of a new vampire franchise. One of their current choices are the Vampire Academy-books by Richelle Mead. Six of them are already written, and whether you want it or not: Tinseltown is ready with the script from the sequel.


In the world of Vampire Academy you have the bloodthirsty creatures called Dhampirs, a sort of hybrids as their half human and half vampire. You have two breeds among them. First of all, you have the royal (and so the good ones) vampires that are the Moroi and secondly the cruel Strigoi who wants to rule the world. The young Lissa Dragomir (Lucy Fry) is the Moroi-princess who is supposed to get on the throne, but of course the Strigoi do everything to avoid that. Lissa’s guardian angel and best friend is Rose (Zoey Deutch, whom we know from that other teen horror movie Beautiful Creatures). She is send back to the vampire academy to protect her friend.


Harry Potter for stupid teens, you think? In a way you can say that, but despite the messy script and the not so bright special effects, you can classify Vampire Academy among nice popcorn fodder. The story is mellow, some actors can’t act (yes, Sarah Hyland, you’re the one we’re talking about!) and the directing is without inspiration (what do you want if your triumph is Mean Girls?). Bad elements indeed, but once again: it’s certainly watchable. Even if I’m aware that this is mostly due to Zoey Deutch. But then again, Ellen Page-lookalikes always score in my book!


On the Blu-ray you can find an alternative opening scene, some deleted parts and an interview with novelist Michelle Mead.


Vampire Academy is out on Dutch Filmworks on both DVD and Blu-ray.

 

Didier BECU
30/06/2014


NL

Sinds Twilight zijn vampiers niet alleen meer in de kamers van goths of griezelfanaten te vinden, maar ook bakvisjes genieten volop van de volgelingen van Dracula. Kristen Stewart houdt zich tegenwoordig liever bezig met de betere cinema en daarom had Hollywood nood aan een nieuwe franchise over bloedzuigers. De keuze viel op de Vampire Academy-boeken van Richelle Mead waarvan er ondertussen al zes zijn uitgebracht. En of je het nu wil of niet, inmiddels is men in Hollywood al klaar met het scenario voor de sequel.

In de wereld van Vampire Academy zijn de bloeddorstige wezens Dhampirs, een soort hybride want eigenlijk zijn ze half mens-half vampier. Je hebt twee soorten namelijk de koninklijke (en dus de goede) Moroi en de wreedaardige Strigoi. Natuurlijk willen de Strigoi de macht overnemen. De piepjonge Lissa Dragomir (Lucy Fry) is de Moroi-prinses die wordt verondersteld om weldra de troon te bestijgen, maar natuurlijk willen de Strigoi dat ten alle tijden vermijden. Redder in nood is haar boezemvriendin Rose (Zoey Deutch, die we al eerder zagen in die andere tienergriezelfilm Beautiful Creatures), daarom wordt zij terug naar de vampierenacademie gestuurd om haar beste maatje te beschermen.

Harry Potter voor onnozele tienermeisjes, denkt u? Ergens is dat wel zo, maar ondanks het rommelige scenario en de bij momenten onnozele effecten is Vampire Academy toch ook best leuk voor kijkers die geen 15 zijn. Het verhaal is wel wat melig, sommige acteurs kunnen helemaal niet acteren (inderdaad, Sarah Hyland, we hebben het over u!) toch is Vampire Academy best te pruimen popcornvertier als je je eisen niet te hoog stelt. De regie van Mark Waters laat wel heel wat te wensen over (wat wil je als Mean Girls je paradepaardje is?), gelukkig wordt de film regelmatig rechtgetrokken door de beloftevolle Zoey Deutch. Nu ja, Ellen Page-lookalikes scoren nu eenmaal tijd!

Op de Blu-ray vind je tevens een alternatieve openingscène, wat verwijderde delen en een interview met schrijfster Michelle Mead terug.

Vampire Academy is nu uit op Dutch Filmworks en dit zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
30/06/2014


30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!
01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp