tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy

MARK WATERS

Vampire Academy

Movie
Comedy

[25/100]   

Dutch FilmWorks
30/06/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We better be honest about it, but since Twilight made its entrance, vampires are no longer the monopoly for goths or other dark persons, as teenage girls also love the followers from Dracula. These days Kristen Stewart is interested in better cinema, and so Hollywood is in need of a new vampire franchise. One of their current choices are the Vampire Academy-books by Richelle Mead. Six of them are already written, and whether you want it or not: Tinseltown is ready with the script from the sequel.


In the world of Vampire Academy you have the bloodthirsty creatures called Dhampirs, a sort of hybrids as their half human and half vampire. You have two breeds among them. First of all, you have the royal (and so the good ones) vampires that are the Moroi and secondly the cruel Strigoi who wants to rule the world. The young Lissa Dragomir (Lucy Fry) is the Moroi-princess who is supposed to get on the throne, but of course the Strigoi do everything to avoid that. Lissa’s guardian angel and best friend is Rose (Zoey Deutch, whom we know from that other teen horror movie Beautiful Creatures). She is send back to the vampire academy to protect her friend.


Harry Potter for stupid teens, you think? In a way you can say that, but despite the messy script and the not so bright special effects, you can classify Vampire Academy among nice popcorn fodder. The story is mellow, some actors can’t act (yes, Sarah Hyland, you’re the one we’re talking about!) and the directing is without inspiration (what do you want if your triumph is Mean Girls?). Bad elements indeed, but once again: it’s certainly watchable. Even if I’m aware that this is mostly due to Zoey Deutch. But then again, Ellen Page-lookalikes always score in my book!


On the Blu-ray you can find an alternative opening scene, some deleted parts and an interview with novelist Michelle Mead.


Vampire Academy is out on Dutch Filmworks on both DVD and Blu-ray.

 

Didier BECU
30/06/2014


NL

Sinds Twilight zijn vampiers niet alleen meer in de kamers van goths of griezelfanaten te vinden, maar ook bakvisjes genieten volop van de volgelingen van Dracula. Kristen Stewart houdt zich tegenwoordig liever bezig met de betere cinema en daarom had Hollywood nood aan een nieuwe franchise over bloedzuigers. De keuze viel op de Vampire Academy-boeken van Richelle Mead waarvan er ondertussen al zes zijn uitgebracht. En of je het nu wil of niet, inmiddels is men in Hollywood al klaar met het scenario voor de sequel.

In de wereld van Vampire Academy zijn de bloeddorstige wezens Dhampirs, een soort hybride want eigenlijk zijn ze half mens-half vampier. Je hebt twee soorten namelijk de koninklijke (en dus de goede) Moroi en de wreedaardige Strigoi. Natuurlijk willen de Strigoi de macht overnemen. De piepjonge Lissa Dragomir (Lucy Fry) is de Moroi-prinses die wordt verondersteld om weldra de troon te bestijgen, maar natuurlijk willen de Strigoi dat ten alle tijden vermijden. Redder in nood is haar boezemvriendin Rose (Zoey Deutch, die we al eerder zagen in die andere tienergriezelfilm Beautiful Creatures), daarom wordt zij terug naar de vampierenacademie gestuurd om haar beste maatje te beschermen.

Harry Potter voor onnozele tienermeisjes, denkt u? Ergens is dat wel zo, maar ondanks het rommelige scenario en de bij momenten onnozele effecten is Vampire Academy toch ook best leuk voor kijkers die geen 15 zijn. Het verhaal is wel wat melig, sommige acteurs kunnen helemaal niet acteren (inderdaad, Sarah Hyland, we hebben het over u!) toch is Vampire Academy best te pruimen popcornvertier als je je eisen niet te hoog stelt. De regie van Mark Waters laat wel heel wat te wensen over (wat wil je als Mean Girls je paradepaardje is?), gelukkig wordt de film regelmatig rechtgetrokken door de beloftevolle Zoey Deutch. Nu ja, Ellen Page-lookalikes scoren nu eenmaal tijd!

Op de Blu-ray vind je tevens een alternatieve openingscène, wat verwijderde delen en een interview met schrijfster Michelle Mead terug.

Vampire Academy is nu uit op Dutch Filmworks en dit zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
30/06/2014


30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy 30/06/2014 : MARK WATERS - Vampire Academy

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)