tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

22/07/2011 : MARTIAL CANTEREL - Splitsingle with Tobias Bernstrup | 'Strange Land'

MARTIAL CANTEREL

Splitsingle with Tobias Bernstrup

'Strange Land'

MusicVinyl
Minimal

[84/100]   

Mannequin Mailorder
22/07/2011, Didier BECU

They do still exist, those lovely split-singles and on this gem you meet the cream of the crop in the current minimal synth-movement.

This single is actually more than just dropping two songs on an A and B-side as it's a real collaboration between those artists as Tobias sings on the Martial Canterel-tracks and vice versa.

"Strange land" hosts the typical frivolous cold new wave-sound from this New York based artist who stood at the base of the current minimal synth boom. It's the kind of track that you'll tend to bomb as a new wave classic after hearing it twice and it makes you wonder why it seems so easy for him to come up with such tunes as it takes some artists a whole career to come up with one song of this caliber.

A different approach from modern minimal synth is offered on flipside "Shadow Rider" as Stockholm based artist Tobias Bernstrup is looking for a much darker (and thus colder) sound which is similar to Alien Skull Paint and Bakterielle Infektion.

An absolute tip for the synthfans but being quick is the message as this split-single has a limited print of 300 copies.

Didier BECU
22/07/2011


Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover