tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

08/04/2015 : MARTIN BREST - Midnight Run

MARTIN BREST

Midnight Run

MovieMovie classics
ComedyCrime

[74/100]   

Second Sight
08/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Once upon a time (it sounds almost like the beginning of a fairy tale) Robert De Niro was the best actor of this planet. The New Yorker was the main face of brilliant classics (mostly Scorsese) and he interspersed these assignments with lighter work, even some comedies. De Niro sublime as a comedian? It sounds indeed like a ludicrous statement after Meet The Parents, but in 1988 he was able to do so. Martin Brest made with Beverly Hills Cop one of the biggest hits of the 80’s, and so Universal gave him a new opportunity with Midnight Run. Although this film is one of the best cop movies ever, the audience neglected it completely. The film disappeared almost into oblivion, so much even that the current Blu-ray has not even been released by Universal, but was sold to Second Sight. Not that we are complaining, because this British company delivers again a great job by bringing back a forgotten classic.

De Niro plays the role of Jack Walsh, who, with a fake FBI badge arrests people. Actually he abducts them and sells them to whoever wants to pay. His latest victim is the rather frumpy accountant Jonathan 'The Duke' Mardukas (Charles Grodin), who is taken from Los Angeles to New York. It will be a trip to remember, especially since Walsh has the company of a real FBI agent (Yaphet Kotto) and another bounty hunter (John Ashton), who wants to take over the well-paid job.

The reason why Midnight Run still works in 2015 (unlike many similar pictures of that era) is not onlydue to the great script, but also to the sublime performances. The only downside might be that the movie just takes a little too long, but for the rest: one to rediscover!

Didier BECU
08/04/2015


NL

Ooit (het klinkt bijna als het begin van een sprookje) was Robert De Niro de beste acteur van deze planeet. De New Yorker kon werkelijk alles aan en briljante klassiekers (meestal van Scorsese) werden afgewisseld met lichter werk, zelfs komedies. De Niro die schittert als komiek? Klinkt inderdaad na Meet The Parents als een vrij potsierlijke uitspraak, maar in 1988 deed hij het wel. Martin Brest, die met Beverly Hills Cop één van de grootste hits uit de jaren 80 scoorde, kreeg van Universal een nieuwe kans met Midnight Run. Alhoewel deze film één van de allerbeste cop movies is, zwichtte het publiek deze keer niet. De film verdween zo goed als in de vergeethoek, zo ver zelfs dat de huidige Blu-rayuitgave niet eens door Universal is uitgebracht, maar is doorverkocht aan Second Sight. Niet dat we klagen, want deze Britse maatschappij levert puik werk door opnieuw een vergeten klassieker uit te brengen.

De Niro speelt de rol van de brutale Jack Walsh, die met een valse FBI-badge mensen arresteert. Eigenlijk ontvoert hij ze en levert hun uit aan wie hem betaalt. Zijn nieuwste slachtoffer is de nogal sullige boekhouder Jonathan 'The Duke' Mardukas (Charles Grodin), die hij van New York naar Los Angeles moet brengen. Het wordt een trip om nooit te vergeten, vooral omdat Walsh het gezelschap krijgt van een echte FBI-agent (Yaphet Kotto) en een andere premiejager (John Ashton), die de goed betaalde job voor zijn rekening wil nemen.

De reden waarom Midnight Run anno 2015 nog werkt (en dit in tegenstelling tot heel wat gelijksoortige prenten uit die tijd) ligt niet alleen aan het leuke script, maar ook aan de sublieme vertolkingen. De Niro schittert en van verval was toen nog geen sprake. Ook Grodin, als boekhouder, doet het goed en een maffiakop als die van Dennis Farina werkt altijd. Het enige minpunt is misschien dat de film net iets te lang duurt, maar voor de rest: herontdekken!

Didier BECU
08/04/2015


08/04/2015 : MARTIN BREST - Midnight Run 08/04/2015 : MARTIN BREST - Midnight Run 08/04/2015 : MARTIN BREST - Midnight Run 08/04/2015 : MARTIN BREST - Midnight Run 08/04/2015 : MARTIN BREST - Midnight Run 08/04/2015 : MARTIN BREST - Midnight Run 08/04/2015 : MARTIN BREST - Midnight Run 08/04/2015 : MARTIN BREST - Midnight Run 08/04/2015 : MARTIN BREST - Midnight Run 08/04/2015 : MARTIN BREST - Midnight Run 08/04/2015 : MARTIN BREST - Midnight Run 08/04/2015 : MARTIN BREST - Midnight Run 08/04/2015 : MARTIN BREST - Midnight Run 08/04/2015 : MARTIN BREST - Midnight Run 08/04/2015 : MARTIN BREST - Midnight Run

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation