tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door

MARTIN SCORSESE

Who's That Knocking At My Door

MovieMovie classics
Crime

[88/100]   

Warner Home Video
11/06/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Opinions are just opinions, but I personally think that Martin Scorsese is undoubtedly the best director everr. Even if you do not agree, you should at least admit that he comes up with a wide variety of styles. His debut Who's That Knocking on my Door from 1967 is clearly a nouvelle vague-product that may look messy and unstructured, yet it is actually the further development of his graduation film. It took 4 years to complete the project, the famous nude scene, with The End by The Doors as a soundtrack, was directed four years later (and with a four year older protagonist!. The film also had various titles (Bring On The Dancing Girls or I Call First). Ultimately it became Who's That Knocking On My Door: or how an amateur movie became a classic.

The story is complex, but actuallyit can be summarized in a few sentences, just because this movie is a visual spectacle in the first place. We follow the young J.R. (Harvey Keitel), a tough guy who can’t shut up about John Wayne. He is deeply religious, but finds it natural to beat the crap out of someone on the street for no reason. His world changes when he meets a young woman (Zina Bethune) on a ferry. They both have a passion for movies, but that is actually the sole thing they have in common.

Sometimes it is said that the character that the very young Harvey interprets, is the alter ego of Marty. Just like J.R., the filmmaker grew up in Little Italy, but the young (timid) Scorsese was not a street fighter. In this film you see how Scorsese would later develop to one of the world's greatest filmmakers. The film seems almost like an exercise of Mean Streets, that he would direct in 1973 with Keitel and the then completely unknown Robert De Niro. In Who's That Knocking On My Door we see all the ingredients of the later Marty: the importance of religion and family, voyeurism to the bad guys, the cinematic genius and the love for film (eg references to The Searchers and The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance). Who's That Knocking on my Door is a tip, perhaps a tad too experimental for the general public, but that doesn't know what it misses!

Didier BECU
11/06/2015


NL

Meningen zijn maar meningen, maar zelf vind ik Martin Scorsese zonder twijfel de beste regisseur die er is. Zelfs al ben je het daar niet mee eens, moet je op zijn minst toegeven dat hij met de meest uiteenlopende werken aan komt draven. Zijn debuut Who’s That Knocking On My Door uit 1967 is overduidelijk een nouvelle vague-product dat misschien wat rommelig en ongestructureerd lijkt, toch ligt dat gewoon aan het feit dat het eigenlijk niet meer dan de uitwerking van zijn eindexamenfilm is. Men werkte 4 jaar aan het project, zo werd de beroemde naaktscène, met The End van The Doors als soundtrack, vier jaar later (en dus met een vier jaar oudere hoofdrolspeler!) gemaakt. De film kreeg ook verschillende titels (van Bring On The Dancing Girls tot I Call First). Uiteindelijk werd het Who’s That Knocking On My Door: of hoe een amateurfilm tot klassieker werd verheven.

Het verhaal is complex, maar eigenlijk ook in een paar zinnen samen te vatten, gewoon omdat deze film in de eerste plaats een visueel spektakel is. We volgen de jonge J.R. (Harvey Keitel), een stoere kerel die maar niet uitgepraat raakt over John Wayne. Hij is wel diepgelovig, maar vindt het vanzelfsprekend om iemand op straat zonder reden verrot te slaan. Zijn wereld verandert als hij op een ferry een jonge vrouw (Zina Bethune) leert kennen. Hun gemeenschappelijke liefde is films, maar daarmee houdt de band eigenlijk op.

Soms wordt wel eens gezegd dat het personage dat de piepjonge Harvey vertolkt, het alter ego is van Marty. Net als J.R. groeide ook de cineast in Little Italy op, in ieder geval was de jonge (schuchtere) Scorsese geen vechtersbaas. Je ziet perfect in deze zwart-witfotografie hoe Scorsese zich later zou ontwikkelen tot één van ’s werelds grootste cineasten. De film lijkt bijna een vingeroefening voor Mean Streets die hij in 1973 met Keitel en de dan nog totaal onbekende Robert De Niro zou draaien. In Who’s That Knocking On My Door zie je alle ingrediënten van de latere Marty: het belang van religie en familie, het voyeurisme richting bad guys, het cinematografisch genie en vooral de liefde voor film (zoals bijv. de verwijzingen naar The Searchers of The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance). Who’s That Knocking Door is een welgemeende tip, misschien een tikkeltje te experimenteel voor het grote publiek, maar dat weet dan ook niet wat het mist!

Didier BECU
11/06/2015


11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019
14
07
'Hidden Figures' release their first single this August - debut album in progress!
13
07
Exclusive BEAUTY IN THE SUFFERING Performance Featured In New Horror Film, CLOWN MOTEL
08
07
A SPLIT-SECOND headline at GENTSE FEESTEN (Walter De Buckplein) on Sunday July 21st
05
07
Israeli Dark Electronic Act LIYA Reveals Her New Video 'No Meaning'

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT
01
07
0KONTROL
We Apply The Old Soviet Tradition Where Lyrics Are Taking More Importance, Than The Music

PHOTOS

10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
THE SAINT PAUL
Parkhaus Duisburg
08
07
CYTO
Parkhaus Duisburg
08
07
ALPHAMAY
Parkhaus Duisburg
02
07
TORUL
Fetish Café Antwerpen
02
07
LLUMEN
Fetish Café Antwerpen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis
12
07
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
11
07
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
10
07
MARCIA BAILA
LES RITA MITSOUKO