tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door

MARTIN SCORSESE

Who's That Knocking At My Door

MovieMovie classics
Crime

[88/100]   

Warner Home Video
11/06/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Opinions are just opinions, but I personally think that Martin Scorsese is undoubtedly the best director everr. Even if you do not agree, you should at least admit that he comes up with a wide variety of styles. His debut Who's That Knocking on my Door from 1967 is clearly a nouvelle vague-product that may look messy and unstructured, yet it is actually the further development of his graduation film. It took 4 years to complete the project, the famous nude scene, with The End by The Doors as a soundtrack, was directed four years later (and with a four year older protagonist!. The film also had various titles (Bring On The Dancing Girls or I Call First). Ultimately it became Who's That Knocking On My Door: or how an amateur movie became a classic.

The story is complex, but actuallyit can be summarized in a few sentences, just because this movie is a visual spectacle in the first place. We follow the young J.R. (Harvey Keitel), a tough guy who can’t shut up about John Wayne. He is deeply religious, but finds it natural to beat the crap out of someone on the street for no reason. His world changes when he meets a young woman (Zina Bethune) on a ferry. They both have a passion for movies, but that is actually the sole thing they have in common.

Sometimes it is said that the character that the very young Harvey interprets, is the alter ego of Marty. Just like J.R., the filmmaker grew up in Little Italy, but the young (timid) Scorsese was not a street fighter. In this film you see how Scorsese would later develop to one of the world's greatest filmmakers. The film seems almost like an exercise of Mean Streets, that he would direct in 1973 with Keitel and the then completely unknown Robert De Niro. In Who's That Knocking On My Door we see all the ingredients of the later Marty: the importance of religion and family, voyeurism to the bad guys, the cinematic genius and the love for film (eg references to The Searchers and The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance). Who's That Knocking on my Door is a tip, perhaps a tad too experimental for the general public, but that doesn't know what it misses!

Didier BECU
11/06/2015


NL

Meningen zijn maar meningen, maar zelf vind ik Martin Scorsese zonder twijfel de beste regisseur die er is. Zelfs al ben je het daar niet mee eens, moet je op zijn minst toegeven dat hij met de meest uiteenlopende werken aan komt draven. Zijn debuut Who’s That Knocking On My Door uit 1967 is overduidelijk een nouvelle vague-product dat misschien wat rommelig en ongestructureerd lijkt, toch ligt dat gewoon aan het feit dat het eigenlijk niet meer dan de uitwerking van zijn eindexamenfilm is. Men werkte 4 jaar aan het project, zo werd de beroemde naaktscène, met The End van The Doors als soundtrack, vier jaar later (en dus met een vier jaar oudere hoofdrolspeler!) gemaakt. De film kreeg ook verschillende titels (van Bring On The Dancing Girls tot I Call First). Uiteindelijk werd het Who’s That Knocking On My Door: of hoe een amateurfilm tot klassieker werd verheven.

Het verhaal is complex, maar eigenlijk ook in een paar zinnen samen te vatten, gewoon omdat deze film in de eerste plaats een visueel spektakel is. We volgen de jonge J.R. (Harvey Keitel), een stoere kerel die maar niet uitgepraat raakt over John Wayne. Hij is wel diepgelovig, maar vindt het vanzelfsprekend om iemand op straat zonder reden verrot te slaan. Zijn wereld verandert als hij op een ferry een jonge vrouw (Zina Bethune) leert kennen. Hun gemeenschappelijke liefde is films, maar daarmee houdt de band eigenlijk op.

Soms wordt wel eens gezegd dat het personage dat de piepjonge Harvey vertolkt, het alter ego is van Marty. Net als J.R. groeide ook de cineast in Little Italy op, in ieder geval was de jonge (schuchtere) Scorsese geen vechtersbaas. Je ziet perfect in deze zwart-witfotografie hoe Scorsese zich later zou ontwikkelen tot één van ’s werelds grootste cineasten. De film lijkt bijna een vingeroefening voor Mean Streets die hij in 1973 met Keitel en de dan nog totaal onbekende Robert De Niro zou draaien. In Who’s That Knocking On My Door zie je alle ingrediënten van de latere Marty: het belang van religie en familie, het voyeurisme richting bad guys, het cinematografisch genie en vooral de liefde voor film (zoals bijv. de verwijzingen naar The Searchers of The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance). Who’s That Knocking Door is een welgemeende tip, misschien een tikkeltje te experimenteel voor het grote publiek, maar dat weet dan ook niet wat het mist!

Didier BECU
11/06/2015


11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna