tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door

MARTIN SCORSESE

Who's That Knocking At My Door

MovieMovie classics
Crime

[88/100]   

Warner Home Video
11/06/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Opinions are just opinions, but I personally think that Martin Scorsese is undoubtedly the best director everr. Even if you do not agree, you should at least admit that he comes up with a wide variety of styles. His debut Who's That Knocking on my Door from 1967 is clearly a nouvelle vague-product that may look messy and unstructured, yet it is actually the further development of his graduation film. It took 4 years to complete the project, the famous nude scene, with The End by The Doors as a soundtrack, was directed four years later (and with a four year older protagonist!. The film also had various titles (Bring On The Dancing Girls or I Call First). Ultimately it became Who's That Knocking On My Door: or how an amateur movie became a classic.

The story is complex, but actuallyit can be summarized in a few sentences, just because this movie is a visual spectacle in the first place. We follow the young J.R. (Harvey Keitel), a tough guy who can’t shut up about John Wayne. He is deeply religious, but finds it natural to beat the crap out of someone on the street for no reason. His world changes when he meets a young woman (Zina Bethune) on a ferry. They both have a passion for movies, but that is actually the sole thing they have in common.

Sometimes it is said that the character that the very young Harvey interprets, is the alter ego of Marty. Just like J.R., the filmmaker grew up in Little Italy, but the young (timid) Scorsese was not a street fighter. In this film you see how Scorsese would later develop to one of the world's greatest filmmakers. The film seems almost like an exercise of Mean Streets, that he would direct in 1973 with Keitel and the then completely unknown Robert De Niro. In Who's That Knocking On My Door we see all the ingredients of the later Marty: the importance of religion and family, voyeurism to the bad guys, the cinematic genius and the love for film (eg references to The Searchers and The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance). Who's That Knocking on my Door is a tip, perhaps a tad too experimental for the general public, but that doesn't know what it misses!

Didier BECU
11/06/2015


NL

Meningen zijn maar meningen, maar zelf vind ik Martin Scorsese zonder twijfel de beste regisseur die er is. Zelfs al ben je het daar niet mee eens, moet je op zijn minst toegeven dat hij met de meest uiteenlopende werken aan komt draven. Zijn debuut Who’s That Knocking On My Door uit 1967 is overduidelijk een nouvelle vague-product dat misschien wat rommelig en ongestructureerd lijkt, toch ligt dat gewoon aan het feit dat het eigenlijk niet meer dan de uitwerking van zijn eindexamenfilm is. Men werkte 4 jaar aan het project, zo werd de beroemde naaktscène, met The End van The Doors als soundtrack, vier jaar later (en dus met een vier jaar oudere hoofdrolspeler!) gemaakt. De film kreeg ook verschillende titels (van Bring On The Dancing Girls tot I Call First). Uiteindelijk werd het Who’s That Knocking On My Door: of hoe een amateurfilm tot klassieker werd verheven.

Het verhaal is complex, maar eigenlijk ook in een paar zinnen samen te vatten, gewoon omdat deze film in de eerste plaats een visueel spektakel is. We volgen de jonge J.R. (Harvey Keitel), een stoere kerel die maar niet uitgepraat raakt over John Wayne. Hij is wel diepgelovig, maar vindt het vanzelfsprekend om iemand op straat zonder reden verrot te slaan. Zijn wereld verandert als hij op een ferry een jonge vrouw (Zina Bethune) leert kennen. Hun gemeenschappelijke liefde is films, maar daarmee houdt de band eigenlijk op.

Soms wordt wel eens gezegd dat het personage dat de piepjonge Harvey vertolkt, het alter ego is van Marty. Net als J.R. groeide ook de cineast in Little Italy op, in ieder geval was de jonge (schuchtere) Scorsese geen vechtersbaas. Je ziet perfect in deze zwart-witfotografie hoe Scorsese zich later zou ontwikkelen tot één van ’s werelds grootste cineasten. De film lijkt bijna een vingeroefening voor Mean Streets die hij in 1973 met Keitel en de dan nog totaal onbekende Robert De Niro zou draaien. In Who’s That Knocking On My Door zie je alle ingrediënten van de latere Marty: het belang van religie en familie, het voyeurisme richting bad guys, het cinematografisch genie en vooral de liefde voor film (zoals bijv. de verwijzingen naar The Searchers of The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance). Who’s That Knocking Door is een welgemeende tip, misschien een tikkeltje te experimenteel voor het grote publiek, maar dat weet dan ook niet wat het mist!

Didier BECU
11/06/2015


11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door 11/06/2015 : MARTIN SCORSESE - Who's That Knocking At My Door

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia