tempobet yeni adresi

26/12/2011 : MATTHEW CHOJNACKI - Put The Needle On The Record: The 1980s At 45 R.P.M.

MATTHEW CHOJNACKI

Put The Needle On The Record: The 1980s At 45 R.P.M.

Book
New wavePopRockSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[97/100]   
26/12/2011, Dennis OHRT

I feel a bit embarrassed in putting this new work by Matthew Chojnacki in the books category, as it is so much more... I better call it an artwork, as that seems to be the best way of describing what’s on offer here.

Chojnacki dives through his own record collection and takes us all back into the 1980s. Before we start the trip, it is best is to take a deep breath in preparation for what is to come. To this day there are still various people who don't recognise the importance of the decade and easily forget that it was so much more than a few videos on MTV. As you can already guess from the title, we are talking records here. There are other books dealing with album covers, but this time, we are talking 7" and 12" - 45rpm.

Quite a few glorify the art of the album but it shouldn't be forgotten that the same could be said about singles and maxi-singles. Luckily not only the covers are printed but explained as well, either with statements of the artists or the cover designers themselves. Really interesting is the way that the compendium is arranged; quite often fitting covers are shown on each of the sides and compared to similarities. Obviously iconic sleeves are included like New Order's 12” 'Blue Monday', done by the legendary Peter Saville.

You also get The Smiths, Depeche Mode, The Cure, U2 and Duran Duran - not necessarily with their biggest singles but rather unique sleeves (U2 is featured with a rare 7" from the Netherlands), covers are basically from all over the world with the logical main focus on US and UK ones. A fun thing is to browse through all the covers and see which of the records are in your own collection and besides that, you even learn about certain schools of design like the mail art movement that is shown via singles by INXS and Platinum Blonde.

Bands that always had rather controversial looking releases like The The are included as are ones, you would have never guessed to be put together like Limahl and Rod Stewart. And 80’s boys, don't worry, Samantha Fox is included as well, surely one of the most photographed women of the decade. I’d rather stay with Terri Nunn's Berlin and the cover of 'The Metro', though... If it comes to the closing words, what could have been a better choice than the one and only Nick Rhodes of Duran Duran ending this trip into the past?

'Put The Needle On the Record' is a magnificent and important release, that shouldn't be missed in any collection of an 80s music devotee. Hopefully one day Matthew Chojnacki will offer us a follow-up. Despite the 272 pages there are still many more stories to tell and covers to show...

If you live in Europe, the easiest way to order the heavy book via the European distributor Bushwood Books (+ 3.50 UKP postage if you are in the UK / 8.50 UKP Western Europe / 17.00 Eastern Europe).

 

Dennis OHRT
26/12/2011


 

Next reviews
THE HIRAM KEY • Amerikafka
DER BLUTHARSCH • The story about the digging of the hole and the hearing of the sounds from hell
KITTY IN A CASKET • Back To Thrill
NORTHERN SADNESS • Riddles Of Lunacy
SYNTECH • P'som-Sett
ADOLF FILTER/KORD/MONSTER APPARAT • Svensk Bonnasynth
THE CURE • Bestival Live 2011
DR.KRANCK • Haus 13
MADAME B • Psalm 37.29
H. ZOMBIE • Mutation

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists

 

Same genre: POP
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

 

Same genre: ROCK
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
DICEPEOPLE • Synthetic
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
COVENANT • The Blinding Dark
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'

Music reviews

18
09
SPARKS
Hippopotamus
16
09
SPARE SNARE
Unicorn
14
09
SPREADING POINT
MOMENTUM - PART II
04
09
HEXHEART
Midnight on a Moonless Night
29
08
CEPHALGY
Gott Maschine Vaterland
28
08
3TEETH
Shutdown.exe

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
09
The Knife releases new live album & DVD 'Live at Terminal 5
16
09
LA SCALTRA releases first video single from the forthcoming album FREAKSHOW
15
09
Mortiis releases a free 3-track charity single “Too Little Too Late'
13
09
New album from Electronica project MAURI - 'CYBORGS'
07
09
CAN founder and musician Holger Czukay died at the age of 79
30
08
WAX TRAX! EXPANDS MUSIC DOCUMENTARY WITH SO-CAL EVENT

Concert reviews

27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller
26
06
KRYONIX, SYNTHATTACK, BLEIB MODERN, WHISPERING SONS, THE VISION BLEAK
Zondag 4 juni

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MARTYR WHORE
''as a lady orgasm multiply times by 100000000000000'. This night was a big surprise cause we were not programmed in the line up in Madrid'
17
09
VERSUS
‘TO PRODUCE A COMMERCIAL ALBUM WAS NEVER OUR INTENTION’
15
09
MASQUERADE
It's too difficult as it is to tour these days when people prefer to stay at home and watch videos from the 80's on YouTube
13
09
THE QUINSY
Each concert is unique. But we are famous for our powerful gigs
11
09
GOTTERDAMMERUNG
Rose gardens are beautiful but they die too…you might as well dance in that garden during the last night.

PHOTOS

13
09
KMFDM
O2 Academy Islington, London, UK
12
09
REVOLTING COCKS
O2 Academy Islington, London, UK
28
08
DIE KRUPPS
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
28
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
28
08
DER REST
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
24
08
RABIA SORDA
GDW Festival Tilloloy
24
08
DAS FLUFF
GDW Festival Tilloloy

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
TRAIN TO SPAIN
Believe In Love
18
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
17
09
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
16
09
SONJA KRAUSHOFER
Wie Tränen Im Regen
16
09
MILA MAR
Das steinerne Kind
16
09
JO QUAIL
Laurus
16
09
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad