tempobet yeni adresi
like this book review

26/12/2011 : MATTHEW CHOJNACKI - Put The Needle On The Record: The 1980s At 45 R.P.M.

MATTHEW CHOJNACKI

Put The Needle On The Record: The 1980s At 45 R.P.M.

Book
New wavePopRockSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[97/100]   
26/12/2011, Dennis OHRT

I feel a bit embarrassed in putting this new work by Matthew Chojnacki in the books category, as it is so much more... I better call it an artwork, as that seems to be the best way of describing what’s on offer here.

Chojnacki dives through his own record collection and takes us all back into the 1980s. Before we start the trip, it is best is to take a deep breath in preparation for what is to come. To this day there are still various people who don't recognise the importance of the decade and easily forget that it was so much more than a few videos on MTV. As you can already guess from the title, we are talking records here. There are other books dealing with album covers, but this time, we are talking 7" and 12" - 45rpm.

Quite a few glorify the art of the album but it shouldn't be forgotten that the same could be said about singles and maxi-singles. Luckily not only the covers are printed but explained as well, either with statements of the artists or the cover designers themselves. Really interesting is the way that the compendium is arranged; quite often fitting covers are shown on each of the sides and compared to similarities. Obviously iconic sleeves are included like New Order's 12” 'Blue Monday', done by the legendary Peter Saville.

You also get The Smiths, Depeche Mode, The Cure, U2 and Duran Duran - not necessarily with their biggest singles but rather unique sleeves (U2 is featured with a rare 7" from the Netherlands), covers are basically from all over the world with the logical main focus on US and UK ones. A fun thing is to browse through all the covers and see which of the records are in your own collection and besides that, you even learn about certain schools of design like the mail art movement that is shown via singles by INXS and Platinum Blonde.

Bands that always had rather controversial looking releases like The The are included as are ones, you would have never guessed to be put together like Limahl and Rod Stewart. And 80’s boys, don't worry, Samantha Fox is included as well, surely one of the most photographed women of the decade. I’d rather stay with Terri Nunn's Berlin and the cover of 'The Metro', though... If it comes to the closing words, what could have been a better choice than the one and only Nick Rhodes of Duran Duran ending this trip into the past?

'Put The Needle On the Record' is a magnificent and important release, that shouldn't be missed in any collection of an 80s music devotee. Hopefully one day Matthew Chojnacki will offer us a follow-up. Despite the 272 pages there are still many more stories to tell and covers to show...

If you live in Europe, the easiest way to order the heavy book via the European distributor Bushwood Books (+ 3.50 UKP postage if you are in the UK / 8.50 UKP Western Europe / 17.00 Eastern Europe).

 

Dennis OHRT
26/12/2011


 

Next reviews
THE HIRAM KEY • Amerikafka
DER BLUTHARSCH • The story about the digging of the hole and the hearing of the sounds from hell
KITTY IN A CASKET • Back To Thrill
NORTHERN SADNESS • Riddles Of Lunacy
SYNTECH • P'som-Sett
ADOLF FILTER/KORD/MONSTER APPARAT • Svensk Bonnasynth
THE CURE • Bestival Live 2011
DR.KRANCK • Haus 13
MADAME B • Psalm 37.29
H. ZOMBIE • Mutation

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking

 

Same genre: POP
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

 

Same genre: ROCK
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)