tempobet yeni adresi

26/12/2011 : MATTHEW CHOJNACKI - Put The Needle On The Record: The 1980s At 45 R.P.M.

MATTHEW CHOJNACKI

Put The Needle On The Record: The 1980s At 45 R.P.M.

Book
New wavePopRockSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[97/100]   
26/12/2011, Dennis OHRT

I feel a bit embarrassed in putting this new work by Matthew Chojnacki in the books category, as it is so much more... I better call it an artwork, as that seems to be the best way of describing what’s on offer here.

Chojnacki dives through his own record collection and takes us all back into the 1980s. Before we start the trip, it is best is to take a deep breath in preparation for what is to come. To this day there are still various people who don't recognise the importance of the decade and easily forget that it was so much more than a few videos on MTV. As you can already guess from the title, we are talking records here. There are other books dealing with album covers, but this time, we are talking 7" and 12" - 45rpm.

Quite a few glorify the art of the album but it shouldn't be forgotten that the same could be said about singles and maxi-singles. Luckily not only the covers are printed but explained as well, either with statements of the artists or the cover designers themselves. Really interesting is the way that the compendium is arranged; quite often fitting covers are shown on each of the sides and compared to similarities. Obviously iconic sleeves are included like New Order's 12” 'Blue Monday', done by the legendary Peter Saville.

You also get The Smiths, Depeche Mode, The Cure, U2 and Duran Duran - not necessarily with their biggest singles but rather unique sleeves (U2 is featured with a rare 7" from the Netherlands), covers are basically from all over the world with the logical main focus on US and UK ones. A fun thing is to browse through all the covers and see which of the records are in your own collection and besides that, you even learn about certain schools of design like the mail art movement that is shown via singles by INXS and Platinum Blonde.

Bands that always had rather controversial looking releases like The The are included as are ones, you would have never guessed to be put together like Limahl and Rod Stewart. And 80’s boys, don't worry, Samantha Fox is included as well, surely one of the most photographed women of the decade. I’d rather stay with Terri Nunn's Berlin and the cover of 'The Metro', though... If it comes to the closing words, what could have been a better choice than the one and only Nick Rhodes of Duran Duran ending this trip into the past?

'Put The Needle On the Record' is a magnificent and important release, that shouldn't be missed in any collection of an 80s music devotee. Hopefully one day Matthew Chojnacki will offer us a follow-up. Despite the 272 pages there are still many more stories to tell and covers to show...

If you live in Europe, the easiest way to order the heavy book via the European distributor Bushwood Books (+ 3.50 UKP postage if you are in the UK / 8.50 UKP Western Europe / 17.00 Eastern Europe).

 

Dennis OHRT
26/12/2011


 

Next reviews
THE HIRAM KEY • Amerikafka
DER BLUTHARSCH • The story about the digging of the hole and the hearing of the sounds from hell
KITTY IN A CASKET • Back To Thrill
NORTHERN SADNESS • Riddles Of Lunacy
SYNTECH • P'som-Sett
ADOLF FILTER/KORD/MONSTER APPARAT • Svensk Bonnasynth
THE CURE • Bestival Live 2011
DR.KRANCK • Haus 13
MADAME B • Psalm 37.29
H. ZOMBIE • Mutation

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:

 

Same genre: POP
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

 

Same genre: ROCK
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
DICEPEOPLE • Synthetic
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
COVENANT • The Blinding Dark
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure

Music reviews

16
11
STAATSEINDE
Neue Zyklus
11
11
AM TIERPARK
Trashy Luxury
08
11
BOY HARSHER
Country Girl
07
11
OUR BANSHEE
4200
06
11
IMPLANT
The Phone Call (EP)
04
11
SEESAYLE
Stamina

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
11
Then Comes Silence kick off tour today!
11
11
MORTIIS has reissued 'Ånden som Gjorde Opprør', 'Keiser av en Dimensjon Ukjent' and “Født til å Herske” (LP/CD/digital)
08
11
Blutengel releases new video and album 'Black'.
04
11
New band confirmations for the Out Of Line Weekender in Berlin!
02
11
Line-up International EBM Day @ De Casino, St-Niklaas (B) complete!
29
10
New album of FUTURE FUNK SQUAD

Concert reviews

10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’
19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'

PHOTOS

19
11
TINY MAGNETIC PETS
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
13
11
RED ZEBRA
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
THE BOLLOCK BROTHERS
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
STRUGGLER
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
DONDER, HEL & HAGEL
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

19
11
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
18
11
MIIKE SNOW
Genghis Khan
17
11
ELVYA DULCIMER
Gover Si Vena
16
11
GRANDBROTHERS
From A Distance
15
11
THE TEA PARTY
Temptation
14
11
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
14
11
NO MORE
Suicide Commando (Official 1981 video & version)