tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

11/11/2014 : MATTHEW WARCHUS - Pride

MATTHEW WARCHUS

Pride

MovieCinema
Comedy
Lumire
11/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

If you are tired of the traditional gaymovie, then perhaps Pride may be the solution. This British hit is categorized almost everywhere as a feelgood movie, so you know what you can expect. No, The Full Monty is never far away.

The story may seem a bit unreal, but everything really happened. In 1984 Thatcher ruled with an iron fist. The British prime minister refused to make any concessions to striking miners. A group of gays and one lesbian are charmed by the militancy of the workers and decide to set up a fund : the Lesbians and Gays Support the Miners Movement. In a short time the youngsters gather a lot of money. They go to a village in Wales to hand over the proceeds to the strikers. 1984 was also the year in which aids was on the front pages of the newspapers and therefore not everyone was keen on gays. The miners felt that they were ridiculed by their support. Slowly the two movements form one front!

Pride is a delightful film. The former theater director Matthew Warchus uses the typical homo clichés as we know from eg. La Cage Aux Folles, but thanks to the brilliant humor the story works perfectly. The cast includes roaring British names such as Bill Nighy, Dominic West, Paddy Considine, Andrew Scott and Imelda Staunton. Add to that an excellent soundtrack (from Frankie Goes To Hollywood to Bronski Beat) and you have a film to enjoy. The film also did a splendid job at the film festivals : in Cannes Pride received the Queer Palm and in Ghent the Price Of The Audience.

Pride is an amusing comedy that illuminates in a funny way one of the darkest chapters in recent British history.

Didier BECU
11/11/2014


NL

Indien je de traditionele holebifilms een beetje beu bent, dan is de Britse Pride misschien de oplossing. Deze kraker wordt bijna overal gecategoriseerd als een feelgoodfilm, dus dan weet je ook waaraan je je mag verwachten. Neen, The Full Monty is nooit ver weg.

Het verhaal lijkt misschien wat ver gezocht, maar alles is echt gebeurd. In 1984 regeerde Thatcher met een ijzeren vuist. De Britse eerste minister weigerde steevast om toegevingen te doen aan de stakende mijnwerkers die zelf ook niet wilden wijken. Een groepje homo’s en één lesbienne raken gecharmeerd door de strijdlust van de arbeiders en besluiten om een fonds op te richten : de Lesbians and Gays Support the Miners-beweging. In korte tijd vergaren de jongeren heel wat centen en trekken naar een dorpje in Wales om de opbrengst aan de stakers te overhandigen. 1984 was ook het jaar waarin aids de voorpagina’s van de kranten haalde en daardoor was niet iedereen even lief tegenover homo’s. Dat waren ook de mijnwerkers niet, die vonden dat zij door hun steun belachelijk werden gemaakt. Langzaam aan vormen de twee bewegingen één front!

Pride is een overheerlijke film. De gewezen theatermaker Matthew Warchus gebruikt wel de typische homoclichés zoals wij die kennen uit bijv. La Cage Aux Folles, maar dankzij de briljante humor werkt deze film perfect. De cast bestaat uit ronkende Britse namen zoals Bill Nighy, Dominic West, Paddy Considine, Andrew Scott en Imelda Staunton. Voeg daar nog een excellente soundtrack aan toe (van Frankie Goes To Hollywood tot Bronski Beat) en je krijgt een twee uur durende filmrit om van te genieten. Dat vond men ook op de filmfestivals: in Cannes kreeg hij de Queer Palm en in Gent ging Pride er met de publieksprijs vandoor.

Pride is een amusante komedie die op een luchtige wijze één van de meest zwarte bladzijden uit de recente Britse geschiedenis belicht.

Didier BECU
11/11/2014


11/11/2014 : MATTHEW WARCHUS - Pride 11/11/2014 : MATTHEW WARCHUS - Pride 11/11/2014 : MATTHEW WARCHUS - Pride 11/11/2014 : MATTHEW WARCHUS - Pride 11/11/2014 : MATTHEW WARCHUS - Pride 11/11/2014 : MATTHEW WARCHUS - Pride 11/11/2014 : MATTHEW WARCHUS - Pride 11/11/2014 : MATTHEW WARCHUS - Pride 11/11/2014 : MATTHEW WARCHUS - Pride 11/11/2014 : MATTHEW WARCHUS - Pride 11/11/2014 : MATTHEW WARCHUS - Pride 11/11/2014 : MATTHEW WARCHUS - Pride 11/11/2014 : MATTHEW WARCHUS - Pride 11/11/2014 : MATTHEW WARCHUS - Pride 11/11/2014 : MATTHEW WARCHUS - Pride 11/11/2014 : MATTHEW WARCHUS - Pride

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
03
0KONTROL
Gologramma
08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies