tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

25/04/2014 : MENAHEM GOLAN - The Delta Force

MENAHEM GOLAN

The Delta Force

MovieMovie classics
Action

[64/100]   

Arrow
25/04/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Can a Chuck Norris-film become cult? That depends of course who will answer this. Agreed, for those who haven’t experienced the 80’s, those action flicks all look a bit silly, even sometimes ridiculous. But still, they might be created by a bunch of amateurs, the movies are in a way irresistible. Not only action fans filled the theatres, but there was also the video market that conquered the world. Anyone who wanted to rent a action movie back then better took a picture from the Cannon-group home. The producers Golan and Globus made countless productions. Due to a high dose of melancholy, most of these movies are available in restored version on Blu-ray. The Delta Force was in the US already available through 20th Century Fox, while European fans found their way to the British Arrow.


The film is made in 1985, the age in where strong men were master of the silver screen. The Berlin wall was still intact and Europeans were afraid that Russian might invade their land (we know, we know....). But of course we had heroes in movie land who could protect us. Major Scott McCoy (Chuck Norris) was such a guy. He works for the Delta Force and has to exterminate all kind of villains. After a mission in Teheran, Scott swears that his time is over, but Colonel Alexander (Lee Marvin) has a new job for him. The New World Revolutionary Organisation has hijacked an airplane from TWA and McCoy has to finish the job.



It won’t surprise anyone that the script of this picture is rather thin. But good, you won’t find anyone who watches a Chuck Norris-movie because he’s in need of an ingenious story, not? Just like in most of his other works, Norris is perfectly cast to plain a muscled man without brains. Perhaps Lee Marvin deserves better as this top actor made in The Delta Force his last performance ever. The film does what you’re expecting from it: entertaining the action fan. Even Roger Ebert thought The Delta Force wasn’t that bad!


As it’s usual the case on Arrow-releases you’ll find plenty of extra documentaries on this disc too. In Genre Hijackers filmmaker Mark Hartley looks back on what the legendary producer Menahem Golan and Yoram Globus made in their Cannon-years. There’s also an interview with James Bruner who both wrote The Delta Force and Invasion U.S.A. Another bonus is May The Delta Force Be With You!: an interview with Commandant Christian Prouteau who is the real instructor from The Delta Force. So yes, those guys were for real! It makes us wonder if they also wear such a neat beard like the one from Norris!


The Delta Force is now out on Blu-ray via Arrow.

Didier BECU
25/04/2014


NL

Kan een Chuck Norris-film verheven worden tot cult? Dat hangt er natuurlijk van af aan wie je deze vraag stelt. Toegegeven, voor zij die de jaren 80 niet hebben meegemaakt lijken de actiefilms van toen eerder een beetje sullig, om niet te zeggen ronduit belachelijk. Maar toch, hoe amateuristisch het nu allemaal lijkt, hadden deze prenten destijds een onweerstaanbare aantrekkingskracht. Het waren niet alleen de bioscoopzalen die door actiefans werden overrompeld, ook de videomarkt tierde welig. Wie toen een actiefilm thuis op de buis wilde, huurde het best een videotape van Cannon. Het producentenduo Golan-Globus bracht ontelbare van zulke producties uit. Deels wegens een flinke dosis melancholie worden vandaag de meeste van deze films in gerestaureerde versie op Blu-ray uitgebracht. Eerder kon je in de VS bij 20th Century Fox terecht voor de Blu-rayversie van The Delta Force, de Europese cultliefhebber kan hiervoor bij het Britse Arrow terecht.


De film stamt uit 1985, een tijdperk waarin stoere mannen in Hollywood de plak zwaaiden. Er was nog geen enkele steen van de Berlijnse muur weggehaald en de Westerse medemens dacht nog altijd dat de Russen ieder moment Europa konden binnenvallen (tja....). Maar gelukkig waren er in filmland helden die ons tegen de vijanden konden beschermen. Major Scott McCoy (Chuck Norris) is zo'n kerel. McCoy is een vechtjas van de Delta Force. Hij heeft nog maar net een missie in Teheran beëindigd of zijn baas, kolonel Alexander (Lee Marvin) heeft een nieuwe opdracht voor hem klaar. McCoy beweert wel bij hoog en laag dat hij er mee wil stoppen, maar dat is buiten de New World Revolutionary Organisation gerekend. Deze terroristen hebben een vliegtuig van TWA gekaapt en McCoy mag de klus klaren.


Het zal niemand verbazen dat het scenario flinterdun is. Maar goed, geen filmfan die een Norris-film bekijkt om een ingenieus verhaal te zien, niet? Net zoals in de meeste van zijn jaren 80-films is Norris ideaal gecast om een spierbundel zonder hersenen te vertolken. Misschien verdient Lee Marvin beter, want zijn rol in The Delta Force werd de laatste voor deze karakterkop. De film doet evenwel wat hij veronderstel is te doen: de actieliefhebber op het puntje van zijn stoel houden. Zelfs de overleden filmcriticus Roger Ebert had goede woorden voor deze prent.


Zoals we het ondertussen gewend zijn, heeft Arrow deze klassieker (want, dat is hij in zijn genre!) in een mooi gerestaureerde versie op Blu-ray uitgebracht. Wie Arrow zegt, heeft het natuurlijk ook over interessante extra's en dat is bij The Delta Force niet anders. Allereerst is er Genre Hijackers waarin filmmaker Mark Hartley terugblikt op wat de legendarische producers Menahem Golan en Yoram Globus in hun Cannon-jaren hebben gepresteerd. Vervolgens is er nog Chuck Norris Scribe: een interview met James Bruner die het verhaal schreef en ook nog Invasion U.S.A. op de mensheid losliet. Als toemaatje vind je op dit blauwe schijfje nog May The Delta Force Be With You!, een praatje met commandant Christian Prouteau: een instructeur van The Delta Force. Dus jawel, die mannen bestaan in het echt. Benieuwd of ze ook zo'n verzorgde baard als Norris dragen!


The Delta Force is nu uit op Blu-ray via Arrow.

 

Didier BECU
25/04/2014


25/04/2014 : MENAHEM GOLAN - The Delta Force 25/04/2014 : MENAHEM GOLAN - The Delta Force 25/04/2014 : MENAHEM GOLAN - The Delta Force 25/04/2014 : MENAHEM GOLAN - The Delta Force 25/04/2014 : MENAHEM GOLAN - The Delta Force 25/04/2014 : MENAHEM GOLAN - The Delta Force 25/04/2014 : MENAHEM GOLAN - The Delta Force 25/04/2014 : MENAHEM GOLAN - The Delta Force 25/04/2014 : MENAHEM GOLAN - The Delta Force 25/04/2014 : MENAHEM GOLAN - The Delta Force 25/04/2014 : MENAHEM GOLAN - The Delta Force 25/04/2014 : MENAHEM GOLAN - The Delta Force 25/04/2014 : MENAHEM GOLAN - The Delta Force 25/04/2014 : MENAHEM GOLAN - The Delta Force 25/04/2014 : MENAHEM GOLAN - The Delta Force

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)