tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner

MENNO MEYJES

Het Diner

Movie
Drama

[64/100]   

A-Film
12/03/2014, Didier BECU

EN

In all honesty, I was never keen on Dutch cinema. Mind you, I never was on Flemish cinema as well. Dutch filmmaking was for a long time synonym for naughty films with 80's bimbos like Renée Soutendijk or Monique van de Ven. But mind you, there are today exceptions. Recently there are even two: Borgman and Het Diner.


The name of the director doesn't exactly ring a bell, but Menno Meyjes is the man who wrote the scripts from Spielberg-hits like The Color Purple, Empire Of The Sun and Indiana Jones And The Last Crusade. In home country Holland, Menno wanted to try it as director. His choice wasn't exactly an easy one as he chooses the novel Het Diner from Herman Koch. A popular one, but many thought it was impossible to make a film from it. At least, that's what they thought. In the mean time the production rights from the novel are sold to Hollywood. Shortly The Dinner will be the directing debut from Cate Blanchett.

Some critics saw parallels with Carnage. And that's not a silly thought at all, as just like in Polanski's movie the main question is: what are you doing with your children if they done something bad? Condemn them or cover them with parental love? That's the dilemma Paul Lohman (Jacob Derwig), Serge (Daan Schuurmans), Babette (Kim van Kooten) and Claire (Thekla Reuten) are talking about.


As the title expects almost the whole picture is set in a restaurant during a diner. So there’s a lot of talking and from the early beginning it’s clear that the opinions are quite spread. Paul is an unemployed teacher in history who thinks everybody deserves a second chance, while Serge options for the most severe way possible. This attitude has a lot to with the fact that he’s a candidate for Prime Minister, and so he has to set an example. And we even haven’t mentioned Claire!


Some might say that Het Diner is a bit boring, but that depends of course on what you expect from a picture. Without sounding ridiculous, we think we can state that fans from say Paul Walker won’t find a message here. Those who are longing for some fine dialogues combined with good acting will love this Dutch production. So yes, we love Cate Blanchett, but it’ll definitely be hard for to beat Menno Meyjes.


Het Diner is out on A-Film, on both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
12/03/2014


NL

Eerlijkheidshalve heeft het nooit geklikt tussen mij en Nederlandse cinema. Om onze Noorderburen te troosten, dat doet het ook niet met Vlaamse cinema. Hollandse cinema was voor mij synoniem van (onbeduidende) schandaalfilmpjes waar je lekker lang voor opbleef. Ik bedoel maar, iedere mannelijke veertiger weet waarom hij naar Renée Soutendijk of Monique van de Ven keek. Gelukkig zijn er tegenwoordig uitzonderingen, niet zo lang geleden waren dat er zelfs twee: Borgman en Het Diner.


De regisseur van deze prent is dan ook niet meteen de eerste de beste. Menno Meyjes klinkt wel allesbehalve bekend in de oren, toch schreef deze Nederlander scripts voor Spielberg-hits als The Color Purple, Empire Of The Sun en Indiana Jones And The Last Crusade. In eigen land wilde Menno het evenwel als regisseur proberen. Zijn keuze was allesbehalve een gemakkelijk, want hij koos het boek Het Diner uit 2009 van Herman Koch. Hiermee heeft de cineast wel het voordeel van de populariteit (Het Diner is één van de succesvolste Nederlandse boeken ooit), velen beschouwden het boek evenwel als niet te verfilmen. Ten minste, dat dacht men toen. De rechten van het boek dat in Nederland ook ontelbare keren als theaterstuk werd opgevoerd zijn ondertussen aan Hollywood verkochten waardoor The Dinner heel binnenkort het regiedebuut van Cate Blanchett wordt. En, wij Vlamingen maar trots zijn op het feit dat we wederom net geen Oscar hebben gewonnen....


Sommige critici zagen heel wat gelijkenissen met Carnage. Dat is niet eens zo'n gek idee, net als in Polanskis film is ook de hamvraag hier: hoe ga je met je kinderen om als ze iets vreselijks hebben uitgespookt? Schaam je je diep en nagel je ze aan de schandpaal of bedek je ze met de mantel der liefde? Met dit dilemma zitten Paul Lohman (Jacob Derwig), Serge (Daan Schuurmans) en echtgenotes Babette (Kim van Kooten) en Claire (Thekla Reuten). Zoals de titel laat vermoeden speelt (op een paar flashbacks na), de gehele film zich af tijdens een diner. Er wordt dus heel wat gebabbeld, maar vanaf het begin is het duidelijk dat de meningen ver uit elkaar liggen. Paul is een werkloze geschiedenisleraar die denkt dat iedereen een tweede kans verdient, terwijl Serge vindt dat je nooit ver genoeg kan gaan om een voorbeeld te zijn. Ook al was het maar omdat hij als premierkandidaat deze rol moet vervullen, en dan heb je nog niet eens Claire gehoord!


Bepaalde kwatongen vinden Het Diner wat langdradig, maar veel hangt er natuurlijk van af wat je precies van een film verlangt. Fans van zeg maar Paul Walker laten deze praatprent maar best links liggen, maar wie vurige dialogen wil die bovendien zijn gecombineerd met goede acteerprestaties komen beslist aan hun trekken met deze Nederlandse productie. En tja, hoe mooi de ogen van Cate Blanchett ook zijn, ze zal verdraaid haar best moeten doen om Menno Meyjes naar huis te sturen.

Het Diner is uitgebracht door A-Film, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
12/03/2014


12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna