tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner

MENNO MEYJES

Het Diner

Movie
Drama

[64/100]   

A-Film
12/03/2014, Didier BECU

EN

In all honesty, I was never keen on Dutch cinema. Mind you, I never was on Flemish cinema as well. Dutch filmmaking was for a long time synonym for naughty films with 80's bimbos like Renée Soutendijk or Monique van de Ven. But mind you, there are today exceptions. Recently there are even two: Borgman and Het Diner.


The name of the director doesn't exactly ring a bell, but Menno Meyjes is the man who wrote the scripts from Spielberg-hits like The Color Purple, Empire Of The Sun and Indiana Jones And The Last Crusade. In home country Holland, Menno wanted to try it as director. His choice wasn't exactly an easy one as he chooses the novel Het Diner from Herman Koch. A popular one, but many thought it was impossible to make a film from it. At least, that's what they thought. In the mean time the production rights from the novel are sold to Hollywood. Shortly The Dinner will be the directing debut from Cate Blanchett.

Some critics saw parallels with Carnage. And that's not a silly thought at all, as just like in Polanski's movie the main question is: what are you doing with your children if they done something bad? Condemn them or cover them with parental love? That's the dilemma Paul Lohman (Jacob Derwig), Serge (Daan Schuurmans), Babette (Kim van Kooten) and Claire (Thekla Reuten) are talking about.


As the title expects almost the whole picture is set in a restaurant during a diner. So there’s a lot of talking and from the early beginning it’s clear that the opinions are quite spread. Paul is an unemployed teacher in history who thinks everybody deserves a second chance, while Serge options for the most severe way possible. This attitude has a lot to with the fact that he’s a candidate for Prime Minister, and so he has to set an example. And we even haven’t mentioned Claire!


Some might say that Het Diner is a bit boring, but that depends of course on what you expect from a picture. Without sounding ridiculous, we think we can state that fans from say Paul Walker won’t find a message here. Those who are longing for some fine dialogues combined with good acting will love this Dutch production. So yes, we love Cate Blanchett, but it’ll definitely be hard for to beat Menno Meyjes.


Het Diner is out on A-Film, on both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
12/03/2014


NL

Eerlijkheidshalve heeft het nooit geklikt tussen mij en Nederlandse cinema. Om onze Noorderburen te troosten, dat doet het ook niet met Vlaamse cinema. Hollandse cinema was voor mij synoniem van (onbeduidende) schandaalfilmpjes waar je lekker lang voor opbleef. Ik bedoel maar, iedere mannelijke veertiger weet waarom hij naar Renée Soutendijk of Monique van de Ven keek. Gelukkig zijn er tegenwoordig uitzonderingen, niet zo lang geleden waren dat er zelfs twee: Borgman en Het Diner.


De regisseur van deze prent is dan ook niet meteen de eerste de beste. Menno Meyjes klinkt wel allesbehalve bekend in de oren, toch schreef deze Nederlander scripts voor Spielberg-hits als The Color Purple, Empire Of The Sun en Indiana Jones And The Last Crusade. In eigen land wilde Menno het evenwel als regisseur proberen. Zijn keuze was allesbehalve een gemakkelijk, want hij koos het boek Het Diner uit 2009 van Herman Koch. Hiermee heeft de cineast wel het voordeel van de populariteit (Het Diner is één van de succesvolste Nederlandse boeken ooit), velen beschouwden het boek evenwel als niet te verfilmen. Ten minste, dat dacht men toen. De rechten van het boek dat in Nederland ook ontelbare keren als theaterstuk werd opgevoerd zijn ondertussen aan Hollywood verkochten waardoor The Dinner heel binnenkort het regiedebuut van Cate Blanchett wordt. En, wij Vlamingen maar trots zijn op het feit dat we wederom net geen Oscar hebben gewonnen....


Sommige critici zagen heel wat gelijkenissen met Carnage. Dat is niet eens zo'n gek idee, net als in Polanskis film is ook de hamvraag hier: hoe ga je met je kinderen om als ze iets vreselijks hebben uitgespookt? Schaam je je diep en nagel je ze aan de schandpaal of bedek je ze met de mantel der liefde? Met dit dilemma zitten Paul Lohman (Jacob Derwig), Serge (Daan Schuurmans) en echtgenotes Babette (Kim van Kooten) en Claire (Thekla Reuten). Zoals de titel laat vermoeden speelt (op een paar flashbacks na), de gehele film zich af tijdens een diner. Er wordt dus heel wat gebabbeld, maar vanaf het begin is het duidelijk dat de meningen ver uit elkaar liggen. Paul is een werkloze geschiedenisleraar die denkt dat iedereen een tweede kans verdient, terwijl Serge vindt dat je nooit ver genoeg kan gaan om een voorbeeld te zijn. Ook al was het maar omdat hij als premierkandidaat deze rol moet vervullen, en dan heb je nog niet eens Claire gehoord!


Bepaalde kwatongen vinden Het Diner wat langdradig, maar veel hangt er natuurlijk van af wat je precies van een film verlangt. Fans van zeg maar Paul Walker laten deze praatprent maar best links liggen, maar wie vurige dialogen wil die bovendien zijn gecombineerd met goede acteerprestaties komen beslist aan hun trekken met deze Nederlandse productie. En tja, hoe mooi de ogen van Cate Blanchett ook zijn, ze zal verdraaid haar best moeten doen om Menno Meyjes naar huis te sturen.

Het Diner is uitgebracht door A-Film, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
12/03/2014


12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
03
44 years of Staircase Mystery - Siouxsie And The Banshees release their second single!
22
03
The Soul Walker | Celebrating The Sound Of The Late Scott Walker († March 22, 2019)
22
03
Today, exactly 34 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 43 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 35 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s exactly 33 years ago that Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

22
03
THE OTHER SUPPORT THE 69 EYES
Bochum Zeche
22
03
THE 69 EYES
Bochum Zeche
19
03
FIX8:SED8
Bahnhof Langendreer BOCHUM
19
03
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bahnhof Langendreer BOCHUM
25
02
SUICIDE COMMANDO
International EBM day 2023
25
02
FIX8-SED8
International EBM day 2023
25
02
NO SLEEP BY THE MACHINE
International EBM day 2023

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
23
03
VOITH
New single for VOITH: Falling in Love with you agian
22
03
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
21
03
B-52'S
Rock Lobster
20
03
HAUSCHKA
My Kids Live On Mars
19
03
IN SLAUGHTER NATIVES
Definition of Being Alive
18
03
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)