tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner

MENNO MEYJES

Het Diner

Movie
Drama

[64/100]   

A-Film
12/03/2014, Didier BECU

EN

In all honesty, I was never keen on Dutch cinema. Mind you, I never was on Flemish cinema as well. Dutch filmmaking was for a long time synonym for naughty films with 80's bimbos like Renée Soutendijk or Monique van de Ven. But mind you, there are today exceptions. Recently there are even two: Borgman and Het Diner.


The name of the director doesn't exactly ring a bell, but Menno Meyjes is the man who wrote the scripts from Spielberg-hits like The Color Purple, Empire Of The Sun and Indiana Jones And The Last Crusade. In home country Holland, Menno wanted to try it as director. His choice wasn't exactly an easy one as he chooses the novel Het Diner from Herman Koch. A popular one, but many thought it was impossible to make a film from it. At least, that's what they thought. In the mean time the production rights from the novel are sold to Hollywood. Shortly The Dinner will be the directing debut from Cate Blanchett.

Some critics saw parallels with Carnage. And that's not a silly thought at all, as just like in Polanski's movie the main question is: what are you doing with your children if they done something bad? Condemn them or cover them with parental love? That's the dilemma Paul Lohman (Jacob Derwig), Serge (Daan Schuurmans), Babette (Kim van Kooten) and Claire (Thekla Reuten) are talking about.


As the title expects almost the whole picture is set in a restaurant during a diner. So there’s a lot of talking and from the early beginning it’s clear that the opinions are quite spread. Paul is an unemployed teacher in history who thinks everybody deserves a second chance, while Serge options for the most severe way possible. This attitude has a lot to with the fact that he’s a candidate for Prime Minister, and so he has to set an example. And we even haven’t mentioned Claire!


Some might say that Het Diner is a bit boring, but that depends of course on what you expect from a picture. Without sounding ridiculous, we think we can state that fans from say Paul Walker won’t find a message here. Those who are longing for some fine dialogues combined with good acting will love this Dutch production. So yes, we love Cate Blanchett, but it’ll definitely be hard for to beat Menno Meyjes.


Het Diner is out on A-Film, on both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
12/03/2014


NL

Eerlijkheidshalve heeft het nooit geklikt tussen mij en Nederlandse cinema. Om onze Noorderburen te troosten, dat doet het ook niet met Vlaamse cinema. Hollandse cinema was voor mij synoniem van (onbeduidende) schandaalfilmpjes waar je lekker lang voor opbleef. Ik bedoel maar, iedere mannelijke veertiger weet waarom hij naar Renée Soutendijk of Monique van de Ven keek. Gelukkig zijn er tegenwoordig uitzonderingen, niet zo lang geleden waren dat er zelfs twee: Borgman en Het Diner.


De regisseur van deze prent is dan ook niet meteen de eerste de beste. Menno Meyjes klinkt wel allesbehalve bekend in de oren, toch schreef deze Nederlander scripts voor Spielberg-hits als The Color Purple, Empire Of The Sun en Indiana Jones And The Last Crusade. In eigen land wilde Menno het evenwel als regisseur proberen. Zijn keuze was allesbehalve een gemakkelijk, want hij koos het boek Het Diner uit 2009 van Herman Koch. Hiermee heeft de cineast wel het voordeel van de populariteit (Het Diner is één van de succesvolste Nederlandse boeken ooit), velen beschouwden het boek evenwel als niet te verfilmen. Ten minste, dat dacht men toen. De rechten van het boek dat in Nederland ook ontelbare keren als theaterstuk werd opgevoerd zijn ondertussen aan Hollywood verkochten waardoor The Dinner heel binnenkort het regiedebuut van Cate Blanchett wordt. En, wij Vlamingen maar trots zijn op het feit dat we wederom net geen Oscar hebben gewonnen....


Sommige critici zagen heel wat gelijkenissen met Carnage. Dat is niet eens zo'n gek idee, net als in Polanskis film is ook de hamvraag hier: hoe ga je met je kinderen om als ze iets vreselijks hebben uitgespookt? Schaam je je diep en nagel je ze aan de schandpaal of bedek je ze met de mantel der liefde? Met dit dilemma zitten Paul Lohman (Jacob Derwig), Serge (Daan Schuurmans) en echtgenotes Babette (Kim van Kooten) en Claire (Thekla Reuten). Zoals de titel laat vermoeden speelt (op een paar flashbacks na), de gehele film zich af tijdens een diner. Er wordt dus heel wat gebabbeld, maar vanaf het begin is het duidelijk dat de meningen ver uit elkaar liggen. Paul is een werkloze geschiedenisleraar die denkt dat iedereen een tweede kans verdient, terwijl Serge vindt dat je nooit ver genoeg kan gaan om een voorbeeld te zijn. Ook al was het maar omdat hij als premierkandidaat deze rol moet vervullen, en dan heb je nog niet eens Claire gehoord!


Bepaalde kwatongen vinden Het Diner wat langdradig, maar veel hangt er natuurlijk van af wat je precies van een film verlangt. Fans van zeg maar Paul Walker laten deze praatprent maar best links liggen, maar wie vurige dialogen wil die bovendien zijn gecombineerd met goede acteerprestaties komen beslist aan hun trekken met deze Nederlandse productie. En tja, hoe mooi de ogen van Cate Blanchett ook zijn, ze zal verdraaid haar best moeten doen om Menno Meyjes naar huis te sturen.

Het Diner is uitgebracht door A-Film, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
12/03/2014


12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner 12/03/2014 : MENNO MEYJES - Het Diner

Music reviews

17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree
16
10
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Chance Versus Causality
16
10
MASSIVE ATTACK
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold