tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

09/12/2016 : MERCURY GIRLS - Ariana

MERCURY GIRLS

Ariana

Music7 inch
Indie

[80/100]   

Slumberland Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Ever heard of jingle jangle pop? Well, if you're an indie pop fan who is over 40, then is certainly the case. At the end of the 80s (1986 to be exact) every street had a band that made music with a rattling sound, but nonetheless was brilliant. One of the leading labels in that genre was Slumberland Records, which still exists today. The latest discovery of this label is Mercury Girls from Philadelphia.

Sarah Schimineck, Kevin Attics, Andrew Hagiwara, Chris and Kevin O'Halloran Schackerman do nothing new, but it sounds great. Their fascination with Sarah Records (indie freaks know what it's about) resulted in a delicious sound that is between the shoegaze style of Lush, the nonchalance of The Heavenly and the energy of The Flatmates.

Ariana is the debut single of Mercury Girls, on which you find two tracks of just three minutes. In short, the kind of music that has all the requirements of a good C86 record. Soon there will be a full-length album!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Ooit al gehoord van jinglejanglepop? Wel, als je een veertiger bent die van indiepop houdt, dan zal dat beslist wel het geval zijn. Op het einde van de jaren 80 (1986 om precies te zijn) vond je wel in iedere straat een bandje dat muziek maakte die aan alle kanten rammelde, maar die tevens briljant klonk. Een van de labels uit dat genre was Slumberland Records en dat bestaat nog steeds. De nieuwste ontdekking van dit label is Mercury Girls uit Philadelphia.

Sarah Schimineck, Kevin Attics, Andrew Hagiwara, Chris Schackerman en Kevin O'Halloran doen niks nieuws, maar het klinkt wel fantastisch. Door hun fascinatie voor Sarah Records (indiefreaks weten wel waarover het gaat) kwam het vijftal met een heerlijk geluid op de proppen dat zich situeert tussen de shoegaze van Lush, de nonchalance van The Heavenly en de energie van The Flatmates.

Ariana is de debuutsingle van Mercury Girls en je vindt er twee tracks op die net geen drie minuten duren. Kortom, het soort muziek dat aan alle voorschriften van een goede C86-plaat voldoen. Binnenkort verschijnt er een langspeler!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco