tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

09/12/2016 : MERCURY GIRLS - Ariana

MERCURY GIRLS

Ariana

Music7 inch
Indie

[80/100]   

Slumberland Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Ever heard of jingle jangle pop? Well, if you're an indie pop fan who is over 40, then is certainly the case. At the end of the 80s (1986 to be exact) every street had a band that made music with a rattling sound, but nonetheless was brilliant. One of the leading labels in that genre was Slumberland Records, which still exists today. The latest discovery of this label is Mercury Girls from Philadelphia.

Sarah Schimineck, Kevin Attics, Andrew Hagiwara, Chris and Kevin O'Halloran Schackerman do nothing new, but it sounds great. Their fascination with Sarah Records (indie freaks know what it's about) resulted in a delicious sound that is between the shoegaze style of Lush, the nonchalance of The Heavenly and the energy of The Flatmates.

Ariana is the debut single of Mercury Girls, on which you find two tracks of just three minutes. In short, the kind of music that has all the requirements of a good C86 record. Soon there will be a full-length album!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Ooit al gehoord van jinglejanglepop? Wel, als je een veertiger bent die van indiepop houdt, dan zal dat beslist wel het geval zijn. Op het einde van de jaren 80 (1986 om precies te zijn) vond je wel in iedere straat een bandje dat muziek maakte die aan alle kanten rammelde, maar die tevens briljant klonk. Een van de labels uit dat genre was Slumberland Records en dat bestaat nog steeds. De nieuwste ontdekking van dit label is Mercury Girls uit Philadelphia.

Sarah Schimineck, Kevin Attics, Andrew Hagiwara, Chris Schackerman en Kevin O'Halloran doen niks nieuws, maar het klinkt wel fantastisch. Door hun fascinatie voor Sarah Records (indiefreaks weten wel waarover het gaat) kwam het vijftal met een heerlijk geluid op de proppen dat zich situeert tussen de shoegaze van Lush, de nonchalance van The Heavenly en de energie van The Flatmates.

Ariana is de debuutsingle van Mercury Girls en je vindt er twee tracks op die net geen drie minuten duren. Kortom, het soort muziek dat aan alle voorschriften van een goede C86-plaat voldoen. Binnenkort verschijnt er een langspeler!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet