tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

06/02/2013 : MERIAN C. COOPER AND ERNEST B. SCHOEDSACK - King Kong (1933)

MERIAN C. COOPER AND ERNEST B. SCHOEDSACK

King Kong (1933)

MovieMovie classics


[70/100]   
06/02/2013, Didier BECU

EN

Last week we reviewed The Hunchback Of Notre Dame and this time it’s all about King Kong. Another classic movie which has been reissued by Limelight Pictures, all in a beautifully restored version.

You won’t find any person on this planet who doesn’t know how the story of King Kong ends, but the legend of the giant gorilla still has an enormous impact on today’s cinema. There is of course the CG-version from Peter Jackson and in the seventies there was the remake by John Guillermin which we still cherish as it featured the beautiful Jessica Lange. But the version we’re talking about is the one by Merian C. Cooper and Ernest B. Schoedsack from 1933. The restoration is flawless.

Of course there’s no sense in comparing this original version with the Jackson-monster. Right, it might be a bit silly to see that back then the audience was scared by this monster, but it’s unbelievable what filmmakers were able to come up with during these days. Don’t forget that cinema was only two decades young!

The version by Merian C. Cooper en Ernest B. Schoedsack isn’t dated for one second and for a movie which is made in 1933, that’s quite remarkable, not? Fay Wray who’s playing the leading role would be forever known as the scream queen. Even if she made 117 other movies, King Kong is her sole hit. The rest of the cast are playing their role a bit too static, but never mind….the eight wonder is still worth seeing!

 

Didier BECU
06/02/2013


NL

Vorige week hadden we het nog over The Hunchback Of Notre Dame en deze keer is het de beurt aan King Kong. Wederom een cultklassieker die door Limelight Pictures in een mooi gerestaureerde versie is uitgebracht.

Er is wellicht geen mens die niet weet hoe het verhaal van King Kong afloopt, maar toch heeft het verhaal van de reuzengorilla heeft altijd een grote impact op het filmpubliek gehad. Uiteraard is het zowel de CG-versie van Peter Jackson als die van John Guillermin uit de jaren 70 (al was het maar voor de mooie ogen van Jessica Lange) die op ons netvlies is gebrand. Maar kijk, dankzij Limelight Pictures kunnen we van de originele King Kong in alle pracht en glorie genieten. Neen, we zeggen dat niet zo maar, want de oorspronkelijke versie van Merian C. Cooper en Ernest B. Schoedsack uit 1933 is tot in de puntjes gerestaureerd. Nergens is een storing of vlekje merkbaar.

Natuurlijk moet je deze film in zijn tijdsgeest zien. Je vraagt je wel af hoe het komt dat onze medemens destijds schrik had van deze King Kong, maar toch is het ongelooflijk om te zien hoe men in 1933 al in staat was om zo’n spectaculaire beelden te filmen (het medium film was immers amper twee decennia oud).

De versie van Merian C. Cooper en Ernest B. Schoedsack oogt op geen enkel ogenblik oubollig en dat is toch een opzienbarend feit voor een film die uit 1933 stamt, niet? Hoofdrolspeelster Fay Wray werd sindsdien de eeuwige scream queen en ook al speelde ze in nog 117 (jawel) andere prenten blijft King Kong toch haar enige hit. De rest van de cast speelt weliswaar een beetje houterig (wat had je anders gedacht?), maar ondanks dat is het achtste wonder van de wereld nog steeds het bekijken waard.

 

Didier BECU
06/02/2013


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 41 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 45 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 5 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 32 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
47 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 13 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
SHE PAST AWAY
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
ASH CODE
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
MERCIFUL NUNS
Cremation
26
01
MARSHEAUX
Safe Tonight
25
01
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
24
01
EMPUSAE
Cadence Chamanique
23
01
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
22
01
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
21
01
RABIA SORDA
King Of The Wasteland