tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

06/02/2013 : MERIAN C. COOPER AND ERNEST B. SCHOEDSACK - King Kong (1933)

MERIAN C. COOPER AND ERNEST B. SCHOEDSACK

King Kong (1933)

MovieMovie classics


[70/100]   
06/02/2013, Didier BECU

EN

Last week we reviewed The Hunchback Of Notre Dame and this time it’s all about King Kong. Another classic movie which has been reissued by Limelight Pictures, all in a beautifully restored version.

You won’t find any person on this planet who doesn’t know how the story of King Kong ends, but the legend of the giant gorilla still has an enormous impact on today’s cinema. There is of course the CG-version from Peter Jackson and in the seventies there was the remake by John Guillermin which we still cherish as it featured the beautiful Jessica Lange. But the version we’re talking about is the one by Merian C. Cooper and Ernest B. Schoedsack from 1933. The restoration is flawless.

Of course there’s no sense in comparing this original version with the Jackson-monster. Right, it might be a bit silly to see that back then the audience was scared by this monster, but it’s unbelievable what filmmakers were able to come up with during these days. Don’t forget that cinema was only two decades young!

The version by Merian C. Cooper en Ernest B. Schoedsack isn’t dated for one second and for a movie which is made in 1933, that’s quite remarkable, not? Fay Wray who’s playing the leading role would be forever known as the scream queen. Even if she made 117 other movies, King Kong is her sole hit. The rest of the cast are playing their role a bit too static, but never mind….the eight wonder is still worth seeing!

 

Didier BECU
06/02/2013


NL

Vorige week hadden we het nog over The Hunchback Of Notre Dame en deze keer is het de beurt aan King Kong. Wederom een cultklassieker die door Limelight Pictures in een mooi gerestaureerde versie is uitgebracht.

Er is wellicht geen mens die niet weet hoe het verhaal van King Kong afloopt, maar toch heeft het verhaal van de reuzengorilla heeft altijd een grote impact op het filmpubliek gehad. Uiteraard is het zowel de CG-versie van Peter Jackson als die van John Guillermin uit de jaren 70 (al was het maar voor de mooie ogen van Jessica Lange) die op ons netvlies is gebrand. Maar kijk, dankzij Limelight Pictures kunnen we van de originele King Kong in alle pracht en glorie genieten. Neen, we zeggen dat niet zo maar, want de oorspronkelijke versie van Merian C. Cooper en Ernest B. Schoedsack uit 1933 is tot in de puntjes gerestaureerd. Nergens is een storing of vlekje merkbaar.

Natuurlijk moet je deze film in zijn tijdsgeest zien. Je vraagt je wel af hoe het komt dat onze medemens destijds schrik had van deze King Kong, maar toch is het ongelooflijk om te zien hoe men in 1933 al in staat was om zo’n spectaculaire beelden te filmen (het medium film was immers amper twee decennia oud).

De versie van Merian C. Cooper en Ernest B. Schoedsack oogt op geen enkel ogenblik oubollig en dat is toch een opzienbarend feit voor een film die uit 1933 stamt, niet? Hoofdrolspeelster Fay Wray werd sindsdien de eeuwige scream queen en ook al speelde ze in nog 117 (jawel) andere prenten blijft King Kong toch haar enige hit. De rest van de cast speelt weliswaar een beetje houterig (wat had je anders gedacht?), maar ondanks dat is het achtste wonder van de wereld nog steeds het bekijken waard.

 

Didier BECU
06/02/2013


Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd
08
11
Bauhaus' David J announces 'Missive to an Angel from the Halls of Infamy and Allure' LP and Euro/UK tour!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams