tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST) - Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016)

MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST)

Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016)

Concert
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

The B52 club in Eernegem, Belgium. Many bands played here. Tonight Messier 39, Story Off and IC 434 were on stage. An evening of Belgian electronic bands.

It was a special moment for the duo Jan Vinoelst and Ludwika Jakubowska (Messier 39): their first gig. They make minimal synth wave. Opener Hiraeth set the tone for a fine gig. Ludwika seemed a bit nervous during the first notes, but the stage fright was over soon and Ludwika had the club in her hands. Run had more pace and can be best described as blissful synth wave. During When She Turns Blue, John did the vocals, a different sound, but still rhythmic synth wave that sounded a little darker and colder. What we saw was a good gig.

Chesko and his musical partner Marco Varotta walked on stage. Story Off did not play that often. Last year the band was at the Kinky Star in Ghent with a fine show. I had the feeling that Story Off switched to a higher gear this time. It sounded a little bit louder, although the band played more melodic, dark electro. Chesko was full of intensity and his vocals were slightly aggressive. The well filled B52 liked it a lot, and Chesko and Marco gave a lot in return. Fear and 99.69, which Chesko called his best composition ever, were sung along by the audience. And the last song could not have been better: Dance Of Death...

And then it was time for Geert De Wilde, the founder of IC 434. Nowadays, Geert is more focused on his side project Skyshifter, and this could well be the last gig by IC 434 ever. Black Planet asked him repeatedly to do this show and Geert wanted to please the organization. That was appreciated. Already during the opener Bacteriate the B52 became a dance temple. Harmony Of Words was a quieter song from the album The Banished. Rats and ISSR followed and Geert did his very best. The audience went completely mad. We saw naked torsos and a swirling mass of dancing fans.

After nine songs it was still not enough. Albatross was appreciated and the last song Horsehead created a final dance party with orgasmic proportions. Geert will have his reasons to continue Skyshifter and temporarily (or forever?) stop the IC 434 project. Anyway, it is clear that IC 434 has a place among the major bands.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST) - Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST) - Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST) - Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST) - Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST) - Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST) - Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)