tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST) - Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016)

MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST)

Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016)

Concert
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

The B52 club in Eernegem, Belgium. Many bands played here. Tonight Messier 39, Story Off and IC 434 were on stage. An evening of Belgian electronic bands.

It was a special moment for the duo Jan Vinoelst and Ludwika Jakubowska (Messier 39): their first gig. They make minimal synth wave. Opener Hiraeth set the tone for a fine gig. Ludwika seemed a bit nervous during the first notes, but the stage fright was over soon and Ludwika had the club in her hands. Run had more pace and can be best described as blissful synth wave. During When She Turns Blue, John did the vocals, a different sound, but still rhythmic synth wave that sounded a little darker and colder. What we saw was a good gig.

Chesko and his musical partner Marco Varotta walked on stage. Story Off did not play that often. Last year the band was at the Kinky Star in Ghent with a fine show. I had the feeling that Story Off switched to a higher gear this time. It sounded a little bit louder, although the band played more melodic, dark electro. Chesko was full of intensity and his vocals were slightly aggressive. The well filled B52 liked it a lot, and Chesko and Marco gave a lot in return. Fear and 99.69, which Chesko called his best composition ever, were sung along by the audience. And the last song could not have been better: Dance Of Death...

And then it was time for Geert De Wilde, the founder of IC 434. Nowadays, Geert is more focused on his side project Skyshifter, and this could well be the last gig by IC 434 ever. Black Planet asked him repeatedly to do this show and Geert wanted to please the organization. That was appreciated. Already during the opener Bacteriate the B52 became a dance temple. Harmony Of Words was a quieter song from the album The Banished. Rats and ISSR followed and Geert did his very best. The audience went completely mad. We saw naked torsos and a swirling mass of dancing fans.

After nine songs it was still not enough. Albatross was appreciated and the last song Horsehead created a final dance party with orgasmic proportions. Geert will have his reasons to continue Skyshifter and temporarily (or forever?) stop the IC 434 project. Anyway, it is clear that IC 434 has a place among the major bands.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST) - Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST) - Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST) - Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST) - Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST) - Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST) - Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016)

Music reviews

01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee