tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST) - Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016)

MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST)

Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016)

Concert
10/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

The B52 club in Eernegem, Belgium. Many bands played here. Tonight Messier 39, Story Off and IC 434 were on stage. An evening of Belgian electronic bands.

It was a special moment for the duo Jan Vinoelst and Ludwika Jakubowska (Messier 39): their first gig. They make minimal synth wave. Opener Hiraeth set the tone for a fine gig. Ludwika seemed a bit nervous during the first notes, but the stage fright was over soon and Ludwika had the club in her hands. Run had more pace and can be best described as blissful synth wave. During When She Turns Blue, John did the vocals, a different sound, but still rhythmic synth wave that sounded a little darker and colder. What we saw was a good gig.

Chesko and his musical partner Marco Varotta walked on stage. Story Off did not play that often. Last year the band was at the Kinky Star in Ghent with a fine show. I had the feeling that Story Off switched to a higher gear this time. It sounded a little bit louder, although the band played more melodic, dark electro. Chesko was full of intensity and his vocals were slightly aggressive. The well filled B52 liked it a lot, and Chesko and Marco gave a lot in return. Fear and 99.69, which Chesko called his best composition ever, were sung along by the audience. And the last song could not have been better: Dance Of Death...

And then it was time for Geert De Wilde, the founder of IC 434. Nowadays, Geert is more focused on his side project Skyshifter, and this could well be the last gig by IC 434 ever. Black Planet asked him repeatedly to do this show and Geert wanted to please the organization. That was appreciated. Already during the opener Bacteriate the B52 became a dance temple. Harmony Of Words was a quieter song from the album The Banished. Rats and ISSR followed and Geert did his very best. The audience went completely mad. We saw naked torsos and a swirling mass of dancing fans.

After nine songs it was still not enough. Albatross was appreciated and the last song Horsehead created a final dance party with orgasmic proportions. Geert will have his reasons to continue Skyshifter and temporarily (or forever?) stop the IC 434 project. Anyway, it is clear that IC 434 has a place among the major bands.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST) - Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST) - Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST) - Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST) - Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST) - Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016) 10/12/2016 : MESSIER 39, STORY OFF, IC434 (BLACK PLANET FEST) - Eernegem, B52 (2/06/2016)

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection