tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

19/12/2012 : METROLAND - Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

METROLAND

Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

Concert
ElectronicsKrautrockSynth Wave

[85/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
19/12/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

The first act of Day 2 of the BIM Fest was another exclusive event: the first ever live concert of Metroland, a new band from Belgium that had already created quite a buzz on the music scene with its amazing electronic music. The band is composed of Sven Lauwers and Andy De Decker, who were previously in the EBM project Ionic Vision. As Andy told us in the interview after the show (see video below), "we had been doing this EBM project for 20 years and had even realized our dream ie play as supporting act before our heroes, Nitzer Ebb, so we thought it was time for change". They took a direction which is directly inspired by the likes of British Mute Records act Komputer and German pioneers Kraftwerk, but also by artists like Anthony Rother.

The whole musical and artistic concept of Metroland is based on metro, commuting and public transport in general. Their debut album “Mind The Gap” was released by Alfa-Matrix. On the stage, the two musicians (called "Passenger A" and "Passenger S") were dressed with a white shirt and a red tie (a clear nod to Kraftwerk) and stayed behind the equipment table, on which the "m" logo of the band was hanging. They took us for a ride through an electronic landscape, layered with authentic warm sequences and robotic vocals and supported by very nice visual animations. Watch the band performing "Theme For Metroland" below:

The sound was typically vintage and analog oriented, and we learned in the interview that all the music is made via one single software program: Reason from the Swedish company Propellerhead. One of the highlights of the show was the track "The Passenger", especially at the end with the wonderful synth harmonies. On some tracks, the band had some feedback problems, due to their vocoder effects, so they had to reduce the level of effects, which gave a more 'human' sound to the vocal parts. The song “Moscow Main” was a clear hint to another influence for the band: TELEX.

As a conclusion: it was a very promising first concert! Don't hesitate to buy their 2CD! The band already has 6 new songs ready for the next album and is planning a small tour in Germany. Maybe they should organize gigs in metro stations, that would be special!

Watch the interview with Andy De Decker after the show!

Setlist: 1 welcome, 2 theme for metroland, 3 inner city transport, 4 enjoying the view, 5 moscow main, 6 m.e.t.r.o., 7 it's more fun to commute, 8 harry beck, 9 the passenger

Check the pictures of the concert here.

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
19/12/2012


 

Next reviews
ULTERIOR • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012
TEST DEPT:REDUX • Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
ICON OF COIL • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
NOTHING BUT NOISE • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
• Stash House
JOB KARMA • Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
TRUE ZEBRA • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
KURSED • Miaow
• Holy Motors
THE BLOW MONKEYS • Limping For A New Generation

 

Other reviews from METROLAND
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
METROLAND • Synthetic Sound (EP)
METROLAND • Things Will Never Sound The Same Again
METROLAND • Triadic Ballet (3CD Box)
METROLAND • Thalys

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: KRAUTROCK
MOTOR!K • Motor!k
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
CAMERA • Phantom Of Liberty
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
NOTHING BUT NOISE VS PROTHESE • Music For Muted TV 2
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire