tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/04/2015 : METROLAND - Triadic Ballet (3CD Box)

METROLAND

Triadic Ballet (3CD Box)

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[85/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
22/04/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Metroland's newest album comes out in a 3CD Box. A regular CD called ‘Triadic Ballet- Unity-Red Square’ together with two CDs full of remixes by other artists.

Metroland is a band from Mechelen (Belgium) and makes electronic/synthpop. A little like Kraftwerk, Telex, Celluloide. Just like them, Metroland has beautifully designed covers and artwork. This time they were inspired by the Bauhaus movement. Remember also their magnificient debut of 2012 ‘Mind The Gap’ and ‘Thalys’ from 2014, in which the inspiration clearly came from transport and trains.

Trinity is het main term of the concept on this album. Thee basic priciples of design: Unity, Variety and Hierarchy are the focus point for each CD.

The first CD ‘Unity’ begins with 3 times the same song in a different arrangement. Each time nicely done. ‘3Directors’ sounds not as good as ‘Design’, but is a good electronic piece as well. ‘Ikone Der Moderne’ has more body than the first songs. ‘Zeppelin’ takes you in the sky, a nice atmospheric song with a soul full of hope. ’Machines Gone Mad’ is again a song with more body. ‘Triadic Ballet’ is surely one of the finest on this album. A song that starts with what I suppose is an edited sample of strings, that gives the track a weird atmosphere. The song changes into a danceable dark tune. Also worth mentioning is the last song ‘Utopia’ that has a high level of emotionality. So this album finds its way through the various electronic influences.

The two other CD’s contain remixes from songs of ‘Unity’. Remixes by artists like Fotonovola, Absolute Body Control, Playboy’s Bend, Paul Alty…These songs will take you also on a electronic journey and are of a high level.

Some may say that the music doesn’ t sound original, but it is damned well composed and addictive. High recommendable and homegrown.

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
22/04/2015


NL

Metroland brengen deze keer een 3-cd-box uit: de reguliere cd ‘Triadic Ballet-Unity (red square)’ samen met twee cd’s met daarop remixen van nummers uit die eerste cd.

Metroland is een Mechelse band die electronic/synthpop maakt. Een beetje in de stijl van Kraftwerk, Telex, Celluloide… Net zoals laatst genoemde bands hebben ze ook mooi gestyleerde hoezen en artwork dat ditmaal geïnspireerd is door de Bauhaus-beweging. De vorige twee cd’s (het schitterende debuut ‘Mind The Gap’ uit 2012 en ‘Thalys’ uit 2014) waren vooral geïnspireerd door de metro en de trein.

Drievuldigheid is het basiswoord dat in het concept van deze uitgave steeds terugkeert. De basisprincipes van de waarden en principes in design: eenheid, variatie en hiërachie worden hier als uitgangspunt gebruikt voor het concept. De drie cd’s kregen dan ook elk één van deze principes als ondertitel.

De eerste cd heeft als ondertitel ‘Unity-Red Square’ en begint met drie keer de uitvoering van het nummer ‘Design’. Telkens fraaie versies. ‘3Directors’ heeft niet zo het berekende karakter dat ‘Design’ uitstraalt, maar klinkt eerder nerveus en prangend. ‘Ikone Der Moderne’ heeft iets meer body dan de vorige songs. ‘Zeppelin’ neemt je mee op een vlucht hoog door de lucht. Een heerlijk zweverige song dat iets hoopvols uitstraalt. ‘Machines Gone Mad’ heeft dan weer wat gemeen met ‘Ikone…’ ‘Triadic Ballet’ is voor mij één van de hoogtepunten, een nummer dat opent met, ten minste dat vermoed ik, een bewerkte sample van strijkers, en dat daarmee een weide sfeer neerzet die daarna openbreekt in een vrij donker dansbaar nummer. Ook het vermelden waard is het slotnummer ‘Utopia’, dat een vrij hoge mate van emotionaliteit in de ‘robotachtige’ muziek brengt. Zo vindt dit album zijn weg doorheen verschillende elektro-invloeden.

De twee andere cd’s bevatten remixen van ‘Unity’ door o.a. artiesten, zoals Fotonovola, Absolut Body Control, Playboy’s Bend, Paul Alty… De nummers nemen je mee op een elektronische reis die eveneens de moeite waard zijn.

Sommigen zullen misschien zeggen dat het niet bijster origineel klinkt, maar het zit verdomd goed ineen en werkt verslavend. Een aanrader van eigen bodem.

Wim GUILLEMYN
22/04/2015


22/04/2015 : METROLAND - Triadic Ballet (3CD Box) 22/04/2015 : METROLAND - Triadic Ballet (3CD Box) 22/04/2015 : METROLAND - Triadic Ballet (3CD Box)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire