tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil

MICHAEL ARMSTRONG

Mark Of The Devil

MovieCult movies
CultHorrorSexploitation

[82/100]   

Arrow
20/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

It took quite some time before the whole world could enjoy Hexen Bis Aufs Blut Gequält (in English Mark Of The Devil, which sounds of course less spectacular) from 1970. But now a Blu-ray is released with a brand new restored version in where you can see all the gory, bloody details.

The director is Michael Armstrong who was a bit bored by the traditional Hammer-horror. As a former director assistant from Michael Reeves who made The Witchfinder General with Vincent Price, Armstrong knew everything about witch hunting. The same subject was used in this Austrian production, but in a more brutal way. Even if today it all seems “normal”, you wonder how daring this movie was back then. The makers have no problems in scenes where nuns are raped or innocent women that are tortured to death. There’s a little story involved (the assistant witch hunter who falls in love with the innocent girl), but Armstrong wanted in the first place to shock his public. If you forget the cinematographic genius from Pier Paolo Pasolini you can compare Mark Of The Devil with the scandal movie Salò o Le 120 Giornate Di Sodoma. It’s a pity that Armstrong used too many new techniques that make his movie hip, because the result is rather terrible. Just look at the (silly) opening credits. Apart from that, the movie isn’t bad directed and even the performances are nice. Of course you have Herbert Lom and Udo Kier whose faces you regularly see in B-movies, but especially Reggie Nalder is unforgettable as the cruel witch hunter Albino.

Mark Of The Devil is an Arrow-release which automatically indicates that you’re having lots of great bonus material. In Mark of the Times film critic Kim Newman looks back on the British new wave horror directors from the 70’s. In Hallmark of the Devil we learn about the problems the distributors had to release this movie in the US, while Mark of the Devil: Now and Then shows you the locations that were used. Also included are interviews with Udo Kier, Herbert Fux, Gaby Fuchs, Ingeborg Schöner and Herbert Lom.

Mark Of The Devil is out on Blu-ray via Arrow. A must for your collection!

Didier BECU
20/10/2014


NL

Sommige landen hebben er jarenlang op moeten wachten, maar Hexen Bis Aufs Blut Gequält (wat in het Engels als Mark Of The Devil iets minder sensationeel klinkt) uit 1970 is vanaf nu wereldwijd verkrijgbaar, en nog wel op een kraakheldere Blu-ray alwaar je de bloederige martelscènes in al zijn glorieuze details kan bekijken.

De regisseur was Michael Armstrong die de brave Hammer-films een beetje beu was. Als regieassistent van Michael Reeves wist hij door The Witchfinder General met Vincent Price al het een en ander over heksenvervolging, maar uiteraard ging hij in deze Oostenrijkse productie een heel stuk verder. Ook al zijn we vandaag meer gewoon, is het toch opmerkelijk dat in een bioscooprelease uit 1970 het bijv. mogelijk was om bij willekeur nonnen te verkrachten of om van dames die ervan werden beschuldigd om met de duivel te slapen tongen uit te rukken. Er zit wel een verhaaltje in Mark Of The Devil (de assistent-heksenjager die verliefd wordt op een onschuldig slachtoffer), toch is dat niet de bedoeling geweest van Armstrong. Deze film moest choqueren en dat doet hij ook. Als je het cinematografische genie van Pier Paolo Pasolini eventjes niet meerekent, kun je Mark Of The Devil zelfs een beetje vergelijken met zijn schandaalfilm Salò o Le 120 Giornate Di Sodoma. Meer zelfs, ofschoon Armstrong bij momenten net iets te veel gebruik maakt van hippe technieken (nog nooit zag je zo’n sullige intro!) is de prent verre van slecht geregisseerd. Ook het acteerwerk is verre van slecht. Herbert Lom en Udo Kier zijn gasten die je regelmatig in B-films kan aantreffen, terwijl Reggie Nalder onnavolgbaar is als de sadistische heksenjager Albino.

Mark Of The Devil is een Arrow-release en dat betekent fantastisch bonusmateriaal. Mark of the Times is een documentaire waarin filmcriticus Kim Newman het geeft over de “new wave horror directors” uit Engeland. In Hallmark of the Devil leer je wat bij over welke problemen de makers hebben gehad om deze film in de VS uit te brengen. In Mark of the Devil: Now and Then keert men terug naar de locaties en tevens zijn er ook interviews met Udo Kier, Herbert Fux, Gaby Fuchs, Ingeborg Schöner en Herbert Lom op deze uitgave te vinden.

Mark Of The Devil is uitgebracht op Blu-ray via Arrow en een release die absoluut in je kast moet!

Didier BECU
20/10/2014


20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day
19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls