tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil

MICHAEL ARMSTRONG

Mark Of The Devil

MovieCult movies
CultHorrorSexploitation

[82/100]   

Arrow
20/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

It took quite some time before the whole world could enjoy Hexen Bis Aufs Blut Gequält (in English Mark Of The Devil, which sounds of course less spectacular) from 1970. But now a Blu-ray is released with a brand new restored version in where you can see all the gory, bloody details.

The director is Michael Armstrong who was a bit bored by the traditional Hammer-horror. As a former director assistant from Michael Reeves who made The Witchfinder General with Vincent Price, Armstrong knew everything about witch hunting. The same subject was used in this Austrian production, but in a more brutal way. Even if today it all seems “normal”, you wonder how daring this movie was back then. The makers have no problems in scenes where nuns are raped or innocent women that are tortured to death. There’s a little story involved (the assistant witch hunter who falls in love with the innocent girl), but Armstrong wanted in the first place to shock his public. If you forget the cinematographic genius from Pier Paolo Pasolini you can compare Mark Of The Devil with the scandal movie Salò o Le 120 Giornate Di Sodoma. It’s a pity that Armstrong used too many new techniques that make his movie hip, because the result is rather terrible. Just look at the (silly) opening credits. Apart from that, the movie isn’t bad directed and even the performances are nice. Of course you have Herbert Lom and Udo Kier whose faces you regularly see in B-movies, but especially Reggie Nalder is unforgettable as the cruel witch hunter Albino.

Mark Of The Devil is an Arrow-release which automatically indicates that you’re having lots of great bonus material. In Mark of the Times film critic Kim Newman looks back on the British new wave horror directors from the 70’s. In Hallmark of the Devil we learn about the problems the distributors had to release this movie in the US, while Mark of the Devil: Now and Then shows you the locations that were used. Also included are interviews with Udo Kier, Herbert Fux, Gaby Fuchs, Ingeborg Schöner and Herbert Lom.

Mark Of The Devil is out on Blu-ray via Arrow. A must for your collection!

Didier BECU
20/10/2014


NL

Sommige landen hebben er jarenlang op moeten wachten, maar Hexen Bis Aufs Blut Gequält (wat in het Engels als Mark Of The Devil iets minder sensationeel klinkt) uit 1970 is vanaf nu wereldwijd verkrijgbaar, en nog wel op een kraakheldere Blu-ray alwaar je de bloederige martelscènes in al zijn glorieuze details kan bekijken.

De regisseur was Michael Armstrong die de brave Hammer-films een beetje beu was. Als regieassistent van Michael Reeves wist hij door The Witchfinder General met Vincent Price al het een en ander over heksenvervolging, maar uiteraard ging hij in deze Oostenrijkse productie een heel stuk verder. Ook al zijn we vandaag meer gewoon, is het toch opmerkelijk dat in een bioscooprelease uit 1970 het bijv. mogelijk was om bij willekeur nonnen te verkrachten of om van dames die ervan werden beschuldigd om met de duivel te slapen tongen uit te rukken. Er zit wel een verhaaltje in Mark Of The Devil (de assistent-heksenjager die verliefd wordt op een onschuldig slachtoffer), toch is dat niet de bedoeling geweest van Armstrong. Deze film moest choqueren en dat doet hij ook. Als je het cinematografische genie van Pier Paolo Pasolini eventjes niet meerekent, kun je Mark Of The Devil zelfs een beetje vergelijken met zijn schandaalfilm Salò o Le 120 Giornate Di Sodoma. Meer zelfs, ofschoon Armstrong bij momenten net iets te veel gebruik maakt van hippe technieken (nog nooit zag je zo’n sullige intro!) is de prent verre van slecht geregisseerd. Ook het acteerwerk is verre van slecht. Herbert Lom en Udo Kier zijn gasten die je regelmatig in B-films kan aantreffen, terwijl Reggie Nalder onnavolgbaar is als de sadistische heksenjager Albino.

Mark Of The Devil is een Arrow-release en dat betekent fantastisch bonusmateriaal. Mark of the Times is een documentaire waarin filmcriticus Kim Newman het geeft over de “new wave horror directors” uit Engeland. In Hallmark of the Devil leer je wat bij over welke problemen de makers hebben gehad om deze film in de VS uit te brengen. In Mark of the Devil: Now and Then keert men terug naar de locaties en tevens zijn er ook interviews met Udo Kier, Herbert Fux, Gaby Fuchs, Ingeborg Schöner en Herbert Lom op deze uitgave te vinden.

Mark Of The Devil is uitgebracht op Blu-ray via Arrow en een release die absoluut in je kast moet!

Didier BECU
20/10/2014


20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself