tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil

MICHAEL ARMSTRONG

Mark Of The Devil

MovieCult movies
CultHorrorSexploitation

[82/100]   

Arrow
20/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

It took quite some time before the whole world could enjoy Hexen Bis Aufs Blut Gequält (in English Mark Of The Devil, which sounds of course less spectacular) from 1970. But now a Blu-ray is released with a brand new restored version in where you can see all the gory, bloody details.

The director is Michael Armstrong who was a bit bored by the traditional Hammer-horror. As a former director assistant from Michael Reeves who made The Witchfinder General with Vincent Price, Armstrong knew everything about witch hunting. The same subject was used in this Austrian production, but in a more brutal way. Even if today it all seems “normal”, you wonder how daring this movie was back then. The makers have no problems in scenes where nuns are raped or innocent women that are tortured to death. There’s a little story involved (the assistant witch hunter who falls in love with the innocent girl), but Armstrong wanted in the first place to shock his public. If you forget the cinematographic genius from Pier Paolo Pasolini you can compare Mark Of The Devil with the scandal movie Salò o Le 120 Giornate Di Sodoma. It’s a pity that Armstrong used too many new techniques that make his movie hip, because the result is rather terrible. Just look at the (silly) opening credits. Apart from that, the movie isn’t bad directed and even the performances are nice. Of course you have Herbert Lom and Udo Kier whose faces you regularly see in B-movies, but especially Reggie Nalder is unforgettable as the cruel witch hunter Albino.

Mark Of The Devil is an Arrow-release which automatically indicates that you’re having lots of great bonus material. In Mark of the Times film critic Kim Newman looks back on the British new wave horror directors from the 70’s. In Hallmark of the Devil we learn about the problems the distributors had to release this movie in the US, while Mark of the Devil: Now and Then shows you the locations that were used. Also included are interviews with Udo Kier, Herbert Fux, Gaby Fuchs, Ingeborg Schöner and Herbert Lom.

Mark Of The Devil is out on Blu-ray via Arrow. A must for your collection!

Didier BECU
20/10/2014


NL

Sommige landen hebben er jarenlang op moeten wachten, maar Hexen Bis Aufs Blut Gequält (wat in het Engels als Mark Of The Devil iets minder sensationeel klinkt) uit 1970 is vanaf nu wereldwijd verkrijgbaar, en nog wel op een kraakheldere Blu-ray alwaar je de bloederige martelscènes in al zijn glorieuze details kan bekijken.

De regisseur was Michael Armstrong die de brave Hammer-films een beetje beu was. Als regieassistent van Michael Reeves wist hij door The Witchfinder General met Vincent Price al het een en ander over heksenvervolging, maar uiteraard ging hij in deze Oostenrijkse productie een heel stuk verder. Ook al zijn we vandaag meer gewoon, is het toch opmerkelijk dat in een bioscooprelease uit 1970 het bijv. mogelijk was om bij willekeur nonnen te verkrachten of om van dames die ervan werden beschuldigd om met de duivel te slapen tongen uit te rukken. Er zit wel een verhaaltje in Mark Of The Devil (de assistent-heksenjager die verliefd wordt op een onschuldig slachtoffer), toch is dat niet de bedoeling geweest van Armstrong. Deze film moest choqueren en dat doet hij ook. Als je het cinematografische genie van Pier Paolo Pasolini eventjes niet meerekent, kun je Mark Of The Devil zelfs een beetje vergelijken met zijn schandaalfilm Salò o Le 120 Giornate Di Sodoma. Meer zelfs, ofschoon Armstrong bij momenten net iets te veel gebruik maakt van hippe technieken (nog nooit zag je zo’n sullige intro!) is de prent verre van slecht geregisseerd. Ook het acteerwerk is verre van slecht. Herbert Lom en Udo Kier zijn gasten die je regelmatig in B-films kan aantreffen, terwijl Reggie Nalder onnavolgbaar is als de sadistische heksenjager Albino.

Mark Of The Devil is een Arrow-release en dat betekent fantastisch bonusmateriaal. Mark of the Times is een documentaire waarin filmcriticus Kim Newman het geeft over de “new wave horror directors” uit Engeland. In Hallmark of the Devil leer je wat bij over welke problemen de makers hebben gehad om deze film in de VS uit te brengen. In Mark of the Devil: Now and Then keert men terug naar de locaties en tevens zijn er ook interviews met Udo Kier, Herbert Fux, Gaby Fuchs, Ingeborg Schöner en Herbert Lom op deze uitgave te vinden.

Mark Of The Devil is uitgebracht op Blu-ray via Arrow en een release die absoluut in je kast moet!

Didier BECU
20/10/2014


20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil 20/10/2014 : MICHAEL ARMSTRONG - Mark Of The Devil

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom