tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop

MICHAEL R. ROSKAM

CINEMA: The Drop

MovieCinema
ActionDrama
20th Century Fox
26/09/2014, Didier BECU

EN

These days Flanders is happy to have two directors who are doing their thing in that dream far away named Hollywood. For Erik Van Looy it already looks like a shattered dream as his remake from The Loft has to conquer one problem after the other, but perhaps Michaël R. Roskam (famous for Bullhead) has a bit more luck, although he had an extra promotion tool no one really wants: the death of James Gandolfini. And then of course there’s Matthias Schoenaerts: an actor who is destinated to become (at least in the mind of Flemish tabloids) the next Brad Pitt.

Do you feel some irony in here? Well, let’s be honest about it: if The Drop should have been directed by someone else, changes were big no one should care about it. But as the movie is in the spotlight we can better drop (ha!) in it. The gangster movie that’s been based upon a short story by Dennis Lehane (who also wrote Gone Baby Gone) is certainly not bad, at contrary! The film misses some explosion, but that minor point is camouflaged by great jokes and impressive performances. The story is set in a drop bar in Brooklyn, that’s a place where the local mob drops their money for one evening. Everybody betrays everyone as only the color of money matters, and there’s also a cute little dog running around there with a special mission. What mission? Go and see it!

The direction by Michaël R. Roskam is okay, but a bit too standard to make you go awol. The performances definitely work, especially Tom Hardy and someone who no one never mentions: Noomi Rapace! Gandolfini is (well, was) Gandolfini and Schoenaerts is really born to star on the silver screen. A tip? Yes.

Didier BECU
26/09/2014


NL

Ja mijnheer, we zijn er trots op dat Vlaanderen twee regisseurs in Hollywood heeft rondlopen. De vraag is alleen of dat nu ook goede cinema oplevert. Van Looy mag dan wel het Filmfestival van Gent openen, toch ziet de toekomst van de Amerikaanse remake van zijn kind er allesbehalve rooskleurig uit. Misschien heeft Michaël R. Roskam wel wat meer geluk, ook al zorgde de plotse dood van hoofdrolspeler James Gandolfini voor extra aandacht die niemand wil. En dan is er natuurlijk ook nog Matthias Schoenaerts: de man waarvan de modale Vlaming denkt dat hij de nieuwe Brad Pitt zal worden.

Verdenk je ons van een vleugje ironie? Wel, laten we eerlijk blijven: moest The Drop niet door Roskam zijn gemaakt dan zou de film hier nauwelijks aandacht krijgen, maar nu hij toch in de schijnwerper staat kunnen we er maar beter volop van proeven! En jawel, deze misdaadfilm waarvan het scenario op het kortverhaal Animal Rescue van Dennis Lehane (zie ook Gone Baby Gone) is gebaseerd is verre van slecht. Ofschoon er net iets te weinig vuurwerk is, zit de film toch boordevol geslaagde grappen en vaak meesterlijke vertolkingen. Het maffiaverhaal speelt zich in een bruine kroeg in Brooklyn af waar iedereen elkaar belazert. De rode draad is een hondje, waarom precies moet jezelf maar uitzoeken.

De regie van Michaël R. Roskam is geslaagd, maar net iets te braaf om echt te imponeren. Wat wel indruk maakt zijn de vertolkingen met vooral een ijzersterke Tom Hardy, ofschoon je Noomi Rapace ook niet moet onderschatten! Gandolfini is Gandolfini (lees dus briljant) en Schoenaerts is echt wel voor het witte doek geboren. Een kans geven? Jawel.

Didier BECU
26/09/2014


26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)