tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop

MICHAEL R. ROSKAM

CINEMA: The Drop

MovieCinema
ActionDrama
20th Century Fox
26/09/2014, Didier BECU

EN

These days Flanders is happy to have two directors who are doing their thing in that dream far away named Hollywood. For Erik Van Looy it already looks like a shattered dream as his remake from The Loft has to conquer one problem after the other, but perhaps Michaël R. Roskam (famous for Bullhead) has a bit more luck, although he had an extra promotion tool no one really wants: the death of James Gandolfini. And then of course there’s Matthias Schoenaerts: an actor who is destinated to become (at least in the mind of Flemish tabloids) the next Brad Pitt.

Do you feel some irony in here? Well, let’s be honest about it: if The Drop should have been directed by someone else, changes were big no one should care about it. But as the movie is in the spotlight we can better drop (ha!) in it. The gangster movie that’s been based upon a short story by Dennis Lehane (who also wrote Gone Baby Gone) is certainly not bad, at contrary! The film misses some explosion, but that minor point is camouflaged by great jokes and impressive performances. The story is set in a drop bar in Brooklyn, that’s a place where the local mob drops their money for one evening. Everybody betrays everyone as only the color of money matters, and there’s also a cute little dog running around there with a special mission. What mission? Go and see it!

The direction by Michaël R. Roskam is okay, but a bit too standard to make you go awol. The performances definitely work, especially Tom Hardy and someone who no one never mentions: Noomi Rapace! Gandolfini is (well, was) Gandolfini and Schoenaerts is really born to star on the silver screen. A tip? Yes.

Didier BECU
26/09/2014


NL

Ja mijnheer, we zijn er trots op dat Vlaanderen twee regisseurs in Hollywood heeft rondlopen. De vraag is alleen of dat nu ook goede cinema oplevert. Van Looy mag dan wel het Filmfestival van Gent openen, toch ziet de toekomst van de Amerikaanse remake van zijn kind er allesbehalve rooskleurig uit. Misschien heeft Michaël R. Roskam wel wat meer geluk, ook al zorgde de plotse dood van hoofdrolspeler James Gandolfini voor extra aandacht die niemand wil. En dan is er natuurlijk ook nog Matthias Schoenaerts: de man waarvan de modale Vlaming denkt dat hij de nieuwe Brad Pitt zal worden.

Verdenk je ons van een vleugje ironie? Wel, laten we eerlijk blijven: moest The Drop niet door Roskam zijn gemaakt dan zou de film hier nauwelijks aandacht krijgen, maar nu hij toch in de schijnwerper staat kunnen we er maar beter volop van proeven! En jawel, deze misdaadfilm waarvan het scenario op het kortverhaal Animal Rescue van Dennis Lehane (zie ook Gone Baby Gone) is gebaseerd is verre van slecht. Ofschoon er net iets te weinig vuurwerk is, zit de film toch boordevol geslaagde grappen en vaak meesterlijke vertolkingen. Het maffiaverhaal speelt zich in een bruine kroeg in Brooklyn af waar iedereen elkaar belazert. De rode draad is een hondje, waarom precies moet jezelf maar uitzoeken.

De regie van Michaël R. Roskam is geslaagd, maar net iets te braaf om echt te imponeren. Wat wel indruk maakt zijn de vertolkingen met vooral een ijzersterke Tom Hardy, ofschoon je Noomi Rapace ook niet moet onderschatten! Gandolfini is Gandolfini (lees dus briljant) en Schoenaerts is echt wel voor het witte doek geboren. Een kans geven? Jawel.

Didier BECU
26/09/2014


26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
09
JOHN HASSALL(THE LIBERTINES,THE APRIL RAINERS)
'I’m trying to write for everybody!'
21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
VIVE LA FETE
YOU CAN SLEEP IN MY BED
23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi