tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop

MICHAEL R. ROSKAM

CINEMA: The Drop

MovieCinema
ActionDrama
20th Century Fox
26/09/2014, Didier BECU

EN

These days Flanders is happy to have two directors who are doing their thing in that dream far away named Hollywood. For Erik Van Looy it already looks like a shattered dream as his remake from The Loft has to conquer one problem after the other, but perhaps Michaël R. Roskam (famous for Bullhead) has a bit more luck, although he had an extra promotion tool no one really wants: the death of James Gandolfini. And then of course there’s Matthias Schoenaerts: an actor who is destinated to become (at least in the mind of Flemish tabloids) the next Brad Pitt.

Do you feel some irony in here? Well, let’s be honest about it: if The Drop should have been directed by someone else, changes were big no one should care about it. But as the movie is in the spotlight we can better drop (ha!) in it. The gangster movie that’s been based upon a short story by Dennis Lehane (who also wrote Gone Baby Gone) is certainly not bad, at contrary! The film misses some explosion, but that minor point is camouflaged by great jokes and impressive performances. The story is set in a drop bar in Brooklyn, that’s a place where the local mob drops their money for one evening. Everybody betrays everyone as only the color of money matters, and there’s also a cute little dog running around there with a special mission. What mission? Go and see it!

The direction by Michaël R. Roskam is okay, but a bit too standard to make you go awol. The performances definitely work, especially Tom Hardy and someone who no one never mentions: Noomi Rapace! Gandolfini is (well, was) Gandolfini and Schoenaerts is really born to star on the silver screen. A tip? Yes.

Didier BECU
26/09/2014


NL

Ja mijnheer, we zijn er trots op dat Vlaanderen twee regisseurs in Hollywood heeft rondlopen. De vraag is alleen of dat nu ook goede cinema oplevert. Van Looy mag dan wel het Filmfestival van Gent openen, toch ziet de toekomst van de Amerikaanse remake van zijn kind er allesbehalve rooskleurig uit. Misschien heeft Michaël R. Roskam wel wat meer geluk, ook al zorgde de plotse dood van hoofdrolspeler James Gandolfini voor extra aandacht die niemand wil. En dan is er natuurlijk ook nog Matthias Schoenaerts: de man waarvan de modale Vlaming denkt dat hij de nieuwe Brad Pitt zal worden.

Verdenk je ons van een vleugje ironie? Wel, laten we eerlijk blijven: moest The Drop niet door Roskam zijn gemaakt dan zou de film hier nauwelijks aandacht krijgen, maar nu hij toch in de schijnwerper staat kunnen we er maar beter volop van proeven! En jawel, deze misdaadfilm waarvan het scenario op het kortverhaal Animal Rescue van Dennis Lehane (zie ook Gone Baby Gone) is gebaseerd is verre van slecht. Ofschoon er net iets te weinig vuurwerk is, zit de film toch boordevol geslaagde grappen en vaak meesterlijke vertolkingen. Het maffiaverhaal speelt zich in een bruine kroeg in Brooklyn af waar iedereen elkaar belazert. De rode draad is een hondje, waarom precies moet jezelf maar uitzoeken.

De regie van Michaël R. Roskam is geslaagd, maar net iets te braaf om echt te imponeren. Wat wel indruk maakt zijn de vertolkingen met vooral een ijzersterke Tom Hardy, ofschoon je Noomi Rapace ook niet moet onderschatten! Gandolfini is Gandolfini (lees dus briljant) en Schoenaerts is echt wel voor het witte doek geboren. Een kans geven? Jawel.

Didier BECU
26/09/2014


26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop 26/09/2014 : MICHAEL R. ROSKAM - CINEMA: The Drop

Music reviews

20
04
LUCKY AND LOVE
Transitions
12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 33 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

18
04
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
Dark Skies over Witten V Werkstatt Witten Germany
18
04
AUGER
Dark Skies over Witten V Wekstatt Witten Germany
06
04
PERSEPHONE
@ A Mourning hall concert Gelsenkirchen
24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Gone (Feat. Yvette Winkler)
20
04
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
19
04
GNOSTIC GORRILA
St. Basil's Asylum
18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
16
04
ANNI HOGAN
Angels Of Romance (featuring Gavin Friday