tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
09/10/2015, Didier BECU

The Names is the sole Belgian band that has released a 7”(Nightshift) on Factory Records. During the 80s their debut Swimming (on Les Disques de Crépuscule) was one of the most underrated Belgian records ever. Years later (in fact, decades later!) The Names is still around (and still cult!) with Michel Sordinia being one of the key members. Come on Michel, tell us the ten records that changed your life!

1. TELEVISION - Marquee Moon
Great songs, sharp guitars, and oh, so moving vocals. A favourite forever!

2. THE STOOGES - Fun House
The most played record during my early teenage years. Wild!

3. ROBERT WYATT - Rock Bottom
The greatest, saddest and depression causing record ever, together with Bob Dylan’s Blood On The Tracks.

4. DAVID BOWIE - Low
The master of disguise hitting new altitudes with one of his most experimental efforts.

5. THE VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO - The Velvet Underground And Nico
The Velvet Underground: a great, decisive influence on my early musical moves. And a goldmine for covers !

6. SERGE GAINSBOURG - Histoire de Melody Nelson
Infinitely moody, poetic, provocative, bitter sweet, with fantastic string orchestrations. A French gem with British accents.

7. JOY DIVISION - Unknown Pleasures
Joy Division: Martin Hannett, so creative, inventing a sound before inviting us to join. And Ian’s voice, intense, extremely moving.

8.MAGAZINE - The Correct Use Of Soap
Magazine (Hannett again, yeah !). The best album by a band we felt closer to than many Factory acts.

9. LOU REED - Berlin
Ah, Berlin! The city has changed so much, but this fantastic, intimate album will always be there, in the air, when I’m walking this great place.

10. THE DOORS - The Doors
Morrison was my first musical hero. So strange and yet so close…

Didier BECU
09/10/2015


09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain