tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
09/10/2015, Didier BECU

The Names is the sole Belgian band that has released a 7”(Nightshift) on Factory Records. During the 80s their debut Swimming (on Les Disques de Crépuscule) was one of the most underrated Belgian records ever. Years later (in fact, decades later!) The Names is still around (and still cult!) with Michel Sordinia being one of the key members. Come on Michel, tell us the ten records that changed your life!

1. TELEVISION - Marquee Moon
Great songs, sharp guitars, and oh, so moving vocals. A favourite forever!

2. THE STOOGES - Fun House
The most played record during my early teenage years. Wild!

3. ROBERT WYATT - Rock Bottom
The greatest, saddest and depression causing record ever, together with Bob Dylan’s Blood On The Tracks.

4. DAVID BOWIE - Low
The master of disguise hitting new altitudes with one of his most experimental efforts.

5. THE VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO - The Velvet Underground And Nico
The Velvet Underground: a great, decisive influence on my early musical moves. And a goldmine for covers !

6. SERGE GAINSBOURG - Histoire de Melody Nelson
Infinitely moody, poetic, provocative, bitter sweet, with fantastic string orchestrations. A French gem with British accents.

7. JOY DIVISION - Unknown Pleasures
Joy Division: Martin Hannett, so creative, inventing a sound before inviting us to join. And Ian’s voice, intense, extremely moving.

8.MAGAZINE - The Correct Use Of Soap
Magazine (Hannett again, yeah !). The best album by a band we felt closer to than many Factory acts.

9. LOU REED - Berlin
Ah, Berlin! The city has changed so much, but this fantastic, intimate album will always be there, in the air, when I’m walking this great place.

10. THE DOORS - The Doors
Morrison was my first musical hero. So strange and yet so close…

Didier BECU
09/10/2015


09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag
22
02
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth