tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
09/10/2015, Didier BECU

The Names is the sole Belgian band that has released a 7”(Nightshift) on Factory Records. During the 80s their debut Swimming (on Les Disques de Crépuscule) was one of the most underrated Belgian records ever. Years later (in fact, decades later!) The Names is still around (and still cult!) with Michel Sordinia being one of the key members. Come on Michel, tell us the ten records that changed your life!

1. TELEVISION - Marquee Moon
Great songs, sharp guitars, and oh, so moving vocals. A favourite forever!

2. THE STOOGES - Fun House
The most played record during my early teenage years. Wild!

3. ROBERT WYATT - Rock Bottom
The greatest, saddest and depression causing record ever, together with Bob Dylan’s Blood On The Tracks.

4. DAVID BOWIE - Low
The master of disguise hitting new altitudes with one of his most experimental efforts.

5. THE VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO - The Velvet Underground And Nico
The Velvet Underground: a great, decisive influence on my early musical moves. And a goldmine for covers !

6. SERGE GAINSBOURG - Histoire de Melody Nelson
Infinitely moody, poetic, provocative, bitter sweet, with fantastic string orchestrations. A French gem with British accents.

7. JOY DIVISION - Unknown Pleasures
Joy Division: Martin Hannett, so creative, inventing a sound before inviting us to join. And Ian’s voice, intense, extremely moving.

8.MAGAZINE - The Correct Use Of Soap
Magazine (Hannett again, yeah !). The best album by a band we felt closer to than many Factory acts.

9. LOU REED - Berlin
Ah, Berlin! The city has changed so much, but this fantastic, intimate album will always be there, in the air, when I’m walking this great place.

10. THE DOORS - The Doors
Morrison was my first musical hero. So strange and yet so close…

Didier BECU
09/10/2015


09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 09/10/2015 : MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

07
04
HAUSCHKA
My Kids Live On Mars
06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You