tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : MIGHTIEST - Sinisterra

MIGHTIEST

Sinisterra

MusicCD
Black Metal

[72/100]   

Cyclone Empire
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

After a demo in 1995 and a memorable gig during the German Black Metal Night in Bad Worstenhof with bands like Nordlys, Lunar Aurora and Nagelfar in 1997, the career of Mightiest went up and down. The many personnel changes were the reason, but since the band has a contract with Cyclone Empire, everything has changed.

After 21 years, Mightiest releases its first album that sounds brutal and energetic. The single Devour Sun is a powerful opener. The title track Sinis Terra sounds very apocalyptic by the ominous vocals and the synths in the background. The full drums (the Tom Toms) are magnificent. We hear anger and energy. A very strong track.

Oceanic Empires is a rather melodic track, while The Purifire is another fine piece of energy.

The synths sometimes provide a symphonic metal atmosphere. Some tracks are great (like Sinisterra and The Purifire), some are too long.

Nice artwork, and in fact, a decent record!

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Na een demo in 1995 en een memorabel optreden tijdens de German Black Metal Night in Bad Worstenhof in 1997 met bands zoals Nordlys, Lunar Aurora en Nagelfar, ging het wat op en neer met de carrière van Mightiest. De vele personeelswissels waren de oorzaak, maar sinds ze onderdak vonden bij Cyclon Empire, kunnen we van een stabiele band spreken.

Na 21 jaar is er nu hun eerste album dat brutaal en energiek klinkt. De tonen van de synths en van de keyboards op de achtergrond zorgen voor wat verlichting in de muziek. De single Devour Sun is een krachtige opener.

De titelsong Sinis Terra klinkt heel apocalyptisch door de onheilspellende zang. De volle drums (o.a. de Tom Toms) zijn magnifiek. Men weet hier de kwaadheid en de energie heel gedisciplineerd los te laten. Een heel sterke track. 

Oceanic Empires is een eerder melodieuze track, maar blijft dan wat hangen. In Rise kon de mix wat beter. Toch zit de song niet slecht in elkaar, maar hij duurt gewoon een paar minuten te lang. The Purifire is opnieuw een fijne brok energie.

De synths die onder de muziek zijn geschoven, zorgen soms voor een symfonisch metalsfeertje. Enkele tracks zijn heel geslaagd (bijv. Sinisterra en The Purifire), toch heb ik een beetje het gevoel dat één en ander nog voor verbetering vatbaar is. Sommige liedjes zijn te lang.

Mooi artwork, en in feite een degelijke plaat.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : MIGHTIEST - Sinisterra 08/12/2016 : MIGHTIEST - Sinisterra

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her 39
02
07
New album from Xenturion Prime on Progress Productions
01
07
Legendary Goth Club ‘The Church’ Featured In Documentary Film
01
07
41 years of Incontinent by Fad Gadget!
30
06
Luscious Apparatus Addresses Rage Control With New Single
29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

03
07
WARDRUNA NORDIC LIGHT
Amphitheater Gelsenkirchen
30
06
AROMA DI AMORE
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
THE STRANGLERS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
STABBING WESTWARD
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
NOSFERATU
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
AESTHETIC PERFACTION
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
SPIRITUAL FRONT
Tenderness Through Violence
02
07
KATE BUSH
And Dream of Sheep
01
07
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)