tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : MIGHTIEST - Sinisterra

MIGHTIEST

Sinisterra

MusicCD
Black Metal

[72/100]   

Cyclone Empire
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

After a demo in 1995 and a memorable gig during the German Black Metal Night in Bad Worstenhof with bands like Nordlys, Lunar Aurora and Nagelfar in 1997, the career of Mightiest went up and down. The many personnel changes were the reason, but since the band has a contract with Cyclone Empire, everything has changed.

After 21 years, Mightiest releases its first album that sounds brutal and energetic. The single Devour Sun is a powerful opener. The title track Sinis Terra sounds very apocalyptic by the ominous vocals and the synths in the background. The full drums (the Tom Toms) are magnificent. We hear anger and energy. A very strong track.

Oceanic Empires is a rather melodic track, while The Purifire is another fine piece of energy.

The synths sometimes provide a symphonic metal atmosphere. Some tracks are great (like Sinisterra and The Purifire), some are too long.

Nice artwork, and in fact, a decent record!

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Na een demo in 1995 en een memorabel optreden tijdens de German Black Metal Night in Bad Worstenhof in 1997 met bands zoals Nordlys, Lunar Aurora en Nagelfar, ging het wat op en neer met de carrière van Mightiest. De vele personeelswissels waren de oorzaak, maar sinds ze onderdak vonden bij Cyclon Empire, kunnen we van een stabiele band spreken.

Na 21 jaar is er nu hun eerste album dat brutaal en energiek klinkt. De tonen van de synths en van de keyboards op de achtergrond zorgen voor wat verlichting in de muziek. De single Devour Sun is een krachtige opener.

De titelsong Sinis Terra klinkt heel apocalyptisch door de onheilspellende zang. De volle drums (o.a. de Tom Toms) zijn magnifiek. Men weet hier de kwaadheid en de energie heel gedisciplineerd los te laten. Een heel sterke track. 

Oceanic Empires is een eerder melodieuze track, maar blijft dan wat hangen. In Rise kon de mix wat beter. Toch zit de song niet slecht in elkaar, maar hij duurt gewoon een paar minuten te lang. The Purifire is opnieuw een fijne brok energie.

De synths die onder de muziek zijn geschoven, zorgen soms voor een symfonisch metalsfeertje. Enkele tracks zijn heel geslaagd (bijv. Sinisterra en The Purifire), toch heb ik een beetje het gevoel dat één en ander nog voor verbetering vatbaar is. Sommige liedjes zijn te lang.

Mooi artwork, en in feite een degelijke plaat.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : MIGHTIEST - Sinisterra 08/12/2016 : MIGHTIEST - Sinisterra

Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)