tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : MIGHTIEST - Sinisterra

MIGHTIEST

Sinisterra

MusicCD
Black Metal

[72/100]   

Cyclone Empire
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

After a demo in 1995 and a memorable gig during the German Black Metal Night in Bad Worstenhof with bands like Nordlys, Lunar Aurora and Nagelfar in 1997, the career of Mightiest went up and down. The many personnel changes were the reason, but since the band has a contract with Cyclone Empire, everything has changed.

After 21 years, Mightiest releases its first album that sounds brutal and energetic. The single Devour Sun is a powerful opener. The title track Sinis Terra sounds very apocalyptic by the ominous vocals and the synths in the background. The full drums (the Tom Toms) are magnificent. We hear anger and energy. A very strong track.

Oceanic Empires is a rather melodic track, while The Purifire is another fine piece of energy.

The synths sometimes provide a symphonic metal atmosphere. Some tracks are great (like Sinisterra and The Purifire), some are too long.

Nice artwork, and in fact, a decent record!

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Na een demo in 1995 en een memorabel optreden tijdens de German Black Metal Night in Bad Worstenhof in 1997 met bands zoals Nordlys, Lunar Aurora en Nagelfar, ging het wat op en neer met de carrière van Mightiest. De vele personeelswissels waren de oorzaak, maar sinds ze onderdak vonden bij Cyclon Empire, kunnen we van een stabiele band spreken.

Na 21 jaar is er nu hun eerste album dat brutaal en energiek klinkt. De tonen van de synths en van de keyboards op de achtergrond zorgen voor wat verlichting in de muziek. De single Devour Sun is een krachtige opener.

De titelsong Sinis Terra klinkt heel apocalyptisch door de onheilspellende zang. De volle drums (o.a. de Tom Toms) zijn magnifiek. Men weet hier de kwaadheid en de energie heel gedisciplineerd los te laten. Een heel sterke track. 

Oceanic Empires is een eerder melodieuze track, maar blijft dan wat hangen. In Rise kon de mix wat beter. Toch zit de song niet slecht in elkaar, maar hij duurt gewoon een paar minuten te lang. The Purifire is opnieuw een fijne brok energie.

De synths die onder de muziek zijn geschoven, zorgen soms voor een symfonisch metalsfeertje. Enkele tracks zijn heel geslaagd (bijv. Sinisterra en The Purifire), toch heb ik een beetje het gevoel dat één en ander nog voor verbetering vatbaar is. Sommige liedjes zijn te lang.

Mooi artwork, en in feite een degelijke plaat.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : MIGHTIEST - Sinisterra 08/12/2016 : MIGHTIEST - Sinisterra

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap