tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : MIGHTIEST - Sinisterra

MIGHTIEST

Sinisterra

MusicCD
Black Metal

[72/100]   

Cyclone Empire
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

After a demo in 1995 and a memorable gig during the German Black Metal Night in Bad Worstenhof with bands like Nordlys, Lunar Aurora and Nagelfar in 1997, the career of Mightiest went up and down. The many personnel changes were the reason, but since the band has a contract with Cyclone Empire, everything has changed.

After 21 years, Mightiest releases its first album that sounds brutal and energetic. The single Devour Sun is a powerful opener. The title track Sinis Terra sounds very apocalyptic by the ominous vocals and the synths in the background. The full drums (the Tom Toms) are magnificent. We hear anger and energy. A very strong track.

Oceanic Empires is a rather melodic track, while The Purifire is another fine piece of energy.

The synths sometimes provide a symphonic metal atmosphere. Some tracks are great (like Sinisterra and The Purifire), some are too long.

Nice artwork, and in fact, a decent record!

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Na een demo in 1995 en een memorabel optreden tijdens de German Black Metal Night in Bad Worstenhof in 1997 met bands zoals Nordlys, Lunar Aurora en Nagelfar, ging het wat op en neer met de carrière van Mightiest. De vele personeelswissels waren de oorzaak, maar sinds ze onderdak vonden bij Cyclon Empire, kunnen we van een stabiele band spreken.

Na 21 jaar is er nu hun eerste album dat brutaal en energiek klinkt. De tonen van de synths en van de keyboards op de achtergrond zorgen voor wat verlichting in de muziek. De single Devour Sun is een krachtige opener.

De titelsong Sinis Terra klinkt heel apocalyptisch door de onheilspellende zang. De volle drums (o.a. de Tom Toms) zijn magnifiek. Men weet hier de kwaadheid en de energie heel gedisciplineerd los te laten. Een heel sterke track. 

Oceanic Empires is een eerder melodieuze track, maar blijft dan wat hangen. In Rise kon de mix wat beter. Toch zit de song niet slecht in elkaar, maar hij duurt gewoon een paar minuten te lang. The Purifire is opnieuw een fijne brok energie.

De synths die onder de muziek zijn geschoven, zorgen soms voor een symfonisch metalsfeertje. Enkele tracks zijn heel geslaagd (bijv. Sinisterra en The Purifire), toch heb ik een beetje het gevoel dat één en ander nog voor verbetering vatbaar is. Sommige liedjes zijn te lang.

Mooi artwork, en in feite een degelijke plaat.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : MIGHTIEST - Sinisterra 08/12/2016 : MIGHTIEST - Sinisterra

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)