tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : MIGHTIEST - Sinisterra

MIGHTIEST

Sinisterra

MusicCD
Black Metal

[72/100]   

Cyclone Empire
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

After a demo in 1995 and a memorable gig during the German Black Metal Night in Bad Worstenhof with bands like Nordlys, Lunar Aurora and Nagelfar in 1997, the career of Mightiest went up and down. The many personnel changes were the reason, but since the band has a contract with Cyclone Empire, everything has changed.

After 21 years, Mightiest releases its first album that sounds brutal and energetic. The single Devour Sun is a powerful opener. The title track Sinis Terra sounds very apocalyptic by the ominous vocals and the synths in the background. The full drums (the Tom Toms) are magnificent. We hear anger and energy. A very strong track.

Oceanic Empires is a rather melodic track, while The Purifire is another fine piece of energy.

The synths sometimes provide a symphonic metal atmosphere. Some tracks are great (like Sinisterra and The Purifire), some are too long.

Nice artwork, and in fact, a decent record!

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

Na een demo in 1995 en een memorabel optreden tijdens de German Black Metal Night in Bad Worstenhof in 1997 met bands zoals Nordlys, Lunar Aurora en Nagelfar, ging het wat op en neer met de carrière van Mightiest. De vele personeelswissels waren de oorzaak, maar sinds ze onderdak vonden bij Cyclon Empire, kunnen we van een stabiele band spreken.

Na 21 jaar is er nu hun eerste album dat brutaal en energiek klinkt. De tonen van de synths en van de keyboards op de achtergrond zorgen voor wat verlichting in de muziek. De single Devour Sun is een krachtige opener.

De titelsong Sinis Terra klinkt heel apocalyptisch door de onheilspellende zang. De volle drums (o.a. de Tom Toms) zijn magnifiek. Men weet hier de kwaadheid en de energie heel gedisciplineerd los te laten. Een heel sterke track. 

Oceanic Empires is een eerder melodieuze track, maar blijft dan wat hangen. In Rise kon de mix wat beter. Toch zit de song niet slecht in elkaar, maar hij duurt gewoon een paar minuten te lang. The Purifire is opnieuw een fijne brok energie.

De synths die onder de muziek zijn geschoven, zorgen soms voor een symfonisch metalsfeertje. Enkele tracks zijn heel geslaagd (bijv. Sinisterra en The Purifire), toch heb ik een beetje het gevoel dat één en ander nog voor verbetering vatbaar is. Sommige liedjes zijn te lang.

Mooi artwork, en in feite een degelijke plaat.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : MIGHTIEST - Sinisterra 08/12/2016 : MIGHTIEST - Sinisterra

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
12
09
SPANKRAGHT
N16