tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

18/09/2013 : MIKA GOEDRIJK - Naked

MIKA GOEDRIJK

Naked

MusicCD
Drum n bassElectroIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[80/100]   

Hymen Records
18/09/2013, Chris KONINGS

Mika is the man behind projects like This Morn' Omina, Nebula-H and since 2009 he's also working under his own name. This is his third album, the previous one I remember being slightly unbalanced, a collage of ideas and sounds but difficult to get dragged into.

The album title suggests he now presents himself in a most vulnerable way, without any means of protection. Again it seems to be a collage of ideas and influences he wants to tackle, it's mostly downtempo added with his trademark tribal percussion. Percussion is good to dance but most people want to hear some club sounds as well so Mika also delivers plenty of those, beginning from "Open" and really taking up the pace in the amazing "Nowhere" or "(Life In) Rerun". Perfect clubby electro for night driving or catching the sunrise at parties.

Downtempo electro and repetitive backing loops makes "Desert Snow" a cross between Clock DVA's Sign or Man-Amplified and Laurent Garnier. "Highways" doesn't work for me, it's a bit lengthy and uneventful but still crisp production (that goes for the entire album). "King Rat" is a big improvement then, also quite long with a very slow build up that morphs into a very compelling track. Everywhere you can find his trademark percussion but all songs are still very far away from the action packed This Morn Omina project. And so you really believe these are his own, deepest emotions he translates into music.

Of course he cannot deny his Morn Omina roots and from "L'Enfer Blanc" the percussion becomes thicker and more dominant. The same goes for the next songs such as "Turmoil", "Clockwork" and last song "Stonewall" even has a bit of breaks thrown in for good measure. This evolution feels very natural and so with this new album I cannot say there's any hint of imbalance as with his previous record.

Great effort Mika and I love the way he concludes the album with a powerful yell, that really tops it!

Chris KONINGS
18/09/2013


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVERNANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire