tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/04/2011 : MIKAEL HAFSTROM - The Rite (2010)

MIKAEL HAFSTROM

The Rite (2010)

Movie
Horror

[63/100]   
21/04/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

“The battle against the Devil, which is the principal task of Saint Michael the Archangel, is still being fought today, because the Devil is still alive and active in the World.  - Pope John Paul II”.

The Rite starts as a classic horror movie: with some intriguing text and the right accompanying images; and so it catches my attention immediately.

Michael Kovak (Colin O’Donoghue), son of an undertaker, decides to become a priest & sees himself sent to the Vatican for a course in Exorcism. Unfortunately, there’s something about O’Donoghue mimic which make the story not likely to be taken serious.

Only when he meets Father Lucas Trevant (Anthony Hopkins), a master in exorcism, the whole idea becomes more plausible and the movie gets a bit better than a mediocre level. I liked the approach where no bloody or vomiting possessed people are needed to create a certain atmosphere. However then you would need a good story & superior acting. Luckily Mr. Hopkins could guarantee (partly) for this acting.

But as the story continues, it becomes thus straightforward and easy that it starts annoying and towards the end, the interest in a fresh pint of beer almost conquers my will to see the movie until the end.

Perhaps I have been spoiled too much by seeing so many great movies but this one is in my opinion just a better TV movie, but no quality to remain nested in my brains amongst really interesting modern horror movies like ‘I Saw The Devil’ (Jee-woon Kim) or ‘Shutter Island’ (Martin Scorsese).

I hope Anthony Hopkins next project will be a better (chosen) one.

Ward DE PRINS
21/04/2011


NL

“De Strijd tegen de Duivel is de hoofdtaak van aartsengel Sint Michael. Deze strijd wordt ook vandaag nog gestreden vermits de Duivel nog steeds leeft en rondtrekt op deze Wereld. – Paus Johannes Paulus II”

The Rite start zoals een klassieke horrorfilm: met een intrigerende tekst en de perfect gekozen begeleidende beelden. Hierdoor heeft de film onmiddellijk mijn volledige aandacht.

Michael Kovak (Colin O’Donoghue), de zoon van een begrafenisondernemer, beslist om priester te worden. Tijdens zijn studie wordt hij al snel naar Rome gestuurd om daar een cursus exorcisme te gaan volgen. Helaas is er iets met de acteerprestaties of mimiek van O’Donoghue waardoor het verhaal niet echt serieus overkomt.

Enkel wanneer we Priester Lucas Trevant ontmoeten (Anthony Hopkins), een meester in exorcisme, wordt de film iets meer geloofwaardig en bereikt deze een beter niveau dan gemiddeld.

Een leuk aspect aan de film is de benadering zonder al te veel bloed of brakende bezetenen. Het maakt natuurlijk wel dat je een zeer goed verhaal en uitmuntende acteerprestaties nodig hebt als je dan een horrorfilm wil doen slagen. Gelukkig kan Mr. Hopkins instaan voor het betere acteerwerk.

Maar helaas wordt naarmate de film vordert het verhaal zo flinterdun en triviaal dat ik er nauwelijks mijn aandacht bij kan houden en het idee aan een frisse pint na de film me meer intrigeert dan het eigenlijke verhaal.

Ik ben misschien doorheen de jaren te zeer verwend door zoveel goede films maar volgens mij is The Rite enkel een betere TV film, en helaas geen kwaliteitsfilm die nog lang in mijn hersens zal blijven nazinderen, zoals dat wel het geval was bij enkele moderne horrorfilms zoals ‘I Saw The Devil’ (Jee-woon Kim) of ‘Shutter Island’ (Martin Scorsese).

Ik hoop dat Anthony Hopkins zijn volgend project beter uitkiest…

Ward DE PRINS
21/04/2011


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day