tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/04/2011 : MIKAEL HAFSTROM - The Rite (2010)

MIKAEL HAFSTROM

The Rite (2010)

Movie
Horror

[63/100]   
21/04/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

“The battle against the Devil, which is the principal task of Saint Michael the Archangel, is still being fought today, because the Devil is still alive and active in the World.  - Pope John Paul II”.

The Rite starts as a classic horror movie: with some intriguing text and the right accompanying images; and so it catches my attention immediately.

Michael Kovak (Colin O’Donoghue), son of an undertaker, decides to become a priest & sees himself sent to the Vatican for a course in Exorcism. Unfortunately, there’s something about O’Donoghue mimic which make the story not likely to be taken serious.

Only when he meets Father Lucas Trevant (Anthony Hopkins), a master in exorcism, the whole idea becomes more plausible and the movie gets a bit better than a mediocre level. I liked the approach where no bloody or vomiting possessed people are needed to create a certain atmosphere. However then you would need a good story & superior acting. Luckily Mr. Hopkins could guarantee (partly) for this acting.

But as the story continues, it becomes thus straightforward and easy that it starts annoying and towards the end, the interest in a fresh pint of beer almost conquers my will to see the movie until the end.

Perhaps I have been spoiled too much by seeing so many great movies but this one is in my opinion just a better TV movie, but no quality to remain nested in my brains amongst really interesting modern horror movies like ‘I Saw The Devil’ (Jee-woon Kim) or ‘Shutter Island’ (Martin Scorsese).

I hope Anthony Hopkins next project will be a better (chosen) one.

Ward DE PRINS
21/04/2011


NL

“De Strijd tegen de Duivel is de hoofdtaak van aartsengel Sint Michael. Deze strijd wordt ook vandaag nog gestreden vermits de Duivel nog steeds leeft en rondtrekt op deze Wereld. – Paus Johannes Paulus II”

The Rite start zoals een klassieke horrorfilm: met een intrigerende tekst en de perfect gekozen begeleidende beelden. Hierdoor heeft de film onmiddellijk mijn volledige aandacht.

Michael Kovak (Colin O’Donoghue), de zoon van een begrafenisondernemer, beslist om priester te worden. Tijdens zijn studie wordt hij al snel naar Rome gestuurd om daar een cursus exorcisme te gaan volgen. Helaas is er iets met de acteerprestaties of mimiek van O’Donoghue waardoor het verhaal niet echt serieus overkomt.

Enkel wanneer we Priester Lucas Trevant ontmoeten (Anthony Hopkins), een meester in exorcisme, wordt de film iets meer geloofwaardig en bereikt deze een beter niveau dan gemiddeld.

Een leuk aspect aan de film is de benadering zonder al te veel bloed of brakende bezetenen. Het maakt natuurlijk wel dat je een zeer goed verhaal en uitmuntende acteerprestaties nodig hebt als je dan een horrorfilm wil doen slagen. Gelukkig kan Mr. Hopkins instaan voor het betere acteerwerk.

Maar helaas wordt naarmate de film vordert het verhaal zo flinterdun en triviaal dat ik er nauwelijks mijn aandacht bij kan houden en het idee aan een frisse pint na de film me meer intrigeert dan het eigenlijke verhaal.

Ik ben misschien doorheen de jaren te zeer verwend door zoveel goede films maar volgens mij is The Rite enkel een betere TV film, en helaas geen kwaliteitsfilm die nog lang in mijn hersens zal blijven nazinderen, zoals dat wel het geval was bij enkele moderne horrorfilms zoals ‘I Saw The Devil’ (Jee-woon Kim) of ‘Shutter Island’ (Martin Scorsese).

Ik hoop dat Anthony Hopkins zijn volgend project beter uitkiest…

Ward DE PRINS
21/04/2011


Music reviews

17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R
13
08
AIMA
Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
12
08
AUGER
From Now On I

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS
07
08
CHELSEA announce European Tour in September

Concert reviews

07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
08
MOTOR!K
Static
16
08
ENZO KREFT
Disobedient
15
08
DER KLINKE
CURTAINS
14
08
SPIRITUAL FRONT
Tenderness Through Violence
13
08
TEST DEPARTMENT
Landlord
12
08
MERCIFUL NUNS
BLACK HALO
11
08
DEATH IN JUNE
Heaven Street