tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/04/2011 : MIKAEL HAFSTROM - The Rite (2010)

MIKAEL HAFSTROM

The Rite (2010)

Movie
Horror

[63/100]   
21/04/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

“The battle against the Devil, which is the principal task of Saint Michael the Archangel, is still being fought today, because the Devil is still alive and active in the World.  - Pope John Paul II”.

The Rite starts as a classic horror movie: with some intriguing text and the right accompanying images; and so it catches my attention immediately.

Michael Kovak (Colin O’Donoghue), son of an undertaker, decides to become a priest & sees himself sent to the Vatican for a course in Exorcism. Unfortunately, there’s something about O’Donoghue mimic which make the story not likely to be taken serious.

Only when he meets Father Lucas Trevant (Anthony Hopkins), a master in exorcism, the whole idea becomes more plausible and the movie gets a bit better than a mediocre level. I liked the approach where no bloody or vomiting possessed people are needed to create a certain atmosphere. However then you would need a good story & superior acting. Luckily Mr. Hopkins could guarantee (partly) for this acting.

But as the story continues, it becomes thus straightforward and easy that it starts annoying and towards the end, the interest in a fresh pint of beer almost conquers my will to see the movie until the end.

Perhaps I have been spoiled too much by seeing so many great movies but this one is in my opinion just a better TV movie, but no quality to remain nested in my brains amongst really interesting modern horror movies like ‘I Saw The Devil’ (Jee-woon Kim) or ‘Shutter Island’ (Martin Scorsese).

I hope Anthony Hopkins next project will be a better (chosen) one.

Ward DE PRINS
21/04/2011


NL

“De Strijd tegen de Duivel is de hoofdtaak van aartsengel Sint Michael. Deze strijd wordt ook vandaag nog gestreden vermits de Duivel nog steeds leeft en rondtrekt op deze Wereld. – Paus Johannes Paulus II”

The Rite start zoals een klassieke horrorfilm: met een intrigerende tekst en de perfect gekozen begeleidende beelden. Hierdoor heeft de film onmiddellijk mijn volledige aandacht.

Michael Kovak (Colin O’Donoghue), de zoon van een begrafenisondernemer, beslist om priester te worden. Tijdens zijn studie wordt hij al snel naar Rome gestuurd om daar een cursus exorcisme te gaan volgen. Helaas is er iets met de acteerprestaties of mimiek van O’Donoghue waardoor het verhaal niet echt serieus overkomt.

Enkel wanneer we Priester Lucas Trevant ontmoeten (Anthony Hopkins), een meester in exorcisme, wordt de film iets meer geloofwaardig en bereikt deze een beter niveau dan gemiddeld.

Een leuk aspect aan de film is de benadering zonder al te veel bloed of brakende bezetenen. Het maakt natuurlijk wel dat je een zeer goed verhaal en uitmuntende acteerprestaties nodig hebt als je dan een horrorfilm wil doen slagen. Gelukkig kan Mr. Hopkins instaan voor het betere acteerwerk.

Maar helaas wordt naarmate de film vordert het verhaal zo flinterdun en triviaal dat ik er nauwelijks mijn aandacht bij kan houden en het idee aan een frisse pint na de film me meer intrigeert dan het eigenlijke verhaal.

Ik ben misschien doorheen de jaren te zeer verwend door zoveel goede films maar volgens mij is The Rite enkel een betere TV film, en helaas geen kwaliteitsfilm die nog lang in mijn hersens zal blijven nazinderen, zoals dat wel het geval was bij enkele moderne horrorfilms zoals ‘I Saw The Devil’ (Jee-woon Kim) of ‘Shutter Island’ (Martin Scorsese).

Ik hoop dat Anthony Hopkins zijn volgend project beter uitkiest…

Ward DE PRINS
21/04/2011


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain