tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power

MIKE ELLIOTT

The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power

Movie
Adventure

[25/100]   

Universal Pictures
24/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

In 2002, quite a lot of people went to see The Scorpion King in the movie theatres. Normal, because if you can erase Dwayne Johnson from your movie memory, then you can say that this is an enjoyable adventure movie. Nothing less, nothing more. Of course producers are aiming for that last penny, and so The Scorpion King has 4 sequels till now. When you know that even Lou Ferrigno (indeed, the Hulk from the 80’s) is part of the cast, then you will not be surprised that the fourth part was released straight to DVD. You can also ask the question if such a release makes sense. For some it will perhaps, because The Scorpion King 4 looks so ridiculous that there is a chance that within a few years cult lovers will crown it as a classic.

A film that was doomed to be a failure, is obviously not longer Dwayne Johnson’s league, so the role of Mathayus was given to Victor Weber. If you missed the previous films, you better know that Mathayus (who first showed up in The Mummy Returns) was crowned as king after he eliminated Memnon, the ruler of Gomorrah. In the fourth adventure, Mathayus is accused of killing king Norvania, and is sent into battle against his kingdom.

Judging by the cast alone, you know what kind of movie this is going to be: as said, there is Lou Ferrigno, but also Roy "Big Country" Nelson, who was once the winner of The Ultimate Fighter, or triple world champion kickboxing: Don Wilson. Anyone who is aware of who is who in the wrestling world, will also see a lot of cameos. So, there is indeed more wrestling than acting talent around, and thus you rarely have the impression that you are watching a movie. There is a lot of fighting, but no story. And then there is the fact that this is a fairly cheap production that can not camouflage those painful defects The remaining question is who is going to loose any sleep over this fourth Scorpion King adventure. But if you can’t get enough of it: the fourth Scorpion King is out now on DVD and Blu-ray on Universal.

Didier BECU
24/02/2015


NL

In 2002 kon The Scorpion King het nodige volk naar de filmtheaters lokken. Normaal, want als je eventjes Dwayne Johnson (het soort acteur dat alle clichés over spierbundels waarheid laat worden) uit je geheugen kan wegtoveren, dan is dit een genietbare avonturenfilm. Dat producenten alles tot de laatste druppel willen uitmelken, is ondertussen meer dan bekend, en dus onderging The Scorpion King hetzelfde lot. Men vond het zelfs nodig om Lou Ferrigno (inderdaad, de Hulk uit de jaren 80) een plaats in de cast te geven, alhoewel dit uiteindelijk tot niets heeft geleid, want het vierde deel verscheen regelrecht op dvd. Je kan je dan ook de vraag stellen of zo’n release wel zin heeft. Voor sommigen misschien wel, want The Scorpion King 4 ziet er zo belabberd uit dat hij kans maakt om binnen enkele jaren door cultliefhebbers als een klassieker in het wansmaakgenre te worden bekroond.

Een film die gedoemd was om te mislukken, is natuurlijk beneden het niveau van Dwayne Johnson en dus had hij al lang geen zin meer om de rol van Mathayus te vertolken, een taak die werd doorgegeven aan Victor Weber. Mocht je de vorige films hebben gemist, dan weet je beslist nog dat Mathayus (die eigenlijk voor het eerst in The Mummy Returns opdaagt) tot koning is gekroond nadat hij Memnon, de heerser van Gomorrah kon uitschakelen. In het vierde avontuur wordt Mathayus ervan beschuldigd dat hij koning Norvania zou hebben vermoord, waardoor hij de strijd tegen dat koninkrijk moet aangaan.

Aan de hand van de cast alleen al weet je wat voor soort film dit gaat worden: zoals gezegd, Lou Ferrigno, Roy “Big Country” Nelson die ooit de winnaar van de wedstrijd The Ultimate Fighter was, en drievoudig wereldkampioen kickboksen: Don Wilson. Wie de sterren uit de worstelwereld kent, zal ook heel wat cameos de revue zien passeren. Meer worstel- dan acteertalent dus en dat merk je ook, want zelden heb je de indruk dat je naar een film kijkt. Er wordt flink op los gemept, maar van enig verhaal is er weinig sprake. En dan komt er nog het feit bij dat dit een vrij goedkope productie is, waardoor men deze pijnlijke gebreken niet kan camoufleren. De vraag is dan ook wie er wakker zal liggen van dit vierde Scorpion King-avontuur, wat ons betreft mag het in ieder geval stoppen, waarmee we niet willen zeggen dat de derde sequel beter was! Wie er maar niet genoeg van kan krijgen (waarom zou men dit anders maken, niet waar?) kan zich laven aan de vierde Scorpion King, die vanaf nu uit is op dvd en Blu-ray op Universal.

Didier BECU
24/02/2015


24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna