tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power

MIKE ELLIOTT

The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power

Movie
Adventure

[25/100]   

Universal Pictures
24/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

In 2002, quite a lot of people went to see The Scorpion King in the movie theatres. Normal, because if you can erase Dwayne Johnson from your movie memory, then you can say that this is an enjoyable adventure movie. Nothing less, nothing more. Of course producers are aiming for that last penny, and so The Scorpion King has 4 sequels till now. When you know that even Lou Ferrigno (indeed, the Hulk from the 80’s) is part of the cast, then you will not be surprised that the fourth part was released straight to DVD. You can also ask the question if such a release makes sense. For some it will perhaps, because The Scorpion King 4 looks so ridiculous that there is a chance that within a few years cult lovers will crown it as a classic.

A film that was doomed to be a failure, is obviously not longer Dwayne Johnson’s league, so the role of Mathayus was given to Victor Weber. If you missed the previous films, you better know that Mathayus (who first showed up in The Mummy Returns) was crowned as king after he eliminated Memnon, the ruler of Gomorrah. In the fourth adventure, Mathayus is accused of killing king Norvania, and is sent into battle against his kingdom.

Judging by the cast alone, you know what kind of movie this is going to be: as said, there is Lou Ferrigno, but also Roy "Big Country" Nelson, who was once the winner of The Ultimate Fighter, or triple world champion kickboxing: Don Wilson. Anyone who is aware of who is who in the wrestling world, will also see a lot of cameos. So, there is indeed more wrestling than acting talent around, and thus you rarely have the impression that you are watching a movie. There is a lot of fighting, but no story. And then there is the fact that this is a fairly cheap production that can not camouflage those painful defects The remaining question is who is going to loose any sleep over this fourth Scorpion King adventure. But if you can’t get enough of it: the fourth Scorpion King is out now on DVD and Blu-ray on Universal.

Didier BECU
24/02/2015


NL

In 2002 kon The Scorpion King het nodige volk naar de filmtheaters lokken. Normaal, want als je eventjes Dwayne Johnson (het soort acteur dat alle clichés over spierbundels waarheid laat worden) uit je geheugen kan wegtoveren, dan is dit een genietbare avonturenfilm. Dat producenten alles tot de laatste druppel willen uitmelken, is ondertussen meer dan bekend, en dus onderging The Scorpion King hetzelfde lot. Men vond het zelfs nodig om Lou Ferrigno (inderdaad, de Hulk uit de jaren 80) een plaats in de cast te geven, alhoewel dit uiteindelijk tot niets heeft geleid, want het vierde deel verscheen regelrecht op dvd. Je kan je dan ook de vraag stellen of zo’n release wel zin heeft. Voor sommigen misschien wel, want The Scorpion King 4 ziet er zo belabberd uit dat hij kans maakt om binnen enkele jaren door cultliefhebbers als een klassieker in het wansmaakgenre te worden bekroond.

Een film die gedoemd was om te mislukken, is natuurlijk beneden het niveau van Dwayne Johnson en dus had hij al lang geen zin meer om de rol van Mathayus te vertolken, een taak die werd doorgegeven aan Victor Weber. Mocht je de vorige films hebben gemist, dan weet je beslist nog dat Mathayus (die eigenlijk voor het eerst in The Mummy Returns opdaagt) tot koning is gekroond nadat hij Memnon, de heerser van Gomorrah kon uitschakelen. In het vierde avontuur wordt Mathayus ervan beschuldigd dat hij koning Norvania zou hebben vermoord, waardoor hij de strijd tegen dat koninkrijk moet aangaan.

Aan de hand van de cast alleen al weet je wat voor soort film dit gaat worden: zoals gezegd, Lou Ferrigno, Roy “Big Country” Nelson die ooit de winnaar van de wedstrijd The Ultimate Fighter was, en drievoudig wereldkampioen kickboksen: Don Wilson. Wie de sterren uit de worstelwereld kent, zal ook heel wat cameos de revue zien passeren. Meer worstel- dan acteertalent dus en dat merk je ook, want zelden heb je de indruk dat je naar een film kijkt. Er wordt flink op los gemept, maar van enig verhaal is er weinig sprake. En dan komt er nog het feit bij dat dit een vrij goedkope productie is, waardoor men deze pijnlijke gebreken niet kan camoufleren. De vraag is dan ook wie er wakker zal liggen van dit vierde Scorpion King-avontuur, wat ons betreft mag het in ieder geval stoppen, waarmee we niet willen zeggen dat de derde sequel beter was! Wie er maar niet genoeg van kan krijgen (waarom zou men dit anders maken, niet waar?) kan zich laven aan de vierde Scorpion King, die vanaf nu uit is op dvd en Blu-ray op Universal.

Didier BECU
24/02/2015


24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

19
07
SILENT RUNNERS
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus