tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power

MIKE ELLIOTT

The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power

Movie
Adventure

[25/100]   

Universal Pictures
24/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

In 2002, quite a lot of people went to see The Scorpion King in the movie theatres. Normal, because if you can erase Dwayne Johnson from your movie memory, then you can say that this is an enjoyable adventure movie. Nothing less, nothing more. Of course producers are aiming for that last penny, and so The Scorpion King has 4 sequels till now. When you know that even Lou Ferrigno (indeed, the Hulk from the 80’s) is part of the cast, then you will not be surprised that the fourth part was released straight to DVD. You can also ask the question if such a release makes sense. For some it will perhaps, because The Scorpion King 4 looks so ridiculous that there is a chance that within a few years cult lovers will crown it as a classic.

A film that was doomed to be a failure, is obviously not longer Dwayne Johnson’s league, so the role of Mathayus was given to Victor Weber. If you missed the previous films, you better know that Mathayus (who first showed up in The Mummy Returns) was crowned as king after he eliminated Memnon, the ruler of Gomorrah. In the fourth adventure, Mathayus is accused of killing king Norvania, and is sent into battle against his kingdom.

Judging by the cast alone, you know what kind of movie this is going to be: as said, there is Lou Ferrigno, but also Roy "Big Country" Nelson, who was once the winner of The Ultimate Fighter, or triple world champion kickboxing: Don Wilson. Anyone who is aware of who is who in the wrestling world, will also see a lot of cameos. So, there is indeed more wrestling than acting talent around, and thus you rarely have the impression that you are watching a movie. There is a lot of fighting, but no story. And then there is the fact that this is a fairly cheap production that can not camouflage those painful defects The remaining question is who is going to loose any sleep over this fourth Scorpion King adventure. But if you can’t get enough of it: the fourth Scorpion King is out now on DVD and Blu-ray on Universal.

Didier BECU
24/02/2015


NL

In 2002 kon The Scorpion King het nodige volk naar de filmtheaters lokken. Normaal, want als je eventjes Dwayne Johnson (het soort acteur dat alle clichés over spierbundels waarheid laat worden) uit je geheugen kan wegtoveren, dan is dit een genietbare avonturenfilm. Dat producenten alles tot de laatste druppel willen uitmelken, is ondertussen meer dan bekend, en dus onderging The Scorpion King hetzelfde lot. Men vond het zelfs nodig om Lou Ferrigno (inderdaad, de Hulk uit de jaren 80) een plaats in de cast te geven, alhoewel dit uiteindelijk tot niets heeft geleid, want het vierde deel verscheen regelrecht op dvd. Je kan je dan ook de vraag stellen of zo’n release wel zin heeft. Voor sommigen misschien wel, want The Scorpion King 4 ziet er zo belabberd uit dat hij kans maakt om binnen enkele jaren door cultliefhebbers als een klassieker in het wansmaakgenre te worden bekroond.

Een film die gedoemd was om te mislukken, is natuurlijk beneden het niveau van Dwayne Johnson en dus had hij al lang geen zin meer om de rol van Mathayus te vertolken, een taak die werd doorgegeven aan Victor Weber. Mocht je de vorige films hebben gemist, dan weet je beslist nog dat Mathayus (die eigenlijk voor het eerst in The Mummy Returns opdaagt) tot koning is gekroond nadat hij Memnon, de heerser van Gomorrah kon uitschakelen. In het vierde avontuur wordt Mathayus ervan beschuldigd dat hij koning Norvania zou hebben vermoord, waardoor hij de strijd tegen dat koninkrijk moet aangaan.

Aan de hand van de cast alleen al weet je wat voor soort film dit gaat worden: zoals gezegd, Lou Ferrigno, Roy “Big Country” Nelson die ooit de winnaar van de wedstrijd The Ultimate Fighter was, en drievoudig wereldkampioen kickboksen: Don Wilson. Wie de sterren uit de worstelwereld kent, zal ook heel wat cameos de revue zien passeren. Meer worstel- dan acteertalent dus en dat merk je ook, want zelden heb je de indruk dat je naar een film kijkt. Er wordt flink op los gemept, maar van enig verhaal is er weinig sprake. En dan komt er nog het feit bij dat dit een vrij goedkope productie is, waardoor men deze pijnlijke gebreken niet kan camoufleren. De vraag is dan ook wie er wakker zal liggen van dit vierde Scorpion King-avontuur, wat ons betreft mag het in ieder geval stoppen, waarmee we niet willen zeggen dat de derde sequel beter was! Wie er maar niet genoeg van kan krijgen (waarom zou men dit anders maken, niet waar?) kan zich laven aan de vierde Scorpion King, die vanaf nu uit is op dvd en Blu-ray op Universal.

Didier BECU
24/02/2015


24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey