tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power

MIKE ELLIOTT

The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power

Movie
Adventure

[25/100]   

Universal Pictures
24/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

In 2002, quite a lot of people went to see The Scorpion King in the movie theatres. Normal, because if you can erase Dwayne Johnson from your movie memory, then you can say that this is an enjoyable adventure movie. Nothing less, nothing more. Of course producers are aiming for that last penny, and so The Scorpion King has 4 sequels till now. When you know that even Lou Ferrigno (indeed, the Hulk from the 80’s) is part of the cast, then you will not be surprised that the fourth part was released straight to DVD. You can also ask the question if such a release makes sense. For some it will perhaps, because The Scorpion King 4 looks so ridiculous that there is a chance that within a few years cult lovers will crown it as a classic.

A film that was doomed to be a failure, is obviously not longer Dwayne Johnson’s league, so the role of Mathayus was given to Victor Weber. If you missed the previous films, you better know that Mathayus (who first showed up in The Mummy Returns) was crowned as king after he eliminated Memnon, the ruler of Gomorrah. In the fourth adventure, Mathayus is accused of killing king Norvania, and is sent into battle against his kingdom.

Judging by the cast alone, you know what kind of movie this is going to be: as said, there is Lou Ferrigno, but also Roy "Big Country" Nelson, who was once the winner of The Ultimate Fighter, or triple world champion kickboxing: Don Wilson. Anyone who is aware of who is who in the wrestling world, will also see a lot of cameos. So, there is indeed more wrestling than acting talent around, and thus you rarely have the impression that you are watching a movie. There is a lot of fighting, but no story. And then there is the fact that this is a fairly cheap production that can not camouflage those painful defects The remaining question is who is going to loose any sleep over this fourth Scorpion King adventure. But if you can’t get enough of it: the fourth Scorpion King is out now on DVD and Blu-ray on Universal.

Didier BECU
24/02/2015


NL

In 2002 kon The Scorpion King het nodige volk naar de filmtheaters lokken. Normaal, want als je eventjes Dwayne Johnson (het soort acteur dat alle clichés over spierbundels waarheid laat worden) uit je geheugen kan wegtoveren, dan is dit een genietbare avonturenfilm. Dat producenten alles tot de laatste druppel willen uitmelken, is ondertussen meer dan bekend, en dus onderging The Scorpion King hetzelfde lot. Men vond het zelfs nodig om Lou Ferrigno (inderdaad, de Hulk uit de jaren 80) een plaats in de cast te geven, alhoewel dit uiteindelijk tot niets heeft geleid, want het vierde deel verscheen regelrecht op dvd. Je kan je dan ook de vraag stellen of zo’n release wel zin heeft. Voor sommigen misschien wel, want The Scorpion King 4 ziet er zo belabberd uit dat hij kans maakt om binnen enkele jaren door cultliefhebbers als een klassieker in het wansmaakgenre te worden bekroond.

Een film die gedoemd was om te mislukken, is natuurlijk beneden het niveau van Dwayne Johnson en dus had hij al lang geen zin meer om de rol van Mathayus te vertolken, een taak die werd doorgegeven aan Victor Weber. Mocht je de vorige films hebben gemist, dan weet je beslist nog dat Mathayus (die eigenlijk voor het eerst in The Mummy Returns opdaagt) tot koning is gekroond nadat hij Memnon, de heerser van Gomorrah kon uitschakelen. In het vierde avontuur wordt Mathayus ervan beschuldigd dat hij koning Norvania zou hebben vermoord, waardoor hij de strijd tegen dat koninkrijk moet aangaan.

Aan de hand van de cast alleen al weet je wat voor soort film dit gaat worden: zoals gezegd, Lou Ferrigno, Roy “Big Country” Nelson die ooit de winnaar van de wedstrijd The Ultimate Fighter was, en drievoudig wereldkampioen kickboksen: Don Wilson. Wie de sterren uit de worstelwereld kent, zal ook heel wat cameos de revue zien passeren. Meer worstel- dan acteertalent dus en dat merk je ook, want zelden heb je de indruk dat je naar een film kijkt. Er wordt flink op los gemept, maar van enig verhaal is er weinig sprake. En dan komt er nog het feit bij dat dit een vrij goedkope productie is, waardoor men deze pijnlijke gebreken niet kan camoufleren. De vraag is dan ook wie er wakker zal liggen van dit vierde Scorpion King-avontuur, wat ons betreft mag het in ieder geval stoppen, waarmee we niet willen zeggen dat de derde sequel beter was! Wie er maar niet genoeg van kan krijgen (waarom zou men dit anders maken, niet waar?) kan zich laven aan de vierde Scorpion King, die vanaf nu uit is op dvd en Blu-ray op Universal.

Didier BECU
24/02/2015


24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power 24/02/2015 : MIKE ELLIOTT - The Scorpion King 4: Quest For Power

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide