tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

15/06/2014 : MIKE FLANAGAN - Absentia

MIKE FLANAGAN

Absentia

Movie


[64/100]   

Second Sight
15/06/2014, Didier BECU

EN

While reading this, Mike Flanagan has become a bit more famous as his latest offering Oculus (soon in Belgian theatres) did it quite well. His previous productions were much smaller, but loved by the horror public and reason enough for the British Second Sight Films to release Absentia on Blu-ray.

Renowned mags like Empire or horrorbible Fangoria were praising the movie. We are a bit less enthusiastic even if we immediately have to add that Absentia is much better than other horrorflicks and that’s mainly due to the good acting that is of course a rare thing in this genre.

Callie (Katie Parker) who has given up drugs just returned from a long American trip. Back home she finds her sister Tricia (Courtney Bell) who is still mourning about her husband who is by now seven years missing. The police wants to put a definite point behind the case by declaring the man officially dead. Just at the moment that Tricia falls in the arms of an inspector with whom she wants to start a new life, Daniel shows up. The missing person is totally confused and has forgotten everything. All he can remember is that the key to the mystery lies in a nearby bridge for pedestrians. 

Horrorfans who love the slasher genre might be disappointed as there isn’t one scene in Absentia that shows blood. The sole creepy elements the makers are adding are like some hand prints that you can see through the ceiling or a curtain shower that starts to move. That’s all you get. The story itself is a bit weak , and at the moment of the movie you’re left hungry.

But good, apart from that those 90 minutes were flashing in front of eyes without getting bored and that is, as said, mainly the merit of the actors. We don’t say it just for her pretty face, but we really like to see Katie Parker soon again as this woman has talent!

So yes, Absentia is worth your time and is now available on Blu-ray through the British Second Sight-label.

Didier BECU
15/06/2014


NL

Terwijl je dit leest is Mike Flanagan ondertussen al een heel klein beetje beroemder omdat zijn laatste film Oculus (binnen enkele maanden ook bij ons in de zalen) het opmerkelijk goed deed. Zijn vorige producties waren heel wat kleiner van opzet, maar toch geliefd bij het horrorpubliek. Reden genoeg voor het Britse Second Sight Films om zijn vorige prent Absentia op Blu-ray uit te brengen.

Befaamde magazines zoals Empire of horrorbijbel Fangoria waren best te spreken over deze film. Zelf zijn we wat minder enthousiast, alhoewel we er meteen moeten aan toevoegen dat Absentia heel wat beter is dan de meeste van zijn soortgenoten en dat heeft ongetwijfeld veel met het acteerniveau te maken (een element dat in de griezelwereld net iets te vaak te wensen overlaat).

Callie (Katie Parker) is al een tijdje clean en heeft net een grote Amerikaanse trip achter de kiezen. Bij haar terugkomst treft zij haar zus Tricia (Courtney Bell) aan die het nog steeds niet kan verkroppen dat haar echtgenoot reeds zeven jaar is vermist. De politie besluit een punt achter het onderzoek te zetten door Daniel officieel dood te verklaren. Net op het moment dat Tricia in de armen van de dienstdoende rechercheur valt en met hem een nieuw leven wil beginnen, komt plots Daniel boven water drijven. De vermiste is helemaal verward en heeft alles vergeten. Het enige wat hij wel nog weet is dat de sleutel van het geheim in een angstaanjagende voetgangerstunnel ligt.

Bibberfans die het van het slashergenre houden zullen maar weinig boodschap aan Absentia hebben. Er valt geen spatje bloed te bespeuren en de griezelelementen zijn beperkt gebleven tot wat handdrukken die je door het plafond ziet of gewoon een douchegordijn dat wat beweegt. Meer krijg je niet. Ook het verhaal is nogal zwak, met een einde dat de kijker met heel veel honger nalaat. Desalniettemin raast deze 90 minuten durende griezeltrip in een vrij snel tempo aan je voorbij en dat is zoals gezegd aan de acteurs te danken. Vooral Katie Parker hopen we in de toekomst nog veel te zien, en dat zeggen we niet alleen wegens haar mooie snoetje.

Deze thriller (want een echte horror kun je het moeilijk noemen) is vanaf nu op Blu-ray verkrijgbaar via het Britse Second Sight.

Didier BECU
15/06/2014


15/06/2014 : MIKE FLANAGAN - Absentia 15/06/2014 : MIKE FLANAGAN - Absentia 15/06/2014 : MIKE FLANAGAN - Absentia 15/06/2014 : MIKE FLANAGAN - Absentia 15/06/2014 : MIKE FLANAGAN - Absentia 15/06/2014 : MIKE FLANAGAN - Absentia 15/06/2014 : MIKE FLANAGAN - Absentia 15/06/2014 : MIKE FLANAGAN - Absentia 15/06/2014 : MIKE FLANAGAN - Absentia 15/06/2014 : MIKE FLANAGAN - Absentia 15/06/2014 : MIKE FLANAGAN - Absentia 15/06/2014 : MIKE FLANAGAN - Absentia 15/06/2014 : MIKE FLANAGAN - Absentia 15/06/2014 : MIKE FLANAGAN - Absentia 15/06/2014 : MIKE FLANAGAN - Absentia 15/06/2014 : MIKE FLANAGAN - Absentia

Music reviews

16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains