tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes

MIKKEL NORGAARD

The Keeper Of The Lost Causes

Movie
Crime

[55/100]   

Lumire
05/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We tell you nothing new when we say that Scandinavia has conquered the television world. Therefore it’s quite strange to notice that Scandinavian films often fail in the cinema. A recent example is the brillant Headhunters that was ignored. The same can be said about The Keeper Of Lost Causes but in Denmark the movie was the best viewed Danish production ever! When you know that plans exist to make ten (!) sequels, then you understand that director Mikkel Nørgaard did a great job.

At least money wise, because in a cinematographic way, this thriller is a disappointment. The film is based on a novel by Jussi Adler Olsen, and even if this work is compared to Milenium, the final result is rather boring and far too confusing.

Carl Mørck (Nikolaj Lie Kaas, you might know him from The Idiots by Lars Von Trier and of course The Killing), is not exactly the most popular cop in his team. During his latest mission one colleague ended up in a wheelchair while another was sent six feet under. His superiors think it’s enough and they send him to the cellar where he has to classify cold cases with collegue Assad (Fares Fares). According to Carl Mørck a cop should not be behind a desk and so he starts the investigation of an old murder case.

It’s a basic rule that the viewer can identify with the hero, but that’s a rule Mikkel Nørgaard doesn't understand. The performance of Nikolaj Lie Kaas is extremely dull: Carl Mørck is an arrogant bastard and that’s all you can say about him. Furthermore the movie itself is very unbalanced and the flashbacks don’t work for a second. As soon as The Keeper Of Lost Causes is over, you forget it. No, that’s not why we are movie addicts!

The Keeper Of Lost Causes is out on Lumière.

Technical specifications:

Director: Mikkel Nørgaard
Cast: Nikolaj Lie Kaas, Fares Fares
Country: Denemark, 2013
Length: 93 minutes
Language: Danish
Subtitles: Dutch
Image: 16/9
Audio: Dolby Digital 5.1

Didier BECU
05/11/2014


NL

Alhoewel Scandinavië in de Europese televisiewereld als een pletwals te keer gaat, lijkt het in de cinema in andere landen toch iets minder te lukken. Zo werd twee jaar geleden (de briljante) Headhunters wat over het hoofd gezien, en ook voor The Keeper Of Lost Causes was er bij de bioscoopexploitanten geen reden voor een vreugdedansje. In thuisland Denemarken was dat heel andere koek. Deze thriller werd in geen tijd de meest bezochte Deense prent aller tijden en als je weet dat er plannen zijn om er maar liefst tien (!) films van te maken, dan weet je dat regisseur Mikkel Nørgaard in zijn opzet is geslaagd.

Ten minste op het vlak van de centen, want op filmvlak is deze politiethriller eerder een ontgoocheling. Hij baseerde zich op de misdaadroman De vrouw in de kooi van Jussi Adler Olsen. Die bestseller heeft alle troeven in handen om er wederom een Scandinavische crimi van te maken die je van je sokken blaast , helaas is de uitwerking ervan eerder saai en vrij verwarrend.

Carl Mørck (Nikolaj Lie Kaas, bekend van The Idiots van Lars Von Trier en natuurlijk The Killing) is niet meteen de populairste flik van het korps. Nadat bij één van zijn interventies een collega verlamd is geraakt en een andere het loodje heeft gelegd, sturen zijn superieuren hem letterlijk naar de kelder. Samen met collega Assad ( Fares Fares) mag hij voortaan onopgeloste zaken doen. De koppige Carl Mørck vindt evenwel dat een flik niet achter een bureau moet zitten en tot groot ongenoegen van zijn overste onderzoekt hij de onopgeloste (stinkende) zaakjes te velde.

Het is een basisregel, maar blijkbaar heeft Mikkel Nørgaard niet begrepen dat de kijker zich moeten kunnen vereenzelvigen met de speurneus. Dat lukt niet met de saaie vertolking van Nikolaj Lie Kaas: Carl Mørck is een arrogante zak en dat is eigenlijk het enige wat je over hem kan vertellen. Bovendien is de film zeer onevenwichtig gemaakt, de flashbacks zijn bijzonder amateuristisch ingebouwd en vaak niet eens te begrijpen. The Keeper Of Lost Causes is zoals men het zo mooi uitdrukt een mager beestje. Toch maar opnieuw The Bridge bovenhalen!

The Keeper Of Lost Causes is uitgebracht op Lumière.

Technische specificaties:

Regisseur: Mikkel Nørgaard (Borgen)
Cast: Nikolaj Lie Kaas, Fares Fares
Herkomst: Denemarken, 2013
Speelduur: 93 minuten
Taal: Deens
Ondertiteling: Nederlands
Beeldformaat: 16/9
Audio: Dolby Digital 5.1

Didier BECU
05/11/2014


05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes

Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights