tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes

MIKKEL NORGAARD

The Keeper Of The Lost Causes

Movie
Crime

[55/100]   

Lumire
05/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We tell you nothing new when we say that Scandinavia has conquered the television world. Therefore it’s quite strange to notice that Scandinavian films often fail in the cinema. A recent example is the brillant Headhunters that was ignored. The same can be said about The Keeper Of Lost Causes but in Denmark the movie was the best viewed Danish production ever! When you know that plans exist to make ten (!) sequels, then you understand that director Mikkel Nørgaard did a great job.

At least money wise, because in a cinematographic way, this thriller is a disappointment. The film is based on a novel by Jussi Adler Olsen, and even if this work is compared to Milenium, the final result is rather boring and far too confusing.

Carl Mørck (Nikolaj Lie Kaas, you might know him from The Idiots by Lars Von Trier and of course The Killing), is not exactly the most popular cop in his team. During his latest mission one colleague ended up in a wheelchair while another was sent six feet under. His superiors think it’s enough and they send him to the cellar where he has to classify cold cases with collegue Assad (Fares Fares). According to Carl Mørck a cop should not be behind a desk and so he starts the investigation of an old murder case.

It’s a basic rule that the viewer can identify with the hero, but that’s a rule Mikkel Nørgaard doesn't understand. The performance of Nikolaj Lie Kaas is extremely dull: Carl Mørck is an arrogant bastard and that’s all you can say about him. Furthermore the movie itself is very unbalanced and the flashbacks don’t work for a second. As soon as The Keeper Of Lost Causes is over, you forget it. No, that’s not why we are movie addicts!

The Keeper Of Lost Causes is out on Lumière.

Technical specifications:

Director: Mikkel Nørgaard
Cast: Nikolaj Lie Kaas, Fares Fares
Country: Denemark, 2013
Length: 93 minutes
Language: Danish
Subtitles: Dutch
Image: 16/9
Audio: Dolby Digital 5.1

Didier BECU
05/11/2014


NL

Alhoewel Scandinavië in de Europese televisiewereld als een pletwals te keer gaat, lijkt het in de cinema in andere landen toch iets minder te lukken. Zo werd twee jaar geleden (de briljante) Headhunters wat over het hoofd gezien, en ook voor The Keeper Of Lost Causes was er bij de bioscoopexploitanten geen reden voor een vreugdedansje. In thuisland Denemarken was dat heel andere koek. Deze thriller werd in geen tijd de meest bezochte Deense prent aller tijden en als je weet dat er plannen zijn om er maar liefst tien (!) films van te maken, dan weet je dat regisseur Mikkel Nørgaard in zijn opzet is geslaagd.

Ten minste op het vlak van de centen, want op filmvlak is deze politiethriller eerder een ontgoocheling. Hij baseerde zich op de misdaadroman De vrouw in de kooi van Jussi Adler Olsen. Die bestseller heeft alle troeven in handen om er wederom een Scandinavische crimi van te maken die je van je sokken blaast , helaas is de uitwerking ervan eerder saai en vrij verwarrend.

Carl Mørck (Nikolaj Lie Kaas, bekend van The Idiots van Lars Von Trier en natuurlijk The Killing) is niet meteen de populairste flik van het korps. Nadat bij één van zijn interventies een collega verlamd is geraakt en een andere het loodje heeft gelegd, sturen zijn superieuren hem letterlijk naar de kelder. Samen met collega Assad ( Fares Fares) mag hij voortaan onopgeloste zaken doen. De koppige Carl Mørck vindt evenwel dat een flik niet achter een bureau moet zitten en tot groot ongenoegen van zijn overste onderzoekt hij de onopgeloste (stinkende) zaakjes te velde.

Het is een basisregel, maar blijkbaar heeft Mikkel Nørgaard niet begrepen dat de kijker zich moeten kunnen vereenzelvigen met de speurneus. Dat lukt niet met de saaie vertolking van Nikolaj Lie Kaas: Carl Mørck is een arrogante zak en dat is eigenlijk het enige wat je over hem kan vertellen. Bovendien is de film zeer onevenwichtig gemaakt, de flashbacks zijn bijzonder amateuristisch ingebouwd en vaak niet eens te begrijpen. The Keeper Of Lost Causes is zoals men het zo mooi uitdrukt een mager beestje. Toch maar opnieuw The Bridge bovenhalen!

The Keeper Of Lost Causes is uitgebracht op Lumière.

Technische specificaties:

Regisseur: Mikkel Nørgaard (Borgen)
Cast: Nikolaj Lie Kaas, Fares Fares
Herkomst: Denemarken, 2013
Speelduur: 93 minuten
Taal: Deens
Ondertiteling: Nederlands
Beeldformaat: 16/9
Audio: Dolby Digital 5.1

Didier BECU
05/11/2014


05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes 05/11/2014 : MIKKEL NORGAARD - The Keeper Of The Lost Causes

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses