tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

18/03/2012 : MILITIA - At GothVille festival in Herk-De Stad on 16th March 2012 with Vic Anselmo and C.I.A.

MILITIA

At GothVille festival in Herk-De Stad on 16th March 2012 with Vic Anselmo and C.I.A.

Concert
Dark AmbientFolk / Ethnic / TribalMartial

[75/100]   
18/03/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

After more then 11 years of activity, GothVille, a collective from Herk-de-Stad, decided to organize its first festival, besides their existing activities as gothic radio and DJ's. The location chosen for the festival was the Youth Center, a small but convenient concert and party hall located close to the church. On the bill, two local bands, Companions In Art (C.I.A.) and Militia and an an international act, Vic Anselmo.

Companions In Art (C.I.A.), the band formed by the GothVille collective, opened the festival. Created in 2000, C.I.A. includes Gunter Vanreppelen (vocals, keys), Jo Ballet (keys, backing vocals) and Geert Surkijn (rythms & electro drums). They play a synth-based music reminiscent of VNV Nation, Covenant and Angels Of Agony. On stage, Gunther and Jo face each other, each of them behind his synthesizer, while Geert is controlling the machines from the DJ spot. The songs have a romantic touch, both in harmonies and lyrics. The start of the concert is interesting with a good energy and feeling. Unfortunately, the tension weakens a bit later as the band plays a number of slow songs. Luckily, the band finishes its set with a strong track, "Anger". The audience, mainly composed of friends and relatives, gives the band a warm applause. Make sure to check C.I.A.'s new CD, (their 8th CD already!) called "Speaker"...

Next on the bill is Vic Anselmo, a Latvian singer/composer/keyboardist, whom Bruno Cramm (Das Ich) signed on his Danse Macabre record company. She now lives in Essen, Germany. "Vic" comes from Victoria and "Anselmo" is the surname of Pantera's vocalist, one of her heroes. It's the second time Vic is playing in Belgium (the first time was at the Gothic Festival in 2010). Her concert started with a bit of bad luck, namely a power outage. When this was fixed, the band began with tracks from Vic's last CD: "In My Fragile". Vic is dressed like a less extravagant Emilie Autumn and no less than 4 musicians accompany her: one keyboardist, one bassist, one drummer and one guitarist.

The music is a blend of Evanescence-like female metal, combined with Tori Amos-like romanticism plus progressive touches. Vic leads us into her girlish world, filled with monsters and dreams, like a soundtrack to an imaginary adolescent movie. Her stunning voice and wide musical horizon let her find her own special ways in playing music. They are very sensual and amaze with dynamic contrasts and sound variety. All that comes together with an impressive onstage image. The cover of Das Ich's "Das Dunkle Land", which opened the doors of Danse Macabre for her, is perfectly played (see video below). In her (traditional) acoustic set, she sat alone on the piano, to sing "Wellspring", "Leaving Eden" and the incredibly beautiful "I Cried", which she dedicated to the victims of the coach accident in Switzerland. Overall, a nice performance, by a wonderful woman and artist, but the 'goth-kitsch' aspects of the show and a feeling of 'déjà vu' or 'déjà entendu' left me with mixed feelings.

To prepare the stage for Militia is a true challenge! This Belgian industrial percussion band, founded in 1989 by multi-instrumentists Frank Gorissen and Jo Billen, fills the stage with percussion instruments like oil barrels, old metal parts from cars, machines and scrap material. They combine these self made instruments with conventional drums, toms and cymbals. The band members also play a variety of wind instruments (self made and others) and tools. Their show is completed with the projection of documentary films and slides that support the band's anarchic and communist philosophy.

On the stage, Frank is accompanied by his wife Sandra and by one young girl, Anke, and 2 boys, Pieter and Jérôme, all of them coming from Frank's circle of friends. A family collective, in a way! Starting with the tracks from the fantastic last CD "Power! Propaganda! Production!", Militia assaulted the audience with a hurricane of primitive tribal rhythms, bashing their assorted instruments, swapping between them, backed by a fascinating neo-folk, slightly trip-hop soundscape with world music overtones.

Check the video when Frank attacked an old rusty barrel with an electric saw during the track "Üb Immer Treu Und Redlichkeit".

During the show, the band also presented, in avant-première, tracks from their forthcoming album and show about the historical figure Ambiorix. Frank Gorissen: "There are no heroes anymore, that's why I felt the need to go back to a true hero, who is a local figure! It is in the region of Tongeren, where we live, that he defeated the Romans very cleverly in 54 BC and Caesar never managed to get him afterwards!" This 'total show' will be presented in 2013 and will feature music, video and a troupe of 30 dancers, this in cooperation with the Gallo-Roman museum and the cultural services of Tongeren: a very ambitious program!

Back to the concert. Unfortunately, the band didn't invite the audience to join them on stage for the last song, as they sometimes do. I would have loved to play with these crazy percussion instruments! Hopefully I will be able to do this at one of their next concerts. Anyway, this show was a unique experience, and it's great to see that the local authorities are supporting such great cultural initiatives in the 'dark' scene. Keep the good work, boys!

Check this video as they play the long and hypnotic track "A Kite Of Glass In A Blood Red Sky".

Pictures of the festival by marquis(pi)X: Militia, Vic Anselmo and C.I.A.

http://vicanselmo.com

http://www.militia.be
http://cia.gothville.com/
http://www.gothville.com/

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
18/03/2012


 

Next reviews
LES MAITRES • Les Maîtres
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012
REVOLTING COCKS (THE) • Got Mixxx?
BENE GESSERIT • A High, Happy, Perverse And Cynical Cry Of Joy
OBJECT • Mechanisms Of Faith
VARIOUS ARTISTS • From Earth To Sirius
FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS • Mona Mur & En Esch; Katz Kab; Le Baron 5
ALBERTO MORAVIA • Contempt | De minachting
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • Concert in Aarschot on 25th October 2012
DER NOIR • A Dead Summer

 

Other reviews from MILITIA
MILITIA • Power! Propaganda! Production!

 

Same combination of genres: DARK AMBIENT + FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + MARTIAL
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo

 

Same genre: MARTIAL
DERNIERE VOLONTE • Prie Pour Moi
WINTERHART • Ryk Of Glory
ORDER OF VICTORY & SACRIS TANDEM • Strength Of Materials
ORDER OF VICTORY • Lost December - A tribute to COLD DESIGN
ORDER OF VICTORY • Memento Belli
LUPI GLADIUS • Veritas
IN SLAUGHTER NATIVES • Cannula Coma Legio
ROSA†CRVX • Review of the concert in Brussels on 19 January 2013
LAIBACH • Review of the concert 'We Come In Peace' in Oudenaarde on 17th September 2012
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)