tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl review

14/04/2018 : MINISTRY - Amerikkkant

MINISTRY

Amerikkkant

MusicCD / Vinyl


[85/100]   

Nuclear Blast
14/04/2018, Hamis HIREK

EN

The American Industrial Rocker and Ministry chief, Al Jourgenson, remains remarkably productive and what particularly appeals to us, an America & society critic.

The artwork and statement itself makes the purchase of this album worthy. The symbol of the United States, The Statue of Liberty with a bullet riddled Constitution tablet one hand and the other hand in front of her face as a gesture of shame. In the background you can see the skyline of New York city with a sky that is filled with the famous 'invisible' U2 type espionage / bomber aircraft.

After the intro track of about two minutes, I Know Words, in which some of President Trump's bold statements are mangled through the sample machine, hell breaks loose almost immediately. Although Ministry here seems to sound a bit less like the previous metal-heads-on-speed albums. Most of the time the songs have a slower but solid beat, still with the typical pounding Ministry guitars, distorted vocals, slogan-like vocals and the occasional but obligatory harmonica passages. Striking is the return of the sample machines, synthesizers and other electronics from before, that have clearly regained a more prominent role on this record.

Ministry will most likely never be able to charm the early electro-EBM and synth-pop fan again but with this Amerikkkant, Al and his gang seem to return style-wise to the glory period of The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste and Psalm 69. Nine solid tracks on this album that are each worth their spot. A true pleasure for the experienced Ministry fan. On the back of this album one reads, among other things, Is this the twilight zone? Or are we just victims of a clown? I fear the latter but do not let that stop you from giving this American band another chance.

Hamis HIREK
14/04/2018


NL

De Amerikaanse Industrial Rocker en Ministry-opperhoofd Al Jourgenson blijft opmerkelijk productief en, wat ons vooral kan bekoren, (Amerika) & maatschappijkritisch.

Alleen het artwork en het statement al zijn de aankoop van dit album bijna waard. Het symbool van de Verenigde Staten, het vrijheidsbeeld, met een door kogels doorzeefde grondwet in de ene hand en de andere hand voor het gezicht van schaamte. Op de achtergrond zie je de skyline van New-York City met een lucht vol befaamde 'onzichtbare' spionage/bommenwerpervliegtuigen van het type U2.

Na de intro track van een tweetal minuten I know Words, waarin enkele van president Trumps straffe uitspraken door de sample machine gehaald zijn, breekt de hel meteen los. Toch lijkt Ministry op deze plaat iets minder als metal-heads on speed the klinken dan op de vorige langspelers. De songs op dit album hebben meestal een tragere logge beat met nog wel de typische rammende Ministry-gitaren, vervormde stemgeluiden, sloganeske zanglijnen en de hier en daar obligatoire mondharmonicapassages. Opvallend is de terugkeer van de sample machines, synthesizers en andere electronica van weleer die op deze plaat weer duidelijk weer hun plaats hebben gekregen.

Ministry zal hoogstwaarschijnlijk nooit meer de vroege electro-EBM en synth-pop fan kunnen bekoren maar met deze Amerikkkant lijken Al en de zijnen qua stijl toch even terug te keren naar hun glorieperiode van The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To taste en Psalm 69. Negen stevige tracks op dit album die elk hun plaatsje waard zijn. Een waar luisterplezier voor de doorwinterde Ministry-fan. Op de achterzijde van dit album leest men onder andere, Is this the twilight zone? Or Are we just victims of a clown. Ik vrees het laatste, maar laat dat u niet tegenhouden deze Amerikaanse band nog een kans te geven.

Hamis HIREK
14/04/2018


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline