tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl review

14/04/2018 : MINISTRY - Amerikkkant

MINISTRY

Amerikkkant

MusicCD / Vinyl


[85/100]   

Nuclear Blast
14/04/2018, Hamis HIREK

EN

The American Industrial Rocker and Ministry chief, Al Jourgenson, remains remarkably productive and what particularly appeals to us, an America & society critic.

The artwork and statement itself makes the purchase of this album worthy. The symbol of the United States, The Statue of Liberty with a bullet riddled Constitution tablet one hand and the other hand in front of her face as a gesture of shame. In the background you can see the skyline of New York city with a sky that is filled with the famous 'invisible' U2 type espionage / bomber aircraft.

After the intro track of about two minutes, I Know Words, in which some of President Trump's bold statements are mangled through the sample machine, hell breaks loose almost immediately. Although Ministry here seems to sound a bit less like the previous metal-heads-on-speed albums. Most of the time the songs have a slower but solid beat, still with the typical pounding Ministry guitars, distorted vocals, slogan-like vocals and the occasional but obligatory harmonica passages. Striking is the return of the sample machines, synthesizers and other electronics from before, that have clearly regained a more prominent role on this record.

Ministry will most likely never be able to charm the early electro-EBM and synth-pop fan again but with this Amerikkkant, Al and his gang seem to return style-wise to the glory period of The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste and Psalm 69. Nine solid tracks on this album that are each worth their spot. A true pleasure for the experienced Ministry fan. On the back of this album one reads, among other things, Is this the twilight zone? Or are we just victims of a clown? I fear the latter but do not let that stop you from giving this American band another chance.

Hamis HIREK
14/04/2018


NL

De Amerikaanse Industrial Rocker en Ministry-opperhoofd Al Jourgenson blijft opmerkelijk productief en, wat ons vooral kan bekoren, (Amerika) & maatschappijkritisch.

Alleen het artwork en het statement al zijn de aankoop van dit album bijna waard. Het symbool van de Verenigde Staten, het vrijheidsbeeld, met een door kogels doorzeefde grondwet in de ene hand en de andere hand voor het gezicht van schaamte. Op de achtergrond zie je de skyline van New-York City met een lucht vol befaamde 'onzichtbare' spionage/bommenwerpervliegtuigen van het type U2.

Na de intro track van een tweetal minuten I know Words, waarin enkele van president Trumps straffe uitspraken door de sample machine gehaald zijn, breekt de hel meteen los. Toch lijkt Ministry op deze plaat iets minder als metal-heads on speed the klinken dan op de vorige langspelers. De songs op dit album hebben meestal een tragere logge beat met nog wel de typische rammende Ministry-gitaren, vervormde stemgeluiden, sloganeske zanglijnen en de hier en daar obligatoire mondharmonicapassages. Opvallend is de terugkeer van de sample machines, synthesizers en andere electronica van weleer die op deze plaat weer duidelijk weer hun plaats hebben gekregen.

Ministry zal hoogstwaarschijnlijk nooit meer de vroege electro-EBM en synth-pop fan kunnen bekoren maar met deze Amerikkkant lijken Al en de zijnen qua stijl toch even terug te keren naar hun glorieperiode van The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To taste en Psalm 69. Negen stevige tracks op dit album die elk hun plaatsje waard zijn. Een waar luisterplezier voor de doorwinterde Ministry-fan. Op de achterzijde van dit album leest men onder andere, Is this the twilight zone? Or Are we just victims of a clown. Ik vrees het laatste, maar laat dat u niet tegenhouden deze Amerikaanse band nog een kans te geven.

Hamis HIREK
14/04/2018


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
09
JOHN HASSALL(THE LIBERTINES,THE APRIL RAINERS)
'I’m trying to write for everybody!'
21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
VIVE LA FETE
YOU CAN SLEEP IN MY BED
23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi