tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl review

14/04/2018 : MINISTRY - Amerikkkant

MINISTRY

Amerikkkant

MusicCD / Vinyl


[85/100]   

Nuclear Blast
14/04/2018, Hamis HIREK

EN

The American Industrial Rocker and Ministry chief, Al Jourgenson, remains remarkably productive and what particularly appeals to us, an America & society critic.

The artwork and statement itself makes the purchase of this album worthy. The symbol of the United States, The Statue of Liberty with a bullet riddled Constitution tablet one hand and the other hand in front of her face as a gesture of shame. In the background you can see the skyline of New York city with a sky that is filled with the famous 'invisible' U2 type espionage / bomber aircraft.

After the intro track of about two minutes, I Know Words, in which some of President Trump's bold statements are mangled through the sample machine, hell breaks loose almost immediately. Although Ministry here seems to sound a bit less like the previous metal-heads-on-speed albums. Most of the time the songs have a slower but solid beat, still with the typical pounding Ministry guitars, distorted vocals, slogan-like vocals and the occasional but obligatory harmonica passages. Striking is the return of the sample machines, synthesizers and other electronics from before, that have clearly regained a more prominent role on this record.

Ministry will most likely never be able to charm the early electro-EBM and synth-pop fan again but with this Amerikkkant, Al and his gang seem to return style-wise to the glory period of The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste and Psalm 69. Nine solid tracks on this album that are each worth their spot. A true pleasure for the experienced Ministry fan. On the back of this album one reads, among other things, Is this the twilight zone? Or are we just victims of a clown? I fear the latter but do not let that stop you from giving this American band another chance.

Hamis HIREK
14/04/2018


NL

De Amerikaanse Industrial Rocker en Ministry-opperhoofd Al Jourgenson blijft opmerkelijk productief en, wat ons vooral kan bekoren, (Amerika) & maatschappijkritisch.

Alleen het artwork en het statement al zijn de aankoop van dit album bijna waard. Het symbool van de Verenigde Staten, het vrijheidsbeeld, met een door kogels doorzeefde grondwet in de ene hand en de andere hand voor het gezicht van schaamte. Op de achtergrond zie je de skyline van New-York City met een lucht vol befaamde 'onzichtbare' spionage/bommenwerpervliegtuigen van het type U2.

Na de intro track van een tweetal minuten I know Words, waarin enkele van president Trumps straffe uitspraken door de sample machine gehaald zijn, breekt de hel meteen los. Toch lijkt Ministry op deze plaat iets minder als metal-heads on speed the klinken dan op de vorige langspelers. De songs op dit album hebben meestal een tragere logge beat met nog wel de typische rammende Ministry-gitaren, vervormde stemgeluiden, sloganeske zanglijnen en de hier en daar obligatoire mondharmonicapassages. Opvallend is de terugkeer van de sample machines, synthesizers en andere electronica van weleer die op deze plaat weer duidelijk weer hun plaats hebben gekregen.

Ministry zal hoogstwaarschijnlijk nooit meer de vroege electro-EBM en synth-pop fan kunnen bekoren maar met deze Amerikkkant lijken Al en de zijnen qua stijl toch even terug te keren naar hun glorieperiode van The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To taste en Psalm 69. Negen stevige tracks op dit album die elk hun plaatsje waard zijn. Een waar luisterplezier voor de doorwinterde Ministry-fan. Op de achterzijde van dit album leest men onder andere, Is this the twilight zone? Or Are we just victims of a clown. Ik vrees het laatste, maar laat dat u niet tegenhouden deze Amerikaanse band nog een kans te geven.

Hamis HIREK
14/04/2018


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
TOOL
Schism
26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots