tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl review

14/04/2018 : MINISTRY - Amerikkkant

MINISTRY

Amerikkkant

MusicCD / Vinyl


[85/100]   

Nuclear Blast
14/04/2018, Hamis HIREK

EN

The American Industrial Rocker and Ministry chief, Al Jourgenson, remains remarkably productive and what particularly appeals to us, an America & society critic.

The artwork and statement itself makes the purchase of this album worthy. The symbol of the United States, The Statue of Liberty with a bullet riddled Constitution tablet one hand and the other hand in front of her face as a gesture of shame. In the background you can see the skyline of New York city with a sky that is filled with the famous 'invisible' U2 type espionage / bomber aircraft.

After the intro track of about two minutes, I Know Words, in which some of President Trump's bold statements are mangled through the sample machine, hell breaks loose almost immediately. Although Ministry here seems to sound a bit less like the previous metal-heads-on-speed albums. Most of the time the songs have a slower but solid beat, still with the typical pounding Ministry guitars, distorted vocals, slogan-like vocals and the occasional but obligatory harmonica passages. Striking is the return of the sample machines, synthesizers and other electronics from before, that have clearly regained a more prominent role on this record.

Ministry will most likely never be able to charm the early electro-EBM and synth-pop fan again but with this Amerikkkant, Al and his gang seem to return style-wise to the glory period of The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste and Psalm 69. Nine solid tracks on this album that are each worth their spot. A true pleasure for the experienced Ministry fan. On the back of this album one reads, among other things, Is this the twilight zone? Or are we just victims of a clown? I fear the latter but do not let that stop you from giving this American band another chance.

Hamis HIREK
14/04/2018


NL

De Amerikaanse Industrial Rocker en Ministry-opperhoofd Al Jourgenson blijft opmerkelijk productief en, wat ons vooral kan bekoren, (Amerika) & maatschappijkritisch.

Alleen het artwork en het statement al zijn de aankoop van dit album bijna waard. Het symbool van de Verenigde Staten, het vrijheidsbeeld, met een door kogels doorzeefde grondwet in de ene hand en de andere hand voor het gezicht van schaamte. Op de achtergrond zie je de skyline van New-York City met een lucht vol befaamde 'onzichtbare' spionage/bommenwerpervliegtuigen van het type U2.

Na de intro track van een tweetal minuten I know Words, waarin enkele van president Trumps straffe uitspraken door de sample machine gehaald zijn, breekt de hel meteen los. Toch lijkt Ministry op deze plaat iets minder als metal-heads on speed the klinken dan op de vorige langspelers. De songs op dit album hebben meestal een tragere logge beat met nog wel de typische rammende Ministry-gitaren, vervormde stemgeluiden, sloganeske zanglijnen en de hier en daar obligatoire mondharmonicapassages. Opvallend is de terugkeer van de sample machines, synthesizers en andere electronica van weleer die op deze plaat weer duidelijk weer hun plaats hebben gekregen.

Ministry zal hoogstwaarschijnlijk nooit meer de vroege electro-EBM en synth-pop fan kunnen bekoren maar met deze Amerikkkant lijken Al en de zijnen qua stijl toch even terug te keren naar hun glorieperiode van The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To taste en Psalm 69. Negen stevige tracks op dit album die elk hun plaatsje waard zijn. Een waar luisterplezier voor de doorwinterde Ministry-fan. Op de achterzijde van dit album leest men onder andere, Is this the twilight zone? Or Are we just victims of a clown. Ik vrees het laatste, maar laat dat u niet tegenhouden deze Amerikaanse band nog een kans te geven.

Hamis HIREK
14/04/2018


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL