tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : MINOR VICTORIES - Minor Victories

MINOR VICTORIES

Minor Victories

MusicCD
IndieShoegaze

[86/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Before the band made one song, the internet was full of articles about Minor Victories. Not surprising, as it is the ultimate supergroup for shoegaze fans. The line-up includes stars like Stuart Braithwaite of Mogwai, Editors guitarist Justin Lockey, James Lockey of Hand Held Cine Club and of course Slowdive's figurehead Rachel Goswell.

We made this record as a band, because who the f*** really knows what a band is nowadays anyway?, says the booklet. Indeed, they thought and talked a lot about it, even if it was mostly by chance when the four met at festivals or they just did it via Skype (nowadays you can make an album in this way!)

What strikes (except for the typical shoegaze sound they all invented) is that Minor Victories sounds like a real band. Okay, Rachel Goswell’s voice will always be linked with Slowdive, and the guitar sound of Braithwaite always will remind you of Mogwai. And yet, this band has a very specific sound, although we have to see whether this project will last longer than one album.

If that is not the case, at least we have one great release because this self-titled album is simply one of the best shoegaze records you've heard in years. The four try not to overwhelm the listener with a new sound. Why would the? They are who they are, but you get (new) musical fireworks when you put them together in a group. Minor Victories makes an impenetrable and deafening wall of guitar sounds, with fragile vocals in-between. Sometimes it seems as if the fragility of the soul is protected by the (sublime) noise.

Of course you always hear a bit of the original, Breaking My Light is indeed pure Slowdive, and you can’t ignore the typical Mogwai sound in Folk Arp, despite the calm start. Most songs are played pretty loud, but there is also room for some intense peace (Out To Sea has a title and an atmosphere that remind us of Sigur Ros).

To make the supergroup even much bigger, James Alexander Graham of The Twillight Sad was asked to do the vocals on Scattered Ashes (Song For Richard). It is the most poppy song, while Mark Kozelek of Red House Painters sings whith his typical drizzly voice about life on the road in For You Always.

These are clichés, but sometimes clichés are the only words you have: this is a super record by a supergroup.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Nog voor ook maar één song was uitgebracht, stond het internet bol van artikels over Minor Victories. Echt verwonderlijk is dat niet, voor shoegazefanaten is dit de ultieme supergroep. De line-up bestaat uit sterren als Stuart Braithwaite van Mogwai, Editors-gitarist Justin Lockey, James Lockey van Hand Held Cine Club en natuurlijk het Slowdive-boegbeeld Rachel Goswell.

We made this record as a band , because who the f*** really knows what a band is nowadays anyway?, vermelden de vier in het boekje. Er is inderdaad heel veel over nagedacht en gesproken, maar het was meestal bij toeval dat de vier elkaar op festivals tegenkwamen of ze deden het gewoon via Skype (tegenwoordig kan je ook op die manier een plaat opnemen!)

Wat opvalt (behalve het typische shoegazegeluid waarvan zij toch één van de uitvinders zijn) is dat Minor Victories als een echte groep klinkt. Goed ja, de stem van Rachel Goswell zal je altijd wel met Slowdive blijven linken, en het gitaargeluid van Braithwaite zal steeds een Mogwai-belletje doen rinkelen. En toch heeft deze band een eigen geluid, ofschoon het afwachten wordt of dit project nu eenmalig is of niet. Mocht dat niet het geval zijn, hebben we ten minste één fantastische release, omdat deze titelloze cd gewoon één van de beste shoegazeplaten is die je in jaren hebt gehoord.

De vier proberen niet om de luisteraar met een nieuw geluid te overweldigen. Waarom zouden ze? Ze zijn wie ze zijn, alleen hoor je (nieuw) muzikaal vuurwerk als je ze samen in een groep stopt. Minor Victories maakt een ondoordringbare geluidsmuur van loeiharde gitaren met fragiele zang. Soms lijkt het alsof de breekbaarheid van de ziel door het (sublieme) lawaai wordt beschermd.

Je hoort natuurlijk altijd wel ergens het origineel, zo is Breaking My Light Slowdive pur sang of kan je in Folk Arp niet om het typische Mogwai-geluid heen, ondanks de kalme start. De meeste song zijn vrij luid, maar er is tevens plaats voor intense rust (Out To Sea ruikt zowel met zijn titel als sfeer naar Sigur Ros).

Om de supergroep nog grootser te maken, mocht James Alexander Graham van The Twillight Sad de gastvocalen doen op Scattered Ashes (Song For Richard). Het is de meest poppy song, terwijl ook Mark Kozelek van Red House Painters met zijn typische druilerige stem in For You Always het over het leven on the road heeft.

Het zijn clichés, maar soms zijn clichés de enige woorden die je hebt: dit is een superplaat van een supergroep.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick
ANDREW TRAIL (BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION) • Albums That Changed My Life
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUY GARVEY • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
KATE RYAN • Comment Te Dire Adieu
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation
SON OF SAM • The Collapse of Ancient Funk vol. 2
DAS PROJEKT • Les Belles Infidèles
YVES SCHELPE (PSY'AVIAH) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + SHOEGAZE
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
SIGNAPORE SLING • Psych Fuck
MAFF • Maff
THE HOUSE OF LOVE • Spy In The House Of Love
THE SPECTORS • Light Stays Close
BELL GARDENS • Slown Dawn For Lost Conclusions
UMMAGMA • UMMAGMA
HOUSE OF LOVE • She paints words in red
NOTHING • Suns And Lovers EP

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!
29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)