tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : MINOR VICTORIES - Minor Victories

MINOR VICTORIES

Minor Victories

MusicCD
IndieShoegaze

[86/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Before the band made one song, the internet was full of articles about Minor Victories. Not surprising, as it is the ultimate supergroup for shoegaze fans. The line-up includes stars like Stuart Braithwaite of Mogwai, Editors guitarist Justin Lockey, James Lockey of Hand Held Cine Club and of course Slowdive's figurehead Rachel Goswell.

We made this record as a band, because who the f*** really knows what a band is nowadays anyway?, says the booklet. Indeed, they thought and talked a lot about it, even if it was mostly by chance when the four met at festivals or they just did it via Skype (nowadays you can make an album in this way!)

What strikes (except for the typical shoegaze sound they all invented) is that Minor Victories sounds like a real band. Okay, Rachel Goswell’s voice will always be linked with Slowdive, and the guitar sound of Braithwaite always will remind you of Mogwai. And yet, this band has a very specific sound, although we have to see whether this project will last longer than one album.

If that is not the case, at least we have one great release because this self-titled album is simply one of the best shoegaze records you've heard in years. The four try not to overwhelm the listener with a new sound. Why would the? They are who they are, but you get (new) musical fireworks when you put them together in a group. Minor Victories makes an impenetrable and deafening wall of guitar sounds, with fragile vocals in-between. Sometimes it seems as if the fragility of the soul is protected by the (sublime) noise.

Of course you always hear a bit of the original, Breaking My Light is indeed pure Slowdive, and you can’t ignore the typical Mogwai sound in Folk Arp, despite the calm start. Most songs are played pretty loud, but there is also room for some intense peace (Out To Sea has a title and an atmosphere that remind us of Sigur Ros).

To make the supergroup even much bigger, James Alexander Graham of The Twillight Sad was asked to do the vocals on Scattered Ashes (Song For Richard). It is the most poppy song, while Mark Kozelek of Red House Painters sings whith his typical drizzly voice about life on the road in For You Always.

These are clichés, but sometimes clichés are the only words you have: this is a super record by a supergroup.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Nog voor ook maar één song was uitgebracht, stond het internet bol van artikels over Minor Victories. Echt verwonderlijk is dat niet, voor shoegazefanaten is dit de ultieme supergroep. De line-up bestaat uit sterren als Stuart Braithwaite van Mogwai, Editors-gitarist Justin Lockey, James Lockey van Hand Held Cine Club en natuurlijk het Slowdive-boegbeeld Rachel Goswell.

We made this record as a band , because who the f*** really knows what a band is nowadays anyway?, vermelden de vier in het boekje. Er is inderdaad heel veel over nagedacht en gesproken, maar het was meestal bij toeval dat de vier elkaar op festivals tegenkwamen of ze deden het gewoon via Skype (tegenwoordig kan je ook op die manier een plaat opnemen!)

Wat opvalt (behalve het typische shoegazegeluid waarvan zij toch één van de uitvinders zijn) is dat Minor Victories als een echte groep klinkt. Goed ja, de stem van Rachel Goswell zal je altijd wel met Slowdive blijven linken, en het gitaargeluid van Braithwaite zal steeds een Mogwai-belletje doen rinkelen. En toch heeft deze band een eigen geluid, ofschoon het afwachten wordt of dit project nu eenmalig is of niet. Mocht dat niet het geval zijn, hebben we ten minste één fantastische release, omdat deze titelloze cd gewoon één van de beste shoegazeplaten is die je in jaren hebt gehoord.

De vier proberen niet om de luisteraar met een nieuw geluid te overweldigen. Waarom zouden ze? Ze zijn wie ze zijn, alleen hoor je (nieuw) muzikaal vuurwerk als je ze samen in een groep stopt. Minor Victories maakt een ondoordringbare geluidsmuur van loeiharde gitaren met fragiele zang. Soms lijkt het alsof de breekbaarheid van de ziel door het (sublieme) lawaai wordt beschermd.

Je hoort natuurlijk altijd wel ergens het origineel, zo is Breaking My Light Slowdive pur sang of kan je in Folk Arp niet om het typische Mogwai-geluid heen, ondanks de kalme start. De meeste song zijn vrij luid, maar er is tevens plaats voor intense rust (Out To Sea ruikt zowel met zijn titel als sfeer naar Sigur Ros).

Om de supergroep nog grootser te maken, mocht James Alexander Graham van The Twillight Sad de gastvocalen doen op Scattered Ashes (Song For Richard). Het is de meest poppy song, terwijl ook Mark Kozelek van Red House Painters met zijn typische druilerige stem in For You Always het over het leven on the road heeft.

Het zijn clichés, maar soms zijn clichés de enige woorden die je hebt: dit is een superplaat van een supergroep.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick
ANDREW TRAIL (BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION) • Albums That Changed My Life
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUY GARVEY • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
KATE RYAN • Comment Te Dire Adieu
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation
SON OF SAM • The Collapse of Ancient Funk vol. 2
DAS PROJEKT • Les Belles Infidèles
YVES SCHELPE (PSY'AVIAH) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + SHOEGAZE
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
SIGNAPORE SLING • Psych Fuck
MAFF • Maff
THE HOUSE OF LOVE • Spy In The House Of Love
THE SPECTORS • Light Stays Close
BELL GARDENS • Slown Dawn For Lost Conclusions
UMMAGMA • UMMAGMA
HOUSE OF LOVE • She paints words in red
NOTHING • Suns And Lovers EP

 

Same genre: INDIE
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS

Music reviews

17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum