tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

10/12/2016 : MINOR VICTORIES - Minor Victories

MINOR VICTORIES

Minor Victories

MusicCD
IndieShoegaze

[86/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Before the band made one song, the internet was full of articles about Minor Victories. Not surprising, as it is the ultimate supergroup for shoegaze fans. The line-up includes stars like Stuart Braithwaite of Mogwai, Editors guitarist Justin Lockey, James Lockey of Hand Held Cine Club and of course Slowdive's figurehead Rachel Goswell.

We made this record as a band, because who the f*** really knows what a band is nowadays anyway?, says the booklet. Indeed, they thought and talked a lot about it, even if it was mostly by chance when the four met at festivals or they just did it via Skype (nowadays you can make an album in this way!)

What strikes (except for the typical shoegaze sound they all invented) is that Minor Victories sounds like a real band. Okay, Rachel Goswell’s voice will always be linked with Slowdive, and the guitar sound of Braithwaite always will remind you of Mogwai. And yet, this band has a very specific sound, although we have to see whether this project will last longer than one album.

If that is not the case, at least we have one great release because this self-titled album is simply one of the best shoegaze records you've heard in years. The four try not to overwhelm the listener with a new sound. Why would the? They are who they are, but you get (new) musical fireworks when you put them together in a group. Minor Victories makes an impenetrable and deafening wall of guitar sounds, with fragile vocals in-between. Sometimes it seems as if the fragility of the soul is protected by the (sublime) noise.

Of course you always hear a bit of the original, Breaking My Light is indeed pure Slowdive, and you can’t ignore the typical Mogwai sound in Folk Arp, despite the calm start. Most songs are played pretty loud, but there is also room for some intense peace (Out To Sea has a title and an atmosphere that remind us of Sigur Ros).

To make the supergroup even much bigger, James Alexander Graham of The Twillight Sad was asked to do the vocals on Scattered Ashes (Song For Richard). It is the most poppy song, while Mark Kozelek of Red House Painters sings whith his typical drizzly voice about life on the road in For You Always.

These are clichés, but sometimes clichés are the only words you have: this is a super record by a supergroup.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Nog voor ook maar één song was uitgebracht, stond het internet bol van artikels over Minor Victories. Echt verwonderlijk is dat niet, voor shoegazefanaten is dit de ultieme supergroep. De line-up bestaat uit sterren als Stuart Braithwaite van Mogwai, Editors-gitarist Justin Lockey, James Lockey van Hand Held Cine Club en natuurlijk het Slowdive-boegbeeld Rachel Goswell.

We made this record as a band , because who the f*** really knows what a band is nowadays anyway?, vermelden de vier in het boekje. Er is inderdaad heel veel over nagedacht en gesproken, maar het was meestal bij toeval dat de vier elkaar op festivals tegenkwamen of ze deden het gewoon via Skype (tegenwoordig kan je ook op die manier een plaat opnemen!)

Wat opvalt (behalve het typische shoegazegeluid waarvan zij toch één van de uitvinders zijn) is dat Minor Victories als een echte groep klinkt. Goed ja, de stem van Rachel Goswell zal je altijd wel met Slowdive blijven linken, en het gitaargeluid van Braithwaite zal steeds een Mogwai-belletje doen rinkelen. En toch heeft deze band een eigen geluid, ofschoon het afwachten wordt of dit project nu eenmalig is of niet. Mocht dat niet het geval zijn, hebben we ten minste één fantastische release, omdat deze titelloze cd gewoon één van de beste shoegazeplaten is die je in jaren hebt gehoord.

De vier proberen niet om de luisteraar met een nieuw geluid te overweldigen. Waarom zouden ze? Ze zijn wie ze zijn, alleen hoor je (nieuw) muzikaal vuurwerk als je ze samen in een groep stopt. Minor Victories maakt een ondoordringbare geluidsmuur van loeiharde gitaren met fragiele zang. Soms lijkt het alsof de breekbaarheid van de ziel door het (sublieme) lawaai wordt beschermd.

Je hoort natuurlijk altijd wel ergens het origineel, zo is Breaking My Light Slowdive pur sang of kan je in Folk Arp niet om het typische Mogwai-geluid heen, ondanks de kalme start. De meeste song zijn vrij luid, maar er is tevens plaats voor intense rust (Out To Sea ruikt zowel met zijn titel als sfeer naar Sigur Ros).

Om de supergroep nog grootser te maken, mocht James Alexander Graham van The Twillight Sad de gastvocalen doen op Scattered Ashes (Song For Richard). Het is de meest poppy song, terwijl ook Mark Kozelek van Red House Painters met zijn typische druilerige stem in For You Always het over het leven on the road heeft.

Het zijn clichés, maar soms zijn clichés de enige woorden die je hebt: dit is een superplaat van een supergroep.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick
ANDREW TRAIL (BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION) • Albums That Changed My Life
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUY GARVEY • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
KATE RYAN • Comment Te Dire Adieu
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation
SON OF SAM • The Collapse of Ancient Funk vol. 2
DAS PROJEKT • Les Belles Infidèles
YVES SCHELPE (PSY'AVIAH) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + SHOEGAZE
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
SIGNAPORE SLING • Psych Fuck
MAFF • Maff
THE HOUSE OF LOVE • Spy In The House Of Love
THE SPECTORS • Light Stays Close
BELL GARDENS • Slown Dawn For Lost Conclusions
UMMAGMA • UMMAGMA
HOUSE OF LOVE • She paints words in red
NOTHING • Suns And Lovers EP

 

Same genre: INDIE
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau
USUREI YATSURA • You Are My Usurei Yatsura:
SILVER APPLES • Clinging to a Dream

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
THE KVB • Of Desire
DIIV • Is The Is Are

Music reviews

19
01
MESH
Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
01
Mortiis announces Era 1 live dates for 2018!
18
01
OMD, MIDGE URE and more confirmed at XIV. AMPHI FESTIVAL 2018
17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
KMFDM
Sascha Konietzko Gives Us The Latest On KMFDM
28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
WIRE
In Vivo
19
01
IN DEATH IT ENDS
Pomba Gira
18
01
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man