tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : MIRA, UN LOBO! - Heart Beats Slow

MIRA, UN LOBO!

Heart Beats Slow

MusicCD
DubstepElectronics

[70/100]   

Tapete Records
10/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

Luis F.de Sousa hails from austerity-hit Portugal but you wouldn't guess it - there are a veritable array of riches available on this engaging set. With roots firmly embedded in Noughties electro-pop - M83, James Blake and Sigur Ros might be lazy comparisons but 'tis true - Mira, Un Lobo (or Beware a Wolf, in English) offers up confidently crafted machine music that rarely breaks sweat but does cross boundaries.

Opener Tramadol recalls the falsetto vocals of minimalist Wim Mertens mixed with the not-dissimilar soulful arrangements courtesy of Twin Shadow. Serotonin is a darker gothic version of John Newman or Maverick Sabre, Suffocation is pure menace with a steely hum of generated feedback before the whole tune maxes out on skittering glitch and unfettered loops of percussive fury.

Cyclical choral samples and undulating synth stabs permeate much of the remaining songs, including the rather poppy Spaceman which for all the world sounds like it will be soundtracking the moment on a competitive reality TV show when someone is announced as the winner. "Our Masterchef finalist is.... ". You get the idea. Anyway, it's rather pleasant.

From Spaceman onwards, the album truly starts to lift off at this point which has me wondering whether the running order works. The title-track sounds like the start and the opener sounds like a closer to these ears. But whatever your preferences, de Sousa has assembled some of his most potent music previously streamed during the past year or so. Emotionally effusive and ebullient, Heart Beats Slow improves with each airing.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
10/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide