tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

15/10/2015 : MIRLAND - SLEEP DISORDER

MIRLAND

SLEEP DISORDER

MusicCD
Dark AmbientElectronicsIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[79/100]   

Self-released
15/10/2015, Didier BECU

Of course connoisseurs of the genre already know it for years: for exploring perfect electronic sounds, you either have to be in Belgium or Scandinavia! In Denmark we find composer John R. MIRLAND, who just has released his second album Sleep Disorder, again with the help of Claus Larsen (Leæether Strip) who did the mastering.

The successor of Submerge is anything but a happy album, because the songs were written while the musician was seriously ill. It is difficult to categorize Mirland’s music (not that you have to), nevertheless it remains music you better listen to with headphones.

The Completeness of Destruction (speaking of fatal titles!) instantly sets the dark tone. It all sounds a bit like the early days of The Klinik. The piano sounds in the background provide the necessary tristesse, while the dark electro sounds evoke all sorts of fears. Would you walk into Mirland’s dark world, or would you rather wait curiously at the front door? It is a dilemma, because you know that entering will be fatal, Sleep Disorder is indeed an album that takes the listener out of balance, but it also gives him the ultimate beauty...

Human Capital is nice atmospheric music from the heyday of In The Nursery, you know, a soundtrack for a nonexistent film. Tunes that create images for the brain. More beauty comes with Potential Source Of Noise, and with such a title you don't have to think of any genre!

Unknown Territory is ambient with a high industrial factor, while No Mercy almost sounds classical. The most poppy song might be Revolt, but that's probably due to the synthesizer. Only One To Return is dance music and at the same time an auditory pleasure, a piece of music that would fit perfectly in the Ant-Zen catalogue. It was impossible to make a more varied album than this one, in the closing song The Huntsmen we even hear a hint of John Carpenter.

John R. MIRLAND almost tries every style, and many artists would therefore go flat on their face, but in his case, it only works as an advantage.

Didier BECU
15/10/2015


 

Next reviews
MAFF • Maff
EDITORS • In Dream
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Cividino: Sleeping Giant
BORN FOR BLISS • Falling Back To Never
ETHAN FAWKES • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
YABANCI • Chaoss
SHE PAST AWAY • B52, Eernegem (11/10/2015)
SKINDRED • Volume
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Robert Zemeckis: The Walk
ANGÉLINE • Back To Pike Place

 

Other reviews from MIRLAND
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
MIRLAND • Depeche Mode Deconstructed

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation