tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

14/07/2011 : MIRT - Oh! You are so naive!

MIRT

Oh! You are so naive!

MusicCD
AmbientExperimental

[78/100]   
14/07/2011, Bernadette ALLAERT

EN

When music that was released five years ago, lands on your table to be reviewed, it should either have proven its timelessness or the work is so good that five years after the release date there is still something new or interesting to be said about it. Not that I personally never go back to recordings from five years or longer ago, on the contrary, that would be way too crazy - but, at a forum like this, you as a critic have a duty to your readers to inform and captivate them with information that is up-to-date or that the topic may furnish and illustrate.

Oh! You are so naive! is the work of Mirt, one of the members of the Brasil And Gallow brothers band. Recently a CD of this group was discussed on this website, and the music could captivate me. Another reason for me to listen to this disc and view it with attention is that Mirt is not only a musician, he is also a graphic designer. The drawing on the cover of Legionowo attracts attention and that is the case with the picture on the CD disc itself: a black and white marked man with webbed feet, hands and ears and a red TV with the superscript: oh ! you are so naive! A small drawing made with graphic lines on a large white background. A simple intriguing sketch.

Experimental electronic music is often reviewed from a mood. It is the writer who builds a stage on the basis of metaphors, stories and invented surrealist associations, he tries to portray the mood such music creates or could create. Great – this is often the best way to show how sounds and noises are built to compositions and soundscapes. I intend to approach it in such a way and to write the review accordingly. But, I do not get beyond one sentence: This is music for contemporary video art. It must be that the associative mood the music evokes, would support moving images in a strong way. The music has a meditative character, but without becoming too sentimental. The first song, track # 1, moves quietly. The peace lasts the complete record but is never boring and chaos is nowhere to be found. I think I recognize the sound of a harmonium, but in the list of instruments on the CD cover I find no reference to it. That's what you get with sound compositions that like the one in this case are build up in a harmonic, tonal way. Maybe still something about what I think I hear: rain on a tin roof, a train in the distance, and for a brief moment the sound of steel guitars and the association with a Bill Frisell record with music for the pictures of Disfarmer .

That fact that the CD Oh! You are so naive! was released 5 years ago is irrelevant. This is present-day work. The result is a pleasant, entertaining and above all inspiring experiment. In summary: great dosed and successful creativity.

Bernadette ALLAERT
14/07/2011


NL

Wanneer muziek die vijf jaar geleden werd uitgebracht op je tafel terechtkomt met vraag om bespreking, dan moet het werk ofwel zijn tijdsloosheid al hebben bewezen of, moet het werk zo goed zijn dat er vijf jaar na releasedatum nog iets nieuw of interessant over verteld kan worden. Niet dat ik persoonlijk nooit teruggrijp naar opnames van vijf jaar en langer geleden, integendeel, dat zou trouwens maar al te gek zijn – maar, op een forum als dit heb je als recensent toch de plicht om je lezers te informeren en te boeien met informatie die actueel is of die de actualiteit kan stofferen en illustreren.

Oh! You are so naive! is een werk van Mirt, een van de leden van de Brasil and Gallowbrothersband. Recent werd een CD van de groep op deze website besproken, en – de muziek kon mij boeien. Een andere reden om de plaat met aandacht te beluisteren én te bekijken is het feit dat Mirt niet alleen muzikant is, hij is ook grafisch ontwerper. De tekening op de hoes van Legionowo trekt de aandacht, en dat is ook het geval met de afbeelding op dit CD-schijfje: een in zwart-wit getekend mannetje met zwemvliesvoeten, -handen en -oren en een rode televisie met het bovenschrift: oh! you are so naive! Een met grafische lijnvoering gemaakte kleine tekening op een grote witte achtergrond. Een eenvoudige intrigerende schets.

Vaak wordt experimentele elektronische muziek beschreven vanuit een stemming. Er wordt door de schrijver een decor gebouwd en aan de hand van metaforen, verzonnen verhalen en surrealistische associaties, probeert hij een beeld te geven van welke sfeer dergelijke muziek teweegbrengt of teweeg zou kunnen brengen. Prima – vaak is dat de beste manier om aan te geven hoe klanken en geluiden worden opgebouwd tot composities en geluidslandschappen. Ik neem mij voor om deze plaat op een dergelijke manier te benaderen en de bespreking te schrijven vanuit mijn associatievermogen. Maar, ik kom niet verder dan één zin: Dit is muziek voor hedendaagse videokunst. Het moet zo zijn dat de associatieve stemming die de muziek oproept, bewegend beeld op een sterke manier zal ondersteunen. De muziek heeft een meditatief karakter zonder echter sentimenteel te worden. De eerste song, track # 1, zet rustig in. De rust houdt de hele plaat aan maar wordt geen moment eentonig, en nergens wordt het chaos. Ik meen de klank van een harmonium te herkennen maar in de lijst van instrumenten op de CD-hoes kom ik die verwijzing niet tegen. Dat heb je met klankcomposities die in dit geval op een harmonische, tonale manier zijn opgebouwd. Misschien dan toch nog iets over wat ik meen te horen: regen op een zinken dak, een trein in de verte, en heel even het geluid van steel guitars en de associatie met een plaat van Bill Frisell waarop muziek wordt gemaakt bij de foto’s van Disfarmer.

Dat de CD Oh! You are so naive! 5 jaar geleden is uitgebracht is bijzaak. Dit is actueel werk. Het geheel is een aangenaam, onderhoudend en vooral inspirerend experiment. Samengevat: Prima gedoseerde en geslaagde creativiteit.

Bernadette ALLAERT
14/07/2011


 

Next reviews
JOHN FOXX AND HAROLD BUDD • Nighthawks (featuring Ruben Garcia)/Translucence and Drift Music
THE SUBS • Decontrol
SHARRON KRAUS • The Woody Nightshade
SILENT LOVE OF DEATH • Donde Habite El Olvido
E.T.A. HOFFMANN • The Life and Opinions of the Tomcat Murr | Leven en opvattingen van Kater Murr
HYSTERESIS • There is no self
KRENG • Grimoire
AURA NOCTIS • Aura Noctis EP
HIDDEN PLACE • WEATHER STATION early works
LIBEREZ • The letter

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + EXPERIMENTAL
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MISE EN ABYME • Crimini d’Odio
THOMAS BRINKMANN • What You Hear (is what you hear)
ZONE DEMERSALE • Figura
KINGSTUX • Red & Blue
KINE • Meditations In April Green
GEORGE SARAH • Timelapse
KARSTEN PFLUM • Sleepwald
LINGOUF • Terre De Pierres
7JK • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

Music reviews

16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS
06
01
KMFDM
Paradise

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).
10
01
Lair Of The Dark Prince | Lou Reed's New York At 31

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'
10
01
EVA - X
An Interview With Synthpop Act EVA - X

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall
12
01
KLANGSTABIL
You may start