tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

09/03/2015 : MISCHA KAMP - Jongens (Boys)

MISCHA KAMP

Jongens (Boys)

Movie
DramaGay

[74/100]   
09/03/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It rarely happens that we recommend television films, and even fewer (although our age will have something to do with it) when it comes to youth movies. A beautiful exception is the Dutch movie Boys by Mischa Kamp, a director who made her trademark of making controversial youth movies. Well, what is controversial? Let us say, subjects that are still taboo these days, in Boys it is about teenage boys who realize that they prefer a sex partner of the same gender. It seems simple, but how do friends react when a boy refuses the hand of the prettiest girl in the class? It happens to Sieger (Gijs Blom), who does not like to go out with Jessica (Lotte Razoux Schultz). He does it though, because he fears the reaction of his friends, but the young athlete is more interested in his team mate Marc (Ko Zandvliet). The two meet each other secretly in remote spots. Marc doesn’t want to hide their relationship, but Sieger is afraid of his friends, his exuberant brother Eddy (Jonas Smulders) and his father (Ton Kas), who just became a widower.

Of course, you have seen this issue several times in other gay movies, but the approach of Camp is extremely fresh. The film almost entirely follows the perspective of young people. In both the environment and the sometimes provoking language (remember that you are watching a Dutch movie!), Boys seems at times a bit like Paul Verhoeven’s Spetters and that is of course a very good sign! The performances of the young actors are more than fine, Camp doesn’t want to throw you her messagein the face, and that is a very refreshing attitude! In an almost arthouse-like manner the dutch director constructs a story of young lovers, who are caught in the web of prejudices. An easy film (that is the purpose of a youth film, not?) about a difficult topic, and that is not easy to do! Kamp however succeeds.

Didier BECU
09/03/2015


NL

Het gebeurt zelden dat we televisiefilms aanprijzen, en nog minder (ofschoon dat wel met onze leeftijd te maken zal hebben) als het om jeugdfilms gaat. Een mooie uitzondering is evenwel de Nederlandse prent Jongens van Mischa Kamp, een regisseuse die van controversiële jeugdfilms zowat haar handelsmerk heeft gemaakt. Nou ja, wat is controversieel. Laat ons zeggen, onderwerpen die vandaag nog altijd quasi onbespreekbaar zijn, want Jongens gaat over tienerjongens die aanvoelen dat ze het liefst een partner van hetzelfde geslacht willen. Het lijkt wel eenvoudig, maar hoe reageer je als jongen tegen je vrienden als je de hand van het knapste meisje uit de klas weigert? Het overkomt Sieger (Gijs Blom), die het niet ziet zitten om op te trekken met Jessica (Lotte Razoux Schultz). Hij doet dat eerst wel, want tja, hoe zouden de vrienden reageren, niet? Maar de jonge atleet heeft meer oog voor zijn teamgenoot Marc (Ko Zandvliet). De twee ontmoeten elkaar stiekem op afgelegen plekjes. Marc heeft er geen erg in om de relatie openbaar te maken, maar Sieger is bang voor de reactie van zijn vrienden, zijn uitbundige broer Eddy (Jonas Smulders) en zijn vader (Ton Kas), die net weduwnaar is geworden.

Natuurlijk heb je dit onderwerp al meerdere malen in holebifilms gezien, maar de aanpak van Kamp is uiterst fris. De film wordt bijna volledig gedraaid vanuit het perspectief van de jongeren, met als één uitzondering de vader (overigens een schitterende Ton Kas). Door zowel de omgeving (motorcrossers) en de soms gedurfde taal (vergeet niet dat het een Hollandse prent is!), lijkt Jongens bij momenten op Paul Verhoevens Spetters en dat vinden wij een zeer goed teken! De vertolkingen van de jonge acteurs zijn meer dan prima, en vooral schopt Kamp je geen geweten. Op een bijna arthouse-achtige wijze construeert Kamp het relaas van jonge geliefden die gevangen zitten in het web van vooroordelen, zonder ook maar één moment een kant te kiezen. Een gemakkelijke film (dat is toch de bedoeling van een jeugdfilm) over een moeilijk onderwerp is geen sinecure, maar Kamp is daar evenwel mooi in geslaagd.

Didier BECU
09/03/2015


09/03/2015 : MISCHA KAMP - Jongens (Boys) 09/03/2015 : MISCHA KAMP - Jongens (Boys) 09/03/2015 : MISCHA KAMP - Jongens (Boys) 09/03/2015 : MISCHA KAMP - Jongens (Boys) 09/03/2015 : MISCHA KAMP - Jongens (Boys) 09/03/2015 : MISCHA KAMP - Jongens (Boys) 09/03/2015 : MISCHA KAMP - Jongens (Boys) 09/03/2015 : MISCHA KAMP - Jongens (Boys) 09/03/2015 : MISCHA KAMP - Jongens (Boys) 09/03/2015 : MISCHA KAMP - Jongens (Boys) 09/03/2015 : MISCHA KAMP - Jongens (Boys) 09/03/2015 : MISCHA KAMP - Jongens (Boys)

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
12
This weekend, BIMFEST 2018 kicks off with Covenant, Leaether Strip, Light Asylum, Clock Dva & Agent Side Grinder amongst others!
12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!
10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls