tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

08/11/2015 : MISE EN ABYME - Crimini d’Odio

MISE EN ABYME

Crimini d’Odio

MusicCassette
AmbientExperimentalIndustrial

[75/100]   

Yerevan Tapes
08/11/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Mise en Abyme is a collaboration of guitarist Christian Naldi and field recordist Giovanni Lami, two musicians with very different backgrounds. For the debut album Crimini d'Odio, they were inspired by a technique that is called frame story (a story within a story within a story), also used in literature, in the visual arts and in movies. We want to believe it, even though we have not noticed it while listening to the album, and maybe it is not really important. Crimini d'Odio contains five compositions.

On side one of the cassette we hear compositions in which a strummed acoustic guitar (whether or not deformed) is combined with silence, noise and sounds (Cinghiale). Sometimes the guitar gets an oriental Arabic-sounding tone, supported by noise and a multitude of small sounds (Baloo), or it wanders freely and plays an attractive melody (Intervallo [Fratres]), with no more than diffuse male voices in the background and barely perceptible noise. A very nice composition as a simple ripple of still water.

On side 2 of the tape, Naldi and Lami go in a different direction, because Discorsi d'Odio I + II is a noise track that starts with a repetitive male voice (in Italian), interrupted by patches of hissing noise and later complemented by a rainbow of dark drones, which ultimately push away the voice so that a busy and noisy soundscape in the style of Number 9 remains, though there is more continuity of the different sound layers in Discorsi d'Odio I + II. Discorsi d'Odio III gets the same hissing electromagnetic noise, but the voices are barely audible between the sporadic dark drones and the humming noise (neither loud or obtrusive), while new dark drones slowly penetrate into the soundscape from the background and temporarily dominate, with inflowing guitar sounds on top: atmospheric, melodious and never cacophonous.

Very diverse tracks on this EP, and sounds that we rarely hear (side 1), while both compositions on side two are similar to what is usually released on Ant-zen and Hymen Records. All in all, a well-made EP that is never boring, thanks to its short duration.

Tracklisting:
A1 Cinghiale
A2 Baloo
A3 Intervallo (Fratres)
B1 Discorsi d’Odio I + II
B2 Discorsi d’Odio III

Yerevan Tapes

William LIÉNARD
08/11/2015


NL

Mise en Abyme is het samenwerkingsproject van gitarist Cristian Naldi en field recordist Giovanni Lami, muzikanten met een zeer verschillende achtergrond. Voor het debuutalbum Crimini d’Odio hebben ze zich volgens het persbericht laten inspireren door wat in de literatuur raamvertelling wordt genoemd (een verhaal in een verhaal in een verhaal), een techniek die ook in de visuele kunst en in films regelmatig wordt toegepast. We willen het graag geloven, al hebben we er zelfs weinig van gemerkt tijdens het beluisteren en misschien is dat ook niet echt belangrijk. Op Crimini d’Odio staan vijf composities.

Op kant 1 van de cassette horen we composities waarin een tokkelde akoestische gitaar (al dan niet vervormd) wordt gecombineerd met stilte, noise en geluiden (Cinghiale) en soms krijgt die gitaar een oosterse (Arabisch) aandoende klank, opnieuw gesteund door noise en een veelheid van kleine geluiden (Baloo) of gevende beide heren ze zowaar vrij spel waardoor een aantrekkelijke melodie tot ontwikkeling wordt gebracht (Intervallo [Fratres]), met in de achtergrond niet meer dan wat diffuse mannenstemmen en nauwelijks waarneembare ruis. Een heel mooie compositie als een eenvoudige rimpeling van stilstaand water.

Op kant 2 van deze cassette gaan Naldi en Lami een hele andere richting in, want Discorsi d’Odio I + II is een noisetrack die begint met een repetitieve mannenstem (in het Italiaans, dus weinig van te begrijpen) die wordt onderbroken voor flarden van sissende noise, later aangevuld met een regenboog van donkere drones die de stem uiteindelijk wegdrukken zodat een druk en rumoerig soundscape overblijft in de stijl van Number 9, al is er in Discorsi d’Odio I + II meer sprake van continuïteit van de verschillende geluidslagen. Discorsi d’Odio III krijgt dezelfde sissende elektronoise, maar de stemmen zijn nog nauwelijks hoorbaar tussen de sporadische donkere drones en de brommende noise (geen van beide luid of opdringerig overigens), terwijl zich langzaam nieuwe donkere drones vanuit de achtergrond in het soundscape opdringen en het zelfs tijdelijk domineren met instromend gitaargeluid bovenop: atmosferisch en welluidend, want nooit kakofonisch.

Heel divers werk op deze ep met andere woorden, en geluiden die we zelden horen (kant 1), terwijl de beide composities op kant 2 aansluiten bij wat we regelmatig van Ant-zen en Hymen Records te horen krijgen. Al bij al een goed gemaakte ep die dankzij z’n korte speelduur nooit verveelt.

William LIÉNARD
08/11/2015


08/11/2015 : MISE EN ABYME - Crimini d’Odio 08/11/2015 : MISE EN ABYME - Crimini d’Odio

 

Next reviews
TALVEKOIDIK • Spitzbergen
THE GLEANERS • Amateur Best
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
DESTRUCTION UNIT • Negative Feedback Resistor
DEADFILMSTAR • The Inevitable Rise & Fall Of Fake White &The Ill Fated Tour
NOTHING ALWAYS WORKS • In It
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
EMPORIUM • Gloomy Shadows
ERDLING • Blitz Und Donner
NIMON • Fear of Change

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
KINGSTUX • Red & Blue
GEORGE SARAH • Timelapse

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
BE • One

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
LINGOUF • Quatuor Solitaire
GROUP A • 70 + a =

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
STACIAN • Person L
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
3TEETH • Shutdown.exe
DIVE • Underneath
LUXVID • Trench
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage

Music reviews

19
01
MESH
Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
01
Mortiis announces Era 1 live dates for 2018!
18
01
OMD, MIDGE URE and more confirmed at XIV. AMPHI FESTIVAL 2018
17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
KMFDM
Sascha Konietzko Gives Us The Latest On KMFDM
28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
WIRE
In Vivo
19
01
IN DEATH IT ENDS
Pomba Gira
18
01
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man