tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

08/11/2015 : MISE EN ABYME - Crimini d’Odio

MISE EN ABYME

Crimini d’Odio

MusicCassette
AmbientExperimentalIndustrial

[75/100]   

Yerevan Tapes
08/11/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Mise en Abyme is a collaboration of guitarist Christian Naldi and field recordist Giovanni Lami, two musicians with very different backgrounds. For the debut album Crimini d'Odio, they were inspired by a technique that is called frame story (a story within a story within a story), also used in literature, in the visual arts and in movies. We want to believe it, even though we have not noticed it while listening to the album, and maybe it is not really important. Crimini d'Odio contains five compositions.

On side one of the cassette we hear compositions in which a strummed acoustic guitar (whether or not deformed) is combined with silence, noise and sounds (Cinghiale). Sometimes the guitar gets an oriental Arabic-sounding tone, supported by noise and a multitude of small sounds (Baloo), or it wanders freely and plays an attractive melody (Intervallo [Fratres]), with no more than diffuse male voices in the background and barely perceptible noise. A very nice composition as a simple ripple of still water.

On side 2 of the tape, Naldi and Lami go in a different direction, because Discorsi d'Odio I + II is a noise track that starts with a repetitive male voice (in Italian), interrupted by patches of hissing noise and later complemented by a rainbow of dark drones, which ultimately push away the voice so that a busy and noisy soundscape in the style of Number 9 remains, though there is more continuity of the different sound layers in Discorsi d'Odio I + II. Discorsi d'Odio III gets the same hissing electromagnetic noise, but the voices are barely audible between the sporadic dark drones and the humming noise (neither loud or obtrusive), while new dark drones slowly penetrate into the soundscape from the background and temporarily dominate, with inflowing guitar sounds on top: atmospheric, melodious and never cacophonous.

Very diverse tracks on this EP, and sounds that we rarely hear (side 1), while both compositions on side two are similar to what is usually released on Ant-zen and Hymen Records. All in all, a well-made EP that is never boring, thanks to its short duration.

Tracklisting:
A1 Cinghiale
A2 Baloo
A3 Intervallo (Fratres)
B1 Discorsi d’Odio I + II
B2 Discorsi d’Odio III

Yerevan Tapes

William LIÉNARD
08/11/2015


NL

Mise en Abyme is het samenwerkingsproject van gitarist Cristian Naldi en field recordist Giovanni Lami, muzikanten met een zeer verschillende achtergrond. Voor het debuutalbum Crimini d’Odio hebben ze zich volgens het persbericht laten inspireren door wat in de literatuur raamvertelling wordt genoemd (een verhaal in een verhaal in een verhaal), een techniek die ook in de visuele kunst en in films regelmatig wordt toegepast. We willen het graag geloven, al hebben we er zelfs weinig van gemerkt tijdens het beluisteren en misschien is dat ook niet echt belangrijk. Op Crimini d’Odio staan vijf composities.

Op kant 1 van de cassette horen we composities waarin een tokkelde akoestische gitaar (al dan niet vervormd) wordt gecombineerd met stilte, noise en geluiden (Cinghiale) en soms krijgt die gitaar een oosterse (Arabisch) aandoende klank, opnieuw gesteund door noise en een veelheid van kleine geluiden (Baloo) of gevende beide heren ze zowaar vrij spel waardoor een aantrekkelijke melodie tot ontwikkeling wordt gebracht (Intervallo [Fratres]), met in de achtergrond niet meer dan wat diffuse mannenstemmen en nauwelijks waarneembare ruis. Een heel mooie compositie als een eenvoudige rimpeling van stilstaand water.

Op kant 2 van deze cassette gaan Naldi en Lami een hele andere richting in, want Discorsi d’Odio I + II is een noisetrack die begint met een repetitieve mannenstem (in het Italiaans, dus weinig van te begrijpen) die wordt onderbroken voor flarden van sissende noise, later aangevuld met een regenboog van donkere drones die de stem uiteindelijk wegdrukken zodat een druk en rumoerig soundscape overblijft in de stijl van Number 9, al is er in Discorsi d’Odio I + II meer sprake van continuïteit van de verschillende geluidslagen. Discorsi d’Odio III krijgt dezelfde sissende elektronoise, maar de stemmen zijn nog nauwelijks hoorbaar tussen de sporadische donkere drones en de brommende noise (geen van beide luid of opdringerig overigens), terwijl zich langzaam nieuwe donkere drones vanuit de achtergrond in het soundscape opdringen en het zelfs tijdelijk domineren met instromend gitaargeluid bovenop: atmosferisch en welluidend, want nooit kakofonisch.

Heel divers werk op deze ep met andere woorden, en geluiden die we zelden horen (kant 1), terwijl de beide composities op kant 2 aansluiten bij wat we regelmatig van Ant-zen en Hymen Records te horen krijgen. Al bij al een goed gemaakte ep die dankzij z’n korte speelduur nooit verveelt.

William LIÉNARD
08/11/2015


08/11/2015 : MISE EN ABYME - Crimini d’Odio 08/11/2015 : MISE EN ABYME - Crimini d’Odio

 

Next reviews
TALVEKOIDIK • Spitzbergen
THE GLEANERS • Amateur Best
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
DESTRUCTION UNIT • Negative Feedback Resistor
DEADFILMSTAR • The Inevitable Rise & Fall Of Fake White &The Ill Fated Tour
NOTHING ALWAYS WORKS • In It
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
EMPORIUM • Gloomy Shadows
ERDLING • Blitz Und Donner
NIMON • Fear of Change

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
KINGSTUX • Red & Blue
GEORGE SARAH • Timelapse

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here

Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen
24
09
FACTHEORY
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets