tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

08/11/2015 : MISE EN ABYME - Crimini d’Odio

MISE EN ABYME

Crimini d’Odio

MusicCassette
AmbientExperimentalIndustrial

[75/100]   

Yerevan Tapes
08/11/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Mise en Abyme is a collaboration of guitarist Christian Naldi and field recordist Giovanni Lami, two musicians with very different backgrounds. For the debut album Crimini d'Odio, they were inspired by a technique that is called frame story (a story within a story within a story), also used in literature, in the visual arts and in movies. We want to believe it, even though we have not noticed it while listening to the album, and maybe it is not really important. Crimini d'Odio contains five compositions.

On side one of the cassette we hear compositions in which a strummed acoustic guitar (whether or not deformed) is combined with silence, noise and sounds (Cinghiale). Sometimes the guitar gets an oriental Arabic-sounding tone, supported by noise and a multitude of small sounds (Baloo), or it wanders freely and plays an attractive melody (Intervallo [Fratres]), with no more than diffuse male voices in the background and barely perceptible noise. A very nice composition as a simple ripple of still water.

On side 2 of the tape, Naldi and Lami go in a different direction, because Discorsi d'Odio I + II is a noise track that starts with a repetitive male voice (in Italian), interrupted by patches of hissing noise and later complemented by a rainbow of dark drones, which ultimately push away the voice so that a busy and noisy soundscape in the style of Number 9 remains, though there is more continuity of the different sound layers in Discorsi d'Odio I + II. Discorsi d'Odio III gets the same hissing electromagnetic noise, but the voices are barely audible between the sporadic dark drones and the humming noise (neither loud or obtrusive), while new dark drones slowly penetrate into the soundscape from the background and temporarily dominate, with inflowing guitar sounds on top: atmospheric, melodious and never cacophonous.

Very diverse tracks on this EP, and sounds that we rarely hear (side 1), while both compositions on side two are similar to what is usually released on Ant-zen and Hymen Records. All in all, a well-made EP that is never boring, thanks to its short duration.

Tracklisting:
A1 Cinghiale
A2 Baloo
A3 Intervallo (Fratres)
B1 Discorsi d’Odio I + II
B2 Discorsi d’Odio III

Yerevan Tapes

William LIÉNARD
08/11/2015


NL

Mise en Abyme is het samenwerkingsproject van gitarist Cristian Naldi en field recordist Giovanni Lami, muzikanten met een zeer verschillende achtergrond. Voor het debuutalbum Crimini d’Odio hebben ze zich volgens het persbericht laten inspireren door wat in de literatuur raamvertelling wordt genoemd (een verhaal in een verhaal in een verhaal), een techniek die ook in de visuele kunst en in films regelmatig wordt toegepast. We willen het graag geloven, al hebben we er zelfs weinig van gemerkt tijdens het beluisteren en misschien is dat ook niet echt belangrijk. Op Crimini d’Odio staan vijf composities.

Op kant 1 van de cassette horen we composities waarin een tokkelde akoestische gitaar (al dan niet vervormd) wordt gecombineerd met stilte, noise en geluiden (Cinghiale) en soms krijgt die gitaar een oosterse (Arabisch) aandoende klank, opnieuw gesteund door noise en een veelheid van kleine geluiden (Baloo) of gevende beide heren ze zowaar vrij spel waardoor een aantrekkelijke melodie tot ontwikkeling wordt gebracht (Intervallo [Fratres]), met in de achtergrond niet meer dan wat diffuse mannenstemmen en nauwelijks waarneembare ruis. Een heel mooie compositie als een eenvoudige rimpeling van stilstaand water.

Op kant 2 van deze cassette gaan Naldi en Lami een hele andere richting in, want Discorsi d’Odio I + II is een noisetrack die begint met een repetitieve mannenstem (in het Italiaans, dus weinig van te begrijpen) die wordt onderbroken voor flarden van sissende noise, later aangevuld met een regenboog van donkere drones die de stem uiteindelijk wegdrukken zodat een druk en rumoerig soundscape overblijft in de stijl van Number 9, al is er in Discorsi d’Odio I + II meer sprake van continuïteit van de verschillende geluidslagen. Discorsi d’Odio III krijgt dezelfde sissende elektronoise, maar de stemmen zijn nog nauwelijks hoorbaar tussen de sporadische donkere drones en de brommende noise (geen van beide luid of opdringerig overigens), terwijl zich langzaam nieuwe donkere drones vanuit de achtergrond in het soundscape opdringen en het zelfs tijdelijk domineren met instromend gitaargeluid bovenop: atmosferisch en welluidend, want nooit kakofonisch.

Heel divers werk op deze ep met andere woorden, en geluiden die we zelden horen (kant 1), terwijl de beide composities op kant 2 aansluiten bij wat we regelmatig van Ant-zen en Hymen Records te horen krijgen. Al bij al een goed gemaakte ep die dankzij z’n korte speelduur nooit verveelt.

William LIÉNARD
08/11/2015


08/11/2015 : MISE EN ABYME - Crimini d’Odio 08/11/2015 : MISE EN ABYME - Crimini d’Odio

 

Next reviews
TALVEKOIDIK • Spitzbergen
THE GLEANERS • Amateur Best
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
DESTRUCTION UNIT • Negative Feedback Resistor
DEADFILMSTAR • The Inevitable Rise & Fall Of Fake White &The Ill Fated Tour
NOTHING ALWAYS WORKS • In It
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
EMPORIUM • Gloomy Shadows
ERDLING • Blitz Und Donner
NIMON • Fear of Change

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + EXPERIMENTAL + INDUSTRIAL
KINGSTUX • Red & Blue
GEORGE SARAH • Timelapse

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP
16
01
The Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 Release
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - One Year Anniversary
14
01
Zwaremachine are heading over to Europe for 3 dates in January!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life
15
01
SCHULTZ
I hate You
14
01
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott