tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/07/2015 : MIST - The Loop of Love

MIST

The Loop of Love

MusicCD
DreampopIndie

[78/100]   

Skipping records/Sonic Rendezvous
30/07/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

'Mist' was active between 2003 and 2009 (out of Amsterdam) and released albums through the Spanish label 'Astro Discos'. Typical were their melancholic, subdued and harmonic pop songs. After this intensive period with tours in Europa and Latin- America everybody was busy with his own projects.

Now there is ‘The Loop of Love’, a An album mostly made by songwriter, singer and producer Rick Treffers. In 2013 he began working on new material together with former member and guitarist Vermeulen through Skype and other channels. The lyrics deal with love, desire, persuit of harmony and rest, sometimes in a childish and naïve way, but honest and fragile without far-fetched metaphors and straight. Musically the songs are made without much tricks: piano, guitar and percussion and some additional instruments. The songs as craftwork to pull you into the world of ‘Mist’. Sometimes the album is a little too easy going and you caneasily lose the attention. But each song is made with skill and after several listening sessions the album comes alive.

I mostly remember ‘Losing Everything’ that just like ‘Standing on the Shore’ is a rather up-tempo track (genre Baltazar) with beautiful lyrics. ‘Something New’ is a dream pop songs about a new love. ‘Prepare of Landing’ has a beautiful guitar sound and harmonic vocals.

Begin 2015 the compilation ‘Selection’ was released, with songs from 2003-2009. Later this year a second compilation will be available, called ‘Underwater’, containing outtakes, live-recordings and curiosities. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
30/07/2015


NL

Mist was tussen 2003 en 2009 actief vanuit Amsterdam met albums op het Spaanse platenlabel Astro Discos. Kenmerkend waren hun ingetogen, weemoedige en harmonische popsongs. Na die intensieve periode met toernees doorheen Europa en Latijns Amerika hield iedereen zich bezig met eigen projecten.

Nu is er ‘The Loop of Love’, een album dat grotendeels is gemaakt door zanger, songschrijver en producer Rick Treffers. In 2013 begon Treffers via Skype en andere kanalen samen te werken met voormalig lid en gitarist Vermeulen. De teksten gaan over liefde, verlangen, streven naar harmonie en rust, soms getuigend van een kinderlijke naïviteit, maar steeds eerlijk en fragiel, zonder vergezochte metaforen of vergelijkingen en recht voor de raap. Muzikaal bevatten de songs weinig tricks: piano, gitaar, percussie en hier en daar nog wat toegevoegde instrumenten. Songs als ambacht. Het trekt je mee in de wereld van Mist. Soms kabbelt het album als geheel wat te rustig voorbij waardoor je de aandacht dreigt te verliezen. Maar elke song apart is vakkundig en sfeervol gemaakt. En bij meerdere beluisteringen komt het album meer en meer tot leven.

Wat ik vooral onthoud: ‘Losing Everything’ is net als ‘Standing on the Shore’ eerder een uptempo song (genre Baltazar) met een mooie tekst. ‘Something New’ is een heerlijk dromerige liedje over een nieuwe liefde. ‘Prepare of Landing’ heeft een heel mooie gitaarsound en dito samenzang.

Begin 2015 verscheen ‘Selection’,een verzamelalbum uit de periode 2003-2009. Later dit jaar verschijnt ook ‘Underwater’, een compleet album met outtakes, live-opnames, etc.

Wim GUILLEMYN
30/07/2015


 

Next reviews
BRIAN DE PALMA • Redacted
MARIEKE HUTSEBAUT (THE SPECTORS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DURAN DURAN • Rio (Expanded)
ACT • LOVE AND HATE a compact introduction
BOB CLARK • BOB CLARK: A PORTRAIT
VORON • Propagangda
CY ENDFIELD • JET STORM
MARKKO (C-LEKKTOR & CIRCUITO CERRADO) • Ten albums that changed my life
TERRENCE FISHER • Horror of Dracula
BLACK LUNG • Muzak from the Hive Mind

 

Other reviews from MIST
MIST • House

 

Same combination of genres: DREAMPOP + INDIE
FEW BITS • Big Sparks
SUNFLOWER BEAN • Human Ceremony
THE SILENCE SET • Teeth Out
RYCERZYKI • Rycerzyki
SUMMER TWINS • Limbo
YOUTH LAGOON • Savage Hills Ballroom
BILL AND MURRAY • A New Kind Of High
DOWNPILOT • Radio Ghost
THE GIRL WHO CRIED WOLF • Ruins
GOSPEL • Ain't Gonna Let You In

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
48 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
05
CONFLICT
Dont Panik Esssen
21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
LOVELESSLUST
Fashion - David Bowie tribute
25
05
CORPO-MENTE
Arsalein
24
05
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT
Adrenaline
23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day