tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/07/2015 : MIST - The Loop of Love

MIST

The Loop of Love

MusicCD
DreampopIndie

[78/100]   

Skipping records/Sonic Rendezvous
30/07/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

'Mist' was active between 2003 and 2009 (out of Amsterdam) and released albums through the Spanish label 'Astro Discos'. Typical were their melancholic, subdued and harmonic pop songs. After this intensive period with tours in Europa and Latin- America everybody was busy with his own projects.

Now there is ‘The Loop of Love’, a An album mostly made by songwriter, singer and producer Rick Treffers. In 2013 he began working on new material together with former member and guitarist Vermeulen through Skype and other channels. The lyrics deal with love, desire, persuit of harmony and rest, sometimes in a childish and naïve way, but honest and fragile without far-fetched metaphors and straight. Musically the songs are made without much tricks: piano, guitar and percussion and some additional instruments. The songs as craftwork to pull you into the world of ‘Mist’. Sometimes the album is a little too easy going and you caneasily lose the attention. But each song is made with skill and after several listening sessions the album comes alive.

I mostly remember ‘Losing Everything’ that just like ‘Standing on the Shore’ is a rather up-tempo track (genre Baltazar) with beautiful lyrics. ‘Something New’ is a dream pop songs about a new love. ‘Prepare of Landing’ has a beautiful guitar sound and harmonic vocals.

Begin 2015 the compilation ‘Selection’ was released, with songs from 2003-2009. Later this year a second compilation will be available, called ‘Underwater’, containing outtakes, live-recordings and curiosities. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
30/07/2015


NL

Mist was tussen 2003 en 2009 actief vanuit Amsterdam met albums op het Spaanse platenlabel Astro Discos. Kenmerkend waren hun ingetogen, weemoedige en harmonische popsongs. Na die intensieve periode met toernees doorheen Europa en Latijns Amerika hield iedereen zich bezig met eigen projecten.

Nu is er ‘The Loop of Love’, een album dat grotendeels is gemaakt door zanger, songschrijver en producer Rick Treffers. In 2013 begon Treffers via Skype en andere kanalen samen te werken met voormalig lid en gitarist Vermeulen. De teksten gaan over liefde, verlangen, streven naar harmonie en rust, soms getuigend van een kinderlijke naïviteit, maar steeds eerlijk en fragiel, zonder vergezochte metaforen of vergelijkingen en recht voor de raap. Muzikaal bevatten de songs weinig tricks: piano, gitaar, percussie en hier en daar nog wat toegevoegde instrumenten. Songs als ambacht. Het trekt je mee in de wereld van Mist. Soms kabbelt het album als geheel wat te rustig voorbij waardoor je de aandacht dreigt te verliezen. Maar elke song apart is vakkundig en sfeervol gemaakt. En bij meerdere beluisteringen komt het album meer en meer tot leven.

Wat ik vooral onthoud: ‘Losing Everything’ is net als ‘Standing on the Shore’ eerder een uptempo song (genre Baltazar) met een mooie tekst. ‘Something New’ is een heerlijk dromerige liedje over een nieuwe liefde. ‘Prepare of Landing’ heeft een heel mooie gitaarsound en dito samenzang.

Begin 2015 verscheen ‘Selection’,een verzamelalbum uit de periode 2003-2009. Later dit jaar verschijnt ook ‘Underwater’, een compleet album met outtakes, live-opnames, etc.

Wim GUILLEMYN
30/07/2015


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)