tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/07/2015 : MIST - The Loop of Love

MIST

The Loop of Love

MusicCD
DreampopIndie

[78/100]   

Skipping records/Sonic Rendezvous
30/07/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

'Mist' was active between 2003 and 2009 (out of Amsterdam) and released albums through the Spanish label 'Astro Discos'. Typical were their melancholic, subdued and harmonic pop songs. After this intensive period with tours in Europa and Latin- America everybody was busy with his own projects.

Now there is ‘The Loop of Love’, a An album mostly made by songwriter, singer and producer Rick Treffers. In 2013 he began working on new material together with former member and guitarist Vermeulen through Skype and other channels. The lyrics deal with love, desire, persuit of harmony and rest, sometimes in a childish and naïve way, but honest and fragile without far-fetched metaphors and straight. Musically the songs are made without much tricks: piano, guitar and percussion and some additional instruments. The songs as craftwork to pull you into the world of ‘Mist’. Sometimes the album is a little too easy going and you caneasily lose the attention. But each song is made with skill and after several listening sessions the album comes alive.

I mostly remember ‘Losing Everything’ that just like ‘Standing on the Shore’ is a rather up-tempo track (genre Baltazar) with beautiful lyrics. ‘Something New’ is a dream pop songs about a new love. ‘Prepare of Landing’ has a beautiful guitar sound and harmonic vocals.

Begin 2015 the compilation ‘Selection’ was released, with songs from 2003-2009. Later this year a second compilation will be available, called ‘Underwater’, containing outtakes, live-recordings and curiosities. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
30/07/2015


NL

Mist was tussen 2003 en 2009 actief vanuit Amsterdam met albums op het Spaanse platenlabel Astro Discos. Kenmerkend waren hun ingetogen, weemoedige en harmonische popsongs. Na die intensieve periode met toernees doorheen Europa en Latijns Amerika hield iedereen zich bezig met eigen projecten.

Nu is er ‘The Loop of Love’, een album dat grotendeels is gemaakt door zanger, songschrijver en producer Rick Treffers. In 2013 begon Treffers via Skype en andere kanalen samen te werken met voormalig lid en gitarist Vermeulen. De teksten gaan over liefde, verlangen, streven naar harmonie en rust, soms getuigend van een kinderlijke naïviteit, maar steeds eerlijk en fragiel, zonder vergezochte metaforen of vergelijkingen en recht voor de raap. Muzikaal bevatten de songs weinig tricks: piano, gitaar, percussie en hier en daar nog wat toegevoegde instrumenten. Songs als ambacht. Het trekt je mee in de wereld van Mist. Soms kabbelt het album als geheel wat te rustig voorbij waardoor je de aandacht dreigt te verliezen. Maar elke song apart is vakkundig en sfeervol gemaakt. En bij meerdere beluisteringen komt het album meer en meer tot leven.

Wat ik vooral onthoud: ‘Losing Everything’ is net als ‘Standing on the Shore’ eerder een uptempo song (genre Baltazar) met een mooie tekst. ‘Something New’ is een heerlijk dromerige liedje over een nieuwe liefde. ‘Prepare of Landing’ heeft een heel mooie gitaarsound en dito samenzang.

Begin 2015 verscheen ‘Selection’,een verzamelalbum uit de periode 2003-2009. Later dit jaar verschijnt ook ‘Underwater’, een compleet album met outtakes, live-opnames, etc.

Wim GUILLEMYN
30/07/2015


Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
09
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM
Command Control
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Mag 7
26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back