tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : MODERN ROMANCE - Adventures In Clubland

MODERN ROMANCE

Adventures In Clubland

MusicCD
Pop

[77/100]   

Cherry Pop
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course pop lovers know that since years Cherry Pop (a sub-label of Cherry Red Records) releases every month forgotten pop LPs, mostly from the 80s, and this month's release is dedicated to Modern Romance.

Do not say too quickly that you do not know this British pop band, because all its hits are somewhere deep in your mind. You probably know them even if you’re not aware of it. The group was founded in the early 80s, after Geoffrey Deane and David Jaymes were in the punk parody Leyton Buzzards. Even though this group won a record deal with Chrysalis through a competition organized by The Sun, their career never got off the ground. That changed with Modern Romance.

Punk was no more, but just funk with Latin American influences that came pretty close to Kid Creole And The Coconuts and (if you remember them) the Dutch Roberto Jacketti & The Scooters. Their debut album Adventures In Clubland is without doubt the best one ever released by these guys. Best Years Of Our Life, Everybody Salsa and the fantastic Queen Of The Rapping Scene surely are hits you know, and maybe you even danced to.

The Latin influences with a high post-punk-funk content remind us a bit of A Certain Ratio, even if Modern Romance is more commercial.

Adventures In Clubland is a typical eighties record you never think of, but once you hear it, you notice the many gems it contains.This debut album is now available on CD. It is an extended edition with seven bonus tracks, including some nice mixes from the maxi-singles. Because music also can show the bright side of life, this reissue is recommended!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Popliefhebbers zijn er natuurlijk al lang van op de hoogte, maar sinds jaren brengt Cherry Pop (een sublabel van Cherry Red Records) massa’s vergeten pop-lp’s uit. Meestal zijn het platen uit de jaren 80 en deze maand viel de keuze op Modern Romance.

Zeg niet te vlug dat je ze niet kent, want ook al zitten de hitjes van deze Britse popband diep in het achterhoofd verborgen, zal je de meeste hits wellicht kennen. De groep werd in het begin van de jaren 80 opgericht, nadat Geoffrey Deane en David Jaymes eerst in de punkparodie Leyton Buzzards zaten. Ook al won deze groep via een wedstrijd van The Sun een platendeal met Chrysalis, kwam hun carrière nooit van de grond. Dat veranderde met Modern Romance. Van punk was geen sprake meer, wel funk met Latijns-Amerikaanse klanken die tamelijk dicht bij Kid Creole And The Coconuts en (mocht je je ze nog herinneren) de Nederlandse Roberto Jacketti & The Scooters aansloten. Hun debuut-lp Adventures In Clubland is zonder meer de meest frisse plaat die deze jongens uitbrachten. Best Years Of Our LifeEverybody Salsa en het fantastische Queen Of The Rapping Scene heb je zeker al gehoord, en wie weet heb je er al op gedanst.

Door de Latijnse invloeden klinkt de muziek van Modern Romance zeer dansbaar, maar in hun eerste platen zat er ook een hoog postpunk-funkgehalte in de songs verwerkt, die (ook al zijn het commerciële songs) je wat aan A Certain Ratio laten denken.

Adventures In Clubland is zo’n typische eightiesplaat waar je nooit meer aan denkt, maar eens je de tracks hoort, merk je dat ze heel wat pareltjes bevat. Dit debuut is nu op cd verkrijgbaar en zoals we gewend zijn van Cherry Red, is ook deze uitgave een expanded edition met daarop zeven bonustracks waaronder een paar leuke mixes die je op de maxi-singles kon terugvinden. Omdat muziek ook best de zonnige kant van het leven mag tonen, is deze heruitgave dus meer dan leuk!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
TOOL
Schism
26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots