tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : MODERN ROMANCE - Adventures In Clubland

MODERN ROMANCE

Adventures In Clubland

MusicCD
Pop

[77/100]   

Cherry Pop
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course pop lovers know that since years Cherry Pop (a sub-label of Cherry Red Records) releases every month forgotten pop LPs, mostly from the 80s, and this month's release is dedicated to Modern Romance.

Do not say too quickly that you do not know this British pop band, because all its hits are somewhere deep in your mind. You probably know them even if you’re not aware of it. The group was founded in the early 80s, after Geoffrey Deane and David Jaymes were in the punk parody Leyton Buzzards. Even though this group won a record deal with Chrysalis through a competition organized by The Sun, their career never got off the ground. That changed with Modern Romance.

Punk was no more, but just funk with Latin American influences that came pretty close to Kid Creole And The Coconuts and (if you remember them) the Dutch Roberto Jacketti & The Scooters. Their debut album Adventures In Clubland is without doubt the best one ever released by these guys. Best Years Of Our Life, Everybody Salsa and the fantastic Queen Of The Rapping Scene surely are hits you know, and maybe you even danced to.

The Latin influences with a high post-punk-funk content remind us a bit of A Certain Ratio, even if Modern Romance is more commercial.

Adventures In Clubland is a typical eighties record you never think of, but once you hear it, you notice the many gems it contains.This debut album is now available on CD. It is an extended edition with seven bonus tracks, including some nice mixes from the maxi-singles. Because music also can show the bright side of life, this reissue is recommended!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Popliefhebbers zijn er natuurlijk al lang van op de hoogte, maar sinds jaren brengt Cherry Pop (een sublabel van Cherry Red Records) massa’s vergeten pop-lp’s uit. Meestal zijn het platen uit de jaren 80 en deze maand viel de keuze op Modern Romance.

Zeg niet te vlug dat je ze niet kent, want ook al zitten de hitjes van deze Britse popband diep in het achterhoofd verborgen, zal je de meeste hits wellicht kennen. De groep werd in het begin van de jaren 80 opgericht, nadat Geoffrey Deane en David Jaymes eerst in de punkparodie Leyton Buzzards zaten. Ook al won deze groep via een wedstrijd van The Sun een platendeal met Chrysalis, kwam hun carrière nooit van de grond. Dat veranderde met Modern Romance. Van punk was geen sprake meer, wel funk met Latijns-Amerikaanse klanken die tamelijk dicht bij Kid Creole And The Coconuts en (mocht je je ze nog herinneren) de Nederlandse Roberto Jacketti & The Scooters aansloten. Hun debuut-lp Adventures In Clubland is zonder meer de meest frisse plaat die deze jongens uitbrachten. Best Years Of Our LifeEverybody Salsa en het fantastische Queen Of The Rapping Scene heb je zeker al gehoord, en wie weet heb je er al op gedanst.

Door de Latijnse invloeden klinkt de muziek van Modern Romance zeer dansbaar, maar in hun eerste platen zat er ook een hoog postpunk-funkgehalte in de songs verwerkt, die (ook al zijn het commerciële songs) je wat aan A Certain Ratio laten denken.

Adventures In Clubland is zo’n typische eightiesplaat waar je nooit meer aan denkt, maar eens je de tracks hoort, merk je dat ze heel wat pareltjes bevat. Dit debuut is nu op cd verkrijgbaar en zoals we gewend zijn van Cherry Red, is ook deze uitgave een expanded edition met daarop zeven bonustracks waaronder een paar leuke mixes die je op de maxi-singles kon terugvinden. Omdat muziek ook best de zonnige kant van het leven mag tonen, is deze heruitgave dus meer dan leuk!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

06
12
J:DEAD
Tearing me apart
04
12
TWO WITCHES
The Undead
27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
78 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
Dark-Electro Project THRILLSVILLE Draws Upon Psychological Horror With 'Creeps In The House' Single
07
12
29 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
45 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
ALIA SYNESTHESIA Unveils Original Score For Classic Horror Film, 'Haxan'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
12
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
06
12
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Venetian Blinds
05
12
THE KLINIK
Hours And Hours (Live @ Beverwave 2012)
04
12
PSYCH KRIST KASTRATOR
Falling Masks
03
12
THE KLINIK
White Trash (Inside Out Remix)
02
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
01
12
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty