tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : MODERN ROMANCE - Adventures In Clubland

MODERN ROMANCE

Adventures In Clubland

MusicCD
Pop

[77/100]   

Cherry Pop
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course pop lovers know that since years Cherry Pop (a sub-label of Cherry Red Records) releases every month forgotten pop LPs, mostly from the 80s, and this month's release is dedicated to Modern Romance.

Do not say too quickly that you do not know this British pop band, because all its hits are somewhere deep in your mind. You probably know them even if you’re not aware of it. The group was founded in the early 80s, after Geoffrey Deane and David Jaymes were in the punk parody Leyton Buzzards. Even though this group won a record deal with Chrysalis through a competition organized by The Sun, their career never got off the ground. That changed with Modern Romance.

Punk was no more, but just funk with Latin American influences that came pretty close to Kid Creole And The Coconuts and (if you remember them) the Dutch Roberto Jacketti & The Scooters. Their debut album Adventures In Clubland is without doubt the best one ever released by these guys. Best Years Of Our Life, Everybody Salsa and the fantastic Queen Of The Rapping Scene surely are hits you know, and maybe you even danced to.

The Latin influences with a high post-punk-funk content remind us a bit of A Certain Ratio, even if Modern Romance is more commercial.

Adventures In Clubland is a typical eighties record you never think of, but once you hear it, you notice the many gems it contains.This debut album is now available on CD. It is an extended edition with seven bonus tracks, including some nice mixes from the maxi-singles. Because music also can show the bright side of life, this reissue is recommended!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Popliefhebbers zijn er natuurlijk al lang van op de hoogte, maar sinds jaren brengt Cherry Pop (een sublabel van Cherry Red Records) massa’s vergeten pop-lp’s uit. Meestal zijn het platen uit de jaren 80 en deze maand viel de keuze op Modern Romance.

Zeg niet te vlug dat je ze niet kent, want ook al zitten de hitjes van deze Britse popband diep in het achterhoofd verborgen, zal je de meeste hits wellicht kennen. De groep werd in het begin van de jaren 80 opgericht, nadat Geoffrey Deane en David Jaymes eerst in de punkparodie Leyton Buzzards zaten. Ook al won deze groep via een wedstrijd van The Sun een platendeal met Chrysalis, kwam hun carrière nooit van de grond. Dat veranderde met Modern Romance. Van punk was geen sprake meer, wel funk met Latijns-Amerikaanse klanken die tamelijk dicht bij Kid Creole And The Coconuts en (mocht je je ze nog herinneren) de Nederlandse Roberto Jacketti & The Scooters aansloten. Hun debuut-lp Adventures In Clubland is zonder meer de meest frisse plaat die deze jongens uitbrachten. Best Years Of Our LifeEverybody Salsa en het fantastische Queen Of The Rapping Scene heb je zeker al gehoord, en wie weet heb je er al op gedanst.

Door de Latijnse invloeden klinkt de muziek van Modern Romance zeer dansbaar, maar in hun eerste platen zat er ook een hoog postpunk-funkgehalte in de songs verwerkt, die (ook al zijn het commerciële songs) je wat aan A Certain Ratio laten denken.

Adventures In Clubland is zo’n typische eightiesplaat waar je nooit meer aan denkt, maar eens je de tracks hoort, merk je dat ze heel wat pareltjes bevat. Dit debuut is nu op cd verkrijgbaar en zoals we gewend zijn van Cherry Red, is ook deze uitgave een expanded edition met daarop zeven bonustracks waaronder een paar leuke mixes die je op de maxi-singles kon terugvinden. Omdat muziek ook best de zonnige kant van het leven mag tonen, is deze heruitgave dus meer dan leuk!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein