tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : MODERN ROMANCE - Adventures In Clubland

MODERN ROMANCE

Adventures In Clubland

MusicCD
Pop

[77/100]   

Cherry Pop
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course pop lovers know that since years Cherry Pop (a sub-label of Cherry Red Records) releases every month forgotten pop LPs, mostly from the 80s, and this month's release is dedicated to Modern Romance.

Do not say too quickly that you do not know this British pop band, because all its hits are somewhere deep in your mind. You probably know them even if you’re not aware of it. The group was founded in the early 80s, after Geoffrey Deane and David Jaymes were in the punk parody Leyton Buzzards. Even though this group won a record deal with Chrysalis through a competition organized by The Sun, their career never got off the ground. That changed with Modern Romance.

Punk was no more, but just funk with Latin American influences that came pretty close to Kid Creole And The Coconuts and (if you remember them) the Dutch Roberto Jacketti & The Scooters. Their debut album Adventures In Clubland is without doubt the best one ever released by these guys. Best Years Of Our Life, Everybody Salsa and the fantastic Queen Of The Rapping Scene surely are hits you know, and maybe you even danced to.

The Latin influences with a high post-punk-funk content remind us a bit of A Certain Ratio, even if Modern Romance is more commercial.

Adventures In Clubland is a typical eighties record you never think of, but once you hear it, you notice the many gems it contains.This debut album is now available on CD. It is an extended edition with seven bonus tracks, including some nice mixes from the maxi-singles. Because music also can show the bright side of life, this reissue is recommended!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Popliefhebbers zijn er natuurlijk al lang van op de hoogte, maar sinds jaren brengt Cherry Pop (een sublabel van Cherry Red Records) massa’s vergeten pop-lp’s uit. Meestal zijn het platen uit de jaren 80 en deze maand viel de keuze op Modern Romance.

Zeg niet te vlug dat je ze niet kent, want ook al zitten de hitjes van deze Britse popband diep in het achterhoofd verborgen, zal je de meeste hits wellicht kennen. De groep werd in het begin van de jaren 80 opgericht, nadat Geoffrey Deane en David Jaymes eerst in de punkparodie Leyton Buzzards zaten. Ook al won deze groep via een wedstrijd van The Sun een platendeal met Chrysalis, kwam hun carrière nooit van de grond. Dat veranderde met Modern Romance. Van punk was geen sprake meer, wel funk met Latijns-Amerikaanse klanken die tamelijk dicht bij Kid Creole And The Coconuts en (mocht je je ze nog herinneren) de Nederlandse Roberto Jacketti & The Scooters aansloten. Hun debuut-lp Adventures In Clubland is zonder meer de meest frisse plaat die deze jongens uitbrachten. Best Years Of Our LifeEverybody Salsa en het fantastische Queen Of The Rapping Scene heb je zeker al gehoord, en wie weet heb je er al op gedanst.

Door de Latijnse invloeden klinkt de muziek van Modern Romance zeer dansbaar, maar in hun eerste platen zat er ook een hoog postpunk-funkgehalte in de songs verwerkt, die (ook al zijn het commerciële songs) je wat aan A Certain Ratio laten denken.

Adventures In Clubland is zo’n typische eightiesplaat waar je nooit meer aan denkt, maar eens je de tracks hoort, merk je dat ze heel wat pareltjes bevat. Dit debuut is nu op cd verkrijgbaar en zoals we gewend zijn van Cherry Red, is ook deze uitgave een expanded edition met daarop zeven bonustracks waaronder een paar leuke mixes die je op de maxi-singles kon terugvinden. Omdat muziek ook best de zonnige kant van het leven mag tonen, is deze heruitgave dus meer dan leuk!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R
13
08
AIMA
Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
12
08
AUGER
From Now On I

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS
07
08
CHELSEA announce European Tour in September

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo
17
08
MOTOR!K
Static
16
08
ENZO KREFT
Disobedient
15
08
DER KLINKE
CURTAINS