tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : MODERN ROMANCE - Adventures In Clubland

MODERN ROMANCE

Adventures In Clubland

MusicCD
Pop

[77/100]   

Cherry Pop
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course pop lovers know that since years Cherry Pop (a sub-label of Cherry Red Records) releases every month forgotten pop LPs, mostly from the 80s, and this month's release is dedicated to Modern Romance.

Do not say too quickly that you do not know this British pop band, because all its hits are somewhere deep in your mind. You probably know them even if you’re not aware of it. The group was founded in the early 80s, after Geoffrey Deane and David Jaymes were in the punk parody Leyton Buzzards. Even though this group won a record deal with Chrysalis through a competition organized by The Sun, their career never got off the ground. That changed with Modern Romance.

Punk was no more, but just funk with Latin American influences that came pretty close to Kid Creole And The Coconuts and (if you remember them) the Dutch Roberto Jacketti & The Scooters. Their debut album Adventures In Clubland is without doubt the best one ever released by these guys. Best Years Of Our Life, Everybody Salsa and the fantastic Queen Of The Rapping Scene surely are hits you know, and maybe you even danced to.

The Latin influences with a high post-punk-funk content remind us a bit of A Certain Ratio, even if Modern Romance is more commercial.

Adventures In Clubland is a typical eighties record you never think of, but once you hear it, you notice the many gems it contains.This debut album is now available on CD. It is an extended edition with seven bonus tracks, including some nice mixes from the maxi-singles. Because music also can show the bright side of life, this reissue is recommended!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Popliefhebbers zijn er natuurlijk al lang van op de hoogte, maar sinds jaren brengt Cherry Pop (een sublabel van Cherry Red Records) massa’s vergeten pop-lp’s uit. Meestal zijn het platen uit de jaren 80 en deze maand viel de keuze op Modern Romance.

Zeg niet te vlug dat je ze niet kent, want ook al zitten de hitjes van deze Britse popband diep in het achterhoofd verborgen, zal je de meeste hits wellicht kennen. De groep werd in het begin van de jaren 80 opgericht, nadat Geoffrey Deane en David Jaymes eerst in de punkparodie Leyton Buzzards zaten. Ook al won deze groep via een wedstrijd van The Sun een platendeal met Chrysalis, kwam hun carrière nooit van de grond. Dat veranderde met Modern Romance. Van punk was geen sprake meer, wel funk met Latijns-Amerikaanse klanken die tamelijk dicht bij Kid Creole And The Coconuts en (mocht je je ze nog herinneren) de Nederlandse Roberto Jacketti & The Scooters aansloten. Hun debuut-lp Adventures In Clubland is zonder meer de meest frisse plaat die deze jongens uitbrachten. Best Years Of Our LifeEverybody Salsa en het fantastische Queen Of The Rapping Scene heb je zeker al gehoord, en wie weet heb je er al op gedanst.

Door de Latijnse invloeden klinkt de muziek van Modern Romance zeer dansbaar, maar in hun eerste platen zat er ook een hoog postpunk-funkgehalte in de songs verwerkt, die (ook al zijn het commerciële songs) je wat aan A Certain Ratio laten denken.

Adventures In Clubland is zo’n typische eightiesplaat waar je nooit meer aan denkt, maar eens je de tracks hoort, merk je dat ze heel wat pareltjes bevat. Dit debuut is nu op cd verkrijgbaar en zoals we gewend zijn van Cherry Red, is ook deze uitgave een expanded edition met daarop zeven bonustracks waaronder een paar leuke mixes die je op de maxi-singles kon terugvinden. Omdat muziek ook best de zonnige kant van het leven mag tonen, is deze heruitgave dus meer dan leuk!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag