tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/10/2015 : MONSTER YOUTH - Lost Dream, Cool Fire

MONSTER YOUTH

Lost Dream, Cool Fire

MusicCD
Indie RockKrautrockPsych RockUnclassifiable

[77/100]   

Fons Records
05/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

When a band advises the fan to listen to its work with some gymnastics performed by the right hand (you know very well what we’re talking about), then you know that this quartet, built around Pauwel De Meyer, aka Zarkan Mehillab, is anything but serious.

In less than half an hour Pauwel and his gang (Yuri Dobbeleir, Koen De Gendt and Steven Meuleman) come up with nine noisy songs. It seems to be Monster Youth’s motto that perfection is just a waste of time, everything is right as long as the heart is at the right place and the sound rattles. In every track you can hear, next to the noise, some nice melodies that become more and more addictive after every spin. We could name dozens of bands that have influenced this quartet, but we assume that both Brian Wilson and Helmet were a source of inspiration. This diversion is only a proof of how these guys made their own noise from a varied record collection. If you want to hear radio friendly indie pop, you better forget about them as during every song it feels like your mom is vacuuming the room. However, fans of experimental (but melodic) noisepop will probably be thrilled when hearing this record.

Long Way To Go is delicious noise-pop US, while after hearing Bordeom Of Life, you probably fear that a few adherents of the Hare Krishna movement have landed on your doorstep. With the title track Lost Dream, Cool Fire you get the feeling that The Beatles (or is The Sonics?) are jamming in your bathroom. Beaver is the dirtiest, but also most beautiful psychedelic pop song (including the shoegaze guitars!) that we have heard in recent weeks. If you are in for a sing-a-long tune, you can play Do not Care At All. Actually, we could go on for a while, the main thing is that you should give this album a chance!

Didier BECU
05/10/2015


NL

Als een band de luisteraar adviseert om zijn werkstuk te beluisteren met wat rechterhandgymnastiek, dan weet je eigenlijk meteen ook dat het groepje dat is opgebouwd rond Pauwel De Meyer, aka Zarkan Mehillab, zich allesbehalve serieus neemt.

Op minder dan een half uur tijd jaagt Pauwel samen met Joeri Dobbeleir, Koen De Gendt en Steven Meuleman negen nummers door de speakers. Van perfectie is geen sprake, zolang het hart maar op de juiste plaats zit en het geluid lekker rammelt, zo klinkt het motto van Monster Youth. In ieder nummer hoor je tussen de pokkenherrie leuke melodietjes die na iedere draaibeurt meer en meer verslavend werken. We zouden tientallen bands kunnen opnoemen die deze Vlamingen hebben beïnvloed, maar we veronderstellen dat zowel Brian Wilson als Helmet een inspiratiebron zijn. Dit maar om te zeggen dat de heren van hun gevarieerde platenkast een eigen invloed hebben gebrouwen. Wie afgelikt radiovoer wil, moet niet bij dit viertal langs gaan, want tijdens ieder nummer lijkt het wel alsof je moeder de stofzuiger heeft laten aanstaan. Fans van experimentele, maar melodische noisepop, zullen wel in hun nopjes zijn met deze plaat.

Long Way To Go is heerlijke US noisepop, terwijl je bij Bordeom Of Life eventjes vreest dat er een paar aanhangers van de Hare Krishna-beweging op je stoep zijn belandt. Met de titeltrack Lost Dream, Cool Fire krijg je het gevoel dat The Beatles (of zijn het The Sonics?) in je badkamer staan te jammen. Beaver is dan weer het smerigste, maar allermooiste psychedelische popnummer (inclusief de shoegazegitaren!) dat we de laatste weken hebben gehoord. Wie een potje wil meezingen kan bij Don’t Care At All terecht. En tja, eigenlijk kunnen we nog wel zo een tijdje blijven doorgaan, het voornaamste is dat je deze plaat toch maar eens een kans moet geven!

 

 

 

Didier BECU
05/10/2015


 

Next reviews
JO LEMAIRE + FLOUZE • Pigmy world
JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
YOUTH LAGOON • Savage Hills Ballroom
CLUB 8 • Pleasure
BARBARA MORGENSTERN • Doppelstern
MACHINISTA • Xenoglossy (Expanded and remixed edition)
LUST FOR YOUTH • International
TAMAN SHUD/ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE • Ghent, De Vooruit (02/10/2015)
ORANGE OUTLAW • Desert Wolf
JONO MCCLEERY • Pagodes

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark

 

Same genre: KRAUTROCK
MOTOR!K • Motor!k
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
CAMERA • Phantom Of Liberty
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
NOTHING BUT NOISE VS PROTHESE • Music For Muted TV 2
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves

 

Same genre: PSYCH ROCK
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
GOLDEN APES • Malus
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
AHRAYEPH • Desert Songs
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions
DAVID BOWIE • Five Years 1969 - 1973
RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON • Subversive I

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro
CABARET VOLTAIRE • #7885 Electropunk to Technopop 1978-1985

Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela