tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/10/2015 : MONSTER YOUTH - Lost Dream, Cool Fire

MONSTER YOUTH

Lost Dream, Cool Fire

MusicCD
Indie RockKrautrockPsych RockUnclassifiable

[77/100]   

Fons Records
05/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

When a band advises the fan to listen to its work with some gymnastics performed by the right hand (you know very well what we’re talking about), then you know that this quartet, built around Pauwel De Meyer, aka Zarkan Mehillab, is anything but serious.

In less than half an hour Pauwel and his gang (Yuri Dobbeleir, Koen De Gendt and Steven Meuleman) come up with nine noisy songs. It seems to be Monster Youth’s motto that perfection is just a waste of time, everything is right as long as the heart is at the right place and the sound rattles. In every track you can hear, next to the noise, some nice melodies that become more and more addictive after every spin. We could name dozens of bands that have influenced this quartet, but we assume that both Brian Wilson and Helmet were a source of inspiration. This diversion is only a proof of how these guys made their own noise from a varied record collection. If you want to hear radio friendly indie pop, you better forget about them as during every song it feels like your mom is vacuuming the room. However, fans of experimental (but melodic) noisepop will probably be thrilled when hearing this record.

Long Way To Go is delicious noise-pop US, while after hearing Bordeom Of Life, you probably fear that a few adherents of the Hare Krishna movement have landed on your doorstep. With the title track Lost Dream, Cool Fire you get the feeling that The Beatles (or is The Sonics?) are jamming in your bathroom. Beaver is the dirtiest, but also most beautiful psychedelic pop song (including the shoegaze guitars!) that we have heard in recent weeks. If you are in for a sing-a-long tune, you can play Do not Care At All. Actually, we could go on for a while, the main thing is that you should give this album a chance!

Didier BECU
05/10/2015


NL

Als een band de luisteraar adviseert om zijn werkstuk te beluisteren met wat rechterhandgymnastiek, dan weet je eigenlijk meteen ook dat het groepje dat is opgebouwd rond Pauwel De Meyer, aka Zarkan Mehillab, zich allesbehalve serieus neemt.

Op minder dan een half uur tijd jaagt Pauwel samen met Joeri Dobbeleir, Koen De Gendt en Steven Meuleman negen nummers door de speakers. Van perfectie is geen sprake, zolang het hart maar op de juiste plaats zit en het geluid lekker rammelt, zo klinkt het motto van Monster Youth. In ieder nummer hoor je tussen de pokkenherrie leuke melodietjes die na iedere draaibeurt meer en meer verslavend werken. We zouden tientallen bands kunnen opnoemen die deze Vlamingen hebben beïnvloed, maar we veronderstellen dat zowel Brian Wilson als Helmet een inspiratiebron zijn. Dit maar om te zeggen dat de heren van hun gevarieerde platenkast een eigen invloed hebben gebrouwen. Wie afgelikt radiovoer wil, moet niet bij dit viertal langs gaan, want tijdens ieder nummer lijkt het wel alsof je moeder de stofzuiger heeft laten aanstaan. Fans van experimentele, maar melodische noisepop, zullen wel in hun nopjes zijn met deze plaat.

Long Way To Go is heerlijke US noisepop, terwijl je bij Bordeom Of Life eventjes vreest dat er een paar aanhangers van de Hare Krishna-beweging op je stoep zijn belandt. Met de titeltrack Lost Dream, Cool Fire krijg je het gevoel dat The Beatles (of zijn het The Sonics?) in je badkamer staan te jammen. Beaver is dan weer het smerigste, maar allermooiste psychedelische popnummer (inclusief de shoegazegitaren!) dat we de laatste weken hebben gehoord. Wie een potje wil meezingen kan bij Don’t Care At All terecht. En tja, eigenlijk kunnen we nog wel zo een tijdje blijven doorgaan, het voornaamste is dat je deze plaat toch maar eens een kans moet geven!

 

 

 

Didier BECU
05/10/2015


 

Next reviews
JO LEMAIRE + FLOUZE • Pigmy world
JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
YOUTH LAGOON • Savage Hills Ballroom
CLUB 8 • Pleasure
BARBARA MORGENSTERN • Doppelstern
MACHINISTA • Xenoglossy (Expanded and remixed edition)
LUST FOR YOUTH • International
TAMAN SHUD/ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE • Ghent, De Vooruit (02/10/2015)
ORANGE OUTLAW • Desert Wolf
JONO MCCLEERY • Pagodes

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!

 

Same genre: KRAUTROCK
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
CAMERA • Phantom Of Liberty
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
NOTHING BUT NOISE VS PROTHESE • Music For Muted TV 2
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves
SUUNS • Hold/Still

 

Same genre: PSYCH ROCK
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
GOLDEN APES • Malus
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
AHRAYEPH • Desert Songs
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions
DAVID BOWIE • Five Years 1969 - 1973
RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON • Subversive I

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro
CABARET VOLTAIRE • #7885 Electropunk to Technopop 1978-1985

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover