tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

05/10/2015 : MONSTER YOUTH - Lost Dream, Cool Fire

MONSTER YOUTH

Lost Dream, Cool Fire

MusicCD
Indie RockKrautrockPsych RockUnclassifiable

[77/100]   

Fons Records
05/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

When a band advises the fan to listen to its work with some gymnastics performed by the right hand (you know very well what we’re talking about), then you know that this quartet, built around Pauwel De Meyer, aka Zarkan Mehillab, is anything but serious.

In less than half an hour Pauwel and his gang (Yuri Dobbeleir, Koen De Gendt and Steven Meuleman) come up with nine noisy songs. It seems to be Monster Youth’s motto that perfection is just a waste of time, everything is right as long as the heart is at the right place and the sound rattles. In every track you can hear, next to the noise, some nice melodies that become more and more addictive after every spin. We could name dozens of bands that have influenced this quartet, but we assume that both Brian Wilson and Helmet were a source of inspiration. This diversion is only a proof of how these guys made their own noise from a varied record collection. If you want to hear radio friendly indie pop, you better forget about them as during every song it feels like your mom is vacuuming the room. However, fans of experimental (but melodic) noisepop will probably be thrilled when hearing this record.

Long Way To Go is delicious noise-pop US, while after hearing Bordeom Of Life, you probably fear that a few adherents of the Hare Krishna movement have landed on your doorstep. With the title track Lost Dream, Cool Fire you get the feeling that The Beatles (or is The Sonics?) are jamming in your bathroom. Beaver is the dirtiest, but also most beautiful psychedelic pop song (including the shoegaze guitars!) that we have heard in recent weeks. If you are in for a sing-a-long tune, you can play Do not Care At All. Actually, we could go on for a while, the main thing is that you should give this album a chance!

Didier BECU
05/10/2015


NL

Als een band de luisteraar adviseert om zijn werkstuk te beluisteren met wat rechterhandgymnastiek, dan weet je eigenlijk meteen ook dat het groepje dat is opgebouwd rond Pauwel De Meyer, aka Zarkan Mehillab, zich allesbehalve serieus neemt.

Op minder dan een half uur tijd jaagt Pauwel samen met Joeri Dobbeleir, Koen De Gendt en Steven Meuleman negen nummers door de speakers. Van perfectie is geen sprake, zolang het hart maar op de juiste plaats zit en het geluid lekker rammelt, zo klinkt het motto van Monster Youth. In ieder nummer hoor je tussen de pokkenherrie leuke melodietjes die na iedere draaibeurt meer en meer verslavend werken. We zouden tientallen bands kunnen opnoemen die deze Vlamingen hebben beïnvloed, maar we veronderstellen dat zowel Brian Wilson als Helmet een inspiratiebron zijn. Dit maar om te zeggen dat de heren van hun gevarieerde platenkast een eigen invloed hebben gebrouwen. Wie afgelikt radiovoer wil, moet niet bij dit viertal langs gaan, want tijdens ieder nummer lijkt het wel alsof je moeder de stofzuiger heeft laten aanstaan. Fans van experimentele, maar melodische noisepop, zullen wel in hun nopjes zijn met deze plaat.

Long Way To Go is heerlijke US noisepop, terwijl je bij Bordeom Of Life eventjes vreest dat er een paar aanhangers van de Hare Krishna-beweging op je stoep zijn belandt. Met de titeltrack Lost Dream, Cool Fire krijg je het gevoel dat The Beatles (of zijn het The Sonics?) in je badkamer staan te jammen. Beaver is dan weer het smerigste, maar allermooiste psychedelische popnummer (inclusief de shoegazegitaren!) dat we de laatste weken hebben gehoord. Wie een potje wil meezingen kan bij Don’t Care At All terecht. En tja, eigenlijk kunnen we nog wel zo een tijdje blijven doorgaan, het voornaamste is dat je deze plaat toch maar eens een kans moet geven!

 

 

 

Didier BECU
05/10/2015


 

Next reviews
JO LEMAIRE + FLOUZE • Pigmy world
JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
YOUTH LAGOON • Savage Hills Ballroom
CLUB 8 • Pleasure
BARBARA MORGENSTERN • Doppelstern
MACHINISTA • Xenoglossy (Expanded and remixed edition)
LUST FOR YOUTH • International
TAMAN SHUD/ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE • Ghent, De Vooruit (02/10/2015)
ORANGE OUTLAW • Desert Wolf
JONO MCCLEERY • Pagodes

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
SWITCHFOOT • When the Light Shines Through
EVIL SUPERSTARS • Mechelen, Kerk Cultuurcentrum (04/06/2016)
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
MARGARET GLASPY • Emotions and Mat

 

Same genre: KRAUTROCK
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
CAMERA • Phantom Of Liberty
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
NOTHING BUT NOISE VS PROTHESE • Music For Muted TV 2
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves
SUUNS • Hold/Still
DENNIS YOUNG • WAVE/Electronic Music 1984-1988
DIE KRUPPS • Stahlwerk Requiem

 

Same genre: PSYCH ROCK
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
GOLDEN APES • Malus
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
AHRAYEPH • Desert Songs
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions
DAVID BOWIE • Five Years 1969 - 1973
RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON • Subversive I

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro
CABARET VOLTAIRE • #7885 Electropunk to Technopop 1978-1985

Music reviews

11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors
03
12
IVANKOVA
Ivankovà EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video
14
12
This Friday the renowned Belgian Independent Music Festival 2017 (BIMFEST XVI) will kick-Off!
13
12
Brand new video by Crash Course In Science!
12
12
In Strict Confidence releases HERZ & FROZEN KISSES, a two-in-one single release with remixes and more!
11
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE to release entire catalogue remastered on EROMEDA RECORDS
10
12
Antwerp triphop / indiepop band Psy'Aviah announces new album!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
12
EUFORIC EXCISTENCE
Euforic Existence: We like to be put under the heading of EBM, but realize that we are an outsider. I would not want anything else.
09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’

PHOTOS

11
12
LACUNA COIL
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
11
12
CELLAR DARLING
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
05
12
FRONT 242
Ab Brussel
05
12
METROLAND
Ab Brussel
05
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
SHE PAST AWAY
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
GOLDEN APES
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

16
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE
Sunset Beach
15
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
14
12
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
13
12
BLANCMANGE
Blind Vision (HD)
12
12
THEN COMES SILENCE
The Dead Cry For No One
11
12
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Eclipse (Vintage Version - Live in Erfurt 2017)
10
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
A Rainbow Is Fading