tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/10/2015 : MONSTER YOUTH - Lost Dream, Cool Fire

MONSTER YOUTH

Lost Dream, Cool Fire

MusicCD
Indie RockKrautrockPsych RockUnclassifiable

[77/100]   

Fons Records
05/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

When a band advises the fan to listen to its work with some gymnastics performed by the right hand (you know very well what we’re talking about), then you know that this quartet, built around Pauwel De Meyer, aka Zarkan Mehillab, is anything but serious.

In less than half an hour Pauwel and his gang (Yuri Dobbeleir, Koen De Gendt and Steven Meuleman) come up with nine noisy songs. It seems to be Monster Youth’s motto that perfection is just a waste of time, everything is right as long as the heart is at the right place and the sound rattles. In every track you can hear, next to the noise, some nice melodies that become more and more addictive after every spin. We could name dozens of bands that have influenced this quartet, but we assume that both Brian Wilson and Helmet were a source of inspiration. This diversion is only a proof of how these guys made their own noise from a varied record collection. If you want to hear radio friendly indie pop, you better forget about them as during every song it feels like your mom is vacuuming the room. However, fans of experimental (but melodic) noisepop will probably be thrilled when hearing this record.

Long Way To Go is delicious noise-pop US, while after hearing Bordeom Of Life, you probably fear that a few adherents of the Hare Krishna movement have landed on your doorstep. With the title track Lost Dream, Cool Fire you get the feeling that The Beatles (or is The Sonics?) are jamming in your bathroom. Beaver is the dirtiest, but also most beautiful psychedelic pop song (including the shoegaze guitars!) that we have heard in recent weeks. If you are in for a sing-a-long tune, you can play Do not Care At All. Actually, we could go on for a while, the main thing is that you should give this album a chance!

Didier BECU
05/10/2015


NL

Als een band de luisteraar adviseert om zijn werkstuk te beluisteren met wat rechterhandgymnastiek, dan weet je eigenlijk meteen ook dat het groepje dat is opgebouwd rond Pauwel De Meyer, aka Zarkan Mehillab, zich allesbehalve serieus neemt.

Op minder dan een half uur tijd jaagt Pauwel samen met Joeri Dobbeleir, Koen De Gendt en Steven Meuleman negen nummers door de speakers. Van perfectie is geen sprake, zolang het hart maar op de juiste plaats zit en het geluid lekker rammelt, zo klinkt het motto van Monster Youth. In ieder nummer hoor je tussen de pokkenherrie leuke melodietjes die na iedere draaibeurt meer en meer verslavend werken. We zouden tientallen bands kunnen opnoemen die deze Vlamingen hebben beïnvloed, maar we veronderstellen dat zowel Brian Wilson als Helmet een inspiratiebron zijn. Dit maar om te zeggen dat de heren van hun gevarieerde platenkast een eigen invloed hebben gebrouwen. Wie afgelikt radiovoer wil, moet niet bij dit viertal langs gaan, want tijdens ieder nummer lijkt het wel alsof je moeder de stofzuiger heeft laten aanstaan. Fans van experimentele, maar melodische noisepop, zullen wel in hun nopjes zijn met deze plaat.

Long Way To Go is heerlijke US noisepop, terwijl je bij Bordeom Of Life eventjes vreest dat er een paar aanhangers van de Hare Krishna-beweging op je stoep zijn belandt. Met de titeltrack Lost Dream, Cool Fire krijg je het gevoel dat The Beatles (of zijn het The Sonics?) in je badkamer staan te jammen. Beaver is dan weer het smerigste, maar allermooiste psychedelische popnummer (inclusief de shoegazegitaren!) dat we de laatste weken hebben gehoord. Wie een potje wil meezingen kan bij Don’t Care At All terecht. En tja, eigenlijk kunnen we nog wel zo een tijdje blijven doorgaan, het voornaamste is dat je deze plaat toch maar eens een kans moet geven!

 

 

 

Didier BECU
05/10/2015


 

Next reviews
JO LEMAIRE + FLOUZE • Pigmy world
JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
YOUTH LAGOON • Savage Hills Ballroom
CLUB 8 • Pleasure
BARBARA MORGENSTERN • Doppelstern
MACHINISTA • Xenoglossy (Expanded and remixed edition)
LUST FOR YOUTH • International
TAMAN SHUD/ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE • Ghent, De Vooruit (02/10/2015)
ORANGE OUTLAW • Desert Wolf
JONO MCCLEERY • Pagodes

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
A SLICE OF LIFE • Tabula Rasa
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
THE HEAT INC. • EP
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me

 

Same genre: KRAUTROCK
MOTOR!K • Motor!k
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
CAMERA • Phantom Of Liberty
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
NOTHING BUT NOISE VS PROTHESE • Music For Muted TV 2
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves

 

Same genre: PSYCH ROCK
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
GOLDEN APES • Malus
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
AHRAYEPH • Desert Songs
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions
DAVID BOWIE • Five Years 1969 - 1973

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro
CABARET VOLTAIRE • #7885 Electropunk to Technopop 1978-1985

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky