tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

06/04/2014 : MORE THAN A THOUSAND - Vol. 5 - Lost at home

MORE THAN A THOUSAND

Vol. 5 - Lost at home

MusicCD
Heavy Metal

[80/100]   

Steamhammer/SPV
06/04/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

There’s something global about More Than A Thousand (MTAT): was born in Portugal, lived in London, records in the USA and Sweden, sings in English and plays universal. MTAT mix of grinding and alternative metal helped make them one of the most popular Portuguese bands in the socalled EMO explosion of the late 00’s. But even more helpful was their attention-grabbing shows: the band’s performances are raw, dark and uptight, like an exploding hurricane. Add to that a lyrical preoccupation with darkness and human loss and you’ll find MTAT’s motto. Formed in late 2001 the band already released 4 full length albums and gained a lot of popularity due to the fact that they did several tours all over Europe as a headliner and supported major acts like Metallica, Mastodon, Papa Roach, Incubus amongst many others. The brand new album “Vol.5 – Lost At Home” shows that this band is constantly growing. The right sound was done by well-known producer Henrik Udd (In Flames, Opeth, Bring Me The Horizon and many others) who mixed the songs at Studio Fredman / Sweden.

So far the promo talk, as I didn't knew this one & great to see their international roots! The music is far as far as I can judge simply hard and heavy, straight forward and technically speaking more than ok!I enjoyed the album, but somehow can't find anymore words to write the review. It's a great package with a nice mix between harsh and clean voice. Maybe they need more balance between the songs, ad a balad, I don't know. It feels a bit too much of the same (but high quality). Sepultura managed to catch me better than these guys, but i'm pretty sure that more fans will say I'm wrong and give them a higher chance!

Tracklisting:
1. Heist
2. Lost At Home
3. Fight Your Demons
4. I Am The Anchor
5. Feed the Caskets
6. Dear Friend
7. Song Of Death
8. Never Let Go
9. Swallow Your Poison
10. Cross My Heart
11. No Mercy For The Weak
12. Interlude
13. Room Of Blades
14. Midnight Calls (Hidden Track)

Filip VAN MUYLEM
06/04/2014


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky