tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

06/04/2014 : MORE THAN A THOUSAND - Vol. 5 - Lost at home

MORE THAN A THOUSAND

Vol. 5 - Lost at home

MusicCD
Heavy Metal

[80/100]   

Steamhammer/SPV
06/04/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

There’s something global about More Than A Thousand (MTAT): was born in Portugal, lived in London, records in the USA and Sweden, sings in English and plays universal. MTAT mix of grinding and alternative metal helped make them one of the most popular Portuguese bands in the socalled EMO explosion of the late 00’s. But even more helpful was their attention-grabbing shows: the band’s performances are raw, dark and uptight, like an exploding hurricane. Add to that a lyrical preoccupation with darkness and human loss and you’ll find MTAT’s motto. Formed in late 2001 the band already released 4 full length albums and gained a lot of popularity due to the fact that they did several tours all over Europe as a headliner and supported major acts like Metallica, Mastodon, Papa Roach, Incubus amongst many others. The brand new album “Vol.5 – Lost At Home” shows that this band is constantly growing. The right sound was done by well-known producer Henrik Udd (In Flames, Opeth, Bring Me The Horizon and many others) who mixed the songs at Studio Fredman / Sweden.

So far the promo talk, as I didn't knew this one & great to see their international roots! The music is far as far as I can judge simply hard and heavy, straight forward and technically speaking more than ok!I enjoyed the album, but somehow can't find anymore words to write the review. It's a great package with a nice mix between harsh and clean voice. Maybe they need more balance between the songs, ad a balad, I don't know. It feels a bit too much of the same (but high quality). Sepultura managed to catch me better than these guys, but i'm pretty sure that more fans will say I'm wrong and give them a higher chance!

Tracklisting:
1. Heist
2. Lost At Home
3. Fight Your Demons
4. I Am The Anchor
5. Feed the Caskets
6. Dear Friend
7. Song Of Death
8. Never Let Go
9. Swallow Your Poison
10. Cross My Heart
11. No Mercy For The Weak
12. Interlude
13. Room Of Blades
14. Midnight Calls (Hidden Track)

Filip VAN MUYLEM
06/04/2014


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain