tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

06/12/2017 : MORTAL VOID - Of shadows and mirrors

MORTAL VOID

Of shadows and mirrors

MusicCD
Dark ElectroEBMIndustrialSynthpop

[99/100]   
06/12/2017, Masha KASHA

Mortal Void is a one man dark electro project from Düsseldorf (Germany). The band itself has a longer history, going back to 2001 but the album issued in September 2017 consists of brand new songs.

Style

Well the best way to tell how Mortal Void describe themselves on Bandcamp:

"It pretty much sounds like this:
"Ba dum ts ba dum tsa ba dum ba
boo ba dum ba da ba dibi dibi doo."

...and that's just the chorus!" :)

Actually the album is a good mixture of everything - good German and English synthpop, sometimes sliding to Industrial, sometimes more agressive EBM. From melancholy ballads to oppressive sociocritical beats. The songs include a lot of sound footage from movies as well. The amplitude of vocal variation and a good overall balance between "light" and "powerful" is worth mentioning. The style of the album varies from "Das Ich" to "Solitary Experiments", one song sounds like one band, another fully different and sometimes things completely inbetween.

Favourite songs

In this case it is an especially difficult choice, since all the songs are really different and include various aspects. I really loved "Wir begraben die Vergangenheit": soft, electric, robotic but with some catchy lyrics. "1000 Fehlversuche" is more rebelious and dark and pretty funky. "Funken der Erinnerung" is almost a gothic hip hop. I love electronic and energizing "Fighting the symptoms".

When to listen to it

On gloomy snowy Winter days, when you are not in "jingle bells" mood. If you love gothic and robotic beats.

To sum it up

Mortal void managed to make a perfect album - perfect lyrics, perfect composition, good diversity in tracks and music approach. And if you have forgotten your high school German - time to grab your dictionary. A masterpiece, 99 out of 100!

Masha KASHA
06/12/2017


 

Next reviews
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
LAU NAU • Poseidon
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK • OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls

 

Same genre: EBM
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
10
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession