tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

06/12/2017 : MORTAL VOID - Of shadows and mirrors

MORTAL VOID

Of shadows and mirrors

MusicCD
Dark ElectroEBMIndustrialSynthpop

[99/100]   
06/12/2017, Masha KASHA

Mortal Void is a one man dark electro project from Düsseldorf (Germany). The band itself has a longer history, going back to 2001 but the album issued in September 2017 consists of brand new songs.

Style

Well the best way to tell how Mortal Void describe themselves on Bandcamp:

"It pretty much sounds like this:
"Ba dum ts ba dum tsa ba dum ba
boo ba dum ba da ba dibi dibi doo."

...and that's just the chorus!" :)

Actually the album is a good mixture of everything - good German and English synthpop, sometimes sliding to Industrial, sometimes more agressive EBM. From melancholy ballads to oppressive sociocritical beats. The songs include a lot of sound footage from movies as well. The amplitude of vocal variation and a good overall balance between "light" and "powerful" is worth mentioning. The style of the album varies from "Das Ich" to "Solitary Experiments", one song sounds like one band, another fully different and sometimes things completely inbetween.

Favourite songs

In this case it is an especially difficult choice, since all the songs are really different and include various aspects. I really loved "Wir begraben die Vergangenheit": soft, electric, robotic but with some catchy lyrics. "1000 Fehlversuche" is more rebelious and dark and pretty funky. "Funken der Erinnerung" is almost a gothic hip hop. I love electronic and energizing "Fighting the symptoms".

When to listen to it

On gloomy snowy Winter days, when you are not in "jingle bells" mood. If you love gothic and robotic beats.

To sum it up

Mortal void managed to make a perfect album - perfect lyrics, perfect composition, good diversity in tracks and music approach. And if you have forgotten your high school German - time to grab your dictionary. A masterpiece, 99 out of 100!

Masha KASHA
06/12/2017


 

Next reviews
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
LAU NAU • Poseidon
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK • OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
DICEPEOPLE • One From Many
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit

 

Same genre: EBM
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
KLANGWELT • The Incident
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
STACIAN • Person L
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
3TEETH • Shutdown.exe
DIVE • Underneath
LUXVID • Trench
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray
AM TIERPARK • Trashy Luxury
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party

Music reviews

17
11
ALIEN VAMPIRES
Evil Twin Ep
16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident
14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
New album by BORGHESIA - Proti kapitulaciji (Against Capitulation) - Out now!
17
11
Rise Of The Robots | Autobahn Reaches 44-Years
16
11
Varsovie present brand new video clip, Killing Anna!
13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works
15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
11
BLEIB MODERN
Paper Skin
17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission
14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)