tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

06/12/2017 : MORTAL VOID - Of shadows and mirrors

MORTAL VOID

Of shadows and mirrors

MusicCD
Dark ElectroEBMIndustrialSynthpop

[99/100]   
06/12/2017, Masha KASHA

Mortal Void is a one man dark electro project from Düsseldorf (Germany). The band itself has a longer history, going back to 2001 but the album issued in September 2017 consists of brand new songs.

Style

Well the best way to tell how Mortal Void describe themselves on Bandcamp:

"It pretty much sounds like this:
"Ba dum ts ba dum tsa ba dum ba
boo ba dum ba da ba dibi dibi doo."

...and that's just the chorus!" :)

Actually the album is a good mixture of everything - good German and English synthpop, sometimes sliding to Industrial, sometimes more agressive EBM. From melancholy ballads to oppressive sociocritical beats. The songs include a lot of sound footage from movies as well. The amplitude of vocal variation and a good overall balance between "light" and "powerful" is worth mentioning. The style of the album varies from "Das Ich" to "Solitary Experiments", one song sounds like one band, another fully different and sometimes things completely inbetween.

Favourite songs

In this case it is an especially difficult choice, since all the songs are really different and include various aspects. I really loved "Wir begraben die Vergangenheit": soft, electric, robotic but with some catchy lyrics. "1000 Fehlversuche" is more rebelious and dark and pretty funky. "Funken der Erinnerung" is almost a gothic hip hop. I love electronic and energizing "Fighting the symptoms".

When to listen to it

On gloomy snowy Winter days, when you are not in "jingle bells" mood. If you love gothic and robotic beats.

To sum it up

Mortal void managed to make a perfect album - perfect lyrics, perfect composition, good diversity in tracks and music approach. And if you have forgotten your high school German - time to grab your dictionary. A masterpiece, 99 out of 100!

Masha KASHA
06/12/2017


 

Next reviews
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
LAU NAU • Poseidon
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK • OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

 

Same genre: EBM
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
KLANGWELT • The Incident
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
STACIAN • Person L

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures