tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

06/12/2017 : MORTAL VOID - Of shadows and mirrors

MORTAL VOID

Of shadows and mirrors

MusicCD
Dark ElectroEBMIndustrialSynthpop

[99/100]   
06/12/2017, Masha KASHA

Mortal Void is a one man dark electro project from Düsseldorf (Germany). The band itself has a longer history, going back to 2001 but the album issued in September 2017 consists of brand new songs.

Style

Well the best way to tell how Mortal Void describe themselves on Bandcamp:

"It pretty much sounds like this:
"Ba dum ts ba dum tsa ba dum ba
boo ba dum ba da ba dibi dibi doo."

...and that's just the chorus!" :)

Actually the album is a good mixture of everything - good German and English synthpop, sometimes sliding to Industrial, sometimes more agressive EBM. From melancholy ballads to oppressive sociocritical beats. The songs include a lot of sound footage from movies as well. The amplitude of vocal variation and a good overall balance between "light" and "powerful" is worth mentioning. The style of the album varies from "Das Ich" to "Solitary Experiments", one song sounds like one band, another fully different and sometimes things completely inbetween.

Favourite songs

In this case it is an especially difficult choice, since all the songs are really different and include various aspects. I really loved "Wir begraben die Vergangenheit": soft, electric, robotic but with some catchy lyrics. "1000 Fehlversuche" is more rebelious and dark and pretty funky. "Funken der Erinnerung" is almost a gothic hip hop. I love electronic and energizing "Fighting the symptoms".

When to listen to it

On gloomy snowy Winter days, when you are not in "jingle bells" mood. If you love gothic and robotic beats.

To sum it up

Mortal void managed to make a perfect album - perfect lyrics, perfect composition, good diversity in tracks and music approach. And if you have forgotten your high school German - time to grab your dictionary. A masterpiece, 99 out of 100!

Masha KASHA
06/12/2017


 

Next reviews
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
LAU NAU • Poseidon
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK • OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
FEU FOLLET • Le champ des morts
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia

 

Same genre: EBM
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
STRIKKLAND • Predatorial Right
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Armèn
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
XTORT • Nothing is real
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination