tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : MOTHERS - When You Walk a Long Distance You are Tired

MOTHERS

When You Walk a Long Distance You are Tired

MusicCD
PopRock

[70/100]   

Wichita Recordings
09/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

Mothers is a band from Athens (Georgia), consisting of Kristine Leschper (vocals/guitar), Matthew Anderegg (drums), Drew Kirby (guitar) and Patrick Morales (bass). When You Walk a Long Distance You Are Tired is the debut album of these Americans and it got a lot of attention in the international press. According to the British webzine Drowned in Sound, it is the best new band we've heard in ages, and we must admit that Kristine Leschper has a lot of potential.

The album starts with Too Small for Eyes, in which the fragile vocals are backed by a gentle mandolin sound. No guitars, no drums, occasional piano and strings; for the rest only the desolate girlish voice of Kristine Lepscher. A wonderful and promising start. Hurts until it Doesn’t gets quiet guitars and drums. It is a similar, albeit more dressed composition, atmospheric and melodious with a desolate tone. In Copper Mines, the pace is faster. It is a quiet rock ballad with Kristine Lepscher in the lead, supported by a hopping and dark bass and then a lot of guitar strumming, while in Nesting Behavior, the singer’s plaintive vocals are supported by a dark and beautiful sounding cello. Again a fragile and excellent ballad.

The guitars get more space again in Lockjaw, but technically there is not much difference with what we have heard before. Bloodletting sounds good, but hardly brings anything new and that goes for Burden of Proof, Hold Your Own Hand and closing song Accessory Cloud. Not bad, promising even, but too much of the same.

Tracks:
1 Too Small for Eyes
2 Hurts Until it Doesn’t
3 Copper Mines
4 Nesting Behavior
5 Lockjaw
6 Blood Letting
7 Burden of Proof
8 Hold Your Own Hand
9 Accessory Cloud

It Hurts Until it Doesn’t

William LIÉNARD
09/12/2016


NL

Mothers is een band uit Athens (Georgia), bestaande uit Kristine Leschper (vocals/gitaar), Matthew Anderegg (drums), Drew Kirby (gitaar) en Patrick Morales (bas). When You Walk a Long Distance You are Tired is het debuutalbum van deze Amerikanen die op heel wat aandacht in de internationale pers mogen rekenen. Volgens het Britse webmagazine Drowned in Sound is Mothers the best new band we’ve heard in ages, en we geven eerlijk toe dat Kristine Leschper heel wat in haar mars heeft. Tijd dus om ons licht op te steken.

Het album begint heel sterk met Too Small for Eyes, waarin de breekbare vocalen worden gesteund door fragiel mandolinegeluid. Geen gitaren, geen drums, wél af en toe piano en strijkers; voor de rest alleen de desolate meisjesachtige stem van Lepscher. Zondermeer wondermooi en een veelbelovend begin. Hurts until it Doesn’t krijgt rustige gitaren en drums, waardoor er sprake is van een gelijksoortige, zij het meer aangeklede compositie, atmosferisch en welluidend met een desolate ondertoon. In Copper Mines ligt het tempo hoger, een rustige rockballade met Kristine Lepscher in de hoofdrol, een huppende en donkere bas ter ondersteuning en nadien flink wat gitaargetokkel, terwijl Lepschers klagende vocalen in Nesting Behavior de steun krijgen van een prachtig klinkende en donkere cello. Opnieuw een fragiele en excellente ballade.

In Lockjaw krijgen de gitaren opnieuw meer ruimte, maar technisch is er niet veel verschil met wat we eerder hebben gehoord. Blood Letting klinkt goed, maar brengt nauwelijks wat nieuws en dat geldt evenzeer voor Burden of Proof, Hold Your Own Hand en hekkensluiter Accessory Cloud. Niet slecht, veelbelovend zelfs, maar te veel van hetzelfde.

Tracks:
1 Too Small for Eyes
2 Hurts Until it Doesn’t
3 Copper Mines
4 Nesting Behavior
5 Lockjaw
6 Blood Letting
7 Burden of Proof
8 Hold Your Own Hand
9 Accessory Cloud

It Hurts Until it Doesn’t

William LIÉNARD
09/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation