tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/05/2011 : MOUNTAINS - Air Museum

MOUNTAINS

Air Museum

MusicCD
ElectroExperimental

[82/100]   
23/05/2011, Didier BECU

Those who like experimental electronic music will certainly be aware of Thrill Jockey Records, and those same people will know who Mountains are, as their debut “Choral”, released in 2009, became one of the biggest sellers in the label’s history.

Mountains are the duo Brendon Anderegg and Koen Holtkamp and they’re aiming for a sound that search the limits in acoustic and electronic music.

“Air Museum” is kind of special as this is their first record in which all acoustic instruments were used without a computer.

The result is rather breathtaking as their world, which consists mainly of drones, is carved into your soul.

From time to time, it gives you the same feeling as if you’re listening to some Spacemen 3 but where the guitar distortion has been replaced by a drone sound like the one we know from Dirk Serries.

Isn’t this type of music rather boring, you ask? Well, we know that this type of music is, most of the time, not the easiest of things and even if we won’t call Mountains your average type of music we tend to say this is rather accessible.

Didier BECU
23/05/2011


 

Next reviews
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA • Innocent awareness
LARVA • Und sie assen sich selbst
THE CHAMELEONS • Script Of The Bridge | 25th Anniversary Edition
FORMA • Forma
FOR AGAINST • Black Soap EP
NECRO FACILITY • Wintermute
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Movement One Vol.3
TOUR DE FORCE • Colours In Life
LUUP • Meadow Rituals
COLD COLD GROUND • This side of depravity

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + EXPERIMENTAL
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
VARIOUS • 4 in 1 Volume 4
PSEUDO CODE • Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age
CONRAD SCHNITZLER • KOLLECKTION 5
MONOCORPSE, FFFC, FOQL • 3 EP's on Gooiland Electro
NEUGEBORENE MUZIK • Neugeborene Muzik
DISTEL • Puur
PSEUDO CODE • The Radio’s On
COCKSURE • TKO (12')

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

Music reviews

06
06
I LIKE TRAINS
The Truth
05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
06
PSYCHE
The Things That Dreams Are Made Of (Party Monster Mix)
05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE