tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

14/12/2015 : MY BABY - Ghent, De Charlatan (11/12/2015)

MY BABY

Ghent, De Charlatan (11/12/2015)

Concert
14/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

By now, the Flemish concept of Glimps (Ghent) is kind of familiar: during three days you can discover the bands that are most interesting to follow. A commendable initiative, even though many genres are totally ignored.

Peek-A-Boo opted for My Baby. If you are not Dutch, then the name probably means nothing to you, but in homeland Holland this trio already sold out the large venue Paradiso. "No problem," said the extremely sympathetic Cato, "our band always did it all alone and everything we reached is done by our audience". Well, if that is the way to make it, then it will be no problem for My Baby to conquer Flanders too. Despite the early hour (two o’clock in the afternoon) and a too short set (25 minutes) Cato, her brother Daniel and Joost managed within the shortest time to overwhelm the venue with their talent.

Even though we like the second album Shamanaid, recently is released by Starman Records in Belgium, My Baby is first and foremost a live band.

For most of the attendees My Baby was a brand new band, but from the first note you noticed that this trio is formed by experienced professionals who handle their instruments (from self-built guitars to a violin) as masters. Most songs of the (way too short) set came from the second album. If you fail to describe the sound of this Dutch band on CD, then it even is a more difficult assignment when My Baby plays live, a delicious mixture of indie, funk, rock and blues and a considerable amount of crazy energy.

Cato apparently was impressed by the enthusiastic audience. The public realized that it saw a great lady (with an even bigger voice) at work. Afterwards, the Dutch singer almost apologized for the praise she received. Not necessary at all, with such a sound (and especially talent) My Baby’s fame will only expand.

Didier BECU
14/12/2015


NL

Het concept van Glimps is ondertussen meer dan bekend: in een recordtempo van drie dagen probeert men in de Gentse binnenstad de muziekliefhebber te tonen welke bands het meest interessant zijn om te volgen. Een lovenswaardig initiatief, ook al worden jammer genoeg heel wat genres over het hoofd gezien.

Peek-A-Boo koos voor My Baby. Als je geen Nederlander bent, zegt de naam je misschien bitter weinig, maar dit drietal verkocht in zijn thuisland al Paradiso uit. “Geen nood,” vertelde de uiterst sympathieke Cato aan deze reporter, “onze groep heeft het steeds helemaal alleen geklaard en we staan er vandaag dankzij ons publiek”. Als dat de manier is om het te maken, dan zal het voor My Baby wellicht ook geen probleem zijn om Vlaanderen in te palmen. Ondanks het ondankbare vroege uur (twee uur ’s middags) en een veel te korte set (25 minuten), slaagden Cato, broer Joost en Daniel er binnen de kortste tijd in om de aardig volgelopen Charlatan van hun talent te overtuigen.

Ook al waren we op onze pagina’s te spreken over hun tweede plaat Shamanaid die onlangs door Starman Records in België werd uitgebracht, is My Baby in de allereerste plaats een liveband. Want, wat een kracht zeg!

Voor de meeste aanwezigen was My Baby een nieuwe en te ontdekken band, maar vanaf de eerste noot merkte je dat dit trio ervaren rotten bevat die hun instrumenten (van zelfgebouwde gitaren tot een viool) perfect beheersen. De meeste nummertjes uit hun (veel te korte) set kwamen uit hun tweede plaat. Als je op cd er niet in slaagt om deze Nederlandse band te omschrijven, dan is dat live nog een moeilijkere opdracht omdat My Baby aan zijn heerlijke brouwsel van indie, funk, rock en blues ook nog een flinke portie energie toevoegt.

Cato was blijkbaar sterk onder de indruk van het enthousiaste publiek dat besefte dat het een grote dame (met nog een grotere stem) aan het werk zag. Na afloop verontschuldigde de Nederlandse zich bijna voor de lof die ze kreeg. Niet nodig, met zo’n geluid (en vooral talent) kan hun roem zich alleen maar uitbreiden.

Didier BECU
14/12/2015


Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
12
09
SPANKRAGHT
N16