tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

14/12/2015 : MY BABY - Ghent, De Charlatan (11/12/2015)

MY BABY

Ghent, De Charlatan (11/12/2015)

Concert
14/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

By now, the Flemish concept of Glimps (Ghent) is kind of familiar: during three days you can discover the bands that are most interesting to follow. A commendable initiative, even though many genres are totally ignored.

Peek-A-Boo opted for My Baby. If you are not Dutch, then the name probably means nothing to you, but in homeland Holland this trio already sold out the large venue Paradiso. "No problem," said the extremely sympathetic Cato, "our band always did it all alone and everything we reached is done by our audience". Well, if that is the way to make it, then it will be no problem for My Baby to conquer Flanders too. Despite the early hour (two o’clock in the afternoon) and a too short set (25 minutes) Cato, her brother Daniel and Joost managed within the shortest time to overwhelm the venue with their talent.

Even though we like the second album Shamanaid, recently is released by Starman Records in Belgium, My Baby is first and foremost a live band.

For most of the attendees My Baby was a brand new band, but from the first note you noticed that this trio is formed by experienced professionals who handle their instruments (from self-built guitars to a violin) as masters. Most songs of the (way too short) set came from the second album. If you fail to describe the sound of this Dutch band on CD, then it even is a more difficult assignment when My Baby plays live, a delicious mixture of indie, funk, rock and blues and a considerable amount of crazy energy.

Cato apparently was impressed by the enthusiastic audience. The public realized that it saw a great lady (with an even bigger voice) at work. Afterwards, the Dutch singer almost apologized for the praise she received. Not necessary at all, with such a sound (and especially talent) My Baby’s fame will only expand.

Didier BECU
14/12/2015


NL

Het concept van Glimps is ondertussen meer dan bekend: in een recordtempo van drie dagen probeert men in de Gentse binnenstad de muziekliefhebber te tonen welke bands het meest interessant zijn om te volgen. Een lovenswaardig initiatief, ook al worden jammer genoeg heel wat genres over het hoofd gezien.

Peek-A-Boo koos voor My Baby. Als je geen Nederlander bent, zegt de naam je misschien bitter weinig, maar dit drietal verkocht in zijn thuisland al Paradiso uit. “Geen nood,” vertelde de uiterst sympathieke Cato aan deze reporter, “onze groep heeft het steeds helemaal alleen geklaard en we staan er vandaag dankzij ons publiek”. Als dat de manier is om het te maken, dan zal het voor My Baby wellicht ook geen probleem zijn om Vlaanderen in te palmen. Ondanks het ondankbare vroege uur (twee uur ’s middags) en een veel te korte set (25 minuten), slaagden Cato, broer Joost en Daniel er binnen de kortste tijd in om de aardig volgelopen Charlatan van hun talent te overtuigen.

Ook al waren we op onze pagina’s te spreken over hun tweede plaat Shamanaid die onlangs door Starman Records in België werd uitgebracht, is My Baby in de allereerste plaats een liveband. Want, wat een kracht zeg!

Voor de meeste aanwezigen was My Baby een nieuwe en te ontdekken band, maar vanaf de eerste noot merkte je dat dit trio ervaren rotten bevat die hun instrumenten (van zelfgebouwde gitaren tot een viool) perfect beheersen. De meeste nummertjes uit hun (veel te korte) set kwamen uit hun tweede plaat. Als je op cd er niet in slaagt om deze Nederlandse band te omschrijven, dan is dat live nog een moeilijkere opdracht omdat My Baby aan zijn heerlijke brouwsel van indie, funk, rock en blues ook nog een flinke portie energie toevoegt.

Cato was blijkbaar sterk onder de indruk van het enthousiaste publiek dat besefte dat het een grote dame (met nog een grotere stem) aan het werk zag. Na afloop verontschuldigde de Nederlandse zich bijna voor de lof die ze kreeg. Niet nodig, met zo’n geluid (en vooral talent) kan hun roem zich alleen maar uitbreiden.

Didier BECU
14/12/2015


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
02
MARILYN MANSON
Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)
24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets