tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : NADJA - The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife

NADJA

The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife

MusicCD
Dark AmbientDoom MetalDrone

[80/100]   

Gizeh Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Nadja caught my attention because of the collaboration of Aidan Baker and Leah Buckareff. Some of you will probably known Aidan Baker. I got to know him through his excellent solo album The Sea Swells A Bit: soundscapes whch contain dark but haunting ambient sounds and drones. The project Nadja has a long history and this is the twentieth album (CD-Rs included) in 13 year (I didn't count the numerous EPs).

The Stone is Not ... has three tracks and seventy minutes of music. Opener The Stone begins with a doom ambience.The guitars seemed to be hidden behind a curtain while recording. Afterwards they sound less muffled and they come to the fore. The song unfolds slowly. The vocals fade between the instruments and mainly provide the atmosphere. The Sun starts slowly and sounds open and warm. The doom and metal elements come to the fore after six minutes and in The Knife they are completely absent. It remains an atmospheric drone and ambient track until the end.

Those who love this style of music will surely like this album. Again, Aidan Baker and his companion have made some fine soundscapes.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Nadja trok mijn aandacht vanwege het feit dat het om een samenwerking gaat tussen Aidan Baker en Leah Buckareff. Aidan Baker zullen sommigen onder jullie vermoedelijk kennen. Ik heb hem leren kennen via zijn voortreffelijk soloalbum The Sea Swells A Bit. Daarop maakte hij soundscapes die grotendeels donkere maar beklijvende ambiente geluiden en drones bevatten. Met zijn project Nadja is hij trouwens niet aan zijn proefstuk toe want dit is ongeveer hun twintigste album (cd-r’s meegerekend) in 13 jaar tijd. Dan zijn de talrijke ep’s nog niet eens bijgeteld.

The Stone is Not… telt drie tracks, samen goed voor zeventig minuten muziek. Opener The Stone begint in een doom-sfeertje. In de mix lijkt het alsof de gitaren achter een doek zaten tijdens de opnamen. Langzaam klinken ze minder gedempt en komen ze iets meer op de voorgrond. De song ontvouwt zich heel langzaam. De zang verdwijnt een beetje tussen de instrumenten waardoor die vooral dienst doet als sfeerschepper. De teksten zijn niet echt verstaanbaar. The Sun heeft een rustige aanloop en klinkt vrij open en warm. De doom- en metalelementen komen pas na een zestal minuten om de hoek kijken. Op The Knife blijven de doom- en metal elementen zo goed als achterwege en blijft een sfeerrijke drone- en ambienttrack over die heel genietbaar blijkt te zijn.

Wie houdt van deze stijl van muziek heeft met deze schijf een goed album in handen. Aidan Baker en zijn compaan hebben ook deze keer een aantal fijne soundscapes uit hun hoge hoed getoverd.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
PIG • The Gospel
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
EDENSONG • Years in the Garden of Years
JAN SWERTS • Brussel, AB Club (08/11/2016)
ODDLAND • Origin
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
SUICIDE COMMANDO • 30th Anniversary Show, Leopoldsburg
AUTOMAT • OstWest

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MORBUS M. • Fight Or Die
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler
SPHYXION • Sphyxion

 

Same genre: DOOM METAL
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
CANDLEMASS • Death Thy Lover
ON THORNS I LAY • Eternal Silence
MARCHE FUNèBRE • Lost
DRACONIAN • Sovran
IMPLORE • Depopulation
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015
AHAB • THE BOATS OF THE GLEN CARRIG
PARADISE LOST • The Plague Within
ORPHANS OF DUSK • Revenant

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One
PALE THORNS • Somberland

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'
07
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Goethes Erben: Strangely enough, those who cry the loudest are not those who drown during their flight
01
02
WAYNE HUSSEY
'I think for every action there is a reaction.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid