tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. - Cyber Rendezvous

NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM.

Cyber Rendezvous

MusicCD
Future PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[85/100]   

AnalogueTrash Records
10/12/2016, Peter HESELMANS

EN

Nature Of Wires was founded in 1986 by Gary Watts and Andrew Stirling Brown. Until 1994 they regularly played gigs with the album Modus Operandi as the final result. Twenty years later, Gary started writing songs again, this time in collaboration with the American Maren Northway, known as CourtessM.

After a real live performance for BBC radio, there is now the all-new CD Cyber Rendezvous, a 10- piece electro pop album made with the necessary skill.

Opener 'Til Tomorrow gets a nice tone and starts with hesitating electronics and a slowly invading rhythm box. The boyish voice of Maren sounds somewhat depressing, especially in the beautiful lyrics about unrequited love. The icing on the cake: a fresh and danceable chorus. Perfect future pop, and that goes for title track Cyber Rendezvous as well: delicious dreamy synths with solid rhythms and bass that evolve to a cool chorus, topped with icy vocals.

The synth arrangements in Dance With Your Own Skeletons are very nice, with a sampled intro, brutal percussion and hard rhythmic sounds, while Do not Let the Vultures In is flawless synth pop with poetic stories, and occasionally a whining synthesizer from the eighties. More romantic stories on the very poppy Perfect Menagerie.

Reaction contains some patches of EBM, a track which made me think of VNV Nation. Big bass and throbbing rhythms dominate and show the different electronic future pop styles and varying synth sounds on this album.

The album concludes with the delicious We Kill All: experimental, with harder percussion, cool rhythms and dark synths. Beguiled Or Fertility has an unenlightened atmosphere, with dreamy but at the same time anxious choir samples in the background.

The collaboration between these artists can be seen as complementary and successful. One of the better projects of this year: varied and uncompromising song material, exactly what we can expect from a good synthpop CD.

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


NL

Nature Of Wires is al opgericht in 1986 door Gary Watts en Andrew Stirling-Brown. Tot 1994 werd er nog regelmatig opgetreden met het album ‘Modus Operandi’ als eindresultaat. Twintig jaar later nam Gary de draad weer op en begon opnieuw songs te schrijven, ditmaal in samenwerking met de Amerikaan Maren Northway, beter bekend als CourtessM.

Het eindresultaat liet dan ook niet zo lang op zich wachten en na een heus live-optreden voor BBC-radio, is er nu de nagelnieuwe cd Cyber Rendezvous, een 10-delig elektropopalbum dat met het nodige vakmanschap en de nodige zorg in elkaar is geknutseld.

Opener 'Til Tomorrow zet mooi de toon, de aarzelende elektronica en langzaam invallende ritmebox trekken deze song op gang, de ijle jongensachtige stem van Maren, de wat deprimerende doch prachtige tekst over onbeantwoorde liefde, en als kers op de taart een fris en dansbaar refrein. Perfecte futurepop zeg maar, zo ook de titeltrack Cyber Rendezvous: heerlijk zweverige synths met stevige ritmes en bassen die langzaam naar een koel refrein toewerken, opgetopt met ijzige vocalen.

Nog meer aangename syntharrangementen in songs als Dance With your own Skeletons, gesampelde intro direct gecounterd met brutale percussie en harde ritmische klankkleuren, en Don’t Let the Vultures In, vlekkeloze synthpop met poëtisch vertelde verhalen, en af en toe zelfs een jankende synthesizer uit de tachtigerjaren. Meer romantische verhalen op het zeer poppy Perfect Menagerie, zelf op het randje van zeemzoet en melancholisch.

Reaction bevat dan weer flarden EBM, een track die me wat doet denken aan een band als VNV Nation. Flinke bassen en opzwepende ritmes domineren en geven een heel goed gevoel wat betreft de variatie van verschillende elektronische futurepopstijlen en wisselende synthesizerklanken op dit album.

Het album besluit met het heerlijke We Kill All: iets experimenteler, met hardere percussie, overgoten met een geut koele ritmes en donkere synths en riffs. Beguiled Of Fertility zoekt eerder onverlichte sferen op, met dromerig maar tegelijk behoorlijk angstige koorsamples op de achtergrond, samen met de kille tekst en spookachtige stem een waardige afsluiter van dit album

De samenwerking tussen deze artiesten kan als zeer complementair en geslaagd worden beschouwd. Eén van de betere projecten van dit jaar: wisselende songs zonder toegevingen, maar toch keurig binnen het genre, wat we van een goede synthpop-cd mogen verwachten.

Tracklist :
1 'Til Tomorrow (Original Mix)
2 Don't Let the Vultures In (Original Mix)
3 While You're Here (Original Mix)
4 Reaction (Original Mix)
5 The Feast on Famine (Original Mix)
6 Cyber Rendezvous (Original Mix)
7 Dance with Your Own Skeletons (Original Mix)
8 We Kill All (Original Mix) Perfect Menagerie (Original Mix)
9 Beguiled of Fertility (Original Mix)

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH • Motetten (JardinDesVoix & Barokensemble Aspetti Musicali o.l.v. Koen Lamberechts, Gent, Sint-Elisabethkerk, 28/05/2016)
WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT • Wild Roses For The Exit
BLEACHED • Lille, L'Aeronef (24/05/2016)
AD VITAM • The Crush EP
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Heartless
DOOMSQUAD • Antwerpen, Trix (28/05/2016)
NEW DARK AGE + CURTIS • Gent, De Charlatan (27/05/2016)
ORATIONS • Incantation EP
WAN'S • Lost Inside
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)

 

Same combination of genres: FUTURE POP + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SINESTAR • Evolve
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015
SURGYN • Envy
LABORATORY 5 • Rise ov The Machines EP
ZONE TRIPPER • Voyager EP
DELAYKLINIKEN • Air
UNITARY • Misanthropy
CHAOS ALL STARS • I Need It All

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines
RECTOR SCANNER • Herzschlag
UNCARNATE • Weak Protein Life
THE SAINT PAUL • Days Without Rain

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
PARRALOX • Subculture

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'
07
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Goethes Erben: Strangely enough, those who cry the loudest are not those who drown during their flight
01
02
WAYNE HUSSEY
'I think for every action there is a reaction.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid