tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. - Cyber Rendezvous

NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM.

Cyber Rendezvous

MusicCD
Future PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[85/100]   

AnalogueTrash Records
10/12/2016, Peter HESELMANS

EN

Nature Of Wires was founded in 1986 by Gary Watts and Andrew Stirling Brown. Until 1994 they regularly played gigs with the album Modus Operandi as the final result. Twenty years later, Gary started writing songs again, this time in collaboration with the American Maren Northway, known as CourtessM.

After a real live performance for BBC radio, there is now the all-new CD Cyber Rendezvous, a 10- piece electro pop album made with the necessary skill.

Opener 'Til Tomorrow gets a nice tone and starts with hesitating electronics and a slowly invading rhythm box. The boyish voice of Maren sounds somewhat depressing, especially in the beautiful lyrics about unrequited love. The icing on the cake: a fresh and danceable chorus. Perfect future pop, and that goes for title track Cyber Rendezvous as well: delicious dreamy synths with solid rhythms and bass that evolve to a cool chorus, topped with icy vocals.

The synth arrangements in Dance With Your Own Skeletons are very nice, with a sampled intro, brutal percussion and hard rhythmic sounds, while Do not Let the Vultures In is flawless synth pop with poetic stories, and occasionally a whining synthesizer from the eighties. More romantic stories on the very poppy Perfect Menagerie.

Reaction contains some patches of EBM, a track which made me think of VNV Nation. Big bass and throbbing rhythms dominate and show the different electronic future pop styles and varying synth sounds on this album.

The album concludes with the delicious We Kill All: experimental, with harder percussion, cool rhythms and dark synths. Beguiled Or Fertility has an unenlightened atmosphere, with dreamy but at the same time anxious choir samples in the background.

The collaboration between these artists can be seen as complementary and successful. One of the better projects of this year: varied and uncompromising song material, exactly what we can expect from a good synthpop CD.

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


NL

Nature Of Wires is al opgericht in 1986 door Gary Watts en Andrew Stirling-Brown. Tot 1994 werd er nog regelmatig opgetreden met het album ‘Modus Operandi’ als eindresultaat. Twintig jaar later nam Gary de draad weer op en begon opnieuw songs te schrijven, ditmaal in samenwerking met de Amerikaan Maren Northway, beter bekend als CourtessM.

Het eindresultaat liet dan ook niet zo lang op zich wachten en na een heus live-optreden voor BBC-radio, is er nu de nagelnieuwe cd Cyber Rendezvous, een 10-delig elektropopalbum dat met het nodige vakmanschap en de nodige zorg in elkaar is geknutseld.

Opener 'Til Tomorrow zet mooi de toon, de aarzelende elektronica en langzaam invallende ritmebox trekken deze song op gang, de ijle jongensachtige stem van Maren, de wat deprimerende doch prachtige tekst over onbeantwoorde liefde, en als kers op de taart een fris en dansbaar refrein. Perfecte futurepop zeg maar, zo ook de titeltrack Cyber Rendezvous: heerlijk zweverige synths met stevige ritmes en bassen die langzaam naar een koel refrein toewerken, opgetopt met ijzige vocalen.

Nog meer aangename syntharrangementen in songs als Dance With your own Skeletons, gesampelde intro direct gecounterd met brutale percussie en harde ritmische klankkleuren, en Don’t Let the Vultures In, vlekkeloze synthpop met poëtisch vertelde verhalen, en af en toe zelfs een jankende synthesizer uit de tachtigerjaren. Meer romantische verhalen op het zeer poppy Perfect Menagerie, zelf op het randje van zeemzoet en melancholisch.

Reaction bevat dan weer flarden EBM, een track die me wat doet denken aan een band als VNV Nation. Flinke bassen en opzwepende ritmes domineren en geven een heel goed gevoel wat betreft de variatie van verschillende elektronische futurepopstijlen en wisselende synthesizerklanken op dit album.

Het album besluit met het heerlijke We Kill All: iets experimenteler, met hardere percussie, overgoten met een geut koele ritmes en donkere synths en riffs. Beguiled Of Fertility zoekt eerder onverlichte sferen op, met dromerig maar tegelijk behoorlijk angstige koorsamples op de achtergrond, samen met de kille tekst en spookachtige stem een waardige afsluiter van dit album

De samenwerking tussen deze artiesten kan als zeer complementair en geslaagd worden beschouwd. Eén van de betere projecten van dit jaar: wisselende songs zonder toegevingen, maar toch keurig binnen het genre, wat we van een goede synthpop-cd mogen verwachten.

Tracklist :
1 'Til Tomorrow (Original Mix)
2 Don't Let the Vultures In (Original Mix)
3 While You're Here (Original Mix)
4 Reaction (Original Mix)
5 The Feast on Famine (Original Mix)
6 Cyber Rendezvous (Original Mix)
7 Dance with Your Own Skeletons (Original Mix)
8 We Kill All (Original Mix) Perfect Menagerie (Original Mix)
9 Beguiled of Fertility (Original Mix)

Peter HESELMANS
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH • Motetten (JardinDesVoix & Barokensemble Aspetti Musicali o.l.v. Koen Lamberechts, Gent, Sint-Elisabethkerk, 28/05/2016)
WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT • Wild Roses For The Exit
BLEACHED • Lille, L'Aeronef (24/05/2016)
AD VITAM • The Crush EP
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Heartless
DOOMSQUAD • Antwerpen, Trix (28/05/2016)
NEW DARK AGE + CURTIS • Gent, De Charlatan (27/05/2016)
ORATIONS • Incantation EP
WAN'S • Lost Inside
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)

 

Same combination of genres: FUTURE POP + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SINESTAR • Evolve
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015
SURGYN • Envy
LABORATORY 5 • Rise ov The Machines EP
ZONE TRIPPER • Voyager EP
DELAYKLINIKEN • Air
UNITARY • Misanthropy
CHAOS ALL STARS • I Need It All

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
ALPHAMAY • Twisted Lines
RECTOR SCANNER • Herzschlag
UNCARNATE • Weak Protein Life
THE SAINT PAUL • Days Without Rain

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
10
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession