tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

19/07/2018 : NAUT - Raise The Lights

NAUT

Raise The Lights

MusicCD (EP)
Gothic RockPost Punk

[88/100]   

Self-released
19/07/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

From across the waves, on the other side of the Channel, the first EP from NAUT a Bristol-based 5-star band, drifts into our mailbox. "Raise The Lights". The shared love of the artists who inhabit this band is postpunk, classic rock and metal, with a sufficiently dark edge to touch on goth rock. But they have more in their arsenal than that.

They sail in with the tones of “Disintegration”. Rough and tangled guitars and a cork-dry rhythm section, which strikes like waves, hard against the rocky coast. It is sufficiently danceable for the first generation goth rockers who seem to float weightlessly over a dirty dance floor. “They are there”, I thought, but they shout out: “I'm Here”. The second track, a monster of a bass line starts the raw post punk song’s progress, a blissful melody follows after.

The title song “Raise The Lights” is another piece of the galaxy, a Milky Way system shot further in some Black Hole: goth rock and wave, more drastic, black edges burned on it. Also the vocal is darker. Still a gem, though.

In “Frames,” synthesizers are given a role, with an epic bass line as a companion. The guitars need to be content with a supporting role, although in reality, they still hold the reins. In the refrain they put on a shoegaze guise and the strings are under pressure for more than 6 minutes!

“XVI” rocks to the end of the road and many of you readers will think of a very big name from the goth rock genre. Now it would be foolish of me to say who. Give this EP a listen and let it penetrate into the depths of your black soul. Wasn’t there a band that sprang from the same island, there in the underground, who released a song from one of their few studio albums called More? I want more... and that is what has to be said. Please Bristol guys of NAUT: give me more !!!!!!!!!!!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
19/07/2018


NL

Van over de plas, van de andere zijde van het Kanaal, waait de eerste EP van NAUT, een in Bristol gewortelde 5-koppige band, in onze mailbox: Raise The Lights.De artiesten die deze band bevolken, delen een voorliefde voor postpunk, klassieke rock en metal, met een voldoende duister randje om ook de gothrock te aaien. Maar ze hebben meer in hun mars dan dat.

Ze varen binnen op de tonen van Disintegration. Rauwe en snerpende gitaren en een kurkdroge ritmesectie slaan als golven steenhard tegen de rotskust. Het rockt voldoende en is dansbaar voor de gothrockers uit de eerste generatie die als het ware gewichtloos over een smerige dansvloer zweven. They are there, dacht ik, maar ze schreeuwen uit: I’m Here. Een gedrocht van een baslijn trekt de rauwe postpunksong in gang, een zalige melodie komt er achter aan gesneld.

Titelsong Raise The Lights is een ander stuk van de galaxy, een melkwegstelsel verder in één of ander zwart gat ontsproten: gothrock en wave, slepender, de zwarte randen erin gebrand. Ook vocaal is het donkerder. Een pareltje, dat wel.

In Frames krijgen synthesizers een rolletje toebedeeld, met een epische baslijn als metgezel. De gitaren moeten tevreden zijn met een bijrol, hoewel ze op hun manier toch ritmisch de lakens uitdelen. In de refreinen verkleden ze zich in shoegaze-outfit en worden de snaren maximaal onder spanning gezet… meer dan 6 minuten lang.

XVI rockt een eind weg en zal menigeen van u lezersaan een heel grote naam uit het gothrockgenre doen denken. Nu zou het flauw zijn dat ik zeg wie. Gun deze EP een luisterbeurt en laat het je doordringen tot in het diepste van je zwarte ziel.

Was er ooit geen band die op datzelfde eilandje aldaar ontsproot in de underground, die op één van de weinige studio-albums kweet van een song genaamd More. I want more… en daarmee is ook gezegd wat er gezegd moet worden. Please Bristol guys of NAUT: give me more !!!!!!!!!!!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
19/07/2018


 

Next reviews
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER • Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
SIMPLE MINDS • Walk Between Worlds
PEDRO PENAS ROBLES • Joy Division, Paroles de fan
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
NEGANT • No !
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
LES NEGRESSES VERTES • Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC ROCK + POST PUNK
RAZORLINE • Razorline
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
MASQUERADE • Blood is the New Black
CRIMSON SCARLET • Collection: 2011-2014
FADING RAIN • Winter Ballads
BABY FIRE • The Red Robe
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II
TERMINAL GODS • Machine Beat Messiah
ULTERIOR • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
NORMORIA • Origin
AUTUMN • The Fall
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
GOLDEN APES • Malus

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
STRUGGLER • The Gap
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World

Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)