tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

19/07/2018 : NAUT - Raise The Lights

NAUT

Raise The Lights

MusicCD (EP)
Gothic RockPost Punk

[88/100]   

Self-released
19/07/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

From across the waves, on the other side of the Channel, the first EP from NAUT a Bristol-based 5-star band, drifts into our mailbox. "Raise The Lights". The shared love of the artists who inhabit this band is postpunk, classic rock and metal, with a sufficiently dark edge to touch on goth rock. But they have more in their arsenal than that.

They sail in with the tones of “Disintegration”. Rough and tangled guitars and a cork-dry rhythm section, which strikes like waves, hard against the rocky coast. It is sufficiently danceable for the first generation goth rockers who seem to float weightlessly over a dirty dance floor. “They are there”, I thought, but they shout out: “I'm Here”. The second track, a monster of a bass line starts the raw post punk song’s progress, a blissful melody follows after.

The title song “Raise The Lights” is another piece of the galaxy, a Milky Way system shot further in some Black Hole: goth rock and wave, more drastic, black edges burned on it. Also the vocal is darker. Still a gem, though.

In “Frames,” synthesizers are given a role, with an epic bass line as a companion. The guitars need to be content with a supporting role, although in reality, they still hold the reins. In the refrain they put on a shoegaze guise and the strings are under pressure for more than 6 minutes!

“XVI” rocks to the end of the road and many of you readers will think of a very big name from the goth rock genre. Now it would be foolish of me to say who. Give this EP a listen and let it penetrate into the depths of your black soul. Wasn’t there a band that sprang from the same island, there in the underground, who released a song from one of their few studio albums called More? I want more... and that is what has to be said. Please Bristol guys of NAUT: give me more !!!!!!!!!!!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
19/07/2018


NL

Van over de plas, van de andere zijde van het Kanaal, waait de eerste EP van NAUT, een in Bristol gewortelde 5-koppige band, in onze mailbox: Raise The Lights.De artiesten die deze band bevolken, delen een voorliefde voor postpunk, klassieke rock en metal, met een voldoende duister randje om ook de gothrock te aaien. Maar ze hebben meer in hun mars dan dat.

Ze varen binnen op de tonen van Disintegration. Rauwe en snerpende gitaren en een kurkdroge ritmesectie slaan als golven steenhard tegen de rotskust. Het rockt voldoende en is dansbaar voor de gothrockers uit de eerste generatie die als het ware gewichtloos over een smerige dansvloer zweven. They are there, dacht ik, maar ze schreeuwen uit: I’m Here. Een gedrocht van een baslijn trekt de rauwe postpunksong in gang, een zalige melodie komt er achter aan gesneld.

Titelsong Raise The Lights is een ander stuk van de galaxy, een melkwegstelsel verder in één of ander zwart gat ontsproten: gothrock en wave, slepender, de zwarte randen erin gebrand. Ook vocaal is het donkerder. Een pareltje, dat wel.

In Frames krijgen synthesizers een rolletje toebedeeld, met een epische baslijn als metgezel. De gitaren moeten tevreden zijn met een bijrol, hoewel ze op hun manier toch ritmisch de lakens uitdelen. In de refreinen verkleden ze zich in shoegaze-outfit en worden de snaren maximaal onder spanning gezet… meer dan 6 minuten lang.

XVI rockt een eind weg en zal menigeen van u lezersaan een heel grote naam uit het gothrockgenre doen denken. Nu zou het flauw zijn dat ik zeg wie. Gun deze EP een luisterbeurt en laat het je doordringen tot in het diepste van je zwarte ziel.

Was er ooit geen band die op datzelfde eilandje aldaar ontsproot in de underground, die op één van de weinige studio-albums kweet van een song genaamd More. I want more… en daarmee is ook gezegd wat er gezegd moet worden. Please Bristol guys of NAUT: give me more !!!!!!!!!!!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
19/07/2018


 

Next reviews
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER • Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
SIMPLE MINDS • Walk Between Worlds
PEDRO PENAS ROBLES • Joy Division, Paroles de fan
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
NEGANT • No !
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
LES NEGRESSES VERTES • Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC ROCK + POST PUNK
RAZORLINE • Razorline
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
MASQUERADE • Blood is the New Black
CRIMSON SCARLET • Collection: 2011-2014
FADING RAIN • Winter Ballads
BABY FIRE • The Red Robe
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II
TERMINAL GODS • Machine Beat Messiah
ULTERIOR • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
NORMORIA • Origin
AUTUMN • The Fall
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
WHISPERING SONS • Image
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)