tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

19/07/2018 : NAUT - Raise The Lights

NAUT

Raise The Lights

MusicCD (EP)
Gothic RockPost Punk

[88/100]   

Self-released
19/07/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

From across the waves, on the other side of the Channel, the first EP from NAUT a Bristol-based 5-star band, drifts into our mailbox. "Raise The Lights". The shared love of the artists who inhabit this band is postpunk, classic rock and metal, with a sufficiently dark edge to touch on goth rock. But they have more in their arsenal than that.

They sail in with the tones of “Disintegration”. Rough and tangled guitars and a cork-dry rhythm section, which strikes like waves, hard against the rocky coast. It is sufficiently danceable for the first generation goth rockers who seem to float weightlessly over a dirty dance floor. “They are there”, I thought, but they shout out: “I'm Here”. The second track, a monster of a bass line starts the raw post punk song’s progress, a blissful melody follows after.

The title song “Raise The Lights” is another piece of the galaxy, a Milky Way system shot further in some Black Hole: goth rock and wave, more drastic, black edges burned on it. Also the vocal is darker. Still a gem, though.

In “Frames,” synthesizers are given a role, with an epic bass line as a companion. The guitars need to be content with a supporting role, although in reality, they still hold the reins. In the refrain they put on a shoegaze guise and the strings are under pressure for more than 6 minutes!

“XVI” rocks to the end of the road and many of you readers will think of a very big name from the goth rock genre. Now it would be foolish of me to say who. Give this EP a listen and let it penetrate into the depths of your black soul. Wasn’t there a band that sprang from the same island, there in the underground, who released a song from one of their few studio albums called More? I want more... and that is what has to be said. Please Bristol guys of NAUT: give me more !!!!!!!!!!!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
19/07/2018


NL

Van over de plas, van de andere zijde van het Kanaal, waait de eerste EP van NAUT, een in Bristol gewortelde 5-koppige band, in onze mailbox: Raise The Lights.De artiesten die deze band bevolken, delen een voorliefde voor postpunk, klassieke rock en metal, met een voldoende duister randje om ook de gothrock te aaien. Maar ze hebben meer in hun mars dan dat.

Ze varen binnen op de tonen van Disintegration. Rauwe en snerpende gitaren en een kurkdroge ritmesectie slaan als golven steenhard tegen de rotskust. Het rockt voldoende en is dansbaar voor de gothrockers uit de eerste generatie die als het ware gewichtloos over een smerige dansvloer zweven. They are there, dacht ik, maar ze schreeuwen uit: I’m Here. Een gedrocht van een baslijn trekt de rauwe postpunksong in gang, een zalige melodie komt er achter aan gesneld.

Titelsong Raise The Lights is een ander stuk van de galaxy, een melkwegstelsel verder in één of ander zwart gat ontsproten: gothrock en wave, slepender, de zwarte randen erin gebrand. Ook vocaal is het donkerder. Een pareltje, dat wel.

In Frames krijgen synthesizers een rolletje toebedeeld, met een epische baslijn als metgezel. De gitaren moeten tevreden zijn met een bijrol, hoewel ze op hun manier toch ritmisch de lakens uitdelen. In de refreinen verkleden ze zich in shoegaze-outfit en worden de snaren maximaal onder spanning gezet… meer dan 6 minuten lang.

XVI rockt een eind weg en zal menigeen van u lezersaan een heel grote naam uit het gothrockgenre doen denken. Nu zou het flauw zijn dat ik zeg wie. Gun deze EP een luisterbeurt en laat het je doordringen tot in het diepste van je zwarte ziel.

Was er ooit geen band die op datzelfde eilandje aldaar ontsproot in de underground, die op één van de weinige studio-albums kweet van een song genaamd More. I want more… en daarmee is ook gezegd wat er gezegd moet worden. Please Bristol guys of NAUT: give me more !!!!!!!!!!!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
19/07/2018


 

Next reviews
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER • Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
SIMPLE MINDS • Walk Between Worlds
PEDRO PENAS ROBLES • Joy Division, Paroles de fan
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
NEGANT • No !
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
LES NEGRESSES VERTES • Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC ROCK + POST PUNK
RAZORLINE • Razorline
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
MASQUERADE • Blood is the New Black
CRIMSON SCARLET • Collection: 2011-2014
FADING RAIN • Winter Ballads
BABY FIRE • The Red Robe
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II
TERMINAL GODS • Machine Beat Messiah
ULTERIOR • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
WANT/ED • Unthinkable

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
TOOL
Schism
26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots