tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

19/07/2018 : NAUT - Raise The Lights

NAUT

Raise The Lights

MusicCD (EP)
Gothic RockPost Punk

[88/100]   

Self-released
19/07/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

From across the waves, on the other side of the Channel, the first EP from NAUT a Bristol-based 5-star band, drifts into our mailbox. "Raise The Lights". The shared love of the artists who inhabit this band is postpunk, classic rock and metal, with a sufficiently dark edge to touch on goth rock. But they have more in their arsenal than that.

They sail in with the tones of “Disintegration”. Rough and tangled guitars and a cork-dry rhythm section, which strikes like waves, hard against the rocky coast. It is sufficiently danceable for the first generation goth rockers who seem to float weightlessly over a dirty dance floor. “They are there”, I thought, but they shout out: “I'm Here”. The second track, a monster of a bass line starts the raw post punk song’s progress, a blissful melody follows after.

The title song “Raise The Lights” is another piece of the galaxy, a Milky Way system shot further in some Black Hole: goth rock and wave, more drastic, black edges burned on it. Also the vocal is darker. Still a gem, though.

In “Frames,” synthesizers are given a role, with an epic bass line as a companion. The guitars need to be content with a supporting role, although in reality, they still hold the reins. In the refrain they put on a shoegaze guise and the strings are under pressure for more than 6 minutes!

“XVI” rocks to the end of the road and many of you readers will think of a very big name from the goth rock genre. Now it would be foolish of me to say who. Give this EP a listen and let it penetrate into the depths of your black soul. Wasn’t there a band that sprang from the same island, there in the underground, who released a song from one of their few studio albums called More? I want more... and that is what has to be said. Please Bristol guys of NAUT: give me more !!!!!!!!!!!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
19/07/2018


NL

Van over de plas, van de andere zijde van het Kanaal, waait de eerste EP van NAUT, een in Bristol gewortelde 5-koppige band, in onze mailbox: Raise The Lights.De artiesten die deze band bevolken, delen een voorliefde voor postpunk, klassieke rock en metal, met een voldoende duister randje om ook de gothrock te aaien. Maar ze hebben meer in hun mars dan dat.

Ze varen binnen op de tonen van Disintegration. Rauwe en snerpende gitaren en een kurkdroge ritmesectie slaan als golven steenhard tegen de rotskust. Het rockt voldoende en is dansbaar voor de gothrockers uit de eerste generatie die als het ware gewichtloos over een smerige dansvloer zweven. They are there, dacht ik, maar ze schreeuwen uit: I’m Here. Een gedrocht van een baslijn trekt de rauwe postpunksong in gang, een zalige melodie komt er achter aan gesneld.

Titelsong Raise The Lights is een ander stuk van de galaxy, een melkwegstelsel verder in één of ander zwart gat ontsproten: gothrock en wave, slepender, de zwarte randen erin gebrand. Ook vocaal is het donkerder. Een pareltje, dat wel.

In Frames krijgen synthesizers een rolletje toebedeeld, met een epische baslijn als metgezel. De gitaren moeten tevreden zijn met een bijrol, hoewel ze op hun manier toch ritmisch de lakens uitdelen. In de refreinen verkleden ze zich in shoegaze-outfit en worden de snaren maximaal onder spanning gezet… meer dan 6 minuten lang.

XVI rockt een eind weg en zal menigeen van u lezersaan een heel grote naam uit het gothrockgenre doen denken. Nu zou het flauw zijn dat ik zeg wie. Gun deze EP een luisterbeurt en laat het je doordringen tot in het diepste van je zwarte ziel.

Was er ooit geen band die op datzelfde eilandje aldaar ontsproot in de underground, die op één van de weinige studio-albums kweet van een song genaamd More. I want more… en daarmee is ook gezegd wat er gezegd moet worden. Please Bristol guys of NAUT: give me more !!!!!!!!!!!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
19/07/2018


 

Next reviews
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER • Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
SIMPLE MINDS • Walk Between Worlds
PEDRO PENAS ROBLES • Joy Division, Paroles de fan
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
NEGANT • No !
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
LES NEGRESSES VERTES • Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same combination of genres: GOTHIC ROCK + POST PUNK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RAZORLINE • Razorline
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
MASQUERADE • Blood is the New Black
CRIMSON SCARLET • Collection: 2011-2014
FADING RAIN • Winter Ballads
BABY FIRE • The Red Robe

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
PIG • Pain Is God
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
SJOBLOM • Tape
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna