tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

03/12/2015 : NEON SHUDDER - O-8015

NEON SHUDDER

O-8015

MusicDigital
CyberpunkElectro

[75/100]   
03/12/2015, Ron SCHOONWATER

EN

The promised cyberpunk horror content comes above on It's All So Clear and Now They Call Me Seraph. This tune is in fact known from a horror movie. But as we like to give you some tension as well, it’s up to you to find out which movie it is!

The O-8015 EP is an instrumental album with five songs. Particularly striking is the fact that despite a lack of vocals or other instruments, this synthesizer music fascinates. The furious beat of Good Morning seems a bit atypical for the rest of the album (but wait until you hear It's All So Clear Now!).

The quieter and high tunes seem to be an indicator for the rest of this EP. They are recognizable and simple, but most of all effective. Listen for example to Obsessions. It starts with a simple and quiet tune that is slowly supplemented with other sounds and samples. A structure like this is not new, but Neon Shudder knows how to keep it accessible and recognizable. The Hunger is another example. The music leans on repetition, but leaves enough space for other sounds and perspectives. O-8015 is a nice EP as a background for sordid horror films.

https://neonshudder.bandcamp.com/album/o-8015

Ron SCHOONWATER
03/12/2015


NL

Het beloofde cyberpunk-horrorgehalte komt pas echt naar boven bij de overgang tussen It’s All So Clear Now en They Call Me Seraph. Deze tune is namelijk bekend geworden uit een horrorfilm. Voor de spanning moeten jullie zelf maar gaan luisteren over welke film het gaat.

De O-8015-ep is een instrumentaal album met vijf nummers. Wat vooral opvalt, is dat het ondanks een gebrek aan zang of andere instrumenten, synthesizermuziek is die blijft boeien. Het furieuze beat georiënteerde Good Morning lijkt een beetje atypisch voor de rest van de plaat (totdat It’s All So Clear Now op dezelfde wijze voorbij raast).

De bovenliggende, rustigere, hoge tunes lijken eerder een graadmeter voor de rest van deze ep. Herkenbaar en simpel, maar vooral effectief. Luister bijv. naar de opbouw van Obsessions. Het start met een simpel en rustig deuntje dat langzaam wordt aangevuld met andere geluiden en samples. Een opbouw zoals deze is natuurlijk niet nieuw, maar Neon Shudder weet het toegankelijk en herkenbaar te houden. The Hunger is daar ook een voorbeeld van. De muziek leunt op herhaling, maar dat laat net voldoende ruimte voor andere geluiden en gezichtspunten. O-8015 is een leuke ep als achtergrond bij vuige horrorfilms.

https://neonshudder.bandcamp.com/album/o-8015

Ron SCHOONWATER
03/12/2015


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!
01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp