tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

03/12/2015 : NEON SHUDDER - O-8015

NEON SHUDDER

O-8015

MusicDigital
CyberpunkElectro

[75/100]   
03/12/2015, Ron SCHOONWATER

EN

The promised cyberpunk horror content comes above on It's All So Clear and Now They Call Me Seraph. This tune is in fact known from a horror movie. But as we like to give you some tension as well, it’s up to you to find out which movie it is!

The O-8015 EP is an instrumental album with five songs. Particularly striking is the fact that despite a lack of vocals or other instruments, this synthesizer music fascinates. The furious beat of Good Morning seems a bit atypical for the rest of the album (but wait until you hear It's All So Clear Now!).

The quieter and high tunes seem to be an indicator for the rest of this EP. They are recognizable and simple, but most of all effective. Listen for example to Obsessions. It starts with a simple and quiet tune that is slowly supplemented with other sounds and samples. A structure like this is not new, but Neon Shudder knows how to keep it accessible and recognizable. The Hunger is another example. The music leans on repetition, but leaves enough space for other sounds and perspectives. O-8015 is a nice EP as a background for sordid horror films.

https://neonshudder.bandcamp.com/album/o-8015

Ron SCHOONWATER
03/12/2015


NL

Het beloofde cyberpunk-horrorgehalte komt pas echt naar boven bij de overgang tussen It’s All So Clear Now en They Call Me Seraph. Deze tune is namelijk bekend geworden uit een horrorfilm. Voor de spanning moeten jullie zelf maar gaan luisteren over welke film het gaat.

De O-8015-ep is een instrumentaal album met vijf nummers. Wat vooral opvalt, is dat het ondanks een gebrek aan zang of andere instrumenten, synthesizermuziek is die blijft boeien. Het furieuze beat georiënteerde Good Morning lijkt een beetje atypisch voor de rest van de plaat (totdat It’s All So Clear Now op dezelfde wijze voorbij raast).

De bovenliggende, rustigere, hoge tunes lijken eerder een graadmeter voor de rest van deze ep. Herkenbaar en simpel, maar vooral effectief. Luister bijv. naar de opbouw van Obsessions. Het start met een simpel en rustig deuntje dat langzaam wordt aangevuld met andere geluiden en samples. Een opbouw zoals deze is natuurlijk niet nieuw, maar Neon Shudder weet het toegankelijk en herkenbaar te houden. The Hunger is daar ook een voorbeeld van. De muziek leunt op herhaling, maar dat laat net voldoende ruimte voor andere geluiden en gezichtspunten. O-8015 is een leuke ep als achtergrond bij vuige horrorfilms.

https://neonshudder.bandcamp.com/album/o-8015

Ron SCHOONWATER
03/12/2015


Music reviews

18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding
05
03
I AM A ROCKETSHIP
Mind Grafitti

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win
15
03
'Locating Silver Lake': Digital movie release on March 22 - DVD coming soon!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love
12
03
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Eye on you (Fan made video)