tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : NEON SHUDDER - (viii) Neuromantic: The Communion Of Nature And Technology

NEON SHUDDER

(viii) Neuromantic: The Communion Of Nature And Technology

MusicCD
08/12/2016, Erik VAN DAMME

EN

Renovation seems almost impossible these days. For bands and artists it is an impossible task to be 'unique' , and unfortunately a lot of strong artists are overshadowed as a result. For several years, Neon Shudder of Philadelphia has offered great records by browsing through the cyberpunk/ambient archives from the 80s.

(Vii) Neuromantic: The Communion Of Nature And Technology shows a feat of technical ingenuity.

Drum beats approach you in Cargo Occult. A song that brings the listener in a higher sphere and indicates which direction the band will take. Simple: all directions, because the strength of this release is the colorful variety of musical styles. In one song only we hear dashes of cyperpunk, ambient and EBM.

In Kill Or Be Killed, we hear tight beats combined with icy tones. This song is a typical example for what EBM represents, but it also shows that Neon Shudder wants more than exploring one style only! Four songs contain the vocals of Randi Hubler. Her voice reminds me vaguely of Siouxsie. Her voice and the electronic sounds put you back into time, without sounding dated.

Not to Fucked With is a good example. Especially listen to that wonderful input of Randi. With a wink to post-punk, Neon Shudder manages to revive the past. It is our favorite song on this EP. The final song ,The Tragedy Of Being, offers intoxicating ambient sounds, which is another proof of Neon Shudder’s varied music. On the one hand we hear cold EBM, and finally we end up with a melancholy mood.

We already told you: the big mainstay is the variation of electronic sounds that make us sink into deep thoughts, and then invite us for a dance.

Erik VAN DAMME
08/12/2016


NL

Vernieuwend zijn lijkt ons dezer dagen bijna onmogelijk. Voor bands en artiesten is het dan ook nagenoeg onbegonnen werk om 'uniek' te zijn, waardoor heel wat sterke artiesten helaas in de schaduw staan. Neon Shudder uit Philadelphia biedt al sinds enkele jaren met de regelmaat van de klok knappe platen aan. Het grasduint in cyberpunk/ambient en aanverwanten uit de jaren 80

(vii) Neuromantic: The Communion Of Nature And Technology blijkt weer een knap staaltje van technisch vernuft, waarbij snuisteren in de muziekgeschiedenis voor onontgonnen parels zorgt.

Drumbeats komen je tegemoet in Cargo Occult. Een song die je alvast in een hogere sfeer brengt en die min of meer aangeeft welke richting de plaat uitgaat. Heel eenvoudig:: alle richtingen, want de sterkte aan deze release is een bonte variatie van muziekstijlen. Zelfs in één song horen we streepjes cyperpunk, ambient en EBM.

Dit laatste horen we ook in de strakke beats van Kill Or Be Killed, waarin ijskoude klanken worden gecombineerd met de al even ijzingwekkende vocalen. Deze song is een typisch voorbeeld van waar EBM voor staat, maar het valt ons ook op dat Neon Shudder zich niet in een keurslijf laat dwingen, net door de knipoog naar andere instrumentale muziekstijlen. Knap, heel knap, want daardoor wordt de aandacht vastgehouden.

De vier songs bevatten, naast de knappe instrumentale aankleding, ook de vocale medewerking van Randi Hubler. Haar stem doet me vaag denken aan Siouxsie, waarbij de kruisbestuiving tussen haar stem en de elektronische klanken je met een flits terugbrengen in die tijd, zonder dat het gedateerd klinkt. Not to Fucked With is een mooi voorbeeld. Luister vooral naar die prachtige inbreng van Randi. Met een vette knipoog naar postpunk slaagt Neon Shudder erin om het verleden te laten herleven. Meteen toch onze favoriete song op deze ep.

Afsluiter The Tragedy Of Being biedt ons bedwelmende ambientklanken, waarbij je vanbinnen een warme gloed ervaart, waarmee Neon Shudder nog maar eens bewijst dat het van vele markten thuis is. Enerzijds vertoeven we in de koude kilte van bijv. EBM en anderzijds belanden we in een weemoedige sfeer. We zeiden het al, de sterkhouder op deze knappe EP is de variatie van elektronische klanken die ons aanzetten om in diepe gedachten weg te zinken, of die ons uitnodigen tot een dansje.

Erik VAN DAMME
08/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)