tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : NEON SHUDDER - (viii) Neuromantic: The Communion Of Nature And Technology

NEON SHUDDER

(viii) Neuromantic: The Communion Of Nature And Technology

MusicCD
08/12/2016, Erik VAN DAMME

EN

Renovation seems almost impossible these days. For bands and artists it is an impossible task to be 'unique' , and unfortunately a lot of strong artists are overshadowed as a result. For several years, Neon Shudder of Philadelphia has offered great records by browsing through the cyberpunk/ambient archives from the 80s.

(Vii) Neuromantic: The Communion Of Nature And Technology shows a feat of technical ingenuity.

Drum beats approach you in Cargo Occult. A song that brings the listener in a higher sphere and indicates which direction the band will take. Simple: all directions, because the strength of this release is the colorful variety of musical styles. In one song only we hear dashes of cyperpunk, ambient and EBM.

In Kill Or Be Killed, we hear tight beats combined with icy tones. This song is a typical example for what EBM represents, but it also shows that Neon Shudder wants more than exploring one style only! Four songs contain the vocals of Randi Hubler. Her voice reminds me vaguely of Siouxsie. Her voice and the electronic sounds put you back into time, without sounding dated.

Not to Fucked With is a good example. Especially listen to that wonderful input of Randi. With a wink to post-punk, Neon Shudder manages to revive the past. It is our favorite song on this EP. The final song ,The Tragedy Of Being, offers intoxicating ambient sounds, which is another proof of Neon Shudder’s varied music. On the one hand we hear cold EBM, and finally we end up with a melancholy mood.

We already told you: the big mainstay is the variation of electronic sounds that make us sink into deep thoughts, and then invite us for a dance.

Erik VAN DAMME
08/12/2016


NL

Vernieuwend zijn lijkt ons dezer dagen bijna onmogelijk. Voor bands en artiesten is het dan ook nagenoeg onbegonnen werk om 'uniek' te zijn, waardoor heel wat sterke artiesten helaas in de schaduw staan. Neon Shudder uit Philadelphia biedt al sinds enkele jaren met de regelmaat van de klok knappe platen aan. Het grasduint in cyberpunk/ambient en aanverwanten uit de jaren 80

(vii) Neuromantic: The Communion Of Nature And Technology blijkt weer een knap staaltje van technisch vernuft, waarbij snuisteren in de muziekgeschiedenis voor onontgonnen parels zorgt.

Drumbeats komen je tegemoet in Cargo Occult. Een song die je alvast in een hogere sfeer brengt en die min of meer aangeeft welke richting de plaat uitgaat. Heel eenvoudig:: alle richtingen, want de sterkte aan deze release is een bonte variatie van muziekstijlen. Zelfs in één song horen we streepjes cyperpunk, ambient en EBM.

Dit laatste horen we ook in de strakke beats van Kill Or Be Killed, waarin ijskoude klanken worden gecombineerd met de al even ijzingwekkende vocalen. Deze song is een typisch voorbeeld van waar EBM voor staat, maar het valt ons ook op dat Neon Shudder zich niet in een keurslijf laat dwingen, net door de knipoog naar andere instrumentale muziekstijlen. Knap, heel knap, want daardoor wordt de aandacht vastgehouden.

De vier songs bevatten, naast de knappe instrumentale aankleding, ook de vocale medewerking van Randi Hubler. Haar stem doet me vaag denken aan Siouxsie, waarbij de kruisbestuiving tussen haar stem en de elektronische klanken je met een flits terugbrengen in die tijd, zonder dat het gedateerd klinkt. Not to Fucked With is een mooi voorbeeld. Luister vooral naar die prachtige inbreng van Randi. Met een vette knipoog naar postpunk slaagt Neon Shudder erin om het verleden te laten herleven. Meteen toch onze favoriete song op deze ep.

Afsluiter The Tragedy Of Being biedt ons bedwelmende ambientklanken, waarbij je vanbinnen een warme gloed ervaart, waarmee Neon Shudder nog maar eens bewijst dat het van vele markten thuis is. Enerzijds vertoeven we in de koude kilte van bijv. EBM en anderzijds belanden we in een weemoedige sfeer. We zeiden het al, de sterkhouder op deze knappe EP is de variatie van elektronische klanken die ons aanzetten om in diepe gedachten weg te zinken, of die ons uitnodigen tot een dansje.

Erik VAN DAMME
08/12/2016


Music reviews

15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music
05
05
CONSPIRACY COVEN
Conspiracy Coven
03
05
PAULINA CASSIDY
Drawing Up A Storm
25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
LOW FACTOR releases new album 'L'Oiseau du Désespoir'
17
05
'Worlds Left Behind', first full-length album by NEW HAUNTS
13
05
Adam & Eve release new song 'Unlucky Señor'
13
05
Today it’s exactly 21 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Classic Pop publishes special issue on the career of Pet Shop Boys!
07
05
This month it is 30 years ago that Front Line Assembly released their Disorder EP

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
05
PERSEPHONE
Maybe You Can Describe The Production Like A Puzzle: You Have To Find Each And Every Piece And Put It Together
08
05
ELECTRO SYNTHETIC REBELLION (ESR)
‘My Work Has Never Been Driven By The Trends Or The Dancefloor/Club Appeal’
04
05
MARTYRIA
The Process Of Creating Our Music Is A Way Of Expressing This Spiritual Transformation
02
05
WARM BODIES
Live - 27th of March - Antwerp Music City
21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’

PHOTOS

20
05
PLASTIC NOICE EXPERIENCE
WGT
20
05
WULFBAND
WGT
20
05
FULL CONTACT
WGT
20
05
AMNISTIA
WGT
10
05
ROSA CRVX
De Kreun, Kortrijk, Belgium
10
05
MORTIIS
De Kreun, Kortrijk, Belgium
10
05
ASHTORETH
De Kreun, Kortrijk, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
ATTRITION
Dante's Kitchen
20
05
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
19
05
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
18
05
THE ARCH
Cocks Populi
17
05
VNV NATION
Nova
16
05
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
15
05
NITZER EBB
Control I’m Here