tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

08/12/2018 : NEON TZIGANE - Del Wesh

NEON TZIGANE

Del Wesh

MusicCD (EP)
Post Punk

[79/100]   

Self-released
08/12/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

I'm probably not the only one for whom the start of the darkest season of the year has a negative impact on his or her well-being. Deep inside I start feeling some wintersleep that results in a lethargic feeling, lack of energy and I already languish for blooming spring. And sometimes basic necessities like feeding yourself or slurping liquid substances are not the only way of escaping that feeling. You can also simply be woken up by the EP Del Wesh from Neon Tzigane (to be pronounced zee-gan), the musical baby of Howling Mina and Samson Deluxe, postpunkers from South London. ‘Del Wesh’ is British Latin, language spoken in Great Britain in the Roman period and means "dark wood". Just a did you know for free. The two have already worked for a long time together, but not under the same bandname. But their love for Jan Hammer, 80's synths, synthpop and Miama Vice (for God's sake!) influenced their music which you could describe as gothic metallic synthpop. What can you except from this? Well go have a listen to it and make your own judgement.

It has a lot that falls under the large scope of postpunk. Neon Witch has some heavy guitars and you can hear Howling Mina happily chattering all way through. But this is called real singing, something which is not given to everyone.

In the same vein, Return To Tomorrow has some undefined and heavy rock elements. I realise I am unconsciously spinning on my chair while listening to this Del Wesh. Unplanned End has a real postpunk sound. The synths and the grandiose guitar effects are absorbing. It drags you far away. Pesonnally my favorite one out of the four. When hell freezes over has the same spirit. Sowed in the eigthies from the last millenium.

What else can be said? I am awakened with a reflux of well-being and out of a wintersleep onset. Thanks Neon Tzigane, Del Wesh was amazingly relaxing. Send me some more peace and wake me up one more time with the next one.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2018


NL

Ik ben wellicht niet de enige voor wie de intrede van het donkerste jaargetijde een ietwat negatievere invloed op het welbevinden heeft. Diep vanbinnen treedt een winterslaapgevoel in dat zich veruitwendigt in een loom gevoel, energieke dieptepunten en verlangen naar alweer ontluikende lentetaferelen. En soms zijn niet enkel levensnoodzakelijke momenten als zichzelve voederen en slurpen aan liquide substanties de enige manieren om uit die staat te ontsnappen. Je kan ook gewoon bruusk gewekt worden door de EP Del Wesh van Neon Tzigane (spreek uit zee-gan), het muzikale kind van Howling Mina en Samson Deluxe, postpunk met ballen uit Zuid-Londen. ‘Del Wesh’ is Anglo-Romaans, de taal van de Britse Roma en betekent ‘donker hout’. Een wist-je-datje zomaar gratuit. De twee werkten al langer samen, maar niet onder deze bandnaam. Maar hun voorliefde voor Jan Hammer, jaren ’80 synths, synthpop en Miama Vice (begot!), zorgde voor hun muziek, die ze zelf omschrijven als gothic metallic synthpop. Wat je je daarbij moet voorstellen? Wel oordeel zelf door het kleinood te beluisteren.

Hoewel het onder het brede gesternte post punk kan worden gecategoriseerd, heeft het vanalles. Neon Witch bedient zich van zwaar overstuurde gitaren waar Howling Mina vrolijk doorheen kwettert. Enfin, dit kan echt zingen worden genoemd, iets wat niet elkeen gegeven is.

Van hetzelfde laken een broek in Return To Tomorrow, stevig rockend en niet al te afgelijnd. Ik stel vast dat ik onbewust ronddraai op mijn stoel tijdens het beluisteren van deze Del Wesh.
Het pure stevig rockende krijgt een echte postpunk sound aangemeten bij Unplanned End. De synths en een grandioze koffer gitaareffecten nemen over. Het sleept, kreunt en zucht een heel eind weg. Persoonlijk mijn lievelingetje van de vier. When hell freezes over is gegroeid op dezelfde bodem. Gezaaid in de eighties van het vorige millennium.

Wat moet nog meer gezegd? Ik ben ontwaakt in een oprisping van feelgood uit een intredende winterslaap. Dankjewel Neon Tzigane, het was geweldig verpozen met Del Wesh. Gun me nog even rust en maak me ongenaakbaar weer wakker met het vervolg hierop, want het smaakt naar veel meer.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2018


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures