tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

21/10/2021 : NICK CAVE - Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

NICK CAVE

Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

Concert


[90/100]   
21/10/2021, Albi VOOMBASTIC

EN

I think it must have been in the late 90s/early 2000s when I last saw Nick Cave perform live. Even back then, Mr. Cave was already nagging, crooning and putting out arty-farty shit since.

Honestly? I gave up!

Anyway…

Last summer, the album “Carnage,” a collaborration with Warren Ellis, suddenly appeared. Since I try to keep good habits, I checked the album before I started tearing it down … and I must say I was very impressed. It was as if “the old” Cave was back and eager to make music again.

Last night, down town, it certainly sounded like that! The guys seemed to be very excited, maybe because they were finally allowed to escape the British Isles (Covid and Brexit?). Anyway and in short, the LP/CD Carnage was played almost in its entirety, interspersed with some good old Bad Seeds stuff, other collaborations with Ellis and once in a while there was even room for a joke..

It was a very intimate, atmospheric performance as we may probably never see Mr. Cave again.

Songs that stuck in my mind; ‘Hand of God’, ‘Leviathan’, ‘Waiting For You’, ‘White Elephant’, an enchantingly firm 15-minute song that turned out to be ‘Hollywood’, followed by ‘Henry Lee’.

Anti-climax; ‘Into my arms’! Why, oh goddamn why, play this cr*ap? It ruined the whole atmosphere in my opinion!

Anyway, 2 hours 30 minutes (including 4 encore sessions)... means I enjoyed almost every minute of my €90, except for those four minutes... and I'm not lying!

So a great score of 9/10 (thanks to Into My Arms)!

Below a video from the Paris show.

Albi VOOMBASTIC
21/10/2021


NL

Ik denk dat het van het einde van de jaren 90, begin jaren 2000 geleden moet zijn dat ik Nick Cave nog eens aan het werk zag. Toen was hij in mijn ogen al stevig aan het zeuren, croonen, om daarna jaren arty-farty shit uit te brengen.


En eerlijk : I gave up!


Soit…

Afgelopen zomer dook plots de plaat “Carnage” met Warren Ellis op. Naar goede gewoonte luisterde is toch, in plaats van die gewoon zonder meer de grond in te boren. Ik was stevig onder de indruk Het was precies alsof “the old” Cave terug was en er weer zin in had om muziek te maken.

Gisterenavond in “Tstad” leek het in ieder geval van wel! De mannen hadden er duidelijk dik goesting in omdat ze blijkbaar eindelijk van het eiland Engeland af mochten (Covid en Brexit?). Kortweg, de lp/cd Carnage werd zo goed als volledig gespeeld, afgewisseld met wat Bad Seeds-spul, andere samenwerkingen met Ellis en hier en daar zelfs een grapje.


Het was een zeer intiem, sfeervol optreden zoals we waarschijnlijk Dhr. Cave nooit meer zullen zien.

Nummers die zijn blijven hangen; Hand of God, Leviathan, Waiting For You, White Elephant, een bezwerend ferm nummer van 15 minuten dat Hollywood bleek te heten gevolgd door Henry Lee.

Dieptepunt: Into my arms! Waarom, maar godverdomme waarom, dit onding spelen? Het verpritste de ganse sfeer!


Soit, 2 uur 30 minuten (inclusief 4 bis-sessies)... Met andere woorden heb ik voor die €90 van bijna elke minuut, op vier minuten na, genoten... en ik lieg niet!


Punten 9/10 (met dank aan Into My Arms)!


Hieronder een clipke uit Parijs:

Albi VOOMBASTIC
21/10/2021


Music reviews

06
12
J:DEAD
Tearing me apart
04
12
TWO WITCHES
The Undead
27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
12
29 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
45 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
ALIA SYNESTHESIA Unveils Original Score For Classic Horror Film, 'Haxan'
04
12
43 years ago, Throbbing Gristle released their second studio album D.o.A: The Third and Final Report.
03
12
This month, 34 years ago, Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
12
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Venetian Blinds
05
12
THE KLINIK
Hours And Hours (Live @ Beverwave 2012)
04
12
PSYCH KRIST KASTRATOR
Falling Masks
03
12
THE KLINIK
White Trash (Inside Out Remix)
02
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
01
12
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
30
11
DIE WARZAU
Strike To The Body