tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

21/10/2021 : NICK CAVE - Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

NICK CAVE

Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

Concert


[90/100]   
21/10/2021, Albi VOOMBASTIC

EN

I think it must have been in the late 90s/early 2000s when I last saw Nick Cave perform live. Even back then, Mr. Cave was already nagging, crooning and putting out arty-farty shit since.

Honestly? I gave up!

Anyway…

Last summer, the album “Carnage,” a collaborration with Warren Ellis, suddenly appeared. Since I try to keep good habits, I checked the album before I started tearing it down … and I must say I was very impressed. It was as if “the old” Cave was back and eager to make music again.

Last night, down town, it certainly sounded like that! The guys seemed to be very excited, maybe because they were finally allowed to escape the British Isles (Covid and Brexit?). Anyway and in short, the LP/CD Carnage was played almost in its entirety, interspersed with some good old Bad Seeds stuff, other collaborations with Ellis and once in a while there was even room for a joke..

It was a very intimate, atmospheric performance as we may probably never see Mr. Cave again.

Songs that stuck in my mind; ‘Hand of God’, ‘Leviathan’, ‘Waiting For You’, ‘White Elephant’, an enchantingly firm 15-minute song that turned out to be ‘Hollywood’, followed by ‘Henry Lee’.

Anti-climax; ‘Into my arms’! Why, oh goddamn why, play this cr*ap? It ruined the whole atmosphere in my opinion!

Anyway, 2 hours 30 minutes (including 4 encore sessions)... means I enjoyed almost every minute of my €90, except for those four minutes... and I'm not lying!

So a great score of 9/10 (thanks to Into My Arms)!

Below a video from the Paris show.

Albi VOOMBASTIC
21/10/2021


NL

Ik denk dat het van het einde van de jaren 90, begin jaren 2000 geleden moet zijn dat ik Nick Cave nog eens aan het werk zag. Toen was hij in mijn ogen al stevig aan het zeuren, croonen, om daarna jaren arty-farty shit uit te brengen.


En eerlijk : I gave up!


Soit…

Afgelopen zomer dook plots de plaat “Carnage” met Warren Ellis op. Naar goede gewoonte luisterde is toch, in plaats van die gewoon zonder meer de grond in te boren. Ik was stevig onder de indruk Het was precies alsof “the old” Cave terug was en er weer zin in had om muziek te maken.

Gisterenavond in “Tstad” leek het in ieder geval van wel! De mannen hadden er duidelijk dik goesting in omdat ze blijkbaar eindelijk van het eiland Engeland af mochten (Covid en Brexit?). Kortweg, de lp/cd Carnage werd zo goed als volledig gespeeld, afgewisseld met wat Bad Seeds-spul, andere samenwerkingen met Ellis en hier en daar zelfs een grapje.


Het was een zeer intiem, sfeervol optreden zoals we waarschijnlijk Dhr. Cave nooit meer zullen zien.

Nummers die zijn blijven hangen; Hand of God, Leviathan, Waiting For You, White Elephant, een bezwerend ferm nummer van 15 minuten dat Hollywood bleek te heten gevolgd door Henry Lee.

Dieptepunt: Into my arms! Waarom, maar godverdomme waarom, dit onding spelen? Het verpritste de ganse sfeer!


Soit, 2 uur 30 minuten (inclusief 4 bis-sessies)... Met andere woorden heb ik voor die €90 van bijna elke minuut, op vier minuten na, genoten... en ik lieg niet!


Punten 9/10 (met dank aan Into My Arms)!


Hieronder een clipke uit Parijs:

Albi VOOMBASTIC
21/10/2021


Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'
06
04
MARROWVOLTAGE
There is always a strong, dominating motif behind any of our songs. A feeling, a powerful association. For example, the gravitational force of an abyss underneath you. The movement of mighty and elegant creatures in the
05
04
LACRIMOSA
There were times when I could hardly believe that I would ever be able to finish the album.
10
03
ADULT.
'We have worked and risked so much to make this tour happen, so pleeeeeease come get wild!!!'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
11
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Great God
10
05
MOTOR!K
Static