tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

21/10/2021 : NICK CAVE - Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

NICK CAVE

Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

Concert


[90/100]   
21/10/2021, Albi VOOMBASTIC

EN

I think it must have been in the late 90s/early 2000s when I last saw Nick Cave perform live. Even back then, Mr. Cave was already nagging, crooning and putting out arty-farty shit since.

Honestly? I gave up!

Anyway…

Last summer, the album “Carnage,” a collaborration with Warren Ellis, suddenly appeared. Since I try to keep good habits, I checked the album before I started tearing it down … and I must say I was very impressed. It was as if “the old” Cave was back and eager to make music again.

Last night, down town, it certainly sounded like that! The guys seemed to be very excited, maybe because they were finally allowed to escape the British Isles (Covid and Brexit?). Anyway and in short, the LP/CD Carnage was played almost in its entirety, interspersed with some good old Bad Seeds stuff, other collaborations with Ellis and once in a while there was even room for a joke..

It was a very intimate, atmospheric performance as we may probably never see Mr. Cave again.

Songs that stuck in my mind; ‘Hand of God’, ‘Leviathan’, ‘Waiting For You’, ‘White Elephant’, an enchantingly firm 15-minute song that turned out to be ‘Hollywood’, followed by ‘Henry Lee’.

Anti-climax; ‘Into my arms’! Why, oh goddamn why, play this cr*ap? It ruined the whole atmosphere in my opinion!

Anyway, 2 hours 30 minutes (including 4 encore sessions)... means I enjoyed almost every minute of my €90, except for those four minutes... and I'm not lying!

So a great score of 9/10 (thanks to Into My Arms)!

Below a video from the Paris show.

Albi VOOMBASTIC
21/10/2021


NL

Ik denk dat het van het einde van de jaren 90, begin jaren 2000 geleden moet zijn dat ik Nick Cave nog eens aan het werk zag. Toen was hij in mijn ogen al stevig aan het zeuren, croonen, om daarna jaren arty-farty shit uit te brengen.


En eerlijk : I gave up!


Soit…

Afgelopen zomer dook plots de plaat “Carnage” met Warren Ellis op. Naar goede gewoonte luisterde is toch, in plaats van die gewoon zonder meer de grond in te boren. Ik was stevig onder de indruk Het was precies alsof “the old” Cave terug was en er weer zin in had om muziek te maken.

Gisterenavond in “Tstad” leek het in ieder geval van wel! De mannen hadden er duidelijk dik goesting in omdat ze blijkbaar eindelijk van het eiland Engeland af mochten (Covid en Brexit?). Kortweg, de lp/cd Carnage werd zo goed als volledig gespeeld, afgewisseld met wat Bad Seeds-spul, andere samenwerkingen met Ellis en hier en daar zelfs een grapje.


Het was een zeer intiem, sfeervol optreden zoals we waarschijnlijk Dhr. Cave nooit meer zullen zien.

Nummers die zijn blijven hangen; Hand of God, Leviathan, Waiting For You, White Elephant, een bezwerend ferm nummer van 15 minuten dat Hollywood bleek te heten gevolgd door Henry Lee.

Dieptepunt: Into my arms! Waarom, maar godverdomme waarom, dit onding spelen? Het verpritste de ganse sfeer!


Soit, 2 uur 30 minuten (inclusief 4 bis-sessies)... Met andere woorden heb ik voor die €90 van bijna elke minuut, op vier minuten na, genoten... en ik lieg niet!


Punten 9/10 (met dank aan Into My Arms)!


Hieronder een clipke uit Parijs:

Albi VOOMBASTIC
21/10/2021


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
LEAETHER STRIP
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
COMBICHRIST
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets