tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/03/2013 : NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS - Push the sky away

NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS

Push the sky away

MusicCD
ExperimentalPopRockSinger SongwriterUnplugged

[98/100]   

Bad Seeds Ltd
11/03/2013, Peter DOLPHEN

What a genius man Nick Cave is! He makes music since 1979 (the first official release was with The Boys Next Door) and there’s not a smell of boredom coming up when Nick Cave releases a new album. With his very recognizable style of obscure warmth and craving vocals, he’s always reinventing himself time after time. It took five years since Dig Lazarus Dig was released, but it was worth waiting.

With this 18th studio album with The Bad Seeds, the master digs deeper in the issues he preached about before: love, death, the not so beautiful side of our society... Not only Cave is pushing the limit a bit further again, but the other Bad Seeds do that as well. With a kind of “less is more-mentality” the album sounds simple, but it carries you away in a blink. Rousing sounds while now and then some chaos break the dream. I do miss the more energetic twist from older material like The Mercy Seat or Loverman that can make his live concerts explode. On the other hand, seeing the man on stage at a theatre with red velvet seats has been one of the best concert-experiences I had in my life!

The minimal musical arrangements put the lyrics way up on a pedestal and it’s there where this kind of poetic apex belongs. Like not many others, Cave can hold your attention throughout a complete album, just with his voice. The music is there to amplify the tales and to create the perfect mood that suits with the told story.

Five years is a long time to wait for a next one. I hope he won’t let us wait so long again. But if the next album has the same quality as this one then I'm willing to wait for even six or seven years...

Who am I kidding? Next year would be fine, Mr. Nicholas Edward Cave, if it is all the same for you. Keep on pushing, push the sky away...

 

Peter DOLPHEN
11/03/2013


 

Next reviews
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • The Myrrh Sessions
GHOST & WRITER • RED FLAGS
NYAM NYAM • Hope Of Heaven
MILITIA (IT) • Folk XII
KMFDM • Kunst
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Absolute Grrls Manifesto, Chapter 1
ATOM TM • HD
OLIVIER MEGATON • TAKEN 2
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • 4PLAY
STRESS • THE BIG WHEEL

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same genre: POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)

 

Same genre: ROCK
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis

 

Same genre: UNPLUGGED
THURISAZ • Live & Acoustic
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Black Summer Choirs
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO, IN SLAUGHTER NATIVES, ROME, TRIARI, MENTALPLASTIC BODYFILLER, EMPUSAE, DEAD MAN'S HILL & MR. MANUVA • Porta Nigra, 1/6/2013, Aarschot, Belgium
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • The Myrrh Sessions

Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
19
05
42 years of The Man-Machine!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!
30
04
DAVID GEDGE (THE WEDDING PRESENT)
'I do like to make the song as personal as possible!'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House
20
05
ELEFANT
Mumbo Jumbo